Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lolabelle 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 6 days at hoddom castle and must say site is excellent well maintained excellent facilities showers toilet block immaculate. Had 2 meals in bar excellent value for money will be back.

Very good if your a walker. Only a short drive to various tourist attractions and towns. Would recommend hoddom castle to our fellow caravanners 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jobla 5 reviews from this member

 Visited site over a weekend and found that in the main it lived up to what we expected. My son was in one of the 'Pods' and he enjoyed that. We were on a large hard standing pitch with a nice view of the castle. Freshwater and grey water disposal was within easy reach of all pitches.

Facilities were top quality and kept absolutely spotless. However I do feel that in season the site would probably benefit from more showers, these are currently only in the main shower block and not the outlying toilet blocks. Shop was quite well stocked and prices were not in the ripoff category. Staff were polite and friendly.

However, I do have 2 grumbles the main one being the location of the chemical toilet disposal point in relation to the pitches. This was quite a hike and not being as young as I once was it can present quite a strenuous challenge. The only alternative would be to drive down which would be a bit of a chore.

The other grumble concerns the restaurant/bar. This does not accept debit or credit cards. The site owners told us that the bar is nothing to do with the site, but they do highlight its presence on their website so I feel they should point out that cards are not taken. The restaurant/bar are probably loosing out because this is 2014 and folk are wary of walking around with large cash sums.

Apart from that would certainly visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernie47 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very enjoyable week at Hoddom Castle with several UKCS friends.

Good spacious tent field although a little stony. Very clean toilets, showers and washing cubicles.

There is a nice reasonably priced bar serving meals and also a takeaway that serves breakfasts, chips, etc.

The reception area has a well stocked shop selling a good range of provisions and other items such as tent pegs, children's games etc.

There are three waymarked walks from the site, a golf course, river fishing, a children's play area and a dog walk.

The site is set in the extensive castle grounds and has a one-way road system, leaving the site entails driving approximately a mile along a fairly rough road with occasional speed humps.

As stated in a previous review there is a £10 deposit for two keys to the toilets, showers and laundry/washing up areas. This is a bonus as it prevents children from congregating and messing about in these areas.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, we intend visiting again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Popsicles 1 review from this member

 Just back from a stay in the chill pods, thought they were excellent little pricey nearly double what I would normally pay in the tent but no worries about the good old British weather ! The bonus of been set up in 10 mins.

Staff friendly. Showers & toilets plentiful & very clean. Lovely area for walks & biking. Definitely be back to use these again.

Never used the on site pub but looked ok. The takeaway was good though ! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: P+SShaw 5 reviews from this member

 Arrived for 6 night stay at Hoddom Castle campsite and it is one of the best we have been to. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and gave us all the relevant information on arrival. The site is spacious, meticulously clean, very well organised and picturesque.

The toilet block is spotlessly clean and there are more than enough loos for everyone! The showers are posh by camping standards with loads of constant hot water and we never had to queue as there are plenty. There are separate cubicles with washbasins in for extra privacy brushing teeth & doing make-up. The hairdryers are excellent quality too (only cost 60p to dry my hair). Laundry room & dishwashing facilities are first class too, with an iron & ironing board available. The pub on site does excellent food at a fair price and they do food from breakfast to evening meal.

There is a shop on site with all your basic needs, plus a few extra bits. There is a play area for the kids plus a separate walking area for exercising dogs. We have no negative comments about this site and we will definitely be going back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rose2 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 7 nights stay at this site. Got to say it must be the best in the area. (been to few) toilets spotless all the time. Showers hot and no pressing of buttons every few seconds. The on site pub was cheaper per pint than my local, very surprised at that. Meals in the bar and restaurant were well worth the money as well. The pitch we were on (123)got the sun all day and last thing at night :) when others on the tree lines had shade. The walks near the site along the river banks were all easily accessible to all. We walked to annan this way one day, about 6/7 miles and got the bus back to near site. The wardens and staff were all very helpful with local knowledge and where the best places to visit were. Will return one day. Only thing I'd say is don't use satnav from north once you get onto Broad heading to site, just stay on road till you cross over the bridge to site. The wife and myself got stopped by another couple who had took a turn up a narrow road (following satnav to be fair) and couldn't turn around. So my reversing skills got shown off lol. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ALAN K MCKIRDY 2 reviews from this member

 Our family of 3 stayed here just for one night, we joined a group of friends with their kids to take advantage of some great weather. Finding Hoddom Castle was very easy and the staff at reception were very informative and welcoming.

This site is fantastic for tents, very generous sized pitches. We had a corner pitch with electric hookup but it was the furthest from the toilets and showers, not a problem for us at all though.

The pitch was fairly level and in the field next to us we had some Highland coo's for company, lovely beasts they were.

Plenty of space for kids to run around and a great safe playpark.

The showers were great, clean and heated. Cubicles for sinks too, and plenty of them, never queued once.

The bar and bistro is housed in the fantastic castle grounds and is very reasonable.

The golfing is a short stroll away and a great circular walk down and across the river was enjoyed by us all.

Fantastic spot to see wildlife, fish, walk, play golf, relax.

I will be returning to Hoddom for sure.

Oh just one wee thing, take some earplugs unless you enjoy a very healthy dawn chorus and some large crows calling to each other yards from your tent as soon as it starts to get light. You have been warned. LOL. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hilary C 36 reviews from this member

 We only stayed here for the one night and it was lovely. The pitch was hard standing which was just as well as the grass was soggy after a lot of rain. The toilets were clean and warm and the washbasins in individual lockable cubicles, the showers were in the castle and a bit too far from our pitch so didn't use them. We had a meal in the bar which is in the castle, steak and chips which was very nice and fairly priced, other people had a Sunday Roast which also looked good. There are lovely walks through the site and a beautiful golf course, the children's play area also looked good and I have given the child friendly rating based on this alone. A lovely quiet site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Inphoto 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent site, well laid out and maintained. Staff friendly yet unobtrusive. Not to be used as a stop over to the highlands as you will probably not go any further.

It is that good. Golf course ok. The toilets are clean and warm and DO NOT have the push buttons that give about 10 seconds of water but are controlled as you would at home. Other sites please note.

One problem is that there is only one block for showers although other toilet blocks with hand basin facilities are available on the site. These having the same level of cleanliness. Although only one shower block they were always quiet despite this being a bank holiday weekend.

The chemical toilet facilities are quite far from the camp area but are well signed and when located are of a very good size unlike some that are squeezed into some small area.

The children's play area is well fenced and adequate for younger ones. Another thing to note is the take away! We arrived late afternoon and had a problem erecting the awning so time had past quicker than we realised and we decided to avail ourselves of the take away facilities.

Big mistake. £7. 70 we where charged for one portion of fish and chips that where so small I thought we had got a child's helping with the fish being the frozen type and the chips more like potato skins. The food in the restaurant I am unable to comment on as we ate our own food after that but what I saw looked far better than the takeaway.

Not far from Gretna Green with its outlet shopping as well as the famous blacksmiths. Apart from these slight niggles it is a site I would definitely recommend and will visit again without hesitation. --Just take some supplies that you can cook yourself. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thewhitehorse 19 reviews from this member

 The Park is set in the Castle grounds and surrounded by woodland and fields with highland cattle and sheep. The site was very large and ‘open plan’ which ensured that the Castle could be seen from most pitches. A one-way tarmacked road wound around the site in a circular fashion with tracks and gravelled pitches going off on either side.

The pitches are double width but electric hook-ups are shared between three.

Access to the toilets and showers is via a key issued on receipt of a (refundable) £10 deposit. The Ladies is in what looks like the old stables and the entrance feels a bit spooky but opens out into two large, light and spacious areas housing the toilets and showers. There are plenty of these and the whole place was squeaky clean. It was lovely to see historical and modern utilitarian features combined so sympathetically.

There are plenty of walks around the park and although the castle is not open to the public, the restaurant, bar, café and TV/Games room is incorporated into the building so you do get a feel for the place.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful and obviously have a passion for their work and for the castle.

We really loved this site, the only downside being the very long walk to the waste disposal point for our chemical toilet, and the shared hook-up.

We can thoroughly recommend a stay here. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3697 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement