Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 189 Reviews
                8/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 40 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2 nights at Woodyhyde, our third stay this year. We arrived on Friday 22nd, expecting everything to be heaving due to the start of the school hols. But we managed hot showers on all three days, and never had to queue for loos or showers.

Very relaxed & relaxing site - I love it, and waving at trains is always fun!

Walk into Corfe & have delicious pizza at the Banks Arms - dogs welcome, get the open bus from Swanage to Studland & spend the day on the beach - dogs welcome some areas - check good local NT guides, walk to Harmans Cross & get the train to Swanage - still an old fashioned English sea-side day out - dogs not allowed on the town beach, but they are allowed on the private beach at the far end.

Shop sells a good supply of everything.

No issues with road noise, but this may depend on wind direction. I can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MillsFamily 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely week at Woodyhyde. It was our second trip, after a long weekend there in May 2007.

First of all, the plus points:

- Unlimited hot water in the showers
- Lots of space
- A steam train runs past the site (very exciting for a two year old boy)
- Well stocked shop
- Amazing location close to Corfe Castle, Swanage and the coast at Studland
- Only 7 per adult and no additional fees for bigger tents etc.

Now the minus points:

- Field by train is on a slope
- Shop is only open twice a day (9-10am and 5-6pm)
- Shower block could do with updating

Overall, a great value campsite perfect for a family holiday and we will be going back.

The weather was poor whilst we were there so here are a few things to do:

- Catch the chain ferry from Studland to Sandbanks then the boat to Brownsea Island (not to be missed)

- Visit the National Trust beaches at Studland Bay (you can BBQ on the one at Shell Bay near the chain ferry). Even if the weather isn't great its good for kite flying and watching the boats

- Monkey World (there are a lot of monkeys)

- Finally, have a drink at the outdoor bar opposite East Bar on the front. A lovely spot to relax. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joandjames 3 reviews from this member

 We found it pretty good all in all.

The toilet/shower block is pretty dated which wasn't a problem for us as it was clean. The half built new shower block has had some planning permission issues so I'm told so I'm sure eventually will come to fruition.

Slightly 'hilly' to camp on but you can get a reasonably flat part.

We were lucky enough to be able to go at a non-peak time of year so no queuing for the showers - which were always hot by the way.

Only one spoiled nights sleep due to a large D of E group repeatedly hitting our tent with a ball at 7am. Had we been staying longer in Swanage we would have gone somewhere else for the remainder of our stay.

We would stay there again - but only with assurance that large groups were more appropriately placed on the camp. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poodle1973 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived approx 12:15pm on the first Tuesday of the school holidays, expecting to be turned away. The shop was closed with a sign saying to pitch then pay when shop next open. We drove through to the 2nd field and found a nicely level pitch with at least 15 metres between us and either of our neighbours.

We pitched, went for a walk of the site with the dog and our three boys (age 5, 9 and 12) who were excited to see a small wooded area where they played with lots of other children for the duration of our stay!

We paid at the shop when it was next open between 5pm-6pm, not the friendliest guy but the shop sells everything you could want. We forgot to pack our frying pan and managed to pick one up here for a reasonable price too.

Shower/toilet block closed between 12-2pm for cleaning yet still smelled very musty at 2pm in the ladies! Very dated block and darkly decorated so not very appealing but servicable. Showers hot whenever we went (between 7:30-9am) but have to queue after 8am - only 5 showers in the ladies for the whole site.

A great benefit to the site is the Swanage to Norden Steam Train chugging by Field 1, always exciting to wave to!

We would certainly come here again as a very relaxed site generally (our neighbours offered us 10 mackerel one night from their sea trip that afternoon - delicious on the bbq!) Great to walk to Corfe and easy access to Swanage.

If the toilet blocks were more appealing then I would have no hesitation in recommending! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sueper 13 reviews from this member

 Just spent a brilliant 2 days at Woodyhyde. The weather was fab, the site was great and the Steamtrains were an added bonus.

We weren't aware of the access restrictions and had to crawl through the railway bridge gap at 1mph! If you have a wide or high vehicle you will have problems.

We were told to pitch where we liked so chose a spot backing onto the railway line, my other half thought he had died and gone to heaven! The showers were very below par, but the water was hot.

The site itself was tidy and quiet even though there were many families there. We walked to Corfe castle and caught the steam train to Swanage and then got off at Harmans Cross which was a delightful little station and then walked back across the fields to the site.


The site shop had all you could need and more. When the new toilet block is completed it will be a fantastic site, as it is, it is only a great site.

We will certainly stay there again if we visit that part of the country again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sprucy 19 reviews from this member

 I stayed with a group of friends on this campsite for three nights over the last weekend in June 2011. Although we had booked, it looked as though there would have been room on any of the days for visitors who just turned up out of the blue. Personally I was happy to be on the dog-free field, not because of the absence of man's best friend, but because it is the most level field.

I think a previous reviewer makes the showers sound worse than they actually are - okay, the pressure is not great, but neither is it a dribble and the water was hot, not warm. I happened to notice that it was hottest at 7.30 am.

I appreciated there being plenty of toilets and you only need to queue for the showers and washing up sinks at peak times. The 'bathroom' was cleaned daily at lunch time.

Another great feature is that the campsite does not allocate pitches and there are no strict rules regarding the position of your tent and that of your car - this makes it an ideal site for a group of people to camp together.

Returning to the subject of the (female)'bathroom', yes it is a bit gloomy and in need of modernising; however, I would rather put up with that if it keeps the cost down. 7 per night per person irrespective of car seems pretty good value for money to me. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duffs54 26 reviews from this member

 Our 3rd year we have stayed at Woody and we still love it, yes the showers need up dating but we didn't experience any problems and the owner has put in immersion heaters to help in case the boilers fail. New showers etc are on the way.

Camped for the first time in the 1st field so we could be next to sis in law with their ehu. Excellent for waving at the trains!

There are 3 new washing up sinks which are very welcome.

Good shop and great location. Again cannot fault the site, we had good weather and thank god the French troop will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wifey03 2 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd visit over many years, the last being back in 2002, & the site itself is great - loads of room (3 fields now), with good washing/toilet/washing up facilities.

However, our intended stay was cut short because the site shop which was supposed to be open twice a day & sold everything you needed, wasn't open once from the time we arrived on Weds afternoon, to when we left, late on Friday morning.

We had to leave because we ran out of gas, & needed freezer blocks replacing, both of which were available at the shop. We were not alone waiting for the shop to open, so I wonder how many other holidays were spoilt during this period. No one could get hold of the owner, even the hard working & very friendly handyman had no idea when/if the shop would be opening.

This complete lack of 'customer care' completely spoilt our holiday, & I doubt very much if we will now return there. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anonandon 2 reviews from this member

 We didn't book in advance to stay at this campsite so we were very relieved when we arrived on the Friday of the bank holiday weekend and were able to get a pitch.

As it was a bank holiday there was a minimum stay of three nights and it cost 7 per person. Unusually we were not charged by tent or tent size and therefore a single friend in a tent larger than ours was only charged 21 for the three nights which was very good value.

There are three fields, one of which is a no dogs field. The campsite was very popular with families and we did end up quite close to lots of other people. There is a no open fires policy though we did see a few people having off the ground fires and bbqs.

The toilet block got a bit messy but there was always toilet paper. The showers were not very good - the water pressure just wasn't high enough and it was not a pleasant experience shivering under a miserable dribble of water. The only saving grace is that the water was fairly warm.

There is a really good shop on site which sells basic provisions (milk, bread, cheese, bacon etc) and lots of camping equipment. It would have been good if a few more books about the area were stocked but there are lots of games.

All in all this was a good campsite and we would stay here again. The setting is lovely and it is a good central point to do some exploring. My only request really is that the showers be improved. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WOODLU 3 reviews from this member

 Was recommended this camp site by a family member. It was the first time in years we have been camping. Great campsite we thought it would be very busy due to Easter holidays etc but we went just after. Lots of space to choose where to pitch our tent not very bust so perfect for us. A added bonus was the weather which was fantastic.

Was very happy with site is was what it is basic camping which was great as isnt that what camping is all about. Shower blocks were a bit dated but rustic in a way, always hot water and pretty clean considering it was basic camping. Only two sinks outside no cover for dishes but not really a problem added to adventure. New shower blocks being built which look like they will be good. Shop only open at certain times but has a large stock of everything you could need and more, staff friendly.

Loved the steam train that went pass the campsite really added atmosphere, kids enjoyed watching it go buy.

Swanage such a lovely place to visit, great walks near the campsite you could walk to Corfe Castle not sure how long it takes as we went buy the vintage trains.

Have the camping bug now have brought new tent and have been camping twice more already. Thought I would write this review as I have been to some other great sites in different areas but Woodyhyde is still on of my favourites and if we come to Swanage again will definitely use again. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4087 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement