Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosie201 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from hoddom castle.

Staff on arrival were polite.

There are 2 toilet blocks on the park they have no showers. If you need a shower you would have to walk back down to the reception area and it is quite a hike, they are dinghy and dark and very dated, The toilets/showers are clean

There is a bar and cafe/takeaway, the food I purchased was chips and they were diabolical. The pub is dark and dinghy and dated.

Shop has very basic supplies but is expensive.

The whole place is very run down needs a lot of tlc.

Don't think there will be a return visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blue car 7 3 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site in immaculate grounds with a beautiful castle as the main feature, with a restaurant and a small bar toilets and showers well kept clean, and plentiful a large children's play area and some lovely walks and within easy reach of nearby towns, also on site their is a washing machine and dryers for a small charge, their is also a golf course at the back of the castle for those who like a round of golf. A site to be visited 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy Dom 1 review from this member

 We booked into Hoddom Castle easily over the phone and the staff seemed to be professional and courteous.

On arrival we got to our pith which was on hard standing with adequate space to have the caravan, awning and car all tucked in off of the road.

The toilet block was a couple of mins walk from the caravan but had no showers, these were located beside the reception area with only 7 male showers, I had t queue with my soon for 15mins to get a shower. I later found out these were the only showers on the site. Completely inadequate in my opinion.

The chemical disposal was again at the reception area which is a bit of a pain, carting 20 litres of 300yds in a trolley isn't a pleasant experience.

We had a power cut on each of our four nights we stayed, On the Friday and Sunday night it lasted for 2hrs, Thursday was about 45mins and Saturday about an hour. The reception staff were quite unapologetic stating it was Scottish powers fault.

We ventured into the pub where I was pleased to see draught Guinness, I ordered one and was a bit miffed when he poured my drink from a can into a Guinness glass but hey-ho at least it was cold.

We had a takeaway from the site on The Saturday, the menu states chicken nuggets (6) and chips 3. 90, I got each of my two kids a portion each, on opening them at the caravan there was only 4 nuggets in each portion. I had a vege pizza which was ok. The chips weren't home made or even nice, they were oven chips which were a bit soggy and cold.

Anyway, it's a site that I'll be avoiding in future as will the other three families we agreed to meet there for the weekend. We all agreed it's ok for a stopover but nothing more. Very disappointed as I was really hoping for so much more for our first family caravan holiday. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jembob 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a three night break at this campsite (and only being our second trip out with the caravan we treated ourselves to after being glampers for a number of years !), and we really enjoyed it.

Now it's maybe not for everyone but overall we thought it was great, yes the loos/showers were a bit tired but I've been in a lot worse !

Pitch was good hard standing with a bit of a lean but nothing too bad.

We were next to the play area so great for keeping an eye on the kids (boy 6, girl 9), which I suppose could get rather noisy in high season but the site was only about 1/3rd full.

Close to the main motorway M74 and well sign posted made finding it very easy.

We as a family enjoyed the walks around the river with the dog.

The bar on site too was spot on, nice folk, good beer and well priced food though we only had a plate of homemade chips. Children and dogs too are allowed into the main bar, (which again wont please everyone), this for us was great. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thkta0 11 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for one night on our way to Scotland, it's not far from the motorway which is a bonus when doing this type of touring. Park has lovely grounds and nice castle which houses some of the facilities. Large spacious showers and toilet areas, could be quite a walk depending where you are pitched on the site. Just remember to take your key, can understand why they have this system but a bit of a pain, perhaps a number lock on the facilities would be better? Plenty of nice walks from the site, with golf and fishing in easy walking distance. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Samurai968 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site after being there a lot of times as a child. Lovely location and well laid out and bar was great for meals at a good price. Nice walks around site, however require car if you want to travel around as roads are tight around and not good for large motorhome.

Toilet blocks require updating as looking old now, and very long walk to toilet disposal place. Golf course is very nice and well maintained. Will visit again sometime soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveboy74 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at Hoddom around 12 noon on a sunny day after 3 or 4 days of really bad rain. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful warden. Because of the rain, some of the pitches were really muddy - the one next to ours wasn't used at all during the 3 days we were there. Anyway, the warden showed us to our EHU pitch and explained the situation and advised the best way we could pitch the tent to avoid the mud.

Hoddom is a really picturesque campsite as the reception and main facilities are located within the castle building. The tent field is just across the car park from the facilities. It does get very dark at night so make sure you pack a torch for those late night toilet visits. There are also 'chill pods' you can hire for those of you who fancy something a bit different.

There are lots of lovely walks and scenery around the site and it operates a one way system which works really well.

Hoddom has a really friendly atmosphere and we felt that from every member of staff we came in contact with.

My wife commented that she felt that the female toilets and showers had seen better days and could do with deep clean and a general upgrade but as we had such a great visit it wouldn't put her off going back (and she's a neat freak!).

We have a four year old so we were delighted to have the use of the family bath (room) which can be arranged from reception with a 5 deposit which you get back. On arrival, you also pay 10 for two bathroom/laundry keys which you also get back.

On our first night we ate in the pub restaurant which is only open from 6 - 9pm and also does take away. Again, it's seen better days so we didn't expect much from the food but we were pleasantly surprised. We both had steak pie and chips, my wee one had pizza and chips, a couple of drinks and some nice puddings which were really tasty and very reasonably priced. There was a problem with our dessert order as our first choice wasn't available and the owner took the price off our final bill.

We visited the local pool in Dumfries which was good fun as they have a great beach type area for pre school kids and also the Cocoa Bean Factory near Kirkcudbright (see Trip Advisor) - it's well worth a visit.

Annan is close by and a lovely wee town with a massive brand new Tesco for everything you could need. This includes a petrol station.

We'll definitely go back to Hoddom some time next year as we really enjoyed our stay and the general feel and friendliness of the people in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 This was our last site to stop at whilst on the big tour of Scotland, we stayed for 4 nights and was great for us as it was on our way home ( having gone to loch lomond then inverness ).

Once on site, the drive in was amazing along the long driveway (oneway) and then to arrive at a castle was really magical for our 7 year old son.

We booked in and was given a map to get to our pitch, after a little mix up with our pitch number 82 doesn't exist. The warden sorted out a different one straight away without hesitation, he even let us choose one closer to the park for our son to play in which we thought was great.

Site is on the large side with half the space allocated for seasonal pitches, but these are out of the way, touring pitches seem to take priority and is closer to all the amenities.

There is a bar and takeaway service on site, but we travelled out to Anna which has a couple of great chinese's and a subway ! (if you carry on through annan there is a large Tescos which was a great surprise as we was getting low on food stock after a week away.

Great clean well appointed site fantastic location. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluecar7 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival we was met by friendly and helpful staff we were taken to our pitch which was in a well kept flat field,

Went to explore the site and was well impressed with all the facilities, huge toilet &shower block kept well maintained and clean,

A lovely bar set in the castle with friendly staff and really good food, beautiful surroundings and walks, plenty of local information in the well stocked shop,

Nice children's play area also crazy golf &giant draughts and nice adults golf course.

Plenty of room between pitches all clearly marked out, within easy driving distance of villages and towns and seaside

Would definitely recommend and we will be returning a lot fantastic place for all the family 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night in August as we were heading south. This caravan and camping site is huge. As you enter the site you will see brand new bright blue 'pods' which you can book by phoning.

The site also has a large camping field and at the time we were there was clearly full, lots of families and groups enjoying what turned out to be beautiful weather.

There are some static caravans and lots of seasonal tourers which seem well set up for the summer with large barbi's decking etc. ,

The pitch we were allocated was hardstanding and quite small and I can only assume we were given this space as we were only staying for one night, again very busy with tourers which are dotted all over the site and not just in rows.

There is a pub on this site, however we did not eat there although by nightime it did look busy. Small shop at reception with the usual icecreams and essentials. Walking round this site is a delight, lots of nooks and crannies and a lot of space for children to play. There is a large playpark which the children seemed to be enjoying.

So that's the good bits.

The bad bits are the showers and toilets have seen better days, dull, damp and cold, lights not working and general decay, not a great place to have a shower. The toilets at the higher end of the site don't have showers and you have to walk quite away to use the showers which are at the reception part of the site.

I won't return to this site as it was too large and a bit rundown, however if you like to camp or caravan with lots of friends then this just might be the site for you as that was the general feeling of the site. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement