Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mcniv 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with 4 adults and 2 kids for a weekend on a electric tent pitch. Site is excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful.

There's a good playground for kids and an few indoor games if weather isn't so good.

Pub and shop are reasonably priced and the food in the pub is of good quality. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Anita-B 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Hoddom Castle in our Motorhome twice in May 2016. You enter the caravan park and drive along a leafy tree-lined road, which really makes you feel like you are getting away from it all.

Only part of the Castle is still in use, but it is a pretty sight to behold. The facilities are good and there is a shop for essentials. There is a bar and restaurant with a decent selection of meals. We ate there a couple of nights and the food is good.

The site itself is pretty big with different areas for hobbit-type huts, tents and motor homes/caravans. As a result it can be a wee walk from the top end of the site to the main facilities, but this isn't a problem. There are toilet blocks at the top of the site, which is handy.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ledburyred 4 reviews from this member

 No real views from site as is basically a large field but very peaceful as surrounded by trees. Castle is interesting to look at but not allowed too close. Surrounding countryside very nice and golf course lower down by the river is a good way to end a day.

Facilities good and clean and very useful having pub/restaurant on site for when you have forgotten something as we did!

Lockerbie Plane Memorial is very moving. Plenty else to do in surrounding areas with some beautiful drives a bit further north around Moffatt. Good Tesco in Annan or Morrisons in Dumfries.

Site seemed bit characterless mid week as a lot of statics which were not being used. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Murpherret 8 reviews from this member

 Had an excellent 3-day break here. The staff were very friendly and you were made welcome on arrival and during the stay.

Facilities were well-maintained but slightly damp (beware the semi-rough on the golf-course but otherwise it is a fun course). The on-site bar and restaurant were good value. TV reception can be patchy.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rudeboy1963 2 reviews from this member

 This is a Fantastic camp site! We had the best time at hoddom castle!

Very nice clean toilets and shower area! clean washing area! Great field for our tent and no problems with the electric. With lots of room at both sides of our tent.

There was some great walks around the site and a super children's play area.

Also it was handy having a pub on site where they did nice meals and takeaways.

There are lots of places to visit near by too! Would highly recommend this site! We will be back xx 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allweather 16 reviews from this member

 Great site, great Location. The restaurant / Bar did reasonable food at a fair price, the menu wasn't vast but sufficient. Drink prices were very reasonable.

Previous reviews state the Bar staff are miserable. I didn't find a problem. You must try The Thai Orchid in Dalton. 10 out of 10.

Would recommend 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigbish 2 reviews from this member

 We have just arrived home from an absolutely fantastic holiday at Hoddom castle.

We visited it briefly earlier in July this year whilst in the area on holiday & we were impressed with their facilities so we decided to book a holiday there.

We were supposed to be stopping for 4 nights but after our 1st day there we cancelled our other stops & stopped there for an additional 10 nights.

The staff are very helpful, nothing is ever too much trouble, we explained when booking that we are new to touring caravans & therefore have little experience of reversing, the staff booked us onto a drive on / drive off pitch next to the children's play area which was fantastic for our 3 young children.

The one way system makes it safe for children to play & most people kept to the 10 mph speed limit.

The pitches are huge ! all hardstanding so need good pegs if using an awning, although we were still able to use our windbreaks to make a small garden for our dogs.

The restaurant is amazing, huge portions (even the children's portions were big) all homecooked food & fantastic value for money.

The location couldn't be better, 6 miles from Annan, 7 miles to Lockerbie & about 15 miles to Dumfries so plenty of shops to choose from.

The grounds are spotless, lovely marked walks along the river Annan.

The only slight downside is the distance to the hook up points (they are in the process of upgrading so each pitch has it's own point) but they wardens will lend you an extension cable if required.

Wifi is available in the bar only which was perfect for us, TV reception is not great judging from the amount of people messing around with their ariels not that we had a TV.

All in all an amazing site - cannot praise it enough, so good we have already booked to go back next week & will be booking to go back next year too. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PAULOS1958 5 reviews from this member

 Site reminded us of a Castels site in France. Toilets and showers always clean, pitches in excellent condition. Great walks into woods and surrounding fields for the dog.

Not too far to the river. Beware of cattle appearing from nowhere if you are walking the dog by the river! Golf course looks inviting if you take clubs. Only downsides were the lack of atmosphere in the bar and the long hike to the chemical loo.

Otherwise a smashing, relaxing site. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

 On the whole a very good site, 2 x toilet blocks kept spotlessly clean, grass kept short, space between pitches generally excellent. All pitches are hard standing I believe and despite the site being on a slope many pitches are pretty flat. The one and only shower block is a long walk from most pitches, on the other hand they are well serviced and maintained and the entire block is heated.

A few very mature trees including oaks but not so many that you can't see the see the sun when it gets out. We are C. C. Members and C. C. Can be a bit over the top with the number of trees on many sites, not here.

Walks around the site are very nice, the Annandale trail passes through the site on the river bank and alongside the 9 hole golf course. There is an ancient building named the 'Repentance Tower' just outside the site, quite interesting if monuments are your thing, the view from up there should appeal to all, Quite stunning in all 360 degrees.

Perfect site? Well no, I have a few issues. Firstly and as mentioned very recently, the trip to the one and only chemical disposal point really is quite a hike, to the point where the owners encourage you to transport it in your car when they actively discourage vehicle use at all other times. The other issue you can do nothing about (unless you have satellite) is the TV reception which is pretty bad.

I am glad we weren't alone in finding the bar less than friendly, though our gripe would be with the dour staff rather than the locals. They also advertise free WiFi yet it was never working during the entirety of our 8 day stay and non of the staff showed the least interest in getting the problem resolved. Final gripe, the food on offer in the bar left a lot to be desired, after two very poor offerings, we ate elsewhere, the Kings Arms in Lockerbie was particularly good and great value for money.

Would we stay again? Most definitely, chemical waste and the bar aside it is a lovely site and so conveniently located just 3 miles off the A74(M). A great stop-off en-route to or from the Highlands or a longer stay. Plenty to see and do in the area, a drive along the B road alongside the Solway Firth to Dalbeatie, fantastic view, or a trip to the lovely Drumlanrigg Castle. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ncc.wal 12 reviews from this member

 Just spent a great weekend at this site with my family who stayed in the chill pods and the lodges. Excellent site with loads of room for the kids to play without bothering grown ups but in a safe location. Pitches are very big but some on quite a slope to make pitching sometimes a bit difficult.

The facilities are very good and the Gents are locked at all times so always clean and tidy. There is a bar serving quite good food on the site as well as a takeaway. Because there is huge number of static and seasonal pitches ( I often wondered what happens to all the massive Fendt and Hobby vans not used by travelling people) the bar isn't the friendliest place if you happen to sit in a regulars place during the bingo on Saturday night but hey? For golfers there is a 9 hole course costing 13 a day and some fishing nearby.

Will certainly go again on our own. One point, there appears to be only one chemical toilet disposal point at the back of the castle-it, s quite a hike to get to it. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4972 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement