Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cozy 3 reviews from this member

 We were generally impressed and overall felt the site was good value.

We've camped at a few Haven sites now and found this to be the cleanest of them all and the least 'commercial' - in that you don't have everything thrust at you to buy, buy, buy.

The facilities in themselves on the site were brilliant (new toilet block & Complex) and the food prices were reasonable enough. 2.95 for a cooked breakfast.

The touring warden David is a legend and always had a smile for everyone and always did his best with any questions you had for him. He was always on / around the site.

Kids loved it as there was plenty of families camped on the site and lots of new friends to play with.

My only 'gripes' were

The pitches were obviously overused - by this I mean large areas were bald and they became muddy when it rained or very dusty when dry. It looked like they hadn't been given the time to recover from use but this was not in keeping with the rest of the site which was landscaped fantastically (maybe Haven will look at this as they had seemed to fit some drainage / grates to the pitches to help drain them off).

As it was the school holidays the site was quite busy and this meant that most pitches were taken and the site obviously 'packed them' in so you did find that you were camped close to the next unit.

One toilet block with 5 showers and 5 toilets + Sinks in the Gents didn't seem enough to cope with the large numbers of pitches when the site was at it's busiest (seemed a shame as this meant that the new toilet block was getting a lot of use / hammer at times)

We had a problem on one of the nights when the cast of Shameless pitched next to us and had a mini music festival until 2am. This upset several of the families pitched locally to them and David (the Touring Warden) was swift to react to complaints the next day but we felt that maybe a rule on when the site should 'quieten' down should be enforced by the site security periodically patrolling through the night.

If Haven landscaped the pitches (hardstanding), put an extra toilet block in there to help cope when busy and maybe organised a play area within the touring area for the kids it could quite possibly be one of the best family sites in the country.

We'll definitely return as overall we enjoyed the site/facilities and the staff helped make the holiday and fell over themselves to help you if you had any questions/problems.

Signposting to the site could be a little clearer (and our Sat Nav took us to completely the wrong place when we used the Postcode on the haven website- be warned) 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 My previous review wasn't a good one and I'm pleased to see that Haven are finally listening to their customers!

Excellent new shower/toilet blocks

Very friendly warden and well organised

Excellent facilities on site with a gorgeous warm pool

Haven have invested in this site over the winter and it shows, this site is now one of Havens best and we loved it. Only thing I could say on a negative point is they could do with making the pitches hardstanding, there are no markers our boundaries so people take us as much room as they want!

Great site at a great price we will be returning! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Creders 9 reviews from this member

 The last time we visited this site was in 2007 and we were pleased that there has been quite a few improvements made to the site since our last visit.

Met by the warden who had a proper reception unlike at the last visit when it was an old static caravan! Very friendly chap, a credit to Haven.

We had a grass pitch with no EHU and were told to pitch anywhere around the outskirts of the field. The entire area is flat and the ground was dry. Plenty of space to pitch but I reckon there was only around 30 tents, don't know what it would be like when the site is busy.

The EHU's were all in the middle of the field and the caravans and tents looked like they had been squashed in. Don't think I would take an electric pitch if available, less than a couple of metres between units.

The toilet/washblock is brand new, so new it was due to be completed in the week after we left. Toilets clean never a shortage of paper. 5 new showers with a power shower head, the only complaint I would have is that there is no temp control on the showers. Also had power points which it previously did not have. Also the building was bright and airy. No smells!

Spar shop on site but I personally thought it was poorly stocked. Lots of shop floor space taken up with toys and gifts. Poor selection of basics such as bread / rolls and what they did have sold out quick.

Swimming pool was great, looked very new. Lots of changing space and free lockers to keep your clothes etc safe and dry. Only downside, to get to it you have to go through the amusement arcade. This is true also to get to any of the other facilities!

Food on site reasonably priced. Set 3 course menu in pub / restaurant 9 which is ok, have to say we didn't eat in but it was always busy so I am guessing the food was good. Did try the Fish and Chip takeaway, that was delicious. Proper fish cooked to order.

Plenty of space for our 9yr old to play in, felt he was safe too.

Good price early season 23 for 2 nights, considering the Haven factor in for the price its good value for money and we will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Watson32 4 reviews from this member

 2 adults 3 kids. Arrived Friday afternoon and greeted by friendly staff, told to pitch anywhere on the outside of the touring field. Ground flat and hard, plenty of spaces.

Lots of entertainment for the kids, very clean toilet and shower blocks, good dishwash area and plenty of hot water. It rained all night but the ground was not that bad which I expected after reading other reviews. A good site for our trial run. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Futabadirk 4 reviews from this member

 After reading reviews of site I was in two minds, but got there and we all thought it was fab, very clean, polite and looked very new. The shower blocks etc. are the best I've seen Five stars, only thing was when we were there they had problems with water pressure, sure that's fixed now as its only a month old, (teething trouble I guess)

Now we were greeted by Dave now he's a legend. Great helpful chap. Club house and entertainment first class, kids loved it, brand new swimming pool, never seen kids, always in it, the only thing you'll require are decent tent pegs as grounds very hard, but managed.

Great shop on site, its a Spar, so normal prices, not rip offs like some camps, beer in club decent at 2.75 a pint! good food on site also arcade bowling, grazy golf etc.

We walked up to town about 20mins walk, nice day for it, couple of local boozers there, shop, pharmacy, also cracking butchers for BBQ meats etc.

So to be honest, I'm keeping this site as best by far, cant wait to go back, it cost us family of five elecy hook up for four nights 94, which I thought reasonable for all the parks activity's. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Annmaria 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for may bank holiday, was going to camp but decided to stay in a static as had grandparents with us. The site is well laid out with excellent facilities and I would definitely visit again.

However I would never camp at this site. On viewing the touring field we could see that there was new shower facilities which did look very good but the tents and tourers were all on top of one another. Tents were far too close with no space or privacy. Not my idea of a relaxing camping break. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Seanita 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 days at Lakeland. Have 4 kids all under 10, they loved it, made lots of friends and played well all day.

Lovely clean site, new Shower and WC block, absolutely spotless and hot water all day.

Staff very helpful nothing is too much trouble and they work hard at keeping site clean all day.

Plenty to do day and night, we went into Bowness one day via the boat across Lake Windermere, good family day out.

Facilities excellent overall a very good site. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stephen1607 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back after 4 nights at this site. We arrived the week before Easter following a special offer received by post for 24.00 for 4 nights, which we figured was good value. On arrival we found that the touring field was sodden.

There is a new shower/toilet block which was kept spotless the whole time, but there is only one waste disposal site, which bearing in mind they have pitches for upwards of 100 units isn't enough.

There was work ongoing all the time we were there and new turf has been laid but due to the rain and heavy traffic this was pretty torn up. One of the previous reviewers mentioned that the pitches were to be hard standing this year however we saw no signs of that being done.

I felt that we were being crammed in as there was very little space between 'vans and no apparent organisation to the siting of units.

As mentioned earlier the site was very wet and at one point I had to use my 4x4 to tow someone else's van as they were just spinning their wheels trying to get to their pitch, even with four wheel drive engaged I was spinning my rear wheels a bit.

The new pool is excellent with plenty of changing rooms. The facilities and entertainment were up to Havens normal standard which in the past would have kept our children amused but I think that they have out grown them now (9 and 7 years old) as they just wanted to go swimming or play on their bikes (unfortunately the bike tyres just dug into the soft ground).

The site is quite a way out of the Lake District proper and there is about a 20 minute drive to Windermere.

Overall I would say that if I had paid full price for a stay at this site I would have been very disappointed however at 6.00 a night and with a 16 amp hook up I can't grumble. I doubt that we will be going back though. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Cotton_candy 1 review from this member

 I was wondering what to expect after reading all these reviews before we went, we went there for the first week of easter and stayed in a superior static caravan, which we found to be very clean and no problems with it

The actual site is like a small version of haven, definitely not as big as some of the haven sites I've been too, but it was all very cosy, the campsite looks like new everywhere, it has a spar shop on site, a laundrette, archery, tennis courts, an immaculate swimming pool, which offers all sorts of activities you can do for 5 a child like aqua jets and water walkers etc, and it has a inflatable bouncy castle / slide thing that they do on certain days that you pay extra to go on, changing rooms where spotless as were the pool.

The evening entertainment (funworks) was good campsite fun which my kids enjoyed (aged 8 -12) and there was the cafe bar and grill which looked very nice and clean, but we always ate in the caravan, there is also a chip shop on site, but we used the nearby chippy in the small village of flookburgh

We would definitely go back in the future as its a very good base to explore the south and west lakes. So don't let the other reviews put you off as you will be pleasantly surprised when you get there, but don't expect a huge site.  


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaydee001 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this site due to it being a Haven site and felt reassured that a large company would mean better facilities, we also wanted a site which had plenty of things to do indoors due to the time of year.

On arrival, we were just told pretty much to pitch wherever we liked as they were very few tents. There are a few areas designated for camping, none have clearly marked out pitches which could cause a problem at busy times. Most of the ground seemed uneven too. We found a flat part and pitched our tents then checked out the facilities and were horrified. The smell of the gents is far worse than any public toilet I have ever experienced, and being a shower/toilet block in one made this really unpleasant to shower in. The shower block is quite old, but could be quite pleasant if it was clean and heated. There are signs up advising that the blocks are 'deep cleaned' in a morning and at night with hourly checks in between. Only cleaning we noted was wiping out the sinks and squirting disinfectant in the urinals. Nothing else, not even the floor! Apparently there were no sockets in the ladies toilet to plug in hairdryers etc and although there was a built in hairdryer this didn't work.

There was a shortage of toilet roll, and no heating!

The other unpleasant experience we had was with the rats! The site is crawling with them! Admittedly we were pitched near the bushes and expect some wildlife but there does appear to be a bit of problem at this site. In the reception area (which we went to to complain about the showers but wasted our time) there are posters boasting of the site being a conservation area so I assume this would be their excuse. We saw them constantly, running round the caravans even in the middle of the field so I doubt it was just us who were constantly bothered by them.

The other facilities were really good. The shop, bar, club, pool etc were all very good and almost all the staff we came into contact with were very friendly.

Just a couple of other points, there is insufficient lighting on the pathways and roads leading to and from the main complex. Where there were lights, they weren't on. We saw a few people struggling to see where they were going, particularly one poor old chap on crutches. The drainage on this site is shocking too!

The roads flood, the paths flood and the camping pitches looked like marshland after just one night of rain! Many of them were literally under water!

And finally, there are no baby changing facilities! In the tourers and tents block there wasn't even anywhere to improvise. This is supposed to be a family site? 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement