Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Craigywaigy16 6 reviews from this member

 We usually camp, but got a good deal on a static van. I wish I had read the reviews before we booked.

This site is very poor for a haven.

The staff (except reception) all have poor attitudes and don't seem to care.

We started walking in the lakes last year and thought this would be an ideal base for that but it is too far from keswick for some of the better hills my sat nav said 1 hour it actually takes 2.

The new pool was supposed to be heated but was always cold, the entertainment was bad, beer overpriced, kids play park closed until our last night. The site was clean and the shop well stocked but those were about the best things would I go back - no, would I recommend it to you - no. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ferga2 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a week during Summer 2009. The staff were excellent with the children's activities. The shop is well stocked and the bars / restaurant is good.

Unfortunately, the actual camp site more resembles a refugee camp. The warden is good natured and proactive but is clearly not supported by his management.

Bins were overflowing and there was a vermin problem. The tents and caravans were too close and the site requires drainage. My family and I witnessed many fellow campers very frustrated and disappointed with the poor conditions. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HappyHeppy 9 reviews from this member

 Arrived about half hour early, you can only book in at 12 on the dot. Warden was filling toilet rolls up in the loo's, he also books you in and manages the site.

About 40 people waiting to get on by the time he got round to booking us in.

We got to our pitch but you couldn't tell where to pitch so we put the tent up the way we thought, nobody around to ask.

Pitches are level and ground is firm so easy to pitch.

We went out and when we got back we had 3 neighbours, all within about 3m of our tent. The nearest to ours had their guy ropes inside ours, the children pulled ours out twice, again nobody to complain to.

Toilet block looks old and decrepit, needs some good cleaning, never any toilet roll so make sure you take some.

Washing up area is attached to the toilet block, there was hot water constantly.

The noise at night was terrible, the site is supposed to have a 12pm curfew which is quite late anyway, but people always carried on drinking and shouting until the early hours. Again nobody was coming round checking so they did what they wanted.

New swimming pool is great and its free. The bowling was £2 and great, for the kids there are bikes, swimming, trampolening, amusements, and a big field for football and basketball.

Off site in the local village there are 2 pubs and a superb butchers, pork pie's are the best I've eaten in years.

Poor site for camping, won't ever go back, my best memory of the holiday was the great pork pie's from the local butcher 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Julesvee 5 reviews from this member

 This site is tired, run down, the customer service leaves a lot to be desired, and the quality of the static vans are very poor (despite a 'prestige' rating, our van had a faulty boiler, we had no bed linen, wasn't labelled to find in the dark on arrival, had ripped/torn seats, filthy floors, damp bathroom due to leaking taps, mattress with springs coming through etc etc).

Positives were a well stocked shop, and new pool being built for this year (it needs it). Food on site very poor and expensive.

Not anywhere near the usual Haven standard. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rhsc01 7 reviews from this member

 Overall the condition of the site is nice and clean (except for the building work).

The toilet blocks where clean whilst I was there (Mon-Fri week after Easter), only the shower area was slightly dirty. They do however need a little updating and more of them (morning time is busy).

The site facilities were what you would expect from Haven, plenty to keep the kids happy (at a cost for most things) and thatís the thing to remember. This is the type of camp site that caters for the masses who have families!

The pitches are mostly even but very disorganised. Every new person coming in spent some time trying to work out where their pitch was as the diagram did not resemble the actual setup.

My 2 young kids had lots of fun playing with other kids of similar age on the pitches next to us.

This was my first caravan outing as before this it was a trailer Tent and I found the people were friendly and helpful.

In essence if you have young kids, money to burn, and are not looking to a quiet location then this and most other Haven sites are perfect. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Louisechloe 22 reviews from this member

 Yes I had read other peoples comments before booking but as it was Easter Weekend and we had left it until the last minute, we booked up as our friends and I could not get booked any where else and thought they may have made changes over the winter period.

On arriving we were giving our pitch number 88 right at the top of the area sandwiched in between tents, motorhomes and caravans so if we wanted off before we were due to leave there was no way, so we asked to be moved, our friend told the warden were we wanted to be so we could be together and he said yes, to be fair I think he was over stressed to care as everyone was complaining about their pitch position, once we set up it was not too bad as the ground condition was okay and stayed that way as the weather was fantastic, but you could tell it will be muddy if it rained to much.

The toilet blocks, far to small for the amount of people as it was fully booked, 4 showers in the ladies the water was hot every time I had a shower (once you worked out the hot water was on the cold side), the condition of them are out dated and the cleanliness steadily got worse as the weekend went on but improved a bit by Monday, 6 dish washing sinks, again hot water all the time.

The shop fully stocked never bought anything so can't comment on prices. They are building a new indoor swimming pool which we were told will be open in May (if their lucky) so hopefully they will use the space were the old very small one is to open up the entertainment rooms they have, as again they are far too small for the amount of people on site.

Within the entertainment complex there is a outdoor children's park which has 2 bits of equipment, outdoor swimming pool. The crazy golf course, bouncy castle and trampolines all have to be paid for.

A football and basket ball area is to the rear of this.

The general condition of the site was okay (apart from some building work which is going on).

Did the kids have a good time, yes, as there was plenty of things for them to do and lots of other kids for them to play with, would we go back, no. This was my 4th Haven site and clearly the worst out of the bunch, if they just re organize the touring pitch this site would be okay, but it would not put me off going to another one as the kids love them and you know exactly what to expect. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesley/Ian 31 reviews from this member

 We booked this site against my better judgement and how right I have proved to be. The touring reception is a dirty old static caravan, the site was nothing but wet mud, only a 6amp hookup, the toilets are in dire need of re-furbishment broken locks, seats , peeling paint, dirty, and cold. Skip bins overflowing with rubbish. The boys said the pool was small and showers not great. The shop on site ok, but over priced on caravan goods, the toilet chemicals were £ 10 for a small bottle! All in all not great, obviously not interested in touring guests, should turn the field over to statics. Will not be going back or using another Haven site again, back to the small independants we trust. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sniggles 4 reviews from this member

 My self and my husband stayed for week in a tent we was due to go to Egypt for 3 weeks but due to XL Airways going bust the day before we went, we had no other alternative but to camp for a break.

We stayed at the top end of the field pitch was good and hard standing.

All the caravans was in the middle with the motor homes.

We arrived on Tuesday it was lovely and peaceful but on Friday morning its was like being at Glastonbury. All week it was just 2 tents on the field by Friday nights there was 40 with kids every where kicking foot balls at 7.10am with parents who didn't care and had no respect.

The shower and toilet block up until Friday wasn't too bad at all but come the weekend with the amount of people it was just nasty and smelled.

The site had bins over flowing with bin bags a digger came once to squash the smell and rubbish down into the bins then they got filled up and over flowing yet again with a worst smell. At night you should of seen the size of the rats around the bins.(dirty)

The entertainment is great for kids but very little for adults but kids there seemed to love it. At the two entertainment rooms make sure you take toilet roll as there is never any and the ladies smell like male urinals.

If you don't mind some where that's in need of a good clean its the place for you other wise its much nicer to camp just in a field with a porta loo without out the smell of haven. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

 Didn't review this site previously even though it has been over a year since our visit, but reading through comments I can see that nothing has changed.

On arrival was told to pitch wherever we wanted to and to let them know where. Driving on site revealed many very inconsiderate people who had pitched so badly that they were obviously trying to 'mark their area' (not Haven's fault but read on).

This could have been easily fixed by having pitches simply marked out. Have been on sites where they have used the same as around a football pitch. Very quick, very cheap but very effective.

Didn't think that this would cause a problem until people started to randomly park, making getting on and off our 'pitch' very difficult (road rage starting to build!).

The toilet blocks were of the standard you would expect to find in a poor town centre on a saturday night. Bins usually overflowing. Staff not bothered.

The overall site was also disappointing. Small pool, small entertainment area (very dated in appearance). Food area of OK standard, nothing fantastic but not a surprise. The chip shop never opened due to technical difficulties. The outside pool never opened (was advertised as being open at that time of year).

I know other site owners do read peoples reviews as some of my previous comments had been mentioned by one of them. Just hope someone from Haven would read, as I believe that with a little money and time (not huge amounts, just fix a few basic issues) this site could be vastly improved.

Would I visit this site again? Not even for free. Shame really, because the surrounding area was fantastic and well worth visiting. Plan to do the lakes again next year, just won't be stopping here.

Haven - get your act together and treat tourers seriously. Many of the sister sites around the country have a very good standard, so why not all??? 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Post4dawn 5 reviews from this member

 We had booked for 2 nights, it was a family celebration so we were all really excited and looking forward to it. My husband, myself and our daughter with our 4 month old granddaughter was in a motor home, and our eldest daughter her husband and two small children were in a tent. When we arrived we were shocked to see what I can only describe as a lake with grass underneath, we drove round twice trying to find a spot that wasn't 2 to 3 inches deep in water, the guy at reception told us the field had been bad for the past 4 weeks and said to go anywhere if we could find a spot that wasn't too bad, we parked up on the concrete, we were worried about getting stuck if we attempted to go on the grass. After half an hour my daughter decided to ask if she could hire a caravan for the two days, we had driven 3 hours not to mention the cost in petrol, but she was told there wasn't any available,the staff were really unhelpful and showed total lack of interest, as for customer service well it didn't exist! We had no alternative but to drive all the way home again. I fully understand the campsite are not responsible for the weather but a phone call from the site would of been nice to explain the field was water logged and given the option to cancel and save us time, expense and disappointment, 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1462 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement