Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: I show 1 review from this member

 Just back again from this site, if you do not like holiday parks well don't go to them

Its getting a little expensive for the touring site with no improvements.

To anyone not been touring is a large flat area with 4 wash blocks that are kept very clean. 3 showers in each sinks and wc out side each sinks for pot wash.

On site a shop selling basics with tesco 5miles away and one mile to village shop

Playground and tennis court crazy golf.

Swimming pool warm needs some paint in changing rooms and better showers but clean

Indoor soft play, snack bar

The main reason is Sammy the sea horse for the children and the very good Ents team With Joal and Maddy getting the new crew up to speed.

Drinks expensive but all holiday parks are pubs in the village post office and chip shop 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JOHN G W 18 reviews from this member

 This is the second time this year we have visited, we only booked a couple of days before hand, we were met by friendly reception staff, when we got to our pitch we found everything in good order. The site was not full but there was a full entertainment programme on. Our granddaughter loved the entertainment, swimming pool, soft play area and playground. The food in the restaurant was OK and reasonably priced. A special mention must go to the wardens who kept the toilet blocks absolutely spotless no mater what time of day you went in. Although it is mainly geared up for families it is equally as good for couples, we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Candg 6 reviews from this member

 We have been staying on Touring Caravan site at Hoburne Cotswold for a number years now. Good facilities for the children so we have visited several times each year, in school holidays. The prices to stay are now quite expensive, but standards of the touring pitches have declined, especially the Superior pitches which are very messy when damp.

Access is simple for paying guests but also for non-payers like the travellers on 2 occasions this year when they 'invaded' and had to be removed by police; in amongst all of this we had heard some parents complaining that their children's bikes had been stolen. It made us worry about how safe our items were in the awning?

On another occasion, a small child won a game during the daytime entertainment and when asked if they were staying in a touring caravan or static the mother freely confessed to living locally and decided to bring the children with her friends and their children to the holiday park for the day because the weather was too bad to go anywhere else! Not really fair to those of us who were paying £40 per day.

We have therefore, decided to limit our visits from next year and may just go for a few days in the summer when, hopefully it is dry and the pitches aren't so messy around the awning.

It is a shame because the location and setting are great, and the staff are very helpful and polite but we feel it is now too expensive for what we get. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitzionline 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here during a term-time weekend with husband and daughter. This is a large holiday park with on site club house entertainment which isn't what we would ordinarily go for but it was local and we heard a few good things about it so decided to give it a try.

We arrived in the pouring rain and a very friendly security guard helped find our pitch. The pitch sizes are good with a hard standing for the car and EHU. You can hear a bit of road noise from the road nearby, but it was not as bad as I thought it would be having read other reviews.

Unless you want to go to the play parks near reception and the club house, there is no dedicated space near the pitches for kids to play ball games etc which is a shame. Kids generally scooted or cycled around on the tarmac tracks networking the pitches but they seemed quite happy with this.

Toilets and showers were plentiful and kept spotless and there were stations for washing up with piping hot water. The general landscape was kept tidy too.

The club house / bar was small considering the size of the site, and quite crowded - I imagine it would be a real squeeze during the peak times. There was a couple of hours entertainment for the kids (the entertainment reps did this very well and seemed full of enthusiasm), followed by bingo then a disco. The alternative was the lounge next door which has a soft play area in it for the kids and a fast food bar.

The indoor/outdoor pools are available for use at no extra charge, but other facilities such as the bowling, crazy golf, and boats are additional charge.

There is a good size groceries shop on site and a laundrette (great for drying our soaking wet clothes after we pitched the tent in the rain).

Check out is 10am which is really early. So although we only stayed 2 nights we decided to take their 3 night package as it worked out at only £9 extra for the third night - worth it for the lie in and not having to rush.

All in all we had a nice weekend and were glad we went. The indoor entertainment, pool etc, were very welcome given some of the wet/cold weather we had. We may visit again but would only consider it for a weekend off peak. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo2013 2 reviews from this member

 Overall this is a good family campsite with plenty to do. It doesnít offer the wow factor and could do with a little tidying up, however we did enjoy our stay.

Tent pitches are large with a separate hard standing area for your car, however pitches are quite close together. I would recommend taking ear plugs as it was quite noisy throughout the night. Also wardens are circulating the park so are available if you need any help or advice.

Plenty of amenity blocks which are clean (most of the time) and have separate cubicles for showers and sinks. Pot washing area is outside under a Leanto. Plenty of bins however didnít see any recycling bins.

Well stocked shop, however if you canít find what you are looking for, there is a supermarket about 10 minutes away.

Two playgrounds for the kids, one with a sand pit and playing field.

Indoor pool has plenty of lifeguards, a flume and Toadstool water umbrella. We enjoyed the pool very much, however it could definitely do with a lick of paint. Although the changing area seemed to be washed down and mopped on a regular basis by the lifeguards, the actual poolside wasnít and I spotted several dirty plasters and grime.

My daughter and I spent approx. 1. 5 hours at the outside pool, which we really enjoyed however the table that we were next to was covered in wasps, as nobody had bothered to clear and clean it the whole time we were there.

Small indoor play area for the kids however the sitting area was a bit messy with food and empty pots.

The coffee is charged at £1. 30 and it tasted pretty much like instant coffee even though there appeared to be a coffee machine.

The entertainment guide has lots to offer even during the day. The team are good but seemed to forget their focus and lacked enthusiasm occasionally, especially during the daytime shows. In my opinion, If you are entertaining children I donít think itís really acceptable to be bragging about hangovers and unhealthy diets etc

Kids entertainment starts at 6 and on our visit we regretted not arriving earlier as we were unable to get a seat. Our kids loved Sammy Seahorse, Larry Lobster and Tommy Turtle and soon picked up their easy to learn songs. The entertainment team involve the kids, which was great, however they did seem to select the same kids.

Annoyed that you have to check out at 10am and the only way you can stay longer is if you paid for an extra night. Struggled to understand why we were unable to pay a small charge to have a slightly later check-out. This is the first time I have been to campsite that doesnít offer this service 

If you fancied a treat rather than cooking yourself, I would definitely recommend The Boathouse Pub adjacent to the Cotswolds Water Park Hotel on B4696 for Sunday Lunch. (5 mins away from Hoburne)

Also as we didnít have time for breakfast due to the early check out, we visited a cafť called Relish on the way home which is located next to the Cotswolds Outdoor Store also on B4696 which was yummy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slimtoffee 4 reviews from this member

 This site was decent and the facilities were of a good standard and kept clean the majority of the time and we had no complaints regarding this however there were a lot of wasps around and if anything is not put in a closed bin they will be all over it.

The staff at reception were helpful and the clubhouse was useful for meals which were reasonable in price and of a good standard.

The entertainment for the kids is well planned although we did find a couple of the entertainment team more interested in themselves than their work.

The swimming pools were great and all of the staff that worked around them showed a great attitude and were always cleaning or looking out for the kids.

All in all a decent site and decent value. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ralph71 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site having previously visited a couple of years back and really enjoying it. The pitch size was good (although our EHU lead was on the box on next doors pitch and the man had a face like thunder when he spotted our lead - which was carefully and safely trailed along the back hedge). The toilet block was kept nice and clean with enough loos but only 2 shower cubicles every time I went over for a shower they were occupied - even visiting a block on a different part of the field proved the same problem. I noticed on the field where the tents were there were large groups cheering and shouting until quite late - this didn't effect us on the pitch where we were fortunately and I will also note that there were kids running round the back of the caravans and kicking balls and riding bikes on the pitches of people sitting outside their units (us included) this went on quite a lot from children on the next field whose parents seemed more interested in getting sloshed then checking on their kids (I am a parent of 3 including teenagers and have always taught them campsite etiquette and manners towards others who are on their holidays- so I am not an anti-child type having a moan up). We used the outdoor pool as it was boiling but although you could get in it was so packed you couldn't stretch your legs out behind you to swim so you just had to stand there to cool off and then get out, it was far too busy and there were people in there with big inflatables which really the pool was too packed to accommodate these also. The shop was well stocked with a good variety of essentials and we ate in the bar area and was pleasantly surprised as the food was quite nice. Overall a good site with everything you need on site and we would return again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rayjdyer 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fun weekend at Holborne Cotswold. This is definitely a site for kids, and I would strongly suggest that if you don't have any, then this is probably not the site for you!

We stayed two nights with our 6 year old, 4 year old, and 4 month old. They loved the play park, soft play, indoor pool and the very warm outdoor pool. The place was very busy, but we could get into the pools without queuing.

There was plenty of entertainment going on in the clubhouse day and night, which looked absolutely rammed full at night. We didn't bother with it as its not really our thing and our kids like to go to bed by 8 at the latest, so we skipped the entertainment and opted for outdoor play instead.

Drinks seem to be expensive, as do the pitches at £31 per night for a touring caravan, EHU, and awning. You have to vacate your pitch by 10am on your day of departure which is not convenient with kids. To get a later checkout you have to pay for a whole extra night.

Saying that, we woke up on our last day at nine (our kids have never slept that late - we must have really tired them out!) so we weren't clear of our pitch until 11:30. The wardens didn't say anything, but they did seem to be going around checking which pitches were vacating.

Noise levels on site seemed okayish. Some people played music outside of their units, but it seems to go quiet by 10pm. There was some noise at kick out time from the clubhouse fuelled by copious amounts of beer it seemed.

We didn't eat at the clubhouse as it seemed to be deep fried processed choices only.

This is a good site for kids, no question about it. It may be expensive compared to other sites, but you do have extra facilities such as the pools and the soft play. Our kids loved it, and we'd happily return for a weekend, but no longer.

To make the most of this site, you really have to enjoy the whole clubhouse thing, and be content to stay on site for your stay. If you want to use this site as a base to explore the local area, there are probably better, cheaper alternatives out there. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thefulchers 5 reviews from this member

 The weather looked fantastic for the weekend so we decided to book a weekend away. This park seemed perfect, as it was only an hour away with a pool. Initial booking was fine, girls on the phone were helpful. When we arrived on the friday eve the reception wasn't busy and we went to our pitch straight away. This was our first outing with a caravan as usually we camp.

When I booked the pitch only a superior pitch was left, I was expecting water and drainage, but all the extra money meant we got a hard standing and a gravel area for the awning. This Is not gravel, more like cotswold stone hardcore. (make sure you take extra cushioning underfoot).

We thought we had chosen the wrong place when at midnight we could still hear young kids screaming then once that quietened it was the start of the adults till 2am. I did mention it in the morning to the reception staff, they said other people had complained and they were aware of it.

We used the indoor pool as the outdoor was rammed, water was warm, pool at deepest is 4ft so great for kids and there is a slide. Back at the caravan we noticed how peaceful it seemed during the day which was nice.

On the evening we decided to head to the bar for a couple of drinks, bar area looks like it has recently been refurbished and has a nice feel, bar is a little pricey, but when isnt a holiday park expensive!

That nights sleep was a lot better, noise only till 11:30pm.

Only a couple of points but each toilet block has 2 shower cubicles and after a hot day the wait was quite long.

Ok this park has all the facilities and most of them free, but the price per night is rather dear. Would we stay here again?, most likely. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G-Sears 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in June in a tent with 3 kids for a weekend. Upon arrival was given a map which had been highlighted the route to our pitch. The pitch was huge and it was nice to have a proper drive to park the car on. After setting up my 3 year old headed straight to the play area which he really enjoyed. They all loved the indoor pool esp the slide. Played on the crazy golf, although dated, they loved it. As said before this is a site for kids and not a quiet break. The bar at night had great entertainment although drinks were quite pricey. Shop was good and well stocked.

2 grumbles. The lads playing the loud music at 11 at night and the closing of toilets to clean. Both of the gents toilets were closed at the same time for cleaning, and with a 3 year old it was a mad dash to find another one, but saying that the toilet block was immaculate. Will definitely be returning. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement