Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kinsley 1 review from this member

 I would highly recommend this place

The site is lovely and peaceful

Some great rides out

Showers are good and general facilities good

Has a nice games room 2 pool tables in it 50 p a game and table tennis also has a few fruit machines only downfall is the shop never seems to have any bread even at 11 am but there's a tesco in lockerbie about 10 mins away and annan is about 10 mins away lovely village some great charity shops but has a somerfield and farm foods,greggs etc

Just stayed for 2 weeks could have done 3 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deefa127 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. The scenery is fantastic with plenty of grass areas for the kids to play. The pitches are perfectly placed with loads of drinking water taps and grey water disposal areas (never too far from one where ever you are sited) We travelled over 300 miles to this site and was worth every mile! The only down side is the distance to the chemical disposal and the lack of supplies in the shop, but that's being picky. We would definitely visit this site again, only wish we lived closer! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 258lisac 3 reviews from this member

 My partner and I stayed here with our 2 boys (aged 4&6) for 2 nights and had a good time. It was our first camping trip so we didn't know what to expect but we enjoyed our stay here. The tenting site was large and we had lots of room. We were shown to our pitch which was next to the water supply located in the centre of the field. Toilets and shower blocks were good/clean and plenty of them so no queuing. Washing up facilities good also and I liked they were close to the pitch for during the night runs to the loo!

Shop stocked the basics and was reasonably priced.

Agree with previous reviews regarding pub and lounge.Needs some redecorating ! children are only allowed in the family room and not the main bar which was a shame as there was a great entertainer on the night we went but sadly had to listen to him from the outside area.

The play park from a distance looked nice but on closer inspection seemed a bit run down although the kids didn't seem to mind too much.

The location is very nice and lots of walks to go on along the river and surrounding area. We walked up to Repentance Tower which has wonderful views around the surrounding area.

Overall was a pleasant short stay.Due to site being a little run down would not advise going longer than a week if you have kids but for adults it is great or for families looking for a weekend break. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pduignan 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned to camping after many years so did not know what to expect from a site.

Have to say this site is excellent!

Large mixed site, vans, mobiles and tents.

Tents share one area with mobiles.

Tent pitches are large and well identified, room to park your car alongside and sited near the facilities so not far to walk. Good ground and level pitches.

It rained ever night, really hard (with thunder and lightning one night) and the standing water quickly drained.

Shower/toilet block is immaculate. About ten shower and sperate wash cubicles all in the cost.

(Male block)

On site shop which closes at 7pm. Bar and restaurant which opens at lunch and from 6-9pm (so don't expect to spend all night in the bar!).

Play area for kids, basket ball hoop, crazy golf, pool table, table tennis and even a nine hole golf course.

Good short walks around the area too.

One way system is a great idea for vans.

All in all a great site, not surprised it won campsite of the year a few years ago. As Arnie said 'I'll be back'. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 690 reviews from this member

 We were expecting something of a holiday camp on arrival - but we were pleasantly surprised by this site.

Large site but with plenty of space between pitches. The toilets and showers were first class and even for a big site which was fairly full there were not any queues.

Plenty of space for children to play and also plenty of wooded walks for the whole family.

The pub / restaurant seemed popular. We didn't eat there but had a few drinks. It lacks some atmosphere and go do with cheering up a little in terms of decor.

On the whole a really nice site - perfect for families or for couples. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ay Drookit 6 reviews from this member

 This campsite is well located to explore a small corner of Dumfries and Galloway. Caerlaverock castle is not far and is well worth a visit as is the wetlands along that part of the coast.

The pitch we had (no. 176) was very well located close to the toilets however it was also beside the car park and early morning vehicle movement could disturb. The main advantage was however that it was a free draining pitch and we had very very very heavy rain for two days. The main tent area adjacent was affected by the water and we noticed one tent that got flooded out and had to move. It appeared that the staff were helping the campers though.

I don't agree with a previous reviewer on the toilets. They are only average, although plentiful and clean enough. The pub is small and not very well stocked and a bit low on atmosphere, it was a welcome diversion however during the rain storms. I didn't try the food. Oddly enough they don't advertise with menus etc or boards about the site trying to entice you in. There is a 9 hole course and it looked OK for a bit of fun - not for serious golf.

Showers are included in price, always a good thing, and were very hot. I liked the idea of private individual wash cubicles. All in all a good campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dax709 10 reviews from this member

 Cannot wait to return to this site. A hearty welcome from the more than helpful staff. Brian eagerly showed us our pitch as well as providing an extension for our hook up. The setting for this site is awesome with the castle in the background. Loads to do for the kids, don't know where to start, Pool Tables, Table tennis, Netball hoop, giant draughts, Crazy golf, Tennis court and a Golf course. Nice bar on site as well a restaurant and take away. Oh did I mention a shop as well. The toilets and showers are second to none. I have been to many a campsite and yet to find any facilities that come even close to these. I can find no faults whatsoever on this 5 star site. Loads of places to visit in the surrounding area. Some great shopping too, (my wife tells me) at Dumfries and Carlisle. As I said I would not hesitate in returning to this brilliant site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johngilchrist 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights ,great site with excellent facilities,shower and toilets very clean,friendly staff, restaurant and take away on site not too expensive and basic shop(daily paper needs to be ordered the day before). Kids playground is pretty basic,crazy golf,pool table and table tennis to keep them amused for a wee while,tennis court is well out the way.

The camping area was quiet when we were there midweek and my kids really enjoyed the big spaces and freedom to play.

Plenty of attractions around the area to explore and keep the kids happy.Lots of lovely walks to enjoy.

I will return in the future,excellent for a short stay in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crusoeonmars 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit - we had checked it out on this website first - and were very pleased. Toilet and shower facilities were more than plentiful - and very clean. Decor of the bar and restaurant may look dated but the food and wine was excellent. We can recommend the McCallan whisky!

Pitches were level, well set out and site is well-organised. The site itself is pretty but nearby locations are few. We checked out a few pubs and restaurants in nearby villages (not within walking distances) and only got as far as the front door.

Dumfries though is well worth visiting and don't miss Burn's favourite pub The Globe Inn for friendly locals, historical tour and a good pint and Cavens where we had a fabulous food and real ale.

Took a journey up to Loch Ken and Galloway - beautiful scenery.

Really great value for money: 12 per night for two of us in small tent, with free showers (with 10 returnable deposit). 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leannemcnicol 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site a few times now and we love it! the pitches are flat and very spacious, the toilet/shower facilities are the best we have seen! (and I'm very fussy lol)

Games room, pub, take away are all good too and very reasonably priced.

There are good walks round the park and plenty to do in the area

Im sure we will be returning many times. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3088 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement