Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
                8/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duffs54 25 reviews from this member

 Another excellent holiday at this fab site. Yes it still only has one washing up sink, but just take hot water from the ladies toilet block back to your tent. New toilet and shower block being built so that will be a bonus.

No hot water one morning due to a fault but was repaired within 2 hours, so good service.

The owner isn't as miserable as he seems, just take the time to chat to him he can be quite funny!

I can highly recommend a holiday here, relaxed loads of room and a steam train to wave at! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PJRB 9 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! Seriously right next to the railway line, steam trains in abundance! The site is very laid back, pitch up when and where you like (got good and bad points I suppose). Shop only manned one hour in morning and one hour in evening. Freezer blocks available for deposit and small charge for each re-freeze.

They also hire out sturdy wooden picnic tables, great idea. Slightly sloping (very in some places). Good to have one field with no dogs too. Toilets cleaned very regularly and a cheery chap does the job. No queues but cold shower one morning. It was fixed the same day. Washing up sink had queues but we did ours at the tent, didn't understand people sitting washing up by the sink!

No play area, but all the kids seemed to having a great time without one!

I definitely rate this site and can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PeteDeFeet 8 reviews from this member

 Site spread over 3 fields, one being a little regimented only because it has electric hookups. We were on the bottom field without leccy, which meant we could pitch up anywhere - nice.

13 acres means plenty of people wanting to use the one loo / shower block and the one washing up sink. Looks like there are new facilities being built though. Useful shop on site.

We'd go back 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannahv 2 reviews from this member

 First impressions of this campsite were brilliant. Very reasonably priced and there seemed to be no rules on how much space you took up with tents, windbreaks, gazebos etc.

We were camped in Field one by the train track. Being so close caused us no issues as the trains stopped running overnight, not sure exactly what time, maybe around 11pm. But the children loved waving at the steam trains as they passed.

Location was excellent being so close to Corfe, Wareham, Poole, Swanage etc.

The toilets/showers were very basic and as it was peak season, and the campsite was packed, we quite often had to queue for showers. I didn't really have a problem with this though, you never had to wait too long and the showers were kept reasonably clean.

The shop was only open for a couple of hours a day but again this wasn't a problem, in respect of buying items, as we either waited for it to open or drove to one of the nearby shops.

Picnic tables were available to hire for 10 refundable deposit at 5 per week. We made use of this and found it very useful and a very reasonable price.

The few cons were that the person manning the shop had no record that we had booked a pitch with electric hook up and the noise on some nights.

As mentioned in some previous reviews there was a group of French students who made a lot of noise until unreasonable times. After the night they had been up shouting, screaming etc. Until 3am we went to the shop to complain. The site manager or owner did very little to remedy the problem. He spent all of 30 seconds talking to the adult responsible for the French party and in the end we had to discuss it with him ourselves to get the point across. The next night was better but there was no one on site who could have helped if it hadn't been. This was the biggest problem in my eyes. There only seemed to be someone on hand to help with any problems for the few hours a day the shop was open.

I would definitely stay at this campsite again without hesitation if the noise issue had been dealt with in a manner I was confident with. I would still consider staying here again, even now, but I would definitely check whether there were any large groups booked in at the same time.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dottyasabat 4 reviews from this member

 Just come back from two nights here. This campsite still hasn't changed from years ago. It's a fantastic location ideal for kids who love trains as they pass right next to Field 1.

Due to the fantastic weather the site was packed like sardines - some people lost their car parking area next to their tent when they went out for the day. No rules about how close to pitch here! The facilities were very stretched with only 4 showers in the ladies. Only one washing up sink so we just washed up at the tent.

We did have a lot of trouble with extremely loud music on the Saturday night until about 4.30 am, which sounded as if it was from the campsite. On speaking to the guy in the shop it turned out this was from a wedding party in a nearby village.

Not sure if we want to return as put off by the facilities and the noise. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alan 5959 2 reviews from this member

 I found Woodhyde to be a fantastic base for exploring the Isle of Purbeck upon arrival there was no one in shop so just pitched up in top field by the railway there are no set pitches, this field is on a gentle slope. The toilet block was clean and there was plenty of hot water also shop was well stocked with camping equipment and grocery products at 6 per night this site was great value for money.The surrounding area is great for walking also the Swanage railway is at Corfe castle which also has a couple of good pubs plus shops it is about a mile away. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kathy+Adrian 1 review from this member

 Just back from a long weekend at this lovely campsite! This site had everything we wanted - no frills! The shop was tiny but a lot of thought had gone into what to stock. The man in the shop, probably the owner, was helpful and friendly. We pitched up in field 1, right next to the railway line. The toilet and shower block were fine, although the hand dryer didn't work very well, but then they never do! The wash up area looked clean but we prefer to wash up at the tent.

It's a nice walk into Corfe Castle, but about quarter of a mile of the route is along a busy road. I wouldn't have been happy if I was walking with children or dogs.

We loved it and will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jake369 3 reviews from this member

 Found this camp site on ukcampsite.Co.Uk and following the recommendations given here we decided to give it a go. Were unsure what it would be like as everyone's views differ, but was more than delighted!

We went mid week half term week. Field 1 seemed mostly full but was right next to the steam railway line, but field 2 was fine and we still saw and heard the trains which was great, the children loved it. We did have a walk around to field 3, but field 2 by then had become our home and we were happy in the corner.

Each field is on a slight slope but I think every tent we sure had found a good spot. Field3 and field 1 seemed the most on a slope, but then maybe we were used to field2 by then

If you don't like noise, don't camp in the corner where there is a rope swing across a small stream as it was a magnet for children. We didn't mind, although did find that one group of children in a party monopolised the swing bit and so when they went out for the day with their parent's droves of smaller children went running to get a go! Not a bad point against the campsite, just what children are like, lol. There is no formal playground of anything like that which suited us fine. Our children were more than happy playing in the field and kept themselves busy, making friends and having a great time.

The week had fantastic weather and by the weekend the site filled up, but it still had a present feel.

The toilet block was the best I have seen in this type of camp site, the showers were not the strongest but were hot and free. While not any showers, I never had to wait if I showered in the evening. The one washing up sink was not a concern as we just boiled our own water by the tent.

The shop had everything you needed, and the location could not be better. We did not walk to Corfe (we have small children) but can imagine a walk to Corfe, catch the steam train to Swanage, would make a great day out. Even the cost of the stream train ride for a family was a lot less than I thought it would be.

Am looking forward to going back! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Porkees 2 reviews from this member

 Our first camping holiday in many years so just chose this one as it was close to the railway line. Site was occupied by very few tents being early in the season and had plenty of choice. We chose field 1 furthest from the railway line. This field is slightly sloping and you may have to hunt for a relatively flat spot. Fields 2 and 3 are flatter in the main in the middle.

Toilet block was spotless and plenty of hot water for showers and washing up. One sink for crockery could get interesting in the height of the season but apart from that. It looks although another block is being built so things may improve.

Shop was well stocked with essentials. Didn't get a chance to have a chat with owners as we were late booking in and left early on day of departure. Corfe is only 20 minutes away and offers a good pub (The Castle) - excellent food or if you go a bit further to the Halfway House this is superb and can highly recommend.

Overall really enjoyed our stay and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campincarvilles 1 review from this member

 When we arrived, we were met by a cheerful man who was very helpful and friendly. Other staff on site were very polite and friendly too. The shop on site was very good selling a variety of basics for camping.

The toilets and showers were very clean and were cleaned regularly. The showers were hot and just the right size. There was an electric hook-up which never cut out.

In the surrounding area, there was a steam train running through the site which was very interesting for the kids. The fields were large and there was a small stream running between the fields.

There were lots of things to do in the area, and if you have got small children I recommend Monkey world. Our children loved it! Corfe castle is quite close which is an amazing view. The town and beach is not far too. We will be going back there for another great holiday! 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4580 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement