Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
                8/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suenami 4 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Woody 3 times this year. June, July and August! It feels like home to us now. Each time we have be able to stay in field 1 so have been able to see the steam trains up close which is really lovely.

Field 1 is on a slight slope but if you think about it before you pitch the tent it isn't a problem. If you pitch right by the railway line be aware that it can get rather windy. At the bottom end there is the rope swing and it can be quite noisy in the evenings with the kids playing there so if the noise would be a problem then choose somewhere else. My kids love the rope swing and they meet up with other kids there and have made some great friends.

The toilet/shower block is basic but perfectly adequate. It does look like another block is being built, well the footings are in. Only 1 washing up sink but you can get round it but washing up by your tent. There is loads of water taps around so you never have to go far to get water.

Shop is well stocked and not overpriced like some are. The staff that I have met this Summer have all been really nice and helpful. The cost of this site is also a bonus in my view, 6 per adult 3 per child when we stayed.

It is great for visiting Swanage, Studland, Wareham, Poole, Lulworth etc. Also nearby is the Tank Museum and Monkey World. The Steam Train is a little bit pricey but well worth doing even if it's just the once, we found it great to use it to visit Corfe Castle as parking there is very limited.

Overall. We love Woody! See you again next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KEmery 3 reviews from this member

 Really lovely campsite in a perfect location between Corfe and Swanage.

There are three fields to pitch tent in, and we luckily managed to end up in the family field, so it was really quiet in the evenings which was ideal.

Facilities on site were good. Around 6 showers each. These can start to get a bit muddy by mid morning, and one time they ran out of hot water.

The shop is fantastic - selling lots of camping equipment, food and drink etc.

I would return to this site in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bangyuk 2 reviews from this member

 As with other reviews, this is a good camp site. Plenty of space. Little or no noise at night. Pitch where you want. Ground soft for pegs. Looks well drained.

Basic toilets and showers but clean enough. No sign at all of progress on the fabled new toilet block!

There are a couple of bridleways passing the site giving good access to long Purbeck walks. The steam railway running along Field 1 is a real plus. Note there is a diesel shuttle service into Swanage and back at night.

Yes, we'd use the site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 3gomadin 1 review from this member

 Sorry but have to start with a negative: The showers and toilets were dirty, with cold water, and not enough showers so always had to queue. HOWEVER it is a great location and very sheltered. Good footpath across field to Corfe Castle. The steam train that passes by the site is lovely and is worth taking a trip on it from corfe castle to swanage. Corfe castle is a beautiful village, yummy bakery. Try the Scott Arms at Kingston for Fab Food. Also worth a visit is the square and compass pub at Worth Matraves, 2 miles along bridleway and road from the site. Its great being able to pitch where you want, but not so great when you come back to a car parked either side of your tent! Watch out for the mice, one nibbled our ground sheet :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Skaravan 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for four days and found the site to be very good. Not overly manicured, with a relaxed and natural feel to the layout. Toilet and shower block basic but very clean, with free hot water to basins and showers. Fairly well stocked shop open twice a day which seemed to be fairly priced. Pleasant 20 minute walk to station for steam railway to Corfe or Swanage. Will go again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mellymoo123 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from this campsite after a fabulous weeks holiday> we were greeted by a helpful lady in the shop, we were dealt with quickly and efficiently allowing us to promptly choose our pitch and get set up. The pitches are spacious and we pitched up a gazebo without any extra charge.

The toilet facilities and showers are basic but get the job done, there were not enough showers (I think there were around 6) for all 3 fields so the queues were very long first thing in the morning and in the evening but if you planned ahead these could be avoided, and I think organisation is paramount anyway when camping!

The trip for the 1st 3 days was amazing and we were already planning when to return, however on the 3rd day a group of 50 French students arrived and from here on the trip went to pot really such a shame, there 1st night they had very loud music on until around 11 even after I politely asked them to turn it down they just turned it up the following night it was a birthday party and they were screaming, banging tables and playing loud music until 330 in the morning our 3 children were kept awake and of course were very grouchy after that as were we. We did complain and the owner came out and spoke to them but things did not get any better < ok they did settle down around 12 instead of 330 but they were still screaming and shouting and throwing things around making lots of unnecessary noise. I felt that there is not a good enough system on this site to enforce the 10.30 curfew the owner or a member of staff should have overseen the curfew time to ensure it was being adhered to. The students were thoughtless but in there defence they were young and in my opinion should have been given a corner of the back field, rather than being set up in the middle of the family part. Such a shame because this really affected the latter part of our holiday 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bridgerbird 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from Woodyhyde.

All in all we had a good time, it is a great location and near to some fantastic places to visit.

The campsite itself is very basic and the toilet and shower block really need updating and improving. There are new facilities being built for next year so that should help. The 1 washing up sink is ludicrous for a site of this size and be prepared to queue!

There are no 'rules' about where to pitch up which is generally OK but 2 days in a row we came back to find other tents literally a few feet from ours and we were disturbed by our new 'neighbours'.

During our stay there was a big group of French students, they were causing other guests a lot of problems with noise although they were in our field they didn't bother us too much. The owner didn't seem very helpful in helping the other campers deal with the problem.

Basically, you get what you pay for and at 16.00 a night we were happy with our stay. If you want a 5 star site then you'll need to pay more! We will return next year and hope to see improved facilities! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scuzpud 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a week at Woodyhyde and I'm still unsure. I'm new to camping this is my first review.

Pro's

Excellent location for exploring the wonderful walks around the Isle of Purbeck.

The steam train going by the side of field 1 can be great but not at 11pm at night.

Increased number of electric hook up's is a bonus.

Good space around pitches

Small shop useful

Electric pitch for 16 per night is very cheap

Con's

There aren't enough showers

In my opinion the toilet/showers are dirty

One washing up sink (but as others say wash up at the tent)

Noise (apparently no noise after 10.30 but as there is no one there to police it it can go on all night)

No where for kids to play so they play outside other peoples tents making a nuisance of themselves 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K886uk 1 review from this member

 Me and my husband recently stayed at this site in our tent and had a great time (which was helped by the fantastic weather). The site is large and split into 3 fields, we stayed in field 2 where the toilet/shower blocks were. The blocks were a little dated but clean (in fact they were closed between 12-2pm each day whilst they were cleaned). The blocks could get busy at peak times, my husband even said they were queuing for showers in the mens one morning. However it did look like they were building another block.

The site shop was well stocked but it was a shame it only opened for a few hours a day. We hired ice packs for 30p each but always had to rush back to the site in the afternoon to swap them for fresh ones.

The steam train running along side the site was a lovely feature and the driver and passengers would always wave to the campers!

The location of the site is great for exploring swanage, wareham, corfe, bournmouth, pool and weymouth. We especiaially liked the beach in swanage and sitting by the river in wareham. We would also recommend the Ship Inn at swanage, the meals were great.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would camp there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LK103 10 reviews from this member

 Ditto everything in the last review.Had a great time as usual and the owner was on top form.Late night noise was properly dealt with,couldn't tell by whom as it was dark.Possibly Basil Fawlty!Soon stopped after that.

We had some first time campers with us who are now converted and like us,cannot wait to return.No prob with the showers etc if you time it right too.

Watching the deer in the upper fields whilst BBQ- ing with a cold beer and the evening sun really takes some beating.Butterflies,scenery,local food,lack of traffic and the best restaurant in Dorset,the seafood shack towards Swanage pier,make this the best place to holiday anywhere. 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement