Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
                8/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummyemmy 2 reviews from this member

 I have been to this site many times I used to go with my parents when I was little. This time I went with my husband and two girls. Since I last went proper tracks have been laid to drive on throughout the site and pitches have been allocated for those wanting electric hookup. Also a new shower block has been built which excited me because the old block was a bit dark and was just as it used to be 30 years ago! Unfortunately the new showers are badly designed as the water sprays everywhere nowhere to put your clothes to keep them dry, the water from the next cubicle flows into yours, then yours flows into the next one and so on. I found that particularly gross having other people's muck swishing round my feet! At one point it was ankle depth in my cubicle! From then on I decided to use the old showers which were much better. The water sprayed in pretty much the right direction and you don't have to suffer others muck! The loos and showers are cleaned by contract cleaners but I think they need to be a bit more thorough the back of toilets need cleaning too not just the seat and bowl. Plenty of loo roll though much more than there ever used to be!

Pitches are nice and flat and a good size and if you don't want electric you can spread out as much as you want!

Some have commented on the owner, yes at first I thought he was a miserable so and so but once you get him chatting he's really nice and you can't shut him up! The shop on site is great sells everything you could possibly need.

Overall it's a really picturesque site with the Swanage Steam Railway running across the top of the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sprucy 19 reviews from this member

 I was here from 16-19 August. Unlike a previous reviewer, I did not find the campsite noisy. I think it is a sheer question of luck who is pitched in your field and when. I also don't agree that it is a bad thing not to have regimented pitches. I much prefer to choose my own pitch and it also makes it easier for groups of friends and families to be near to each other. Again, if you are hemmed in by selfish campers, that is probably a one-off question of bad luck- it has never happened to us over the years. As most other previous reviewers say, the new showers are very disappointing. Apart from water going all over the place, there wasn't much pressure and they weren't very hot; however, I realise this is pretty subjective. So just stick to the old shower block or make sure everything is in plastic bags! We weren't with children, but I noticed there are low lus for kids, which is a good idea. As for the owner, I don't think it really matters that he is not exactly effusive - it's not as though he's a guest at your dinner party! If you don't need electrics, to my mind field 3 is the best, with lovely views. If you are a walker the location is excellent, as you can walk straight from the site. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend Woodyhyde. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moppy 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from this site having spent 4 nights there.

I choose a family site on the basis that most families go to bed early and get up early which suits us. This way we (hopefully) get little noise with groups sitting up all night laughing, etc.

Well, it sort of worked out how we expected BUT the amount of noise was actually incredible until about 10pm.

There is no organisation regarding where you pitch your tent and as a consequence it can feel a bit like a refugee camp! We were totally hemmed in by tents and had to squeeze through the smallest of gaps to get out this morning.

The showers are as previous posts state. Adequate but really poorly thought out. Even the hooks where you hang your clothes are really high (no chance for younger children having an independent shower and hanging their clothes up). The toilets were really bad. Not only are they old, but they are dirty and smelly. They do flush (always a bonus) and there was always plenty of loo roll.

The shop is good and has some very thoughtful products in it (calpol, antihistamine).

Would I go back? Well, the area is outstanding and in the dead of night all you can hear are some fabulous owls tooting out their territory. But personally I would not go back. It was just too noisy with too many unruly children running around (I recall a screaming competition with the parents laughing at the event. )! A good cheap option if you just want your kids to run wild and to sit back and watch.

I'm now back on the quest in finding a quiet campsite for boring couples like ourselves! Any suggestions please? 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sonyalamb37 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for four nights ! We booked in then went and choose a pitch! Luckily it was big enough to house our tent we had EHU! with a nice view of the railway which the children enjoyed !

My one gripe was the showers and toilets not the best I don't mind paying for a shower if it was decent and the doors to the toilets you could actually lock would be good, also the washing up area is not covered so in the rain you would have got soaked !

Would go back to this sight but couldn't do a week good for a long weekend ! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BonnieBonbon 5 reviews from this member

 I chose this site as it suited my needs perfectly - fantastic location, proximity of the Swanage Railway and a good price. I had intended to stay four nights but extended it to five because there was so much to see and do in the surrounding area.

I arrived on Monday an hour before Reception opened and chose a pitch with EHU on the field adjacent to the railway line. It had hardstanding with a water pipe near by and a nice grassy spot beside it.

The whole site was pretty quiet so I checked out the facilities. The old shower block was perfectly serviceable but the showers there are no longer free and you need to buy a token which gives 4 mins for 40p. There are way more toilets in the old block than the new and also more shelves and hooks to put your stuff when using the wash basin. The new shower block was a bit of a disappointment as the cubicles lack anywhere to put your shower gel etc and the water sprays out into the drying area so you have to make sure your clothes are well tucked away behind the dividing wall or they get soaked. You can't adjust the temperature or the flow and get 4 mins weather you want it or not. This is something the owner definitely needs to address and some minor adjustments would make the whole experience much more satisfactory. This is the only negative thing I have to say about the site and I managed to stay clean in spite of the limitations!

The wash up area is outside the shower blocks and there was plenty of hot water but it would be very exposed in the rain as there is no cover. The CDP was fine and did the job.

The owner/Receptionist has quite a deadpan sense of humour and you sense he would probably rather not be in a 'customer facing roll' but I found him helpful and pleasant enough. I didn't use the shop but noted it was well stocked with the basics as well as beer and wine at very reasonable prices. It was open for an hour twice a day while I was there except the last evening when the site was busy and it was open for longer.

The highlight fo me was seeing the steam and diesel trains pass the site and the access to wonderful inland and coastal walking. I would definitely return to this site and recommend to others but I hope they tweak the showers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BCML 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice, relaxed site in a beautiful location. Stayed for four nights.

Three fields, on two of which dogs are allowed, and no marked pitches so you can take your time to look around and find your ideal pitch. Some areas are mildly sloping but not to the extent it causes any problems or discomfort. Water posts dotted around so never too far to walk.

Shop is well stocked and reasonably priced and ice blocks are available to rent. Opening hours are one hour morning, one hour early evening but in reality it tends to stay open longer. The man in the shop can appear rather introverted but actually is quite chatty and funny if you give him the chance!

Showers are 40p for 4mins (tokens from the shop). While clean they do have a few defects: water spray takes up the whole cubicle so you have to wait for them to stop before drying and dressing, showers cannot be adjusted (flow or temp) and in many the hooks are broken so nowhere to place clothes / towels when using them (unless left outside or on the wet floor). Also no seats to get dressed which may be an issue for seniors or infirm. Toilets clean and perfectly ok.

Coastal walks are spectacular and inland walks into Corfe and to the Square & Compass (in Worth Matravers) are a must. The location is ideal for exploring the whole south Dorset region, with stunning scenery and picture-postcard villages at every turn. Durdle Door is one of many recommended local sights.

Steam railway runs adjacent to field one but this just add to the charm, and the train is a lovely sight rumbling through each day.

Other than the showers this site is pretty much perfect and we'll definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Outinthesticks 15 reviews from this member

 Booked adjacent pitches for our m/h (with EHU) and our friends' tent for the last weekend of the spring half term holiday. This was no problem through the web site and the proprietor helpfully e-mailed the dimensions of the railway bridge (9ft wide by 10. 5ft high) before we booked. It was a tight fit for our low-profile X250-based coachbuilt - had to fold the mirrors to get through - but not too difficult. Check in was efficient - cards are accepted - and the man in charge seemed chatty and helpful. Shop stock is quite extensive including reasonably priced wine and beer, as well as anything you might require for barbecues (which are permitted). Although the advertised opening hours are relatively short, it seemed to be open for longer in practice.

We were allocated a stoned and almost level pitch for the m/h and our friends had a gently sloping pitch opposite. The great joy of Woodyhyde is the presence of the Swanage Railway along the northern boundary of the site. Steam and diesel trains passed frequently - the sight of children rushing to wave to the crew and passengers every time a whistle was heard was delightful.

The new shower block does have issues. At the time of our visit the drainage was inefficient so users had to make sure all their gear was off the floor, wait for the generous 4 min or so of (decently warm) water to finish flowing and then for the cubicle to drain out through the doorway. The nice looking chrome hooks had mostly been broken, making it more difficult to keep stuff out of the flood. If it all worked properly, 40p would be a fair price.

We had a fine weekend and enjoyed several of the walks mentioned by others. The Square and Compass is worth the effort and the Coast Path - at least the bits we did - spectacular.

All in all, one to go back to. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RICK24 3 reviews from this member

 I agree with most of the other reviews - it is a lovely site in lovely surroundings - but. If you value a good shower, for which you now have to pay 40p in both blocks, you should know that in the new toilet block he has got the design badly wrong: the shower head, which you can't reach to adjust, is set so that that the shower sprays strongly into the area where you hang your clothes, dry yourself and change. This means that you have to wait in the very small space until the shower finishes - there are no controls - which is about ten minutes, as there is no room to dry yourself and put on your clothes without everything getting wet. My wife's shoes and dressing gown in fact got quite wet.

This may seem rather nit - picking and I don't want to be negative but in our cold climate the one thing you want when camping is a nice hot shower before you go to bed. This is quite impossible and we don't want to go back there unless things are improved. I did want to say all this personally to the owner/manager but he wasn't around on the afternoon we left.

Another strange thing is that in the new block he has put just 2 toilets and a dozen or more showers. I would imagine that at busy times there will be queues!

I think the old block will still be OK, but you will now have to pay in that block as well as he is changing those showers too to pay ones.

Having experienced several French sites where you never have this problem it is a great pity that we can't do it better and more professionally. I would hope therefore that someone will say something to him - although I am not sure he will take it on board. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 109 reviews from this member

 I've been frequenting this site for years, solely for weekend use, and feel it's about time I left a review. We met up with friends over the end of May BH weekend and for once caught some sunny weather. A real bonus after our weekend here last year in early July when were drowned out after five inches of rain in one night! (Incidentally the only time I've ever given up and gone home).

For us, a big plus for this site is that they don't seem to do bookings, even over a BH weekend. This does mean it can be a bit hit and miss for space, but ideal if you want to turn up as a group last minute, there's is usually loads of room anyway.

The owner is never going to win any charm awards but he's actually quite friendly and chatty if treated with care. The site has a great feel since it does allow group camps to form with the associated noise. Ball games, frisbees and bikes are permitted and since one of the key attractions is the steam railway line running alongside there will be plenty of kids running around.

The pitching area is well maintained, level and plenty of surrounding trees for shelter. One of the three fields is dog free so those of us who fail to see the attraction of keeping a domesticated pack animal as a pet can BBQ outside in peace and don't have to zip up the tent every time we take a walk. There is a new shower block (40p token) and an older free toilet/shower block which is still perfectly serviceable. There is a well stocked shop and some electric hook ups too.

Corfe Castle is only a 30 minute walk. The Square and Compass at Worth Matravers does some excellent cider and the Purbeck coastal scenery is awesome, you must visit Dancing Ledge for starters.

If you're into walking try this: Start at the campsite and head into Corfe. Then up and over Nine Barrow Hill to Studland for lunch at The Banks. Then across to Old Harry Rocks and on to Swanage for the afternoon. You can then either catch the train back to Harmans Cross or continue the walk back along the coast to Dancing Ledges. Head for The Globe then along the coast to Worth Matravers before dropping back down to Woodyhyde. That is one of my favourite all day walks for scenery, wildlife (sand lizzards and dolphins included) and plenty of pubs along the way! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rosie+Scrumpy 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night in our day van. Overall a very pleasant site. The shop appeared really well stocked & the new shower block was fantastic to use. Only needed one of the 40p tokens. The entrance to the camping fields under the railway line is very narrow so I can see why caravans are not allowed. However camper vans & trailer tents should be absolutely fine but I think large motorhomes would struggle to enter the site.

Also enjoyed the bonus of having a firepit & sitting round it looking up at the stars. Close enough to walk to Corfe Castle village itself & the steam train railway running through the site is very enjoyable. However I did overhear a couple of people moaning about the noise. I personally would be very happy to stay on this site again & hope to return for a longer stay in the near future. 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4725 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement