Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilde 4 reviews from this member

 I've just spent five nights with my three year old daughter, we've had a good time ! I'll do the cons first it was gorgeous weather and feel we were overcrowded at weekend so it was noisier but we were so shattered we still slept. Heavy rain causes water log because it is flat and the dishwash area has no bin!
Now the pro's brill swimming pool,kids play areas inside and out,trampolines and crazy golf.Good entertainment for all ages 2.70 for a pint.Restaurant good breakfast and tea. All staff seemed pleasant and helpful.
The general site and facilities are clean and tidy.Short drive to grange, cartmel and windermere. Basiacally I read the reviews before I left and was worried but I feel like I've stayed at a different site unless they've made improvements recently.
It was cheap and cheerful would definitely camp again and recommend the site if you want a bit lively ! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveg83 2 reviews from this member

 The touring and camping field has terrible drainage problems and really needs sorting out. We woke up on the first couple of mornings and the awning was flooded so had to move the caravan over 10ft get away from the standing water.

Heard a couple of campers complaining that they couldn't get there pegs in the soil because it was only a couple of inches deep.

The shower block was in a decent state most of the time but the kids did keep blocking the toilets on a night but that's not havens fault.

Entertainment was good and usual prices for drinks etc. Staff in general were good but the staff in the arcade were horrible to the kids and if you had a problem with one of the machines (which we did with bowling everytime!) they couldn't care less. If they don't like there job they shouldn't be working there and the last thing I want when I'm trying to get away from it all is a spotty youth with a attitude problem! I'd sack them all if I had my way!

It they sorted the touring field and staff attitude problems out I would go back but until then.Never! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at Lakeland. My previous reviews were not good but it does look like Haven are listening to us at long last?

They have built a new swimming pool which was really nice and large, the changing rooms and showers were brilliant,they have a large hairdrying section and large cubicles which makes a pleasant change from tiny ones that you cant swing a cat in, the old pool is now for owners exclusive. There is a new outdoor children's play area which is nice and safe and they have also revamped the cafe/bar area with a new soft play area. The entertainment on both nights was excellent, we really enjoyed it and the drinks were reasonable, 6.99 for a bottle of red wine is good compared to other places and 2.70 a pint isnt too bad.

The touring field hasn't changed since I visited last year and it is in need of a total revamp, I was told that Haven are making all the touring pitches hard standing for next season and building a new shower block, if this is done it will make it a really good site, if not, we wont be going again as it gets flooded in the rain it isnt a well drained site and the pitches are not marked out properly. I was told that the tents would have their own designated area, we had three tents around us with young children and we were kept awake half the night with crying children then woke up in the early hours with noisy families giving no consideration to other campers. I know it cant be helped with noise from tents but they were pitched up very close which didn't help.

It looks like a lot of investment is going into Lakeland which is good news because its in a lovely location, ideal for visiting the Lakes, I just hope they invest in the touring section as this would make this site really nice and we would definitely visit it a lot more.

I have to disagree with previous reviews about staff friendliness, the kids club staff were brilliant and great with the kids and all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Careilly 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a one night stay at Lakeside. We were booked for 3 nights in our caravan, but left after the first night.To say we were disappointed was an understatement. First impressions of the touring field were it looked like an emergency refugee camp site.

We were taken to the only dry-ish pitch left on the site which was in the corner of the field. Next to an(unoccupied) 1960`s van which had long grass around it. This had obviously been there for a while unused and there was a paddling pool behind it half full with stagnant water. But we put our awning up and got on with it.

The toilet block is a disgrace for a caravan site, the chemical toilet disposal is only an unused toilet. Which looked like it had not been cleaned for a long time. The dishwashing area had dirty water and food lying all over the floor underneath it.

On the slightly plus side the complex looks new and was mainly clean. But I would never recommend this site to anyone thinking of camping or taking a tourer.

I woke up on the morning of our second day and decided to leave. I logged onto the sites Wifi (five ponds an hour!) and booked us onto another site 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thefaceman25 1 review from this member

 We booked our holiday and came on here to read the reviews for some information and couldn't believe that all the reviews were so bad. We rang up to cancel but our cooling of period had ended so we had no choice but to go. We were very pleasantly surprised. We found all the staff very nice and the whole complex very clean. We were impressed with the new swimming pool it was very busy but also very clean and best of all free!

The other children's facilities were really good and all the other holiday makers seemed to be having a good time.

I would get into the shower block early as other holiday makers don't seem to wipe the dirt from the floor but this isn't down to the staff.

The pitches could be marked rather than just pitching where ever you can find. The weather was poor and after a lot of rain over night there was a few puddles around on the pitching fields.

Its a nice location as its 40 minutes away from windermere and coniston.

Shop prices were fine and the bar menu was like a pub menu styled and rightly priced for this.

We would return to this campsite but would book within a couple of days to going to get the best weather for the holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lauren_2K9 1 review from this member

 We usually go to Cumbria once a year to go camping, but after we read the reviews we were thinking about not going, but in the end we went and glad we did. Staff are helpful and friendly, a lot of facilities for the kids to do, cheap food on site which is lovely. Night activities for the kids, toilet block was clean. Lovely surrounding area.

There were a few bad things though such as: Alot of teenagers around the site at night, club gets busy early in the night, no locks in new shower block, needs better access to beach as we had to crawl through a barred wired fence. Bit expensive if you don't use the facilities.

Overall really nice Haven site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carterjohn 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site but we have been to other Haven Holiday Parks.

This is the filthiest place we have ever stayed at,the staff are young and don't give a damn about anything.

I asked a glass collector if he could give our table a wipe over and I was told 'no chance mate I'm not doing that' Even tho he had a towel and a disinfectant spray.

The toilets were disgraceful,I paid a visit as the cleaner had just finished only to find faeces and empty beer cans still all over the floor.! (and some poor soul had used their boxer shorts as toilet paper because as usual there was no toilet roll).

Tents were packed so close together that going anywhere was very hard to do,We returned from a day out to find a tent pitched half a metre from our door way with guide ropes nearly inside our tent.Other campers enjoyed blasting music from their tents at 2 am sadly I don't listen to drum and bass so I didn't enjoy it as much as they did.

The entertainment was comical,I kept looking for the hidden cameras the draught lager was expensive,flat and even though I tried three different brands they all tasted the same (warm and watery).

We visited Windemere,The lakeland car museum,Blackpool,Kendal and The maize maze (fantastic day out)The campsite is a good base for visiting all the good local attractions its just such a shame its a cesspool.

We ate at a few local pubs and all were good apart from The Engine where we waited two hours for a terrible meal. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Shellgalt 1 review from this member

 After reading the reviews left here for this site, I almost cancelled my booked holiday before I even arrived! Luckily I didn't and took the plunge this weekend.

I needn't have worried at all! We booked a prestige van and it was everything that we expected. On our arrival into the site, the security were welcoming and extremely friendly. I was on the look-out all the time for the unfriendly staff but everyone on the site did all that they could to help us and even when our duvet for the lounge was missing, the cleaning lady that brought it round for us was so nice and pleasant.

I am not sure how the other people encountered such unfriendly staff but my motto is always treat people how you would like to be treated. A friendly face and a smile goes a long way!

We were placed in a caravan at the far end of the site, next to the grassy bank and walk along the rocks. It was wonderful to take a stroll along this path and the views into the bay were truly stunning!

We did use the facilities briefly, and they are very similar to other Haven sites we have used. Yes, you do have to walk through the arcades to get to the cafe and bar area but every other site that I have been to has this layout. Yes, there was a full bin in the outside bar area but the outdoor pool and play area had been really busy on that day and it was bearable.

I did note that one reviewer said that there was a pool but it was for owners only. Actually, there is a brand new pool for any haven customers, AND there is a second pool inside the complex for the residents only.

I never encountered any noise (although we were not in the tent area) and found it a pleasant site to stay at. Driving through the site is really pretty, lots of trees and it looks neat and tidy with the occasional walker or family making their way back to their caravan.

Windermere, Bowness and Coniston are within easy reach and we had some wonderful walks in the lake district. Grange, Flookburgh and Holker are in close proximity and offer stunning views over this spectacular part of the country.

We did not eat at the site, other than making our own meals we actually used the chip shop located at the end of the long road to the site. The fish is to die for! Very crispy and good value.

There is also a great chinese in Grange (only 10 mins by car) and we collected a menu, phoned our order through and then went to get it 20 mins later. Wonderful food!

Ducky's farm, which is less than a minute drive down the same road is excellent for the children. My little ones really enjoyed feeding the sheep, they made good friends with a friendly goat and the play area comes highly recommended by them.

One thing not to miss is the nearby parachute centre. I spent so long watching the brave souls launch themselves out of a plane (depending on weather conditions, it goes up almost once every half an hour) and they land just behind the site. If you are feeling brave, I'm sure it's possible to book a session. Not for me though I'm afraid although I did feel slightly envious of the view they must have got on the way down!

All in all, I would say that this site is what you make it. Yes, there will always be some bad points.But there are many good sides to this site too.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would have no hesitation whatsoever coming back again next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frgle 3 reviews from this member

 What can I say: the first night was great apart from feeling like bullocks herded into a field. If you like feeling like sardines its great! bent most of our pegs as after 3-4 in you hit concrete. We were offered two pitches one was already under water and the 2nd was next to a drainage grate on 2nd day it rained and our tent was literally floating, the warden didn't seem to care and we were told by other campers that the day before we arrived the people on our pitch had left in the early ours due to flooding.! on the plus side the reception girls were great and we were actually swapped to a caravan which they weren't using. After that couldn't fault it. The new pool was the highlight cant comment on the nightlife as the bar was always full and couldn't get a table.  


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northnorthwest 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from 3 nights here. First of all, it's a Haven holiday park and I had a fair idea of what to expect before I went, especially having read the reviews here. Main reason for picking this site was the awful weather forecast and the facilities for my 2 year old. In that regard, site was perfect. Otherwise, toilets and showers were disgusting and always out of loo roll, pool showers and toilets were the same. In fairness, I think it's really fellow campers and their kids to blame rather than the site. I'm not an overly strict parent, but some (i.E. Not all) of the behaviour of the kids in the place was awful.

There was no order to the camping and having only a 'small' 3 man tent I was in the minority as everyone else had gazebos etc etc too match. In the end up, however, I was to the right of the road that runs through the tent site (usually reserved for caravans I think) and was one of a few not to get washed away. A good number of tents were flooded and then abandoned by owners who removed the contents and drove off in the middle of the night! It was dry for the last night of my stay only and I was actually willing it to rain due to the noise. The owners of the touring van opposite decide to crank up Lady Gaga at 11pm and sit with their buddies drinking until I got my wish and we got thunder and lightening. The entertainment that I did go to (a circus) amused my son, so thumbs up to that.

Finally, I paid for 2 nights but due to the lack of order I could have stayed for a week and not paid anything else. Was 38 for 2 nights (or 3 as it were) for me + my son including passes for the pool etc which I though was good. Think it's per head rather than tent though.

Would only visit again for a short stay and if the weather was going to be really bad. Even then I'd only stay if I found one of the few dry pitches. Middle of the field flooded really badly. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2751 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement