Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 189 Reviews
                8/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sundae07 3 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately our holiday finished with a negative- during the thunderstorms overnight my bag & camera were stolen.

Right onto the positives

* Beautiful location with rolling fields behind and steam train to look at in front

* Lovely walk into Corfe castle (best done as the sun is setting!)- we were met by morris dancers in the village and ponies roaming the ridge on the way in

* Great location to get to other places

* Pitches pretty flat (a slight slope on some)& sheltered by hedges

* Toilets & showers very clean- one sink as mentioned before

* Dog friendly- our dog had a great time!

In all we had a lovely relaxing time cooking over bbq/gas and drinking cider into the evening.

We were blessed with lovely weather but it did thunder and rain on the last day/eve- we were still sad to go home! there are loads of pubs and places to eat in corfe castle if you don't want to stay at the campsite. Would go again, but don't expect any customer service- he really isnt bothered.! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Middlemouse 9 reviews from this member

 Three large fields ensured that despite a busy weekend we were able to find a flat pitch on a site that was, at first glance, considerably undulating! There are no set pitches and there were many family groups arranged in 'villages', not an option at many sites. The size of the site meant that on this particularly busy weekend there was a lively atmosphere including occasional bursts of music. Fine for us but not a place to go to listen to the birdsong.

The site has a fine location away from the main road and next to a local railway (steam trains!). We walked to nearby Corfe Castle via a public footpath across National Trust land. The short distance took an age as there was so much to see and photograph including banks of orchids. Beautiful.

The shower block on site was as clean as it could be given the number of people using it. Lots of free hot water and never any queues for the showers. However the washing-up facilities were not sufficient for the numbers using them. There was such a queue for the one (outdoor, uncovered, wastepipe leaking)sink on our last day that we took our washing up home!

The shop was very well stocked and open a couple of times a day. The chap behind the counter didn't seem very happy in his job.

We no longer have small children so didn't really check it out for child friendliness, except to note there was lots of room for outdoor games. Didn't notice a play area.

All in all, a good value-for-money site in a super location. With still so much to see in the area we would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AdeM 1 review from this member

 Just returned from spending four nights at Woody Hyde, we hadn't booked as this was a spur of the moment trip because good weather was forecast which for once was correct!

The site is made up of three fields spread over 13acres in a lovely setting well back from the main Wareham to Swanage road with the Steam railway running along side the site.

We arrived on Bank holiday Monday as the site was emptying out although as it was half term week the site was still busy.

The site is in a very good location with good access to Poole, Swanage, Wemouth Etc with a nice walk into Corfe Castle and some other good walks in the area, notibly Arne Nature Reserve.

There is a shop on site which covers all the basics one complaint as previously mentioned it could be open longer during the day.

Whilst the sites facilities were okay they were clean but are dated and I should imagine could struggle to cope when the site is full. Also the washing up facilities (one sink) was clearly not sufficient.

That said we enjoyed our stay and would return. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RachP71 3 reviews from this member

 This was the first time my son and I had gone camping & the site was in a lovely location, close to Corfe which is beautiful and also a short drive from Swanage which has a fab beach. My son loved waving at the passing trains and thought it was great when the passengers waved back at us!

The campsite was nice and basic and the shop stocked most of what you might need but it could do with having its opening times displayed on the door. The showers were in great demand and seemed to have a number of people waiting whenever we went down to the shower block.

The only downside for me was the lack of washing up facilities. It seems odd to have one sink for a 13 acre site. We ended up going back to the tent and boiling a kettle for our washing up as there were at least 3 people waiting each time we ventured down with our washing up. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnneyw 12 reviews from this member

 Just come back from 2 nights at Woodyhyde after an early May Bank Holiday weekend with pretty good weather.

The site is made up of 3 fields covering an area of about 13 acres in total. One field runs alongside the track of the Swanage Steam Railway while the second, slightly more elevated field has clear views of the trains too. The 3rd and largest field is screened by hedgerows from the line. Needless to say this site is a delight for steam enthusiasts or anyone who appreciates the sight of old steam trains running past. Although the service can run on some days to very late at night it is not so frequent as to provide any form of annoyance.

The campsite is also far away enough from the main road (about 1/4 mile) not to be troubled by road noise.

Purbeck is very lovely and the site is in a very scenic location with the Purbeck Hills to either side. There is also a lot to see near the sight such as Corfe Castle just a bit more than a mile away, Swanage and Studland a short drive away, the railway off course and great walks along the ridges of the Purbeck Hills. It's also not that far (about a dozen miles or so) from the well known Lulworth Cove and Durdle door.

The site shop is well stocked and open from 9 in the morning. It closes late morning to mid afternoon when it opens again until about 7pm and staff gave a friendly impression.

There's one facilities block comprising of 2 male and 2 female showers as well as a number of toilet cubicles (5 or 6 in the male half) plus about8 to 10 washbasins. The was also a single outdoor washing up area with one tap and sink with warm water and a 2nd sink with cold water only. This is all quite adequate in quiet to fairly busy times but the facilities really struggled this Bank Holiday when the site was full. People looking to have a shower in the evening encountered a lack of hot water. This proved a problem for some families trying to clean up their understandably reluctant offspring in the evening with the females section (according to my girlfriend) presenting a scene of considerable pandemonium.

This is the only real drawback for the site, the facilities block is fine if the site is not full but really overreaches it's limit when it's packed.

That said, I really enjoyed my time there. Would I go back? I'm already planning to go there again soon.But not on a Bank Holiday.Perhaps!

BTW at 6 per person per night it's a bit cheaper than some of the other sites I checked. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barry_432 16 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights at Woodyhyde over the May Bank holiday. The site is beautifuly situated just south of Corfe Castle and consists of 3 large fields - number 3 is dog free and that's where we were.

Weather was mixed -wonderful sunshine, with rain on the first night and frost on the second - it was cold!

Fellow campers were friendly.

The facilities were good with the toilet block always clean and tidy and hot water whenever we wanted. 3 showers for the men and more for the women. Only one sink for washing up which led to some longish queues. These could be avoided through filling your bowl with hot water from the toilet block and then washing up.

Shop stocked all the essentials and the couple were friendly. If the shop was shut there were two petrol stations about 1 mile south (turn right) - Londis and Spar. Corfe Castle has a good shop too, when we were there they had a reenactment a viking and saxon battle at the castle - really good.

Well situated for coastal walks. Would revisit, beautiful area. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bluebelle74 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at Woodyhyde and it was exactly what we were looking for.

Due to the time of year it was quiet and because there are no set pitches it gave it a relaxed feel with lots of space, this will be different I guess at busier times.

The toilet and shower block is, as others have mentioned, basic but they are clean and I managed to have hot showers, no problem.

There is also only one sink for dishes so I imagine this could be problematic at busier times.

It is in a quiet location but you don't need to go too far to find things to do. Lots of beautiful walks, coastline and beaches.

We enjoyed our short stay and so did the dogs! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Daviess 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights on Bank Holiday weekend. We arrived lunchtime Friday and found the 'camp full' signs up. Reception was closed but someone said that No.3 field had plenty of room. We checked it out and pitched on a perfect flat area sheltered by the hedging. Plenty of space for all.

The site consists of only a small shop and one toilet shower block but for the three nights we were there we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Not sure if we would have stayed there for much longer than that because of the basic facilities.

The site is situated in a beautiful area with lots to do within a short drive.

We would certainly use this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slimdiesel 1 review from this member

 What can I say, we had a fantastic time at woodyhyde.Yes it is a basic site but its all you need for a camping holiday.

After reading some of the reviews you ask yourself what do these people want, if you are after a 5* camping site you are not going to get it here, what you will get is a great back to basics camping holiday.

There is a smell near to the loo`s but its coming from the small stream, its just smelly water.

We had tears from my 2 children when we left as they had made so many friends, some of which we are meeting back up with at woodyhyde next year.

We enjoyed ourselves that much we are returning for 4 nights at the end of the month.

We would recommend this site to everyone intrested in a fun family camping holiday.Oh have to mention our dog, he had a fab time too. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Matt1000_3 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site but don't expect a hot shower at the weekend unless you get up at 6am.

Very basic facilities but an excellent shop.

Fees are low.

Pitches are unmarked; the chap who runs it is very laid back - which is generally a good thing until someone pitches there tent 1m from yours because they didn't relise how big it was - don't expect any back-up!

Recommended but not at weekends when it's busy. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement