Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 189 Reviews
                8/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OldGrockle 4 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely stay at Woody Hyde and will definitely return next time. We stayed in the top (dog free) field, at the top which gave lovely views across the valley and of the steam trains. Corfe castle is only 1 1/2 mile walk and the steam train station in 1/2 mile in the other direction. Site is easy to find and the track to it is decent and fairly wide.

It is great for children - there are 'secret' wooded areas with a stream and little paths that the children can explore and, even when the site was full, there was plenty of space to run around and play ball games.

As others have said, 1 washing up sink is not really adequate but you can make do for a couple of days. The showers were fairly grotty, even at 7:30 in the morning (mid-week), when there was a queue, no hot water and mud all over the cubicles. Again, it's fine for a couple of nights but is very basic. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LK103 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 10 days and as always had a great time.Weather was wet n windy,hot n sunny so made use of the terrific variety of things to do.Site was busy as the carnival was on in Swanage but still plenty of room for all.At 6 pppn with hot water and loos,it's excellent value.Would recommend a walk up the hill towards the Matravers in the evening to watch the deer,buzzards etc in the adjoining fields but be quiet.Enjoying a late night coffee with something medicinal in outside the tent watching the shooting stars is a must too!Only negatives are people moaning about the single wash up sink(we always do it at the tent) and no one waving back from the steam train!can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sim01 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week here, what a great little site, very clean. The site is next to the swanage railway and the boys loved waving to the steam train. The toilets are very clean, although sometimes the water in the showers can be a little warm rather than hot. There is only one washing up sink, but we washed up in our tent. Great site for touring Dorset and we would 100% stay here again, we had a fab holiday and the weather was lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummyemmy 2 reviews from this member

 I used to visit this campsite every year with my parents when I was younger so was intrigued to go again with my husband and young daughter.

Nothing much has changed since the 80's! I love the fact that you can pitch anywhere you like. We originally wanted hook-up but hook-up was down the centre of field 1 and we preferred to pitch up at the edge so we decided to go without.

The shower block hasn't changed much since the 80's either! Except for the awful green paint! Showers, sinks, toilets etc all very basic but having been there before I knew what to expect! You have to time it right with going for a shower as there can be queues! Between 4pm & 5pm seemed a good time to go.

Other have mentioned about there only being 1 washing up sink. We never had a need to use it. Just boil your kettle and mix with cold and wash-up at your tent, saves walking with all the dirty pots and pans!

On site shop could do with being open a bit longer. The man and the woman in the shop could do with smiling occasionally, to be greeted by miserable staff isn't what you want when you go on holiday! The man who cleans the shower blocks is very friendly though!

The prices have gone up considerably in the past few years, I remember when it was 7 a night!

We will definitely return again and recommend this site to those that appreciate real camping. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hacksaw Bob 10 reviews from this member

 We have two main reasons for using this site: There is no need to book in advance or to phone ahead if you are going to arrive after 8.00pm or whenever, so no need to rush, just choose your pitch when you get there and pay next morning. Second reason is Swanage Railway runs alongside Field One! There are sloping areas but weekends and peak periods aside, you can usually find a level-ish pitch. Have read other reviews criticising the toilet block but can only say that on our recent (and previous) visits we found this quite satisfactory regarding cleanliness etc. (but no soap!) Not luxurious - for luxury try nearby Norden Farm - but adequate. Site Reception and Shop open for a couple of hours morning and afternoon useful for the odd item, otherwise supermarkets in Wareham (unspoilt historic town) and Swanage (small - compared to Weymouth - Victorian resort). Other retailers include filling stations on Valley Road (Corfe Castle to Swanage) not forgetting those in Corfe Castle itself, including one which offers 'lashings of ginger beer' along with Famous Five and other Enid Blyton books and other nostalgic items. Apart from the castle and the village there are a number of places in the locality worth a visit - Worth Matravers (village pond), Langton Matravers (small museum of local quarrying industry), Kimmeridge Bay (toll!)and of course Swanage. A little further away is the 'abandoned village' of Tyneham (toilets but no shops, honesty box car park 2, further details including access dates - usually weekends - from TICs in Swanage or Wareham). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keyfamily 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed in this lovely campsite last week. We booked on line - brilliant. Easy check in, all credit cards accepted. Really well stocked shop. Toilets & showers clean, hot water only 3 out of the five days we stayed. 20p slot hairdryer, very useful. We didn't bother with the ONE washing up sink, we boiled extra water & did our washing up at the pitch! Steam train chugged past regularly which was great. We walked into Corfe Castle a few times which is lovely. We would come back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Indiepop 10 reviews from this member

 This campsite has large fields in which you can choose where to pitch your tent. One field is next to the railway line which is a treat when the steam train goes by!

The toilets and showers are old but perfectly serviceable and are cleaned on a regular basis.

The only downside is that the pitches are not marked out and in busy times people tend to pitch very close to one another which I find rather irksome.

The site is in a great location, roughly halfway between Swanage and Corfe Castle. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duffs54 26 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on recommendation. What a great site, very relaxed it was our 1st camping trip for 30yrs, toilets and showers cleaned daily and there was plenty of hot water. Shop only open twice a day when we were there (pre school hols) but not a problem once we knew, stocked most basic things and a few extra camping items. Friendly staff.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon when it was busy so only a few pitches left to choose from. Found a pitch in the middle field at the top and it was fab, sun all day and a great view. Once the weekender's had left it was very quiet and we moved our tent a bit. Took our dog Monty and met some lovely people who also had dogs with them. Lots of walking to do from the site without getting in a car, Corfe Castle approx 2miles away. Enough pubs and eating places within a few miles as well. Definitely returning next year, we stayed for just over a week this time. Only one criticism another washing up sink would be nice. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muzzer 3 reviews from this member

 Updating my review from 2008, not much has changed on the facilities.

Good news, they now have hot water on the outside washing up sink, whereas last year it was only cold. As mentioned in many other reviews, one sink is not enough when the site gets busier, but it's not the end of the world - you can always boil your own water or take a bowl and fill up from the hot taps inside the toilet area.

They have put up the price to 6 pp/pn last year it was 5. That is still very cheap and a good price for a site with basic facilities.

They still offer frozen cool blocks at a cheap price so you can survive with just a cool bag.

The showers were hot all day long this time, but the camp site was very quiet (we visited before school holidays and from Sunday-Tuesday).

We stayed in field 3 this time, a dog-free field furthest from the entrance. Camping at the back of the field gives a lot of shelter from the S or SW wind, and made a cool day into a hot day! Also there's a lot of wildlife up there, the birds and squirrels are very cheeky so keep your bread locked up!

We enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martius 1 review from this member

 Spent a nice family weekend at this site with our two young children.

You pay on a per person basis and not per tent or tent size. Those who had gazebos and pup tents later agreed that the cost represented better value than some other sites.

We had arrived on Friday afternoon to find several tents had picked out their pitches around the edges. We aimed for the corner nearest a little bridge that takes you to field 2 and the toilet block.

You can pitch where you want as there are no boundaries. We decided on field 3. (No Dogs) Open field surrounded by mature hedges with mostly level ground. The grass was cut and the ground easy to peg.

Facilities were functional if a little worn and dated. There was ample hot water throughout the day and night. There was still only the one washing up sink and there was always a little queue for this. Toilet block was cleaned every day. By Saturday the site was getting busier with new arrivals setting up in the middle of the field. (no-one had invaded anyone elses space and you did not feel hemmed-in) Some teenage groups had arrived and circled their tents. These were mainly walkers and to be fair they were not drunk and rowdy and although there was some talking after 12.00pm it was not enough to keep us awake.

We were lucky with the weather and made the most of the local area. Fish and chips on the Beach at Swangage as the sun went down was very pleasant. There are numerous sandy, fossil beaches and nature trails to explore as well as Corfe Castle and and the children very quickly made friends on the site. There was not much in the way of a playground but they were happy to just run around back and forth with the other children. We could see them at all times and felt relaxed to let them get on with it.

All in all a fairly laid back campsite with friendly people and young families.

There are quite a few other campsites in this popular area but this was the only one we had tried.

We would be happy to return again. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4231 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement