Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JAYNE B 7 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at a lot of haven sites in caravans and so we decided to bring our tent this time. Basically they just pack you in and forget about you. Haven sites seem to attract rude families

We chose to pitch near the trees at the bottom end. As there wasn't a lot of space. The ground was rock hard and we bent most of our pegs.but we didn't have time to move as 3 other families arrived soon after and all the available space had gone.we left our car on the edge of the field so we could get in and out easily. We went off for the day and came back to find no space for our car as the other families had moved their car in our spot.

The toilet facilities were not that good, weren't very clean as other families allowed their kids to use them without supervision!

The showers were basic and not clean. I know at busy times a lot of people use them but they must only clean them once a day which isn't enough.

The problem with haven is that they employ too many young teenagers who don't know or care what they are doing. The night security is rubbish as we were next to a rude family who didn't care, I complained to the warden the next day but the family were going anyway.

The only good thing about lake land is that it is in the lake district.

I wouldn't camp at a haven site again, there are far better sites and this website is excellent for that. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flossie64 3 reviews from this member

 The Good: the sun when it came out .

The Bad : Well where to begin. The site was overcrowded The toilets were blocked ,overflowing and not cleaned or checked regularly enough to ensure they were usable.

The Ugly: the staff when you complained as they were neither interested ,able or competent enough to sort anything out.

We were there for 3 nights .

Bins were never emptied . At least half of the,few, showers and toilets were unusable. Then on 1 night they shut the facilities down completely , to do URGENT REMEDIAL work! Only to reopen the next morning in the same state as before.

We were lucky in some ways as we have an elsan toilet on board so my young daughter could use that, pity the poor tenters who did not have that luxury. Disposing of the waste was another matter altogether.

The area is lovely and it is such a shame a big concern like this has no pride in its campsite . Especially as they charge 39 per night with no recompense for the almost non-existant facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Finny01 2 reviews from this member

 We should have read the reviews before booking having just returned from a intended 4 night break, but only managed 3 nights at Lakeland.

We were not given a choice were to pitch our tent, and we were sited on a pitch which was basically wet mud. This was due to over use in our opinion.

Unfortunately the weather was not good, which caused water to pool around our tent and in quite a number of other places across the site. I cannot describe the smell in our tent by the 3rd day due to the water trapped under and around our tent.

The pitches are fairly close together, and we managed to get our car blocked in twice.

The electric also went off on our 3rd day, by this point we had had enough.

And now for the really bad part!

The toilet blocks were awful, the smell hit you as you walked in. In the ladies, 3 out of the 4 showers were broke, there was no toilet role for 2 days. The mens, well, the smell was incredible, there were dirty nappies left on the floor, 3 out of the 4 showers worked, but again these were filthy.

We never really used the club as we went out most days, but these looked pretty reasonable.

We ate in the bar one night, and witnessed 3 different families send their meals back, ours were ok, nothing special.

On our last morning, another camper went around the entire touring site gathering signatures from every tent and caravan for a petition to send to Haven's Head Office about the state of the touring facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northernman 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first family camping trip and we chose Haven for the facilities that would keep our three small boys amused should the weather turn bad. We arrived at the reception caravan and received our pack and the warden told us to pitch anywhere, which seemed easy enough. We chose a spot near the reception area, close to the trees and not too far away from the central shower / toilet / washing block.
The grass pitches were well used, but covered in grass and flat enough. It is peak time, so I appreciate that they will pack em in like sardines and this was the case, but we still had room around our tent to feel relaxed enough.
The toilets / showers were warm, clean and very well maintained. They were regularly visited by staff members and were never left in a poor state. We had two glorious sunny days before the rain storms came in. Constant rain for 24hrs and there were patches of puddles starting to form, but we have a good tent and were dry and warm. One thing about Haven is that it does attract 'interesting' families and as the rain arrived so did the various noisy and obnoxious groups.
The forecast was horrendous for the next couple of days, so we decided that combined with our new neighbours meant that we would pack it up whilst we still had grass and not mud to walk on and whilst we had all had a great time.

We did have a great time, and the facilities at Haven are really good for families. An indoor and outdoor pool, which are clean and well looked after with 2 lifeguards on duty all the time at each pool. The Showbar had entertainment on, which seemed popular, but was not our thing so we didnt bother. An indoor play area and pool bar were clean, new and a nice place to relax.

The supermarket/shop was very well stocked and priced and you could leave ice packs there to freeze all day.We took 6 packs and it cost 50p for the lot. Nice touch.

The only issue I would have is that you could end up next to 'the family from hell' which could spoil your break. But you could do what we did and jump in the car and have a drive around the Lakes to get away from them.

We love camping now, but I am not sure we would visit Lakeland again in Peak season, but would go back there in the winter no problem as you would have so much more space. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

 We visited Lakeland , myself, wife and 3 kids. The site warden showed us the pitches available to us, and I wasn't overly impressed. Firstly, the ground was in a terrible state with bald patches throughout the field due to overpitching of units. Rather than go home, I chose the best pitch of a bad bunch.
It was flat, however when I tried to peg down, I found that it was virtually impossible to peg in using any of the variety of pegs that I carry. A powerdrill could not have made a hole deep enough. I learned later, that the EHU field is actually an old airfield that has been grassed over, so the earth is only a couple of inches deep at parts. We were unfortunately at one of these parts of the field.
My other gripe is that the units were far too close together. We were around 6 feet from the next tent. I didn't feel comfortable with this at all. Fortunately we had very nice neighbours, who were first time campers. The families on either side of us were also not impressed with the field either.
The washing and toilet facilities were absolutely disgusting. Soap scum, mould and the rancid smell of Urine as soon as you walked into them hit you like a hammer. There was no sign of cleaners the whole time we were there. The ladies had no toilet roll in them either. Talking of the toilets, earlier in the week before we arrived a lady was knocked unconscious by thugs in the toilets late at night - Another thing that I was not comfortable with either.
The elsan disposal point door seemed to be open 24 hours a day, and there was raw sewage scattered around the entrance. Very poor indeed. Late on around 12:30 am the noise started from a tent across the road from ours. I went out and asked them to be quiet, they ignored me. Another 3 people done the same and eventually they shut up. When this was reported to security the next day, they said there was nothing they could do about it unless we called them when it was happening. I insisted on them taking action, which they did and warned the family they would be ejected if any more noise was reported. It seemed to do the trick.
As for the entertainment. Absolutely every form of entertainment within the site is surrounded by arcade or gambling machines. Or some other form of temptation to spend money - Even the swimming pool cant be accessed without walking through an amusement arcade - A nightmare for parents - heaven for the kids. The evening entertainment was good, but again, not really viable unless your willing to spend a fortune on drinks and whatever else the kids get tempted with. The entertainment venue even has a toy shop in it! You cannot escape!

A couple of things that were good value. The supermarket wasn't too bad price wise, however again it was full of toys. I would say that about 2/3 toys and the rest was foodstuffs etc. But it was well stocked and handy. The other thing that was good value was the pitch and putt, it was only 3.50 for 9 holes and the kids had great fun. The pool was good, however with only 3 changing rooms it wasn't really great having to wait to get changed especially with a 2 year old shivering.

Would I visit here again - No Chance. It may have been cheap to stay here, but once here it was very expensive. This place may be ideal for some, but I felt that it was no more than a big shopping centre with entertainment thrown in to fill the voids. As a campsite it was not worthy to be called that. I actually was told that there will not be a touring area next year by one of the staff - whether that is true or not I dont know, but it would not be the worst thing to happen to the park. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jennyl 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week with husband and three kids (8, 14 and 15).

Caravan was clean and well equipped.

As with many holiday parks the entertainment at night feels a bit like jaded social club but the food/drinks weren't too expensive and our kids enjoyed the children's entertainment at night (though we struggled to find any of the 'activities' during the day).

Don't know if it was just our bad luck but there did seem to be a large number of 'rougher' elements staying, and I almost had to hold my husband back at the downright racist comments of one of our 'fellow campers' as we sat in the clubhouse one night. Not the fault of the staff but it but a dampner on what would have been an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Plenty to do in the surrounding area, with Grange Over Sands quaint seaside feel and the Lake District just on the doorstep. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DaveP65 10 reviews from this member

 Been to this site twice before staying in static caravans. This time was our first attempt at tenting. We were pleased at the reception service but a little surprised that we were just shown areas that we could pitch and told to pitch wherever (not ehu).
Weather was awful and after about 12 hours of continuous heavy rain the majority of the camping areas were very soggy. Many people were forced off being tents were flooded. We pitched at the top end of the site (near the trees with the rooks) and seemed to escape the worst of it.
Didn't use the club facilities so can't comment. Showers and toilets were clean although showers were a bit luke warm. Camp shop was well stocked and not too pricey. Nice little chippy at the the top of the road. Have booked again for September, but will again pitch out of the 'bogged' areas. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aliceoliver 2 reviews from this member

 Booked for two nights and stayed for one ,couldn't wait to leave and as soon as it stopped raining we packed up and went. Toilets were disgusting..
When we arrived we were told we could pitch anywhere, we chose a place next to some trees and were surrounded by hordes of unsupervised children on bikes as soon as we got out of the car. The ground was so hard all our pegs bent..
We attempted to go swimming but failed as the pool was closed so we tried to let our children go in the soft play area but that was also closed.
We have been to Haven before but not on a touring site. We will never go back to Haven again. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pac1974 11 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend in April nice site seems to get busy on a Friday night but quietens down after Sunday lunch we stayed till Monday only cost 22 for 2 adults and 2 children with passes and hook-up toilets clean entertainment ok.

Would go again for a weekend 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colli2006 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night stay here. We pitched 2 weeks ago and, as I said in my last review, there was no water. We returned here again expecting the problem to be solved and guess what????? It wasn't! We couldn't flush toilets, clean our teeth or shower. We arrived on Friday to be told there was a new shower block for the ladies which was situated next to the existing shower block. We thought at last it's solved the no shower problem. The showers have a curtain and no place to hang clothes etc, which means passers by can get an eyeful if someone comes in and leaves the door open. Not well thought out. We left this morning unable to clean our teeth or flush the toilet - glad I didn't need a number 2 or have a tummy bug. The disinfectant hand spray was empty so that didn't help either.

I have stayed here many times so thought the lack of water two weeks ago was due to it being Bank Holiday weekend and that it was extremely busy, but to have the same problem two weeks later is a joke. It wasn't that busy this time.

We went on a lovely walk Whitbarrow Scar which was fab - I would recommend it to anyone - not for the faint hearted or for pushchairs though.

We have booked to come again on Friday 13th June - don't think I'll bother. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2312 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement