Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 183 Reviews
                8/10 from 183 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  183 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vwith33929bef 1 review from this member

 Lovely site next to steam railway.

Great views and good dog walks. All very clean and tidy.

Even though extremely quiet due to time of year and weather shop open twice a day. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Speaker12 14 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Woodyhyde around three years ago out of the main holiday season. My stay then was great, plenty of room, hot showers, a quiet site.

I decided to stay again as I had a job nearby. This was a mistake!

Good points:

- Site location very handy for exploring Swanage, Lulworth etc.

- No problem with shower/toilet availability.

- Shop well stocked although only advertised as being open for two hours a day.

- Steam train!

- Tariff is reasonable compared to other sites in the area.

Bad points:

- For non-electric pitches there are no pitch markers so be prepared for someone parking themselves right next to your door.

- Showers in the "new" block ranged from cold to tepid. Definitely not hot. Perhaps you have to pay more than 50p for a hot one.

- Tap water pressure is hopeless. The hot tap wasn't hot.

- The "old" toilet block is dirty even though it's closed for cleaning for two hours a day.

- Most of the toilets in the "old" block are designed for someone around 4ft tall. As are the mirrors on the sinks.

- There's a stink of drains near the toilet blocks.

- No play area which means you will get kids all over the place, including your pitch.

- They advertise free wifi but this doesn't reach all of the site.

- Dog poo on pitches.

- Site rules not enforced. Dogs not on lead, cars doing 20-30mph, noisy people after 11pm.

- Reception person didn't offer to explain anything about the site. As I'd been before this wasn't an issue but you'd think they say about showers needing a token etc?

So, a site that it is a great location but I think the owners need to look at how it operates at peak periods - things like hot showers are a basic requirement. If you're considering visiting Woodyhyde then do so in May or September, definitely not August. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Gibbook 3 reviews from this member

 We were lucky to find the reception open as it is only advertised to open for 2 hrs per day, we had a friendly welcome and were told to go and find a space. We found a good flat area for ourselves and the other two families in our party in Field 2.

Despite being busy I never had to queue at the showers or toilets. Water taps are plentiful around the site. Showers require tokens, we bought them on arrival, without them there is one toilet that requires pound coins.

The showers were hot and ran for 4 minutes, that is plenty of time. There were quite a few coat hangers missing from the cubicles, which caused my clothes to get wet, these should be replaced daily.

The water pressure in the washing up taps is dismal, and rarely warm. The shop is fairly well stocked, but they do not sell papers. They do sell alcohol which was a bonus.

This is a super location, we visited, Corfe, Swanage, Weymouth, Wareham and Dorchester, unfortunately the Sandbanks ferry was out of action otherwise we would have gone to Poole.

Nearby are the Tank Museum and Monkey World and a water park for the children. I would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Suzal 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site with a steam train running alongside! All I needed for a getaway from the rat race, just beautiful countryside and birds singing.

Corfe castle within walking distance and the train station across the fields to catch the train to Swanage.

Good shower & toilet facilities, small, well stocked shop on site. Will certainly be back again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

 Good camping field with plenty of space not all flat but managed to find a flat area.

Great location with plenty to see and do.

New shower block was fine but 50p showers are away a pain. Old toilets block is well past it's best and it urgent need of repair.

Shop was well stocked and open in the morning and evening. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: VWT4Transporter 7 reviews from this member

 If you like steam trains, its great as the steamer goes past several times a day.

BUT

This is a very hilly sloping site so make sure you have levelling blocks. Wifi is very iffy and the shop opening hours are few. Toilets were ok but the site can get noisy with no attempts by staff to police the rules.

I wouldn't go again 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yessamed 2 reviews from this member

 Good points:

Lovely part of the country, with things to see and beaches/ coast to explore a plenty.

Set away from the road in a peaceful countryside location.

Large site which may have lots of room if you're not there at a peak time.

Decent stock in the shop, which stayed open late.

Friendly people and a general good vibe, despite the bad points below.

Bad points:

Paying 50p a time for what were often cold showers - not great when you've got 6 kids to wash.

A combination of push taps (which only spurt out a small amount of water per push) and cold water made washing up a hellish and not very hygienic process.

No escort to find a pitch/ free for all, meaning some over-crowded areas.

No one enforcing any campsite rules - I was happy to flout the no open fires rule with a fire pit (an essential part of my kids camping experience, and my enjoyment) but had to ask others to be a bit considerate when they were still chatting and laughing like they were in a pub at 00:30 while others were trying to sleep.

No communal fridges or freezers.

Nowhere to hang/ dry wetsuits, or to dry towels etc, and no laundry facilities.

No communal hang out for kids to meet other kids, like a park or barn with a few things like a pool table or whatever in.

Toilets often dirty with tissues all over the floor as it was single use tissues rather than a roll.

So some definite room for improvement! If I was camping again in the area I would probably try another site - there are plenty in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torry400 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights from Thursday to Sunday. Camp site is spacious and without specific pitch delineation. We were disappointed to find on arrival that field 3 (which is the only field that is a 'no dogs field') was closed, and the more sheltered level sites around the edge of field 1 and 2 were all fenced off. There were no hook up pitches that had the shelter/seclusion of bordering hedges/trees and therefore the only pitches were right in the centre of field 2.

No attempt was made to enforce the 'dogs must be kept on a lead at all times' policy nor 'no open fires' nor 'noise levels are to be kept to a minimum after 11pm'. We had a group of three camper vans next to us who flouted all of these policies - two dogs freely running round our pitch, loud music and roaring fire (in a raised fire pit) - and it was up to us to appeal for consideration.

There is very little point in having any campsite policies if they are only there to pay lip service to campers who are seeking a peaceful stay, and there is no real intention of enforcing them.

There was no Wi-Fi on our pitch (near the bottom of field 2 opposite the shower block) for the whole of our stay in spite of the website stating that there is 'free wifi available throughout the campsite'.

The shower block was clean enough first thing, but as a result of the grass just having been cut, was quite messy later on. Water temperature was fairly poor particularly in conjunction with the fairly low water pressure - first 15 seconds of the 4 minute token are spent waiting for the water to warm up.

The above observations are a great pity as the campsite has a lovely aspect, has a new shower block, and has the potential to be a lovely campsite with just a little extra attention to the running of it. In spite of some of the criticism above we would still return and give it a second chance. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunnydays08 4 reviews from this member

 We camped with two tents with EHU on adjacent grass pitches and we found the site really lovely. The pitches were not marked and you basically pitched on any suitable ground. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The choice of three fields which were all so different meant we were spoilt for choice as we arrived on Friday and the site was fairly quiet. The site began to fill up through Friday and was very busy by lunch time Saturday.

I felt that the toilet block and shower block could do with cleaning more regularly as each time I went they were not in the best of states, some people/ children can be so disgusting when away from home. The shower block is very modern and the water was lovely and hot and 4 mins for a token was more than enough.

The shop was well stocked with essentials and lovely ice cream.

The first night even though there were lots of people arriving throughout the day and evening it was a lovely peaceful evening and we sat out just watching the world go by. On the Saturday night though in Field three where we were, there was a large group camping in what I would call the central island, surrounding them were campers with young and very young children, once this group started partying they carried on until 3am which meant the rest of us did not enjoy a good night’s sleep and was not good for the young children. This did become a little bit confrontational on Sunday morning with some parents and the group.

The steam train runs through the site which was a great sight to see. Corfe Castle is about 1 mile away and is a very quaint little village. Swanage is only around 4 miles away and the beach was lovely. You can get a return ticket from Swanage to Corfe Castle or do what we did, I was happy to have a coffee whilst the family boarded the train for a one way trip to Corfe Castle which takes about 20 minutes, I had a lovely drive and picked them up at Corfe.

We will definitely be visiting WoodyHyde again 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Parky15 9 reviews from this member

 Spend half term here, in our folding camper.

We arrived at about 2pm and the shop/office was closed till 4 (don't remember being told that when we booked), but there was a very helpful man mowing the grass who told us we could pitch up anywhere (accept for the hard standings - reserved for campervans), and as we had booked EHU he told us which pitches had those, and then we should check in when the office opened.

Pitches are all slightly sloping, but nothing our levelling ramps couldn't cope with. Water taps were plentiful, although only one grey/chemical toilet point requiring us to drag the containers across rough gravel uphill (but helped ensure we were sparing on filling them up). I did see one lovely campervan owner just dumping their grey water onto their hardstandings (lovely manners).

Pitches were spacious enough and the EHU pitches had faint while lines showing the boundary, although things seemed a bit more fluid for the non EHU areas.

New shower block was nice, mainly showers and 2 toilets. Rest of toilets and some showers were in the older toilet block. Washing up areas were all outside. As there are no Caravans there, with it mostly being tents, the facilities got very busy - I was glad we were self contained.

Showers needed a token (50p) which we were told lasted 4 mins - I think it lasted longer - actually too long as you could not turn the shower off, and there was not much room to try and dry while the shower was still spraying. A bit wasteful really - be good to have a 'stop' button.

They were normally warm enough, but at peak times they were getting a bit cold - but it was half term busy.

Free wifi seemed OK near the shop, but didn't really need it as both our Three and EE network phone had 4G coverage.

Shop was well stocked, had most things you would need, including chilled wine and beer and fresh meat. And a coffee machine. And the staff were very friendly and chatty.

Great location, we camped in field 1 near the railway (on the demand of our 6 year old) but all the fields were much the same (one dog free). Even in half term, the site was pretty much silent by 10:30-11.

Only down side for young families is no playground, but there were some ad-hoc rope swings in the woods. But kids were happy playing with balls, riding bikes etc.

A great base for exploring the area and you can walk to Harmans Cross station for the steam railway (buy tickets in the camp shop - cheaper) and ask for directions as it feels you are missing the station, but it does work. 


Previous     183 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6848 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement