Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Shellipoos 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over Sept weekend. Normally tenters but owing to time of year opted for a 3 night stay in a Kelo lodge. Lodge was lovely, clean and warm as it has a wall affixed convector heater although still needed a fan heater for a boost. Lodges are in the same field as tents which was spacious and peaceful. Field was flat and next to an area where there was a lovely highland cow.

Toilet block warm and clean and accessed by a key. It was quiet when we attended and there are loads of showers and toilet cubicles. On site pub cosy, comfortable and the food was decent and reasonably priced. The lodges have a separate kitchen hut again accessed by a key for lodge users only. Clothes and dishwashing facilities really good too.

Loads to do nearby inc Mabie Farm Park where we spent a full sunny day again for a really reasonable price. Good playpark on site 2 min walk away from tent/pod field although there were a couple of cheeky unsupervised kids hanging about. Great site which we will visit again, hopefully in our tent. And the night sky is amazing! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barneysl51 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from what can only be described as a relaxing weekend. This campsite has a very rural feel with all the mature trees and gardens. The pitches are all level hard standing and have plenty of room for awning and parking your car etc. The bars were warm and welcoming even to dogs. We didn't have food but it looked good. The toilet blocks were clean and all sinks were in private cubicles so you could get washed in private. The only let down was the placing of the only showers, We were pitched at the top of the hill and the only showers are at the bottom of the hill near the office which was a good 5 mins walk away.

There was no noise at all at night but we were not pitched near the park or bar. We wouldn't think twice about going again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spamjam 1 review from this member

 What a great site. Very friendly and helpful staff. Grounds were very well kept and coped well during some terrible weather. We never ate in the restaurant but I enjoyed a few pimms at the bar.

The toilet block at the castle has many toilets, adequate facilities. Few toilet seats need adjusting in the ladies.

The site has a park area for children, and my only gripe was the noise. I think a curfew should be imposed as it was annoying hearing kids with whistles blowing them loudly when we were trying to relax/sleep, other people had younger kids they were trying to get down.

We enjoyed the handcut chips at the take away - everyone raves about them - and they are good indeed.

Can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Looseym 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights in a tent. We are 2 adults and 2 children aged 2 and 4. Its a lovely setting. The people in charge were friendly and helpful. The chap walked over with me to show where we should pitch and gave me a little tour. The pitches are a good size with plenty of room for our large tent and car. The facilities are accessed via a key (I assume this is so that the golfers don't use them). They were really warm and a good size. There is a bathroom which you can get a key for although we didn't use it. The washing up facilities are adequate. The play area is a short walk from the tent area but really very good. Although my 4 year old did have to keep asking big kids to move out of the way of the slide as they were using it for a meeting place. We used the take away facility attached to the restaurant on site. It took some time for it to cook and wasn't the cheapest ever but tasted fine. My only criticism was the curfew or lack of. With 2 young children we could of done without other kids still running around our tent late at night. Otherwise a lovely site and we would definitely recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunset2 7 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were shown our pitch. It was an excellent pitch just down from the children's play area and not far from the pub, showers etc. Showers were clean and obviously kept that way as cleaning was witnessed very often. The bar was nice as were the staff, prices not to bad either. There is a small shop which stocks the basics so you'll never be stuck.

We ventured into Annan which is a lovely little town. It is a good place to do a decent shop as there is a new Tesco there. All the children seemed happy enough with plenty to do and everything very safe. All in all a great park to stay. We'll be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MobilMan 4 reviews from this member

 Hi had been here in the past with a caravan and always found it to be a great site but a few years ago the Bar an restaurant had been taken over and to be honest it was terrible with the main bar hardly ever open and everybody crushed into a little corner bar, when we had asked the wardens about what had happened they were apologetic but explained that they had no input over the bar/catering.

Well surprise surprise this year there is a complete change, New wardens, New management at the bar/restaurant/take away. We noticed the new sign at the entrance to the park telling all about the Coach House Lounge/Restaurant/Take Away. We met the new wardens (John & Lorraine) and were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, once we had booked in ( 3 Nights) we were given map of site and as we had stayed in the past we found it no problem ( although they did offer to escort us to site)the sites are much improved with hard standing and clearly marked out. Then proceeded to set up van and awning etc.

We had to go and try out the Coach House which although it was a friday early evening was busy but we got a 3 seats no problem, and the dog came too. We decided to try the bar meals and ordered at the bar and enjoyed the food (was a wee bit pricey but good) the drinks were not too expensive. As there are quite a large number of Static Vans on this site as well as Static Tourers I can see why this is popular. We were about to leave when we were asked if we wanted to join in the Bingo, which we did and spent an other pleasant hour, before heading back to the van.

Next morning I resisted the temptation to have a breakfast in the restaurant (meals and take aways from 9am to 9pm every day) and cooked in the van. We decided we would try a meal on the Saturday night in the restaurant. We spent the rest of the day walking the dog round the great dogwalks, had a look round the 9 hole golf course (I don't play golf) which looked great, walked down to River Annan and watched the fishermen trying their luck, then round the site to see how it had changed since our last visit a few years ago.

The overall impression is that the site is now a lot better than we remember, the Kids play area has been revamped, the bar and restaurant are lovely and welcoming, the old corner bar is now a modern kids/teenager ent type place with consoles wifi etc. We went to the restaurant that night and enjoyed nice meals and very friendly staff, the meals were a bit pricey but we enjoyed them. We then went into the Coach house for a last drink and again although busy we found seats no problem. All too soon it was time to head home, but we will be returning to this much improved old favourite.

Highlights:- Relaxing, not commercialised, great situation in the heart of the countryside, nice friendly staff in park and bar/restaurant, well laid out, clean toilets and showers (10. 00 deposit returnable on leaving), safe play areas for kids, great dog walking, fishing, golf(if you play), lots of wildlife, good wee shop on site(order your papers the day before), Tank emptying facility for motor homes, oh and they also stock CALOR GAS refills.

Lowlights:- cant think of any.

We Shall return 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve4456 5 reviews from this member

 First visit here with a tent, we really enjoyed it, showers, toilet, park usual high standard. Superb scenery and staff and other campers very friendly.

The Coach house pub is under new management and is superb for a great family night very welcoming with some entertainment on various nights outdoor/indoor games for kind including Wii and Ps2.

We will gladly return again very reasonable site fees and pub costs. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greensyke 4 reviews from this member

 Great site for a family. We booked a last minute pitch with EHU and couldn't be more pleased. Plenty of space between pitches and lots of green space. Facilities good - loads of shower cubicles and toilets and always clean.

Pub is good and situated in a courtyard - this could be gorgeous if they put more seating in the courtyard and maybe some plants?

The shop is reasonably well stocked for your basics and reasonably priced.

There's some lovely short walks around the estate. Such a shame that the castle is falling into disrepair.

Our only complaint would be the curfew: we had no problems the first night, however the second night the was a group of young boys camping with their dad's who seemed to have little control over them - playing football, fighting etc. Not a problem through the day but I do object to excessive noise at midnight! Apparently there is a curfew of 11pm (which personally I think is a little late when you have children), but my problem is that is is not enforced by anyone! When the shop/reception closes there is a sign on the door with a mobile number on to call in an emergency. Unfortunately it was the rowdiness around our tent that one night that spoiled an otherwise fantastic break. I did mention the next morning to the wardens who were apologetic. We only live 30mins from this site and would really love to utilise its handiness more often and recommend, however we would have to be assured that our kids wouldn't be kept awake until the early hours again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rielly 6 reviews from this member

 We were booked in for Royal Jubilee weekend, entrance to the site was rather impressive, with a lovely gate house, the lane leading to the site was through a wooded area, abloom with lovely flowers.

On arrival at the site we found the booking in procedure fairly straightforward, the people working in the reception area, were pleasant, and efficient.

They gave us 2 keys for the toilet and shower blooks which cost 10 returned upon keys being handed in upon departure, they also went through a map of where we were to pitch on the tent field, and what was where on the site, as it was the Jubilee weekend there were festivities around the courtyard area of the castle, which were noted in the reception area. There was a BBQ on site, which was 10 per person for either a burger or steak, with salad etc free, ok if only 1 or 2 of you, but for a family of 5, it seemed a bit of a dear do, so gave it a miss, we had our own BBQ, which later became small camp fire (although technically not permitted)

The tent field itself was very flat, we were plot 149, the field behind con sited of highland cattle, and on the odd occasion came quite close to the tent field, although separated by a wire fence. The edge of the tent field had a bit of a slope, so we pitched our tent widthways, rather than sideways, our tent being 7.5mts long, and allowing for guy ropes just fitted on the pitch, although we were advised to pitch as far left within our pitch as we could.

We kept the car near to the tent, although there wasn't enough room to park the car by the side, so had to go in front. There was a main carpark, where you could have parked your car as an alternative. We put up the windbreaks, flagpole, union jack bunting, and flag, sat back and whiled away the hours.

The tent field is mainly non electric with approx 6 pitches in the middle with electric, behind these is the water tap for drinking water. There were no rubbish bins in this area, they were by the castle and seemed to be of the wheelie bin variety, there were recycling bins by the laundry room. There was plenty of room for kids to kick a ball, and generally have fun running about.

The toilet and shower block were by key access only, upon entering the ladies it was obvious that they were once a stable block, to the left of the entrance, was purely a toilet area, with 2 x sink basins, plenty of hot running water, although this did empty directly into a drain within the block, so it did on the odd occasion get a bit slippy. There were plenty of toilets on this side, although they were on the narrow side. There were some toilets on this side that were not in operation, they didn't say out of order, you just couldn't get into them, overall in this area, there must have been 20 toilets.

If you went to the right upon entering the ladies, this was the shower room, it also had 3 x toilets with wash hand basins, and separate rooms with just wash hand basins. There were plenty of showers, with 1 that was out of order, I did try the shower, never had to queue, and plenty of hot water, once you had adjusted the shower to meet your needs.

I can honestly say, that I don't think I ever saw a queue in the toilet block, for either the loos, or showers, they were cleaned daily, and to be of a high standard, alway plenty of loo roll, there were 2 x hairdryers which worked by feeding it with 20p's unsure how long it worked for, but it dried my shoulder length hair in one go.

The games room had 2 x games machines, 2 x pool tables and 1 x ping pong table, which was a hit with my kids. Use of the Ping pong table was free, but if you needed balls these were 20p we had bats with us - if you wanted to use their bat and balls for ping pong it was 1. 20 - unsure if this was refunded.

There was a crazy golf area, 1. 20 which was refunded upon the return of the clubs and ball.

The laundry area was clean, with 2 x washing machines, and 1 x tumble dryer, 1 x ironing board and iron, which worked by a meter, have to say, I didn't use any of these. Plenty of hot water for washing up, my only gripe is people who do not wash the sink down after use, access to the laundry room was via the key supplied.

There were plenty of walks to go on around the site, with static caravan areas, and touring caravan areas, so a nice mix. The play area for kids was of a good standard. We didn't use the restaurant, my youngest had some chips from the takeaway one night, standard frozen chips but they hit the mark, there were home made chips, at extra cost.

Nearby there is a tower called Repentance Tower, whilst we were there, they held a BBQ, in which you could take your own food to be cooked, they also light a beacon for the Jubilee, along with setting of fireworks.

The bar area had a TV, and a games console, but that really isnt my sort of thing, the menu seemed varied, but we didn't try the food.

Overall we had a really enjoyable time, the facilities on site that we used were of a high standard, and the fact the weather was good made it an all round fab weekend.

We will definitely consider returning to this site in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Migsmum 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 3night stay at hoddom castle, on arrival staff were very busy as it was jubilee weekend but very polite and friendly,

Our pitch was well tended to although hardstanding (a nightmare to knock pegs into)

Had a takeaway Saturday night the fish was supposed to be fresh but was frozen and the chips were also frozen, not homemade as stated on the menu

Then off to the showers, when we got there there was a queue and only 7 ladies showers + 1 out of order. Sunday the electric tripped and needed a key to get into the box, went down to reception to get the warden to come up and 2hours later went back again and asked him to come up and he said he had not been told it was off.

The shop was well stocked (with basics) but expensive. The site itself was very clean and tidy to a very high standard, the bar staff were great, even though they were very busy, nothing was too much trouble. No television reception was available but if you have a satellite dish, take it along, you will be ok with that,

There are some great walks around the site. All very easy to complete for any one young and old

We thought it was a very good clean site but apart from the bar / restaurant, very basic. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3973 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement