Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brenarty 1 review from this member

 Visited this site for 5 nights, really really good. We are of mature age, and are a bit fussy about camp sites, but really we could not fault it. Flat pitches for tents, electric hook up if wanted. Spotless showers and toilets, never a queue. Very quiet site, a little bit more noise at weekend, which was only to be expected.

The take away was only available weekends. The price was good considering the clean facilities. The only thing that spoilt our holiday, we went with relations that had a caravan, but they would not let us pitch together, which was a bit of a downer, as where the caravan was, was a bit of a hike every time we wanted to visit them.

But in all I would certainly recommend it to anyone. Plenty to visit in the area, some a little bit further away. Not really much in the immediate area eg pubs and shops, but Dunfries was only 20 minutes drive away. It also helped as the weather was perfect for camping. We certainly will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 10 reviews from this member

 This site was booked for us by a family member. When we looked at the site online we weren't sure it was a site we would have booked. However, when we arrived we were extremely pleased. The setting was beautiful (the old castle is a nice feature of the site)and the location is great for getting out and about. The site itself was lovely, showers and wash areas very clean, great dog walk and woodland walks just off the site.

We ate in the bar one night and although we had a very warm and friendly welcome the food was not up to much. It was overpriced for what it was and lacked a bit of atmosphere I am afraid to say.

All in all a great site and we would definitely use it again. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Am1907 7 reviews from this member

 We have been going to this site for several years. Unfortunately, we feel that the standards are declining and the owners have failed to maintain facilities. Shower blocks and games room need at to be renovated.

We also complained about the noise from radios. Some group decided to play a radio from morning till night and never turned it off. So we did not sleep well.

Price is well worth it though and would recommend it for a weekend visit. Bar is nice but the takeaway food is awful. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 223 reviews from this member

 Came here because Moffat was yet again fully booked for motorhomes, and we needed a staging post heading south on the M74. We would come back again for a longer stay. Friendly staff, beautiful setting surrounded by woods, the river, and overlooked by Hoddom Castle.

Enjoyable wee golf course (day ticket good value, you could do 9 holes morning, afternoon and evening), and excellent off-lead dog walks. Huge clean toilet block housed in the former stables, with toilet + sink cubicles, and a bath available (15 deposit for the key). We had no problems with the chemical disposal point - no queue, it's the only one I've used that has a wash hand basin, had long water hose for filling the motorhome, which isn't always the case.

Sloping site, so most hardstands need wedges. The on-site take-away was a bonus, as our gas ran out after the office had closed! We didn't use the bar or restaurant in the castle courtyard, but it was far enough from the camping area to mean we weren't aware of folk constantly passing our pitch to get there and it wasn't audible (both of which have been problems on other sites). Childrens play area looked safe and interesting, at the edge of the site so it wasn't a nuisance.

Generous deadline to be off site - some sites want you gone by 11 a.m. Finally, it's a quiet site - absolutely no road noise, just the owls at night: a rare sound these days, sadly. They're probably nesting in the parts of the castle that are semi-ruinous, so I hope if it's renovated that owl boxes are a Condition of consent. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dadsbeaniemad 7 reviews from this member

 Getting there and finding the site was easy - except at the very end - the entrance to the site is directly after the bridge.

Booking onto the site the lady gave us a choice of pitches (even though we had been allocated one on booking)and a look at the field before paying. Field was a little soggy but good enough to drive over and pitch the tent without any trouble or getting muddy - did have wellies on though. After pitching we left the car in the car park and walked back and forth as all the facilities were very near and thought it would save churning up the field.

All the ehu pitches are on the hedge side of the field and are of a good size (we took a Khyam Tourer 400 but there was a Killington 600 and Diablo 900 and both had ample space) and fairly level. Field was in excellent condition considering the weather we have had recently. First pitch is very near the bins though (134 or 135?).

There is a water point and grey water disposal point in the middle of the field but the wash up place is in the Laundry room in the main complex.

Staff were pleasant (a bit terse on the phone but better in person) - there was a very nice Dutch(?) gentleman. On booking in you have to give a 10 deposit for the toilet & shower keys, which you get back when you hand them both in when you leave. When booking you also give a 10 deposit. We paid 17 a night for tent,car, 2 adults, 2 children and EHU.

On site there is a large laundry room (tokens from shop for the one washer and 20p for one dryer and 20p for the iron and ironing board) and wash up sinks, indoor games room (snooker tables and table tennis deposits required for equipment and small charge to play) with local info available on the walls and in leaflet form, crazy golf,and draughts outside (small charge and deposit) and also a Basket Ball hoop and a Tennis court. Recycling bins by the laundry room.

Toilet & Shower blocks for men and women and disabled facilities. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and cleaned every day. Showers had ample room (hooks, stool, non slip matting) and there were separate cubicles with wash basins, Hairdryers (20p) and a big mirror.

There is a shop at reception. The shop stocks various things - food, drink, papers, books, toys, sweets, small amount of camping stuff and also has a book exchange scheme running.

Restaurant, Bar and Take Away. Food is very good, better than a lot of places but nothing fancy, and is reasonabley priced too - can recommend Lasagne and Chicken Curry - portions are not small eg lasagne and chips take away 5 for a very full long rectangular take away box. Drinks in the bar are reasonabley priced too - cheaper than our local pubs!. On the Sat night there was Bingo (friend and my daughter both won) and an open the box game.

Childrens outdoor play area is more for the younger children but it has plenty of space for kicking balls about too. There is a dog walk, golf course and plenty of fishing on the river Annan. Some of these things you pay extra for.

The site has a mixture of statics and tourers and a couple of other toilet blocks in amongst these but I didn't use these so can't comment on them - I would expect they were just as clean and tidy as the main block. It is a well set out site and each pitch is well sized.

Entry and exit to the park is via a one way system which is a very good idea.

There is plenty to do when out and about as it is not far to Annan, Lockerbie, Dumfries, Prowfoot beach (not a lot of sand) etc. Lots of walks and goecache sites.

We visited Dalton Pottery where the girls painted pots (range from 3 to 10) and had a bite to eat in the pottery cafe.

The Castle itself is not ruined but not able to be walked around but all of the facilities are in parts of the Castle able to be used.

We saw bats at night and heard owls. The field behind the camping field is home to some Highland Cows. There are also red squirrels around and about. The site has lots of trees and wooded areas. Apparently the camp site was formed to house Canadian soldiers during WWII (very nice letter pinned up in the games room from a gentleman who was in the Royal Engineers (?) and sent up to make the camp site in 1942 (I think that's the year he said)

All in all a good site that we would return to again - prob for longer than a weekend stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikethebike1127 5 reviews from this member

 An excellent site which is very well kept. Toilet block was spotless & staff very friendly. A good bar on site which also sold good food at reasonable prices. Easy driving distance to Dumfries & Gretna etc. Even the horrible weather didn't spoil our stay. We will return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kargus 36 reviews from this member

 I agree with most things on the reviews so far, apart from the fact that the site is only 10 amps, so you cannot have your water heater on and then use an electric kettle at the same time, which for this day and age is very disappointing, so this should be adressed. You will trip out the electric on site. Also for 173 pitches plus tents, there is only one lot of showers by the reception, and for the price charged we also found this disappointing, where there are another 2 or 3 toilet/washing up blocks around the site, these do not have showers. They could do with more showers with the size of the site. Showers could do with updating too, although the shower itself was fine. No lights on either so it was fairly dim, there was only one energy bulb in for the whole room. Everything is operated by key, for a 10 deposit on top of price charged for pitch. Lovely place itself, clean and tidy, and although there were alot of unsupervised teenagers about there was no noise or trouble. There is also only 1 chemical disposal way up around the back of the reception area, and you could not walk to it, you were told to drive your waste to this area due to where it was, and there was always a queue. Staff lovely, lovely site, enjoyed our stay, but wouldnt return due to lack of facilities for the size of the site. You also need hardstanding pegs for awnings, so take plenty. Grassed areas are in between pitches. Cant park cars on these. Lovely walk down to river and along, and we know this area well anyway. Dogs had a ball getting stones out of the river. There is a dog walk area, but we enjoyed the walk through woods to river. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grubby kids 3 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant site if you are looking for plenty of space, lots to do, relaxed atmosphere, no list of rules and regs, immaculate toilets (truly immaculate), plenty of hot water, free showers, games room, donations to a local charity for the use of the freezer to freeze ice blocks, friendly staff, good park layout.

For the surrounding area, the villages and towns are easily accessible and have all you need but with the shop on site it is a campsite you don't need to leave for a few days. The outlet village at Gretna is easy distance for a quick trip if you forget something major.

The best bit of all is the cost. You easily pay double or more further south and don't have such fantastic facilities. It is well worth the few extra miles and minutes in the car to get there. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zakkisam 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Plenty of room to pitch our large pod tent and still park car and trailer next to it. Toilets/showers spotless, plenty of hot water at all times of the day. A well stocked shop with friendly helpful staff. Our kids used the games room (table tennis, pool tables)on the day it rained. They loved the mountain bike trails around the site and the playground. Happy kids- happy adults. Lots of things to do off site, we visited Cream of Galloway Ice Cream Farm- excellent day out. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Monks60 3 reviews from this member

 Just come back from this site spent 5 nights 25th-30th May .

First time visit and would recomend to anybody , plenty for the 13 year old son and his friend to do while me and the wife chilled. Very good wide pitchs with electric hook up. Very good shower / toilet blocks and considering our stay included a Bank Holiday when it normaly rains and rains, great weather!.

What more can you ask for will be going back again 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4071 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement