Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
                8/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bromsgrove-Man 8 reviews from this member

 Good site and happy we chose it.

Decent access from the main road and an impressively stocked shop on-site with food/drinks/camping equipment and the lady in the shop was friendly.

When we visited in mid September 2020 it was relatively quiet which meant plenty of space, some ground is flatter than other parts but with it being open you can make your choice which is good.

The toilets were always clean when I visited though the main shower block fixings are a little dated, no chance to wash your hands properly for twenty seconds when you have to use one hand to hold down the tap.

The showers themselves were hot though the actual water flow through them was poor. It was all perfectly adequate though and for the price paid no complaints at all. The occasional steam train going past in the daytime is a nice distraction.

Would happily return again. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Russel 1 review from this member

 First time I have had to pay 50 pence for a shower token which lasts 4 minutes so you need 2 tokens. The shower heads on both occasions in different cubicles were partially blocked and squirted on the wall rather than on me. The shower heads are fixed so you cannot redirect the water.

The grey water waste drain is so close to the fence I would have to knock it down in order to get my drain tap over the hole.

Spoke to the woman in reception about both points who replied "everyone else seems manage" 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thediy 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely Large flat pitch backing onto the swanage railway. Plenty of toilets and showers which were 50p a go ! Some have said they didnít run for long enough but we found them hot and plenty of time to wash all the bits !

Toilets could be booked for your stay. You had your own key which was a good idea covid wise.

Well stocked shop. Easy walk to Corfe across fields. Will go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Drjbc 57 reviews from this member

 A previous reviewer helpfully lists good and bad points. Based on our experience one year later, we agree with all the good and none of the bad!

The location is conveniently close to the A351 to Swanage, but to the south of the railway so there's no traffic noise. Also, crucially, to the east of Corfe castle, a well-known bottleneck in summer. The only difficulty is a narrow access under the railway bridge. Our 5m van needed the side mirrors retracting, and a larger van might find it tricky.

The reception was outstandingly efficient and the price reasonable - £20 for a non-electric pitch at peak season in this prime area. Campingaz users rightly complain about extortionate prices in UK compared to France and Spain, but their £30 for 2. 7kg of butane is (believe it or not) 'good'.

We deliberately asked for the large dog-free Field 3 and there was plenty of space to keep well separated. Children were playing cricket and flying kites and certainly not a nuisance. The wifi sigal was strong, even inside the van at the far side of that field. At a popular time the speed was adequate for email and browsing but too slow to download a newspaper. However there were good 4G signals on O2 and 3-mobile.

The facilities were clean and, perhaps as a covid precaution, an extra row of portable WCs had been installed. The showers we had (in the wooden block with 50p tokens) were hot, their only fault was lasting too long, so you got splashed while trying to dress!

Unusually we didn't walk from the site, prefering to drive to the coast. But another time we would certainly make use of the bridleway that leads north to the Corfe ridge and south to Chapman's Pool, both first class areas for walking. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vwith3 1 review from this member

 Lovely site next to steam railway.

Great views and good dog walks. All very clean and tidy.

Even though extremely quiet due to time of year and weather shop open twice a day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Speaker12 16 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Woodyhyde around three years ago out of the main holiday season. My stay then was great, plenty of room, hot showers, a quiet site.

I decided to stay again as I had a job nearby. This was a mistake!

Good points:

- Site location very handy for exploring Swanage, Lulworth etc.

- No problem with shower/toilet availability.

- Shop well stocked although only advertised as being open for two hours a day.

- Steam train!

- Tariff is reasonable compared to other sites in the area.

Bad points:

- For non-electric pitches there are no pitch markers so be prepared for someone parking themselves right next to your door.

- Showers in the "new" block ranged from cold to tepid. Definitely not hot. Perhaps you have to pay more than 50p for a hot one.

- Tap water pressure is hopeless. The hot tap wasn't hot.

- The "old" toilet block is dirty even though it's closed for cleaning for two hours a day.

- Most of the toilets in the "old" block are designed for someone around 4ft tall. As are the mirrors on the sinks.

- There's a stink of drains near the toilet blocks.

- No play area which means you will get kids all over the place, including your pitch.

- They advertise free wifi but this doesn't reach all of the site.

- Dog poo on pitches.

- Site rules not enforced. Dogs not on lead, cars doing 20-30mph, noisy people after 11pm.

- Reception person didn't offer to explain anything about the site. As I'd been before this wasn't an issue but you'd think they say about showers needing a token etc?

So, a site that it is a great location but I think the owners need to look at how it operates at peak periods - things like hot showers are a basic requirement. If you're considering visiting Woodyhyde then do so in May or September, definitely not August. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Gibbook 3 reviews from this member

 We were lucky to find the reception open as it is only advertised to open for 2 hrs per day, we had a friendly welcome and were told to go and find a space. We found a good flat area for ourselves and the other two families in our party in Field 2.

Despite being busy I never had to queue at the showers or toilets. Water taps are plentiful around the site. Showers require tokens, we bought them on arrival, without them there is one toilet that requires pound coins.

The showers were hot and ran for 4 minutes, that is plenty of time. There were quite a few coat hangers missing from the cubicles, which caused my clothes to get wet, these should be replaced daily.

The water pressure in the washing up taps is dismal, and rarely warm. The shop is fairly well stocked, but they do not sell papers. They do sell alcohol which was a bonus.

This is a super location, we visited, Corfe, Swanage, Weymouth, Wareham and Dorchester, unfortunately the Sandbanks ferry was out of action otherwise we would have gone to Poole.

Nearby are the Tank Museum and Monkey World and a water park for the children. I would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Suzal 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site with a steam train running alongside! All I needed for a getaway from the rat race, just beautiful countryside and birds singing.

Corfe castle within walking distance and the train station across the fields to catch the train to Swanage.

Good shower & toilet facilities, small, well stocked shop on site. Will certainly be back again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

 Good camping field with plenty of space not all flat but managed to find a flat area.

Great location with plenty to see and do.

New shower block was fine but 50p showers are away a pain. Old toilets block is well past it's best and it urgent need of repair.

Shop was well stocked and open in the morning and evening. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: VWT4Transporter 7 reviews from this member

 If you like steam trains, its great as the steamer goes past several times a day.

BUT

This is a very hilly sloping site so make sure you have levelling blocks. Wifi is very iffy and the shop opening hours are few. Toilets were ok but the site can get noisy with no attempts by staff to police the rules.

I wouldn't go again 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3972 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement