Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 19 reviews from this member

 The journey to the site was pretty straightforward although the last bit through the villages/towns was a bit tricky - narrow streets with cars parked either side and a few tight corners. It was a bit out in the middle of nowhere, the nearest supermarket was quite a long drive away, so either be prepared to buy groceries at the site shop (a bit overpriced) or get your groceries delivered!

We had a Euro pitch - pitch 19 - our pitch was allocated to us, we didn't get a choice. However I think we struck lucky and ended up with the best pitch on the site, we were in a corner away from the main road and there was a huge amount of space in front of our awning with a fence and hedge around.

We fenced off a big area with our windbreak to contain our dog, but there was a further huge grassy area behind that we could have made part of our pitch. Our pitch felt quite secluded in the corner away from the busy areas. It was perfect for us with our dog, and just a short walk across to the main complex with the pool, showbar and shop etc.

The site is set in a lovely area, with lots of pleasant walks around the site, and a great dog walk. However despite it being "Grange over sands" and looking like there was a beach on google maps its more marshland and not a beach at all. It was next to a sky diving place and we did enjoy sitting outside the caravan watching the skydivers dropping out of the plane and hearing and seeing their parachutes opening and them gliding down back to the airfield.

The site seemed to be the busiest Haven site we have visited (and we've visited many around the country). We had a Euro pitch because it was the only pitch available when I booked and I am very glad we ended up with that one.

The other pitches and camping fields were really busy and tents and caravan units seemed to be crammed really closely together almost touching one another. If you like a lively holiday then you would enjoy it, but it was too busy for our taste - even heading to the toilet block at 11:30-12pm or even later the place was busy with people walking about, shouting and chatting,

Lots of people in and out of the toilet block, some sat in the foyer of the toilet block where the light was and using the electric socket, and there was a general hubbub of noise from the camping area with people sat outside their tents socialising until quite late at night - fun if you've gone as a group, as the wardens seemed to clock off early evening but not a site to choose in the height of the season if you want a holiday with peaceful evenings.

People camping were also complaining about the birds that roosted in the trees all around the camping field giving them an early morning wake up call every day - so after a noisy evening they didn't get a lie in!

There were two toilet blocks, a pale blue one in the tenting field which seemed to be newer and a brown one on the same side as the Euro pitches. They were quite modern and the brown one had a bank of hairdryers and mirrors. Despite it being very busy they were both cleaned very well once a day, although I have to admit to queuing along with a few others outside waiting for the cleaner to come out so I could be the first one to use a shower that had been cleaned.

I preferred the showers in the blue block as they had a seating and changing area in them. There were large family sized showers as well as individual ones.

The site has the usual Haven facilities, but in my opinion not enough for the number of guests. Our teenagers used the pool but it wasn't exciting enough for them, just being a small swimming pool. They didn't feel there were enough activities for them, eg the ropeworks was quite small and low and they felt the activities were aimed at younger children.

The queues for the chip shop were very long, as were the queues in the bar. We did have meal in the Mash and Barrel and really enjoyed it I think we must have been lucky as people around us seemed to wait ages for food and one family with young children sitting near us eventually left without eating as it took so long for their food to arrive.

We explored the Lake District whilst we were there, it was a good base for that, but I don't think we'd return as the site was far too busy with not enough facilities. We have stayed on Hafan-y-Mor and Perran sands in recent years which were also busy sites but although busy there were enough facilities to accommodate the number of guests, and activities to entertain teenagers which Lakeland didn't seem to have. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Old punky 2 reviews from this member

 Pitched on the EHU tent field near the touring office, nice and flat but the electric points are in a ridiculous position running down the centre of the field so lots of cables trailing all over the place, good job I had an extension to get hooked up.

Toilets ok apart from one morning which I can only describe as an abomination left in the men's cubicle, not havens fault but some disrespectful camper, definitely needs more toilets.

Bar was really good but expensive, the clubhouse entertainment was the usual cheese festival, we left after 20 mins it was that bad. Looked great if you have young kids plenty for them to do.

Some nice walks around the site, lake was very nice,

The last night we were there a woman who was probably a Jeremy Kyle fan from Liverpool started telling us all about how she was there on the witness protection program and some wild story that quite frankly was a load of nonsense, we tried avoiding her for the rest of the night but she was on one so we were forced to go back to our tent.

Back at the tent a young family (again with Liverpool accents) 3 pitches down from us came back very drunk and argued from about 1. 00am until 7. 00am with standing fist fights, life stories, wailing swearing and all manner of disturbance to be heard, god only knows how their young children got any sleep that night as nobody else within 50 metres did. No security or any enforcement of rules to be seen.

This park seems to attract a certain type of camper imo, but it still won't put me off going back as I now have ear plugs and know where not to pitch next time, all in all good site but certain people it attracts can spoil it, not havens fault but they should have an on site 24hr security guard to keep the peace imo. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dragon56 21 reviews from this member

 This is a very busy site if you like that sort of thing. I don't mind it being busy but with only 4 showers and 4 toilets in the gents block I had to queue almost every time I used this. There was another shower block but only opened on bank hols and school hols. There were hundreds of campers there and quite a few were complaining about the shortage of toilets and showers. We love Haven touring sites but don't think we will visit this one again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jfcarr 1 review from this member

 Just spent 4 nights there. Great place if you have kids. 35 for the stay, a bargain. The site was flat. Toilets were immaculate, showers were good, push button. Entertainment for kids was great. I thought the food and beer was a bit expensive, as was the chippy. But overall the site was very good and the staff were really friendly. I have been before but the site has improved since my last visit about 4years ago. Will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 5357frank 3 reviews from this member

 Really good site. Well laid out. Very flat makes it easy to set up. All amenity's within easy reach. Plenty of things to do especially for the younger ones. Plenty of walks for those with dogs. Nice big lake with boats & boards to use. Golf course nice size for a quick round. Friendly staff to help you what ever the case may be. Big entertainment room. Bar food at not bad price for a site. Has separate fish shop. If in car the best fish shop is in the village, Flookburgh, open each night from 5pm, best fish I have tasted for a long time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shargar23 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 7 nights at Lakeland. Lovely clean site and loads to do for the kids & Plenty places to walk the dog. Was disappointed in the location of the site as - not knowing the area and not very good at researching - there was no access to any beaches. I looked on map and seen we were close to the water so assumed there would be a beach but it's all quick sand and not safe to go on.

Showers and toilets were spotless although the showers in the ladies were scorching hot and couldn't wait to get home for a decent shower. Husband didn't complain about the gents.

We had a good holiday but don't think we would go back mainly due to location. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingerchick 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. I was in my campervan and my pals were in the statics.

Received a warm welcome and showed to my pitch on the touring site by a chap on a bike. Pitch was level, on a grassy area with a gravel area for the van to park on. Electric included.

Shower and toilet block clean and never had to wait to use any facilities. Two areas for washing pots, three sinks in each area and once again, never had to wait.

The usual Haven facilities on the park available. Didn't use the restaurant or bar/entertainment area so can't comment on those.

Swimming pool was ok, given a wrist band on entry for an hour and a half in the pool but this did make sure not too many people in the pool at one time. Although didn't stay in the pool that long, could have done to be slightly warmer in there.

I enjoyed my stay here and would visit again but do find Haven slightly pricey for a touring stay.

Really enjoyed just chilling in my awning watching a plane fly up and the parachutists gliding down about every half an hour on the Saturday. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trudybaby 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant site I would recommend going here to anyone. Plenty to do for both adults and children. Staff very friendly. Children loved it, they cant wait to go back. Only thing the on site shop very expensive, but there is a local store just at the end of the road. But all in all fab. Will definitely be going back soon😊 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 32 reviews from this member

 The touring area is very large consisting of tent area, grass pitches and euro pitches. I would recommend the euro pitches for a bit more space and water, electricity plus tv all on the pitch. The grass and tent areas get very full and crowded and can be very noisy.

When we were there one of the toilet blocks was closed and the remaining one was very poor. The first night the drain was blocked leaving me standing in a pool of water. The second night I had to hold the button in constantly to get any water at all. Water was only warm and dish wash sinks were very rusty.

We had a meal in the restaurant but had too wait 45 minutes and then my husbands lasagna was burnt to charcoal black on the bottom. After complaining we did get a free desert but it was certainly not up to standard.

Free wifi in the bar area and well stocked shop.

All in all its a lovely site, staff are very friendly, good value for money but needs attention to the smaller points which make the stay enjoyable 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbie65 28 reviews from this member

 We spent 7 nights in our tourer at the Haven Lakeland site. We had managed to get a Euro Superpitch for the grand total of 70 for the full 7 nights. This included electric and water/drainage, access to all the facilities, including the swimming pool. We gave the 'cheesertainment' a miss so can't comment on this, but, wow, what fantastic value.

First of all, I'd like to mention that, once having left the last of the A roads, the route to the site is quite a challenging one, passing through narrow, winding country lanes, small towns and villages. So, not exactly a novice tow. That being said, the final stretch or road once having left Flookburgh is extremely straightforward.

This Haven site is absolutely beautiful. Stunning. The grounds are immaculate and the site very tidy. The touring area is a mixture of grass and hardstanding pitches. Pitches are spacious with small bushes in between each pitch (for the euro pitches). Ample room for caravan, awning, and we had space for 2 cars parked in front of the pitch, but there is plenty alternative parking, if you'd wanted you could have parked your car away from the pitch altogether.

Toilet and shower facilities clean and warm. Shower is push button but not a problem. Some of the utility posts on the euro pitches are quite far away from the caravan itself. Our hook up cable was ok, but our blue hose was no where near long enough to reach from the tap to the water barrel. We also had a 20m external ariel cable for the TV - it was no where near long enough to reach into our van. TV reception, phone signal and wifi on the touring bit are very ropey, but free wifi available from the Mash and Barrel.

This site has access to the most amazing dog walk along a high levee around the mud flats over looking Morecambe Bay. This is a fantastic, secure walk for dogs and the views are just stunning. We were extremely lucky with the weather and I have to say, I've never enjoyed my early morning dog walks so much.

The touring wardens, and the rest of the staff, were very friendly and helpful. Apparently a brand spanking new toilet and shower block is being built for the start of next season, and, rumour has it, an area at the Mash and Barrel where you can sit outside with your dogs.

Really recommend a visit into Grange Over Sands. The Cartmel Sticky Toffee Pudding Factory is a short drive away too.

Totally loved this site and will definitely return. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement