Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
                8/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 40 reviews from this member

 We always have a great time here - lots to see & do, and even the terrible Jubilee weather didn't spoil it. Walk along the ridge to Swanage, spot the bee orchids, then get the steam train back. Walk up towards Worth Matravers, quick pint at The Square & Compass, then onto coast path & into Swanage - see the puffins! Get the steam train home.

Walk across the common into Corfe & enjoy a warm welcome & delicious food at The Banks Arms - dogs welcome!

Good news - the new showers have opened! 40p for a lovely hot shower - tokens from the shop, or you can still use the old facilities if you feel the need.

If you don't want children playing football on your pitch, I'd recommend a small pitch either by the railway line, or at the far end away from the shop in the first field.

Shop sells a good variety of everything - even stuff you didn't know you needed. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hilj 2 reviews from this member

 Revisited this site after 18 years. Last came when the kids were small and we loved it. Just the two of us and the dog this time! Nothing much has changed except the edition of a wonderful new shower block.

The old one is still there and brought back memories! Plenty of space (field 1) loads of electric hook ups if you wanted and found a flat pitch.

Dog friendly and plenty of places to take them for a walk. Well stocked shop open twice a day. No swing park but loads of space for kids to run around and play games.

Also the steam railway passing by keeps them amused. Close proximity to all local attractions. Reasonably priced fees. All in all a relaxing break at a relaxed site. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gulliver7952 11 reviews from this member

 Spent Easter weekend here as a 2nd option. I wasn't happy with 1st option site.

Arrived mid-day Good Friday to a relatively empty site for a bank holiday.

There are 3 fields. Field 1 is ehu next to the railway line. Field 2 has a few ehu and field 3 was not in use.

There is a small shop/reception which only opens in the morning and late afternoon. If shop is closed you pitch up and pay when open.

Most of the fields have a slope to some degree, so you have to look for the flattest pitch to suit your needs. No marked pitches apart from ehu.

Water points are dotted all around the fields. Apart from the one a VW camper reversed into and flattened.

The loo/shower block is fit for purpose (I don't like the word dated) If the site was full (3 fields) they would struggle to cope. It's cleaned once a day, has 4 showers with hot/cold taps plenty of was basins.

Outside are 3 washing up sinks not under cover.

However a new shower block is nearing completion, so not sure if the old block will stay.

The Friday night was somewhat spoiled by the usual Bank Holiday 'I've come to have a good time sod the rest of you' brigade. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

Signs say no fires but I did notice some people using fire pits.

A word of warning for those in field 1 with young children. The Swanage Railway does run evening dining steam trains at the weekends. The last one went passed at around 10:30pm. Though they do come past quietly, well as quietly as a steam engine can.

I have marked child friendly down as they do not have a play park.

Local shops at 2 garages in Harmans Cross, Swanage is about 10 mins in car.

Would I return, yes but not on a bank hol.  


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shinyhappy 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site in early October, and were lucky enough to have it almost to ourselves. The campsite was clean and tidy, and the toilet/shower block was large and well presented.

The only disadvantage we found was that the office/shop on site, was only advertised as open for two hours a day 9-10am and 5-6pm (and even then, we found that it wasn't open for the entire time) - which did make it slightly awkward to pay.

Overall however, this was a pleasant campsite set in a lovely area, within easy distance of a number of beautiful walks, but also close enough to the facilities of Swanage so as not to be inconveniently isolated.

Several nice pubs in the vicinity (Bankster's Arms) as well as the attractions of Corfe Castle, and surrounds.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ribbox 1 review from this member

 Hi, we have stayed here for 2 years with the extended family. As other review has said there is no fixed pitches, this worked good as it meant we could make a compound up with all the tents and windbreaks. The most recent stay we had our 4 month old, we was in field 1 (next to railway line), she never was disturbed by the noise of the trains. The only down side I would say is the toilet block, there is no provision to wash a baby. I know we could just use a bath outside but sometimes it is just easy to go in the shower. The toilet block has new toilet block next to it, but there has not been any movement in the last 2 years. The way into the site is under the railway bridge with a 90 deg bend. Overall we liked the site but it needs the toilet block opening. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Petersl 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay. At first we were a little disappointed with the toilet / shower block. It is very dated and shower not the best, we only had to wait twice for the showers. We stayed in field 3 which there are lots of level spots to pitch up. Our children also had lots of freedom to ride bikes and play. We did the steam train ride which we did think was a little pricy. We also visited Studland and would recommend Shell Bay (National Trust car park).

We would go back again even with the toilet block as it is, although it does look as if a new one has been built, just not finished! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisymayandco 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd visit to woodyhyde, the 2nd this year, the 1st visit 3 years ago. The only thing that lets this site down are the shower and toilet blocks. The cubicles are very narrow and quite honestly uncomfortable for a larger person. The showers need updating and remodelling as the drying area is always wet. The water was always very hot which was lovely and the pressure was as expected when there are about 8 showers being used at the same time. The shop was open when needed, morning and night and the train was a lovely sight to see. A very good base for visiting all over Dorset. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KEmery 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from the campsite for our second visit, first time was last year.

Whilst the camping was as good as before, I feel the facilities are really letting the place down this year. The showers were often dirty with mud in them, shower pressure was rubbish - very difficult to wash hair in there, and at one point one of the showers didn't work at all (this was rectified the next day) The pipes above the shower also drip, so when getting changed, you get dripped upon.

There are three fields, and only one shower block and toilets, and 3 washing up sinks, so this can get very busy.

The shop has a wide range of goodies. The shop is only open for two hours in the morning and evening, and even then, a sign was left outside saying back in 5 mins, which turned out to be nearer 25!

Very disappointed by the stay this time, so looking at alternatives in the area for next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 40 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2 nights at Woodyhyde, our third stay this year. We arrived on Friday 22nd, expecting everything to be heaving due to the start of the school hols. But we managed hot showers on all three days, and never had to queue for loos or showers.

Very relaxed & relaxing site - I love it, and waving at trains is always fun!

Walk into Corfe & have delicious pizza at the Banks Arms - dogs welcome, get the open bus from Swanage to Studland & spend the day on the beach - dogs welcome some areas - check good local NT guides, walk to Harmans Cross & get the train to Swanage - still an old fashioned English sea-side day out - dogs not allowed on the town beach, but they are allowed on the private beach at the far end.

Shop sells a good supply of everything.

No issues with road noise, but this may depend on wind direction. I can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MillsFamily 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely week at Woodyhyde. It was our second trip, after a long weekend there in May 2007.

First of all, the plus points:

- Unlimited hot water in the showers
- Lots of space
- A steam train runs past the site (very exciting for a two year old boy)
- Well stocked shop
- Amazing location close to Corfe Castle, Swanage and the coast at Studland
- Only 7 per adult and no additional fees for bigger tents etc.

Now the minus points:

- Field by train is on a slope
- Shop is only open twice a day (9-10am and 5-6pm)
- Shower block could do with updating

Overall, a great value campsite perfect for a family holiday and we will be going back.

The weather was poor whilst we were there so here are a few things to do:

- Catch the chain ferry from Studland to Sandbanks then the boat to Brownsea Island (not to be missed)

- Visit the National Trust beaches at Studland Bay (you can BBQ on the one at Shell Bay near the chain ferry). Even if the weather isn't great its good for kite flying and watching the boats

- Monkey World (there are a lot of monkeys)

- Finally, have a drink at the outdoor bar opposite East Bar on the front. A lovely spot to relax. 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4589 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement