Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
                8/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bear72 3 reviews from this member

 A really lovely site just outside the village of Corfe Castle. Had the steam railway line running through it which was really sweet. Plenty of room and a really quiet location in the countryside, but not far from the village although too far too walk to in the evenings. Good toilet and shower facilities.

There is what looks to be a new shower block next to the older one, although it charges 40p tokens for showers, whereas the older one is free. Shop on site although I didn't use it as was only there for 1 night. Customer service was ok when I checked in - I hadn't pre-booked and was only 7 for just me and my 2 man tent so very cheap - but the chap wasn't very talkative!

I would definitely stay here again. Corfe village is beautiful and The Greyhound for dinner was delicious. The Castle is worth a visit too. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianwd 7 reviews from this member

 Good site, centrally located on the Isle of Purbeck about 1 mile from Corfe and about 5(ish?) from Swanage.

The general location is on the valley floor with big hedges around the fields, so it is quite sheltered especially when you compare it some of the others in the area. But the downside (if it is one) is there isn't really a view (although the illuminated church tower on the hill-side in the woods is beautiful and slightly spooky!).

Stayed with my 3 little ones (3, 5, and 8) in the 3rd no dog field (although this was by accident rather than design). The 1st field with ehu is smaller than the other 2 fields which are pretty big. All are largely level but there are some hefty slopes in places which can limit some of the space.

New tracks in and around the site are good, although the one in the 3rd field was pretty rutted after our stay at the end of August, although they were remedying this when we left. It was getting a bit boggy but with all the rain this year I expect this is the case with the majority of sites. We didn't get stuck but with our VW Caravelle, auto and low profile tyres I thoroughly expected to.

Owner is taciturn to start with (I can see why people think he's grumpy), but once you chat with him there's no stopping him, lovely guy. I believe he's not long taken over and is responsible for upgrading the site (fences and shower block).

As mentioned the old shower block is old but is still highly usable (and yes there is a whiff from the sceptic tank, but I don't know one that doesn't). I would avoid pitching too close to that if I was staying for a while. If you like spiders it's the block to use, but my 5 yo daughter is petrified by them and refused to use it. The upside is that the showers are free. The new block is smashing, clean and smart with tiling from floor to ceiling (well, the top of the walls in the cubicles at least). Not a spider in sight and the 5 yo did actually use this block. Showers are tokened at 40p each and you probably need 2 tokens unless you're quick. Hair dryers are 20p each and my 8 yo who has long hair needed 60p to get even close to being dry.

Personally I was brought up camping from an early age with sites that sometimes only had a tap! So this is all luxury to me!

We stayed over the August bank-hol and it was packed. There is a notice saying keep at least 6m apart, but this was clearly flouted. For me this is the only downside, but it is a risk you take when camping in a single large open field.

Seemed to be a family popular site with loads of other kids/families and my lot made loads of friends. No play facilities to speak of, but with so many kids playing so many games it doesn't matter. Even whilst it was packed, the site was pretty quiet by 11pm (save the odd train!) and I certainly wasn't bothered by it.

There are several footpaths off the site, and the one we used (as mentioned in another review) takes you to Harmans Cross and the railway station there. It certainly encouraged my 3yo to walk all the way there and back.

Lots of animals around and about both domestic and wild, with moos, baas, quacks and clucks to be heard all the time. And the owls! There were several nights where there seemed to be several owls all hooting at one another. Fantastic!

The shop is well stocked with food, booze, general camping provisions and sweeties. Opening hours seemed to be extended whilst we were there, and it was handy for the milk/bread and freezer blocks (and they take cards).

Oh, and the railway line situation sold it to us, and my 3 yo son was very sad to leave.

So I mark it down a bit for the child facilities (ie none) and down a bit overall as I think (and this is a personal preference) it's nice to have more barriers (ie hedges etc) to break up the big field feel. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melliepips 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first time camping with a friend of mine who has been many times and it was most enjoyable !

The campsite was very safe and clean, you could choose where you wanted to pitch up yourselves with 3 fields to choose from, so you can be as close or far from the other campers as you wish.

The surrounding fields have farm animals in, which is a lovely site while your having your morning cuppa ! and a lovely old fashioned steam railway running through the camp. Lots to do around the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LK103 10 reviews from this member

 Had a long weekend at the end of carnival week and as always it was great. As others have mentioned the new shower block is excellent and the owner was on better form even stopping to chat for 10 minutes. We tend to get our shopping in Swanage so using the camp shop is not an issue but on the occasions we do it's got the lot including beer and wine!

We took the walk up the Purbeck way from the site again(from the rear field, go out through the gate and turn left up the farm track then fork left and up, away from the bridge under the railway)which takes you up to the road at the top where you cross over and walk along the road for 3/4 mile to the Square&Compass for a rewarding pint and great views whilst chickens wander around the tables. Surreal but entertaining.

Only downside was lack of butterflies and none of the usual deer sightings but that's only because of the wet summer. Hopefully, we'll be back next month when we can enjoy a stroll back from Corfe across the common at night in the mist and listen out for the numerous owls doing their thing. Puts a shiver down my spine and a smile on my face at the same time. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maltheman 5 reviews from this member

 Have camped here before and found it ideal for our needs. Plenty of space and quiet, booked by email for friend and us, on arrival was surprised to find field 3 hardly occupied, perhaps previous bad weather put people off, but our gain

Set up and went to office to pay, same old grumpy guy although I personally think he's shy and a bit fed up of timewasters

He has done a fantastic job with the new shower block and roads. My only concern is that he has made it the place to camp if you want perfection as a camper, did note the levelling of the field was well done,

The shop although opened for only short periods stocked almost all needed, a short drive had three garage supermarkets in less than 2 miles

I cannot fault this site or the facilities, 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Trev Lloyd 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site many, many years ago and decided to give it another go. Sent of email (no reply) phoned 5 times, no reply (didn't leave a message as requested as no reply to email), nothing had changed. However decided to give it a go.

The site shop was open (late morning and late afternoon opening) when we arrived and so where able to get a pitch. The site has changed since last time, many pitches with hard standing and hook ups.

New shower block was nice, but only one loo and one disabled loo. Washbasins had only a small hook next to them but very nice. The old block was just that, old and in need of some TLC, more spiders webs than you can count. Still a smelly wiff as you past the septic tanks but not too bad.

The guy who runs the shop/site seems a bit gruff but can be very helpful.

The steam engines go passed quite regularly but are not a problem and the last one is about 2300. Its a lovely area and close to Swanage which isnt over commercialised (yet) and if the old block is upgraded it is ideally positioned.

One more thing, on the website it says a minimum of 4 nights, but he was guite happy to give us 3 nights as he did the two families in front of us. No mention that you have to go under the railway and the bridge is quite narrow (thus no caravans?) but got our trailer tent through no probs which is 207 Cms wide.

Had a good time, a visit to the Tank Museum at Bovington is a must. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hadenj 3 reviews from this member

 We have camped countrywide in since 2009 and this is by far the best site in the UK that we have visited par none. Lots of open space - no creosited minimalistic pitches and camp police but 13 acres of beautiful silent Dorset countryside, a steam train passes nearby (socially acceptable hours only) which evokes great memories for young and old. There's an an under-sold but very well equipped campsite shop with great local produce.

This is where you 35 - 40 year olds who have those halcyon memories of family famous 5esque holidays of days gone-by need to go. No cabaret, pool, disco and clubhouse but if you want to enjoy the Dorsets' gorgeous environment and your family, with like-minded people then this is as good as it gets. For open spaces for children and access to the wonderful heritage coast on a very accessible budget on an immaculate site then look no further. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fmoa 4 reviews from this member

 Great campsite!

We recently returned from a few days camping down in Corfe Castle and were really pleased to stumble across this site.

You'll be lucky if you can get these guys on the phone to book, but they're more than happy for people to pitch up and pay when someone's around.

There are 3 fields, 1 of which is mainly for electric hook ups, 1 of which is no dogs and the other if free for all.

There are 2 shower blocks - 1 of which is very dated but the other is brand new - I don't mind paying 40p for a shower if it means the facilities are good and there's plenty of hot water. They were always clean and stocked with bog roll and soap. There are also plenty of water taps and washup areas.

There is a great shop on site - sells all sorts - camping gear, milk, bacon, bread, alcohol, camping gear toys etc. - the only thing which bemused us was that it is only open for 2 hours a day between 9am-10am and 5pm-6pm. Why they don't open for a few more hours is beyond me as they would make a killing!

Some of the pitches are on slight slopes but there are plenty of level pitches to be found - they're not marked out so you go where you please which we prefer.

This is a really laid back site and we thoroughly enjoyed it - we had our 2 dogs with us and this was fine - we were able to let them mooch around our tent without the fear that we would get told off for them not being on a lead (they are both well behaved so don't need it)

Lovely location with some great local pubs - you must go to The Scott Arms in Kingston if you go - the views of Corfe Castle and beyond are breath taking.

We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed for an exra night which is unheard of for me as 3 nights camping is usually my max! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vladbs 1 review from this member

 First time camping in years did not know what to expect as there were mixed reviews but as far as we were concerned toilet blocks were cleaned between 5/6 am and 12/2 pm they make every effort to have clean toilets and clean showers. I suppose its kids that leave tissue over the floor. Showers hot and 40p gets a substantial shower if a little hot first thing in morning.

Site clean and well maintained. Shop has quite large inventory and prices fair. I f you want a proper camp site at a good price this is the one ok no pool or clubhouse but if you want all the comforts of home why bother to go camping.

Will be going back as soon as we can. There are some nice pubs with good menus within 10 minute car ride. Also only a ten minute drive to Swanage a beautiful place. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: *Steph* 9 reviews from this member

 Arrived on Tuesday, and left Friday morning. Lovely site, great location, nice new toilets.

Shop opening hours are a bit rubbish, so only went in to pay. Was me and my Son, and charged 13 night, I had worked it out online for 10. 50 night, owner said that was the price, and the price is not displayed anywhere, so take a copy in case of overcharging.

Drove to Poole to go to Splashdown on one pretty horrendous day, took about half an hour. If that. Swanage is about a 10 min drive, or on the steam train. Lots of things to do.

Would return, with a price list. No park, but there are walks and fields.

Marked value for money low as was overcharged, but is a good price 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4398 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement