Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Our_mums_r_mad 29 reviews from this member

 Scotland what a place and to turn up to Hoddom castle made it better.

The journey was easy 199 miles from home taking only 3hrs 30mins at a steady 60mph made this site a very attractive choice for our 2 weeks summer holidays.

Arrived on site to a very welcoming bunch of folk whom allocated us a great pitch near the park,field and showers

The site is well set out with clean and tidy showers and toilets,golf course,great walking and biking in and around the site.

Places to visit and things to do we loved and others may too.

National trust we went to grey mares trail about 40mins from site and the most amazing place we have been(ive even told the wife to scatter my ashes here)make sure you have walking sticks,food and drinks,also the right footwear and a good coat,you will not be disappointed.

Biking we went to 7stanes about 30mins up the road and we all loved this we even did the 11 mile bike ride twice the wife wasn't happy but was glad she did.

We also did zorbing, grass sledging and reverse car at Laggan Outdoor

Shop on site with also a restaurant which was nice but the decor seems to be from the 70's lol

All in all this had to be one of the best sites we have visited even when it was raining as there was so much to do.

Will we be back.YOU BET YA WE WILL 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vashka 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed for just one night at this site after a week touring Scotland. A great site, with the highlight being the bar/restaurant where I had the best tasting lasagne ever. Advice to the chef - you really need to say on the menu that it is home cooked food as it's being undersold, the food was of excellent quality.

The pitches were of a good size and well laid out. We didn't get much opportunity to see the surrounding area, but there was a nice walk around the outskirts of the campsite.

On the negatives, it was a shame that there was only one shower block which was a bit of a walk from the main site, and also didn't understand why the chemical toilet point was behind a locked door. A bit inconvenient if you hand your toilet key before emptying the toilet!

Would definitely go back if in the area as all in all a good site at a good price with a very friendly welcome on arrival! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sophiebeagle 2 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit in one month to this campsite. Very friendly staff. The tent field is very large. However, because the tent pitches are marked, the area used appears a bit disjointed.

The left hand side of the field is for electric hook ups only and the tents can get very close together, especially if they are all large family tents with canopies and windbreaks. Same goes for the other three sides of the field (non electric pitches) although not quite as bad. However the middle of the field has masses of unused space. On our first visit to the site, we had the middle part of the field and it was great.

On our second visit, we had an electric pitch and even though the tent field was half empty, we were squeezed in between two tents and therefore very little privacy. If there were more electric hook ups in the centre of the field then perhaps more space could be allocated around the sides.

That aside, it is a nice, clean site and there is a decent playpark for the kids although its not within sight of the tent field. There is also a games room with table tennis and pool table and a couple of slot machines. Outside the games room is outdoor draughts and a crazy golf area.

I was pleased that you only had to pay a deposit for the crazy golf putters and outdoor connect 4 which was returned when you returned the equipment. Same for the table tennis, you paid just 20p for the ball and a deposit for the bats. My 8 year old son loved these and I loved the fact it wasn't hammering my wallet.

A wee lick of paint and a few wee repair jobs on the crazy golf area would not go amiss though. There is a small shop at the reception area and the toilet blocks/showers are kept clean. There is also a laundry room with ironing board and sinks for washing dishes.

There is also a pub/restaurant and take-away on site. Cannot comment on the pub/restaurant as we didn't use it but the take-away was fine. Would definitely return next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Mackam 1 review from this member

 Arrived on the Monday for a 4 night stay Our pitch was available early (10am) so we could get the tent straight up.

Site warden very friendly, took us to our pitch which was a good size and in good condition.

Great facilities, showers/toilet block really clean and plentiful. Great games room where you can play pool, table tennis or crazy golf.

Site itself very clean and tidy, not over crowded with plenty to do on site or local enough to Dumfries if you fancy a trip out.

Had a great time, will definitely recommend it and will go back next year 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ghostpiper 8 reviews from this member

 Nice site with plenty of things to do. Childrens play area was great as were the country walks. Facilities were faultless, toilets and showers always spotless. Nice shop on site with most of the things we needed. Bar was very nice as were the staff. The owner was excellent to get on with and his staff were all very friendly. Prices were not a rip off either.

Only minor faults were the pitch we were given. Next to the bins on a steep cross slope. We were given another pitch which was better after complaining. A very nice site with lots to do in the surrounding area, well worth a visit. We shall certainly return to this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevmcke 3 reviews from this member

 I visited this site during the 2nd week of July, with the wife and 2 kids. First impressions were a very good looking site, the castle is just such a fantastic back drop.

I only had 2 issues with this site both of which are fairly minor:

The site only has a limited number of electric hook ups, which meant that these pitches were looking a little worse for wear by the time we arrived most of the electric pitches had significant bare patches on the ground, and forced me to pitch a lot more forward than I normally would have.

The other issue I had was that the toilet block was opposite from a car park, which you had to cross to get to it. This meant it was a bit of a hike in the middle of the night if you had to go during the night especially in he rain.

Other than that the site was very nice, with staff who were very friendly and approachable. The toilet blocks were well maintained.

The games room was a little basic, but my daughter loved playing pool on the 2 tables that they had. The shop held all the basics.

So all in all if you are looking for a quiet site with decent amenities then you won't go far wrong with this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aliciamarland 1 review from this member

 We cannot speak highly enough about this site - it is an absolute gem of a place. We booked in for two nights on the basis of the other reviews we had read and were not disappointed at all. The site is in a beautiful setting with mature trees all around and plenty of room for even the largest of tents.

We found the site peaceful and relaxing but with enough to do if you so choose. In the main castle building there is a bar/restaurant which serves simple but good food, the reception area and a small shop selling the basic essentials, but there is a decent sized supermarket in Annan should you need anything more.

The games room, showers were very clean with plenty of hot water. The laundry room and dishwashing facilities are in a separate block next to the main building and all were spotless and maintained to a high standard. You pay a 10 deposit to use these but it's worth it as they are immaculate.

In the grounds are a children's' play area and a nice looking 9 hole golf course to the side. Nearby there are various scenic walks and mountain bike trails for the more active amongst you. A good base to explore from with Annan, Gretna, Moffat (great sweetie shop there !) with Casle Douglas and the stunning Solway Firth also close by.

Added to all this were the very helpful and friendly staff who were more than happy to assist you in anyway they could. To sum it up in a few words - Absolutely Brilliant, truly Five Star !

If you like to camp in tranquil surroundings, with lots to see and do nearby, then this is the place for you. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karen Boyd 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Lots of open space for children to play in. Toilets old but clean. Restaurant good. Close to Annan. Have spent many times at Hoddom often arriving on a Friday night last minute. I believe that changes are happening for this season to make the park more appealing.

Restaurant open 9am - 9pm. Breakfast being served. Entertainment and DVDs for kids.

Easy to access site from M74 making this an ideal stopover. Carlisle is not too far away. Seasonal pitches are available but are hard to get as people tend to keep their vans on site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foyfamily 7 reviews from this member

 Hated this site! Noisiest campsite ever! Taxi doors slamming at 11.30pm, people shouting, starting cars and driving about after quiet time of 11pm! When I reported this to warden he said there were patrols after 11. I never saw anyone.

There are a lot of residential 'vans and most of the noise came from them. The mountain bike trails were just a very very muddy track through the trees! It is quite a large site and going to the loo or showering etc just seemed to take ages.

I cycled to the toilets! The toilet blocks are dated and quite smelly. The pitch I was booked into was not wide enough for our awning despite mentioning we had one at point of booking, had to drive back round and get allocated another.

Found it hard to get awning pegs in its definitely rock pegs on this site, its all hard standing. On our pitch I had to leave pegs out due to a very large area an inch below the ground that was either a concrete slab or a very large stone!

Most pitches were bordered with high kerbstones which we all fell over! My six year old narrowly missed banging his head off one!

I asked if they did refunds because we were just ready to go home, and the man I spoke to said they didn't normally do them.After this we just went out visiting places everyday.

If you forgot something,due to the one way system and size of park, you have to drive back outside onto main road for a mile or so before you reach the main entrance again, then drive up the very long driveway and then round the one way again then back out the rear exit onto main road! Depending on which way your headed it puts 2miles on the start of your journey!

Kids ride on in games room was out of order but still switched on, and you could reach inside the back where there were live wires, not very safe for young kids.

Tons to do in area though so don't avoid the area just this site unless you like a game of golf and a good bevvy! Staff were all very friendly if not oblivious! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CDHphoto 3 reviews from this member

 We`ve been back to this site again and it`s just as impressive second time round. It was a lot busier this time yet at no point did it appear overcrowded in any way.

Again, first class facilities and great staff. We stayed for 3 nights this time and had a good look round the Dumfries & Galloway area, visited Caerlaverlock Castle, Dumfries, Castle Douglas, Rockcliffe, Sweetheart Abbey and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, there`s loads to see and do, the weather was great which made it even better.

Electric tent pitches go pretty quick so book early if you need one. If I could think of one improvement I think as a site it could promote recycling more as there was loads of recyclable stuff in the bins, I didn`t discover the recycling bins until the third night and there doesn`t seem to be any visible signs anywhere advertising the fact that they`re there.

Overall, the best site we`ve been to and we`ll be going back again. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4910 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement