Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hoddom Castle Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 160
Open: April To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 134 Reviews
                8/10 from 134 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindaian 1 review from this member

Have got to give this site a 10 out of 10, Staff were excellent, facilities very clean, Its the kind of site you just want to come back to, Lots to do and see, Hope to be back with my children and grandchildren very soon. A big thankyou

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diamond blade 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here on a recommendation from friends. Not far from the M74, its a good spot for those travelling north or south.

The site is very large and was very busy on our first visit, but the pitches are so far apart, you wouldn't have known it. Facilities are dated, but were very clean, and the site is very well looked after.

The on site bar/restaurant was a bit of a disaster, waiting 10 minutes to order drinks, but it may have been a one off. Plenty to do there, golf, fishing, walking, so we will be back.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J A K 1 review from this member

Great site, good walks for dogs, all amenities very clean, bar and restaurant very good value, play area for kids including a mountain bike area.

Only took a short hook up cable, warden was there straight away with a loan cable. Will be back

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mcniv 1 review from this member

Stayed here with 4 adults and 2 kids for a weekend on a electric tent pitch. Site is excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful.

There's a good playground for kids and an few indoor games if weather isn't so good.

Pub and shop are reasonably priced and the food in the pub is of good quality.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Anita-B 1 review from this member

We stayed at Hoddom Castle in our Motorhome twice in May 2016. You enter the caravan park and drive along a leafy tree-lined road, which really makes you feel like you are getting away from it all.

Only part of the Castle is still in use, but it is a pretty sight to behold. The facilities are good and there is a shop for essentials. There is a bar and restaurant with a decent selection of meals. We ate there a couple of nights and the food is good.

The site itself is pretty big with different areas for hobbit-type huts, tents and motor homes/caravans. As a result it can be a wee walk from the top end of the site to the main facilities, but this isn't a problem. There are toilet blocks at the top of the site, which is handy.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ledburyred 4 reviews from this member

No real views from site as is basically a large field but very peaceful as surrounded by trees. Castle is interesting to look at but not allowed too close. Surrounding countryside very nice and golf course lower down by the river is a good way to end a day.

Facilities good and clean and very useful having pub/restaurant on site for when you have forgotten something as we did!

Lockerbie Plane Memorial is very moving. Plenty else to do in surrounding areas with some beautiful drives a bit further north around Moffatt. Good Tesco in Annan or Morrisons in Dumfries.

Site seemed bit characterless mid week as a lot of statics which were not being used.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Murpherret 2 reviews from this member

Had an excellent 3-day break here. The staff were very friendly and you were made welcome on arrival and during the stay.

Facilities were well-maintained but slightly damp (beware the semi-rough on the golf-course but otherwise it is a fun course). The on-site bar and restaurant were good value. TV reception can be patchy.

We will return.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rudeboy1963 2 reviews from this member

This is a Fantastic camp site! We had the best time at hoddom castle!

Very nice clean toilets and shower area! clean washing area! Great field for our tent and no problems with the electric. With lots of room at both sides of our tent.

There was some great walks around the site and a super children's play area.

Also it was handy having a pub on site where they did nice meals and takeaways.

There are lots of places to visit near by too! Would highly recommend this site! We will be back xx

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Allweather 15 reviews from this member

Great site, great Location. The restaurant / Bar did reasonable food at a fair price, the menu wasn't vast but sufficient. Drink prices were very reasonable.

Previous reviews state the Bar staff are miserable. I didn't find a problem. You must try The Thai Orchid in Dalton. 10 out of 10.

Would recommend

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigbish 2 reviews from this member

We have just arrived home from an absolutely fantastic holiday at Hoddom castle.

We visited it briefly earlier in July this year whilst in the area on holiday & we were impressed with their facilities so we decided to book a holiday there.

We were supposed to be stopping for 4 nights but after our 1st day there we cancelled our other stops & stopped there for an additional 10 nights.

The staff are very helpful, nothing is ever too much trouble, we explained when booking that we are new to touring caravans & therefore have little experience of reversing, the staff booked us onto a drive on / drive off pitch next to the children's play area which was fantastic for our 3 young children.

The one way system makes it safe for children to play & most people kept to the 10 mph speed limit.

The pitches are huge ! all hardstanding so need good pegs if using an awning, although we were still able to use our windbreaks to make a small garden for our dogs.

The restaurant is amazing, huge portions (even the children's portions were big) all homecooked food & fantastic value for money.

The location couldn't be better, 6 miles from Annan, 7 miles to Lockerbie & about 15 miles to Dumfries so plenty of shops to choose from.

The grounds are spotless, lovely marked walks along the river Annan.

The only slight downside is the distance to the hook up points (they are in the process of upgrading so each pitch has it's own point) but they wardens will lend you an extension cable if required.

Wifi is available in the bar only which was perfect for us, TV reception is not great judging from the amount of people messing around with their ariels not that we had a TV.

All in all an amazing site - cannot praise it enough, so good we have already booked to go back next week & will be booking to go back next year too.

Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5561 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019