Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wanderer18 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first visit to Hoddam as we normally stick to near the sea!

This was quite a large caravan park with a very long drive! But had brilliant walks for the dog.

The area around the park was ample for walking or cycling. The toilets were dated and not the warmest of places. The food in the restaurant was beautiful though, it really isnt plugged enough.

The bar was date but perfect for a small drink at night.

The shop had most things that you need. Staff were helpful.

Overall I would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: *fi* 1 review from this member

 We chose Hoddom Castle for our first family camping trip in our new tent after it was recommended by a work colleague. Its only a 50 min drive from our home town and was easy to reach.

On arrival, the previous campers hadn't left our designated pitch as we had arrived way before the 2pm arrival time so we headed off into Annan for some lunch with the apologies of the site staff.

The tent field is across the car park from all the main site facilities and is fairly level. The shower/toilets were clean and plentiful and the laundry/washing up area was perfect for the size of the campsite.

There is a lovely children's playpark available as well as a small crazy golf course and games room with pool table, table tennis and a host of local area information. There is also an on site bar and restaurant which we didn't actually use.

As a first time camper, I couldn't fault the site at all as I have nothing to compare it to. The staff were friendly and helpful, our neighbours weren't rowdy and the kids had plenty of others to play with. We'll definitely be back for another weekend sometime soon! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Candy09 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights to start our touring holiday in scotland, the staff are very friendly, the site is a nice site, the only problem we had was the shower block was so far away, plenty showers lovely and clean, but the walk to them if your at the far end of the site is far to far away, there is a toilet block in the middle of the site, but no showers in it, we drove to the carpark to go to the showers each morning. For this reason don't think I would return, but overall nice site, kids would love the woods that surround the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kateclark 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to Hoddom. It is a lovely site and the staff are very friendly showing us to our site, and going through the facilities. There are activities for the children, although the crazy golf needs some TLC.

There is a restaurant which is ok. We had a great walk by the river, there is a trail of lovely wood carvings to follow and hundreds of wild orchids. The children enjoyed paddling in the river also.

The pitches are well kept and well marked and the toilet and shower facilities are spotlessly clean and in abundance.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FamilyTrips 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Stayed here as a child and returned with my own children and was not disappointed.

All tent pitches were level. Toilets always clean and plenty of loo's (about 12 in all!)

The castle itself has been converted into the toilets, shop, reception and bar and games room. Has all the amenities required but are cleverly hidden away within castle so the 'holiday park' feel is not there.

The shop has most things you would need. Ice creams are v cheap compared to further south, approx 1. 40 for a Magnum or Cornetto.

Plenty to do in the area. The river at the entrance to the site provided our boys with loads of fun. Nearby is a Aviation Museum (approx 12 per car), where you can view and sit in some old planes.

On site you have outdoor draughts, crazy golf, kids play park, games room and plenty space in the centre of the camping pitch for ball games.

Returned to this site based on a childhood memory and would not hesitate in returning again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebroons30 8 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this lovely site

Plenty of nice walks straight from the tent field. Golf course and fishing also on site for anyone interested in these pursuits.

We took the bikes and ended up cycling 15 miles around Hoddom, Eccelfechan and Annan and considering this was our first time on bikes in 20 odd years we did suffer from numb bum.

Fantastic clean heated toilets and the option of a bath if preferred. Great site which we will continue to return too. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve4456 5 reviews from this member

 First time at this site and was good with a few complaints. Site, toilets and showers were very clean. Nice surroundings lots of nice walks we had a pitch directly across from the great play park which was great for the kids. Staff were friendly.

Pub was run by an other company and didn't look very interesting no events were on apart from bingo on saturday night and didn't try it, the pub only opened in the evenings.

Now the bad points. The hard standing area for the awning was very hard standing I bent a rock peg! seems to be a very thin layer of gravel then rocks/cement. Rubble underneath.

Kids were looking forward to the Tennis Court it was up a dirt track overgrown with trees over an old style and into the court enclosure which was very old surrounded by very tall trees and the tarmac was covered with weeds kids couldn't get in for the nettles.

The electrical hook up is one point for 3 pitches so there was cables trailing over our pitch for the next pitch which made parking the car awkward to avoid damaging the cables. Tent area looked nice. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mirks 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with fantastic facilities. Really good dog walks around the site and surrounding area, very peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. Toilets / showers very clean.

Great food from the restaurant / take away. Golf and fishing close to hand. Outdoor play area and games room for kids (pool / table tennis).

Great location for visiting Annan / Dumfries / Gretna etc. Pitches were well spaced in the tent field and good sized hard standing for caravans.

Will be returning this time in our new caravan  


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andiamo 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night on our way to the Highlands and thought it was a very good site.

There were ample facilities, lots of hot water, and everything was very clean. It was great to have a heated shower and toilet block at this time of year and it was even warm early in the morning.

There were some pleasant walks from the campsite and everyone was friendly, including the local residents. We'd go again. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigbird263 6 reviews from this member

 Excellent site and surroundings. Reception staff were very helpful both on arrival and departure. Pitches are large, water is close by, washrooms are plentiful and very clean.

The shop stocks the basics in small quantities. Scenery and local surroundings are beautiful. There is a bar on site though it is not operated by the campsite people - it proved to be unreliable during our stay as the staff were away on holiday, however Annan was only a 15 minute drive away.

Highly recommend the site, but don't rely on the bar for meals. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5084 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement