Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CDHphoto 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site, very friendly, knowledgeable & helpful staff who escorted us to our pitch. Great setting and surroundings, was very quiet when we were there.

Shower and toilet blocks very clean, only the corner bar was open as the site wasn't that busy and I'm pleased to report that there was no rip off prices like I have experienced at other sites, normal pub prices in the bar which is great considering there isn't anywhere else in the immediate vicinity. We did have a meal which was OK, little bit pricey for what we got but not extortionate. There is also a takeaway on site, open til 9pm.

Small games room for kids (we are child free now so can't really comment) with a couple of pool tables and games machines and lots of local information on the walls There was also a play park for the under 14's. Very generous tent pitches, quite a few with electric hook ups one of which we had booked.

Outstanding value for money I would have to say @ 16 night with EHU. Overall this gets a big thumbs up from us, would definitely recommend and we will go back, no hesitation. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amnoahbilly 3 reviews from this member

 Very large site. Facilities clean and good showers. We visited the week prior to a bank holiday weekend and apart from one or 2 other tents were the only ones on the camping field.

However what wasted it for us was that due to the forthcoming holiday we were told the site was to be full. They therefore (understandable) were getting the site prepared for this. But to incessantly cut the grass with mowers and strimmers day after day was way over the top!

Been camping for 7 yrs and out of all the sites we visited this was the one we disliked most! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scrapsmum 4 reviews from this member

 First time at this site. We were very pleased with the facilities paying the 10 deposit was well worth it as ladies, gents and disabled were top class there was even the option of having a bath at a 5 key deposit.

Everything was situated within the castle including pub / restaurant / takeaway which made the setting unique. Food was good we used both takeaway and pub.

We had EHU the pitch was really spacious as we had an 8 man tent which the (very friendly and helpful) assistant warden helped find the best spot for.

We had 3 dogs but found the dog walking area a bit risky to let off lead as it was along a steep slope leading to a fast flowing river, on the other side was a field with cattle which our youngest dog could have gotten through too easily. There was a games room available as well as a swing park for the kids.

All in all we had a great week there would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

 This site is a winner and quickly has become one of our favourites.

The location is great 10 mins from A74 (M), right on a river, castle and woodland setting.

Pitches are well spaced out, all hardstanding although not that wide if you have an awning and car (no parking on grass). Dont be put off by the rows and rows of residential Hobby caravans, I assume there is a limit on statics and these are the next best thing?

Excellent dog walk in the woods, cycle trail, and kids playground.

Lots of nice touches, shop, little bar, launderette, very well maintained all round.

The main toilet and only shower block was a mess on a busy Saturday morning but more to do with fellow campers than cleaning.

We rode the bikes 2 miles to Ecclefechan where there is a shop and hotel after an easy ride. Lots of good walking in woods and along the river, spacious site with good wardens its a winner we'll be going again.

Good motorhome service area and the best chemical disposal I've seen with hand towels provided. Deposit for toilet keys and remembering to carry one is a slight pain. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ikcman 2 reviews from this member

 Set in wooded surroundings, on hardstanding pitches with electric point, in the grounds of a Scottish castle, admittedly it does need a few pennies spent on the castle itself, but that's to be admired

The outbuildings, stables, etc. have been converted to modern ablution blocks which had plenty of free hot water and were very clean, hairdriers were available but were coin operated.

There is a bar/cafe on site but we did not use. There is a golf course with green fees paid at the site office. Being dog owners there was 3 decent walks starting from the site from about 15 minutes to 1 hour.

The nearest place is Annan approx 4 miles away, not much there but it does have a tesco. Ideal base for Dumfries, Gretna, Hadrians wall, etc. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Terrylynn+flynn 20 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights here and had a great time.

Arrived at 1pm, neglecting to look at our booking confirmation which states arrival from 2pm. The reason for this is that the office is closed between 1 and 2. Parked in the large car park and took the dog for a walk in the woods. The dog walk is fantastic with paths through the woods and along the river.

Received a very warm welcome from the wardens who showed us on the map where our pitch was. Initially we were a bit disappointed with our pitch as it did not appear to be very level but after a bit of juggling and parking close to the edge we were reasonably level. We arrived on the Tuesday after Bank Holiday and there were lots of empty pitches so guess if we had asked to move to another pitch this would have been OK.

Although there is more than one toilet block, the showers are only in the block by the castle so are quite a walk from most of the pitches. Toilet blocks and showers were spotlessly clean.

The setting of the site within the castle grounds is very picturesque and being away from any roads makes it very peaceful.

There are lots of static and seasonal caravans on site so imagine during main holidays the site would be very busy.

The site is well equipped with facilities to cater for most people - golf course, restaurant, bar, take away food, children's play area, but for us the best thing was the dog walk - easily accessible with plenty of space for the dog to run off lead.

The only gripe we have is that the site is not particularly motorhome friendly - the chemical disposal point is at the furthest point from any pitch which is OK if you have a car (most people seemed to drive to the disposal point) but is a long way to walk with a heavy cassette toilet!

Nevertheless, we had a wonderful time and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nervousmam 3 reviews from this member

 Came here after reading the reviews. Booked for the first May bank holiday. Arrived on the Saturday and found it really easy to find. One way system in which was a good idea.

We were shown our pitch 151 which was pretty flat right next to fence with cows and bulls on the other side which was a nice as my 2 girls chatted away to them giving us a chance to put our tent up. Sunncamp Shadow 600 - very spacious. We were given keys for the toilet and laundry block (10 deposit for keys - which you got back when you left). Toilets were fab, clean, lots of them, warm.

Separate cubicles for washing if preferred which was a good idea. Best of all was the private bathroom. You paid 5 deposit for the key and away you go. Very clean and equipment to clean it after your done. My 2 daughters and I used this facility both days and what a difference it made to camping. My eldest who's 10 said it felt weird having a bath but my youngest who's 4 loved it. Laundry room had to washers 1 dryer, iron board and three sinks for your dishes, again very clean.

Didn't use the pub on site but did use the takeaway. 4 year old got the Chicken burger. 3 good sized battered strips of chicken in a bun. 10 year old who only eats burgers got the burger and said it was nice. Me and the hubby got chips which were to be honest disgusting, there was no inside to them. 1x chicken burger, 2 x burger and 3 chips 12.75.

The park was a bit of a sandpit, 1 swing, monkey bars, slide. But was a bit disappointed as it was really far from the tent area and there was no way I was letting my 2 off on there own as the road to it was the road in for cars. Even if we were on the outskirts of the tent area I would still not been able to see them as the car park and hedges were in the way.

Also had to take girls to the toilets as they couldn't open the door themselves either as it had a yale lock on. It was even quite a walk to the toilet block from our tent.

The tent area is massive with hook ups on one side which was really full and quite close to one an other and us proper campers on the other side. The night of the burger my 10 year old was really ill with stomach pains which ended in her being sick and needing the toilet urgently, it was 11.30 and like I said it was quite a way to the toilet block. It was black with no lighting on the way, very wet grass and 1 very upset little girl who desperately needed the loo quick! no sooner were we back in the tent and we had to leave to do it all again. When we got back to the tent the 2nd time my hubby complained of pains.

We told Julie the next day in the shop (very well equipped, bread buns, sweets galore, bubbles and bats, ice lollies, batteries) and she told us in wasn't part of the castle but a separate franchise that did the cooking. She was lovely about it and told us to tell them.

Not much to do there to be honest only found a couple of walks which were pleasant enough but not long or interesting.

The site itself was lovely immaculate even but due to the park being as far away will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Al21an 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent four days at this site. On arrival, the woman in the shop / reception was very friendly and helpful, showing me on a map where everything was on the site. The pitch we were given was ok, apart from the power constantly tripping to the annoyance of the two other caravan owners on the pitches next to us, even though we didn't have anything running in our van. The site warden replaced the rcd unit and everything was ok.

The site is quite well laid out, we found 3 toilet blocks, all spotlessly clean, the only downside being only the block by the castle had showers in it. The site was not busy, and there was never a queue.

Our son loved the kids play area which was quite well equipped. Although we didn't use the restaurant on site, it looked really nice, cosy and inviting. One thing I was not too keen on was how badly lit the site was at night, especially with the long walks to the toilet blocks. Another drawback was the chemical disposal site, I actually had to use my car to get there, as it was too far to walk to empty my container. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catsanddogs 6 reviews from this member

 We booked onto this site because of prior fishing arrangements on the river Annan.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly helpful staff, who pointed us to what we thought was the worst pitch in the world! Sloping and miles from the toilet block, just about as far as can be from the toilets in fact (not good with 3 kiddies). The weather however was glorious sunshine (August bank holiday weekend), or at least it was until we actually got to our pitch. Throwing the kids out of the car to go play, we started pitching the tent, for about 3 minutes, then the heavens opened!

The rain didn't stop for 3 days!

When we awoke on the 2nd day, after VERY heavy rain overnight, almost everyone else was packing up to get away. As I had fishing booked though, we decided to stay, only two other tents and a camper van remained on the camping field.

When we walked our dog, we noticed that most of the EHU tent pitches were completely swamped, this made us think just how ' not the worst pitch in the world after all' lucky we were. Also the bins were all full of pillows, sleeping bags, bits of tent, etc. All our gear was dry thankfully, thanks to the new Outwell Nebraska and our apparently rubbish sloping pitch.

Hoddom Castle is very picturesque, would be beautiful in the sunshine. The kids enjoyed their brief moment in the playground, indoor activities for children were somewhat limited to 1 table tennis table and 1 pool table. Outdoor games are available but not in the weather we had.

Dog walking through the woods and along the river is fantastic.

Toilets and showers were clean and hot (refundable deposit for key to be paid on arrival). Plenty of showers, a few washrooms and plenty of toilets for a site this size. If you do have to wait, it won't be for long.

Small shop on site with snacks, toys and some basic items.

We ate in the restaurant one night which was reasonably priced (both food and drink), good food and we were made to feel very welcome, even with our 3 (9, 6 and 3 year old) children.

We will definitely go again and have already told our friends about Hoddom. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carole95 7 reviews from this member

 Recently spent 10 days on this site at the end of July with my husband and kids ages 12,11 & 7. The weather wasn't too bad, lovely and sunny on day of arrival and then after that it was raining and windy but the sun kept coming out.

My overall view of this site was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Had to put down 10 deposit at time of arrival for keys to the toilets / laundry room which was really worth it as they were always spotless. The showers were hot and clean any time of the day.

Size of the pitches was good as we had a Diablo 600 with Sun Canopy and still had plenty of room for the car and windbreakers at the side.

The only thing I would say is that the shop wasn't greatly stocked with camping essentials (so try and not forget anything) and the kids play park there wasn't much to do there as the kids got bored easy. But on the whole I would certainly return to this site for a long weekend. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5359 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement