Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham63 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend with our touring caravan, we stayed on one of the new Euro pitches which I would highly recommend, the area is freshly landscaped with 16amp, own mains water and personal mains drainage facility. Concrete base for the van, gravel area for awning and your own grassed area to relax, we occupied plot 19 which was on the end, south facing with a very large lawned area, ideal for a family. The site was well maintained with friendly and helpful staff, and we will definitely be returning again in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diwlsn 5 reviews from this member

 The touring field is flat but very uneven so large puddles form everywhere, there is no drainage.

They pack you in like cattle, 5 rows on tents which on a normal site would have 2 or 3 max. They offer different size pitches but tbh the all look the same.

If you have a large tent (we have a 5 man tunnel) you have to pitch 2ft away from the next tent which is crazy!

The field was run by 1 man who seemed very ignorant when we arrived, but I later found it must have been the stress he was under.

It was full of kids and campers on non elec pitches that played their car radios far too loud!

There were 5 showers I think and about 8 toilets, plenty of sinks, but these were left dirty as there were no cloths to wipe up after yourself!

3 washing up sinks with very hot water which is good.

Overall its cheap! but not a very nice experience really and I wouldn't go back.

Haven need to invest some money into there touring fields! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kemp09 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend here and we were not impressed. The camping field was quite muddy and we were told by other campers that had been there for longer that some areas of the field had flooded early in the week. We hadn't booked an ehu which I am now glad about due to the tents and caravans being very close to each other.

On arrival the toilet block appeared to be quite nice but once morning came the floor was very dirty in the shower cubicles and there was dirty face wipes everywhere. I had tried to go into the family shower room but the light wasn't working. I tried to report it but the campers reception was closed.

On both nights we were there, there was a lot of noise from other campers until the early hours of the morning. This was reported on the Saturday morning but nothing was done about it. On Saturday night some of the other campers went and reported the noise at 3. 30am but nothing was done again. The warden came round in the morning but I didn't see the point in that as nothing could be done then. The campsite rules also say that no camp fires are allowed but on both nights we were there people had camp fires.

We will not be returning here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chazbat 3 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we have used a 'mainstream' site in many years of camping and weren't as impressed as we thought we would be.

The staff were friendly and helpful, always smiling.

The facilities were good; swimming pools, entertainment and amusements. Enough to keep the kids happy on a rainy day! The play area for the children was well equipped and I felt safe allowing the children to play there without having to watch their every move.

The touring pitches were wonderfully drained. Heavy rain on one night was gone by morning, meaning no wading through a quagmire to get to the loo block. Always good!

The toilet/shower blocks were new and fully functional and there were good, covered washing facilities to the rear, with plenty of drinking water points around it. Although one of the water taps was also a waste disposal point.

The location was perfect for exploring the Lakes. There are so many things to do in the area, many of them within a 30 minute drive of the site. It was easy to get to the bottom of Lake Windermere where you could spend the day in Fell Foot Park, paddling in the lake, or catch a boat up to Windermere or Ambleside for a spot of shopping.

The on site shop was always busy, but it was easy to drive to one of the large supermarkets in Bowness or Kendal.

Unfortunately there were downsides, too. We paid for a large pitch and arrived to find half of our pitch taken by another tent. As a result we were unable to reach our allocated electric hook-up point. We were squashed in all sides and had to have our tent entrance facing the road.

People were pitched right up against hook-up points and against each other, which was a terrible fire risk. Being so close to other tents also meant lots of noise at night when trying to get excited children to bed.

The toilets were insufficient for the sheer numbers on site. 8 toilets and 5 showers in the ladies block, shared between over 100 female campers and several young boys who came in with their mums. There was often a queue to wash or use the loo and the loo roll and soap always ran out before the morning checks. Hourly checks consisted of the floor being swept and the rubbish being left in a pile next to the bin. On one occasion, a male member of staff walked into the ladies without knocking, declared the toilet block dirty and left. Nothing was done to rectify the problem.

Dirty nappies in the changing rooms for the pool were pointed out to staff but were still there several hours later.

We have heard from several people that this is not the norm for a Haven site and that this site has always been good in the past. Whilst we may not have given up on using a Haven site again in the future, we won't be going back to this one. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Si+Jan 2 reviews from this member

 Booked site in February when we arrived we could not believe how packed it was and they had trouble finding pitches for new arrivals, us included. Squashed in like sardines.

Toilets not enough facilities for caravans/tents, sinks no plugs, toilets out of loo paper, noise curfew at 11pm but this was not adhered to with no staff to complain too

Football pitch was open (no fencing) and main road parallel to cars in and out, not good for young children

On the plus side, good facilities for children decent play park, inflatables, inside/outside pool (but not heated as advertised in brochure) and again no loo roll, crazy golf was good, trampolining. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just spent 5 nights here for the bank holiday weekend. Haven still haven't done anything about the drainage on the touring field, we had rain and this site floods in heavy rain, the field is so uneven and pitches still arent marked out properly.

The touring warden is really helpful and I felt sorry for him as he was struggling to pitch the tents up due to the flooded field. It is such a shame that Haven haven't invested in this touring area as this site has so much to offer, the facilities for families are really good with a fantastic pool both inside and out.

The toilet block isnt big enough when the site is full. They need to put some hardstanding pitches in for caravans and have a specific area for tents as people were pitching up with massive tents/pup tents and the space was limited on the field.

Haven have invested in other sites so I don't understand why this site has been left like this for years

We wont be returning until they sort it out especially when we paid the hefty fees for bank holiday that they were charging!  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alandavies803 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our first ever weekend camping with my wife and seven year old daughter.

We booked Friday to Monday for 88. 50 from haven's special offers online.

We arrived at 6:30pm and were shown to one of the last available EHU pitches. The site was full and we were packed in like sardines right behind the toilet block number 26. I'm not sure what was underneath the ground on this particular pitch but you could hear the drains and the ground was constantly vibrating which was really loud at night.

On the whole the toilets and showers were clean with lots of hot water, however my wife did find a used sanitary towel left on the seat in the shower cubicle and someone in the gents had totally obliterated the toilet bowl and just left it. I suppose you can't really blame the site for this more so the people who were staying.

The site facilities were great for kids. The pool and changing rooms were clean and tidy. All the kids seemed to love the spinning wheel in the play area which again was well maintained and safe.

We would visit this site again but would make sure we got there early to be away from the noisy toilet block. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jackthelad 4 reviews from this member

 Well, a previous reviewer said not to visit this site if you wanted peace and quiet, they were right!

to be fair we are 'oldies' so it was just a case of wrong campsite, if you have kids it is ideal, loads of entertainment, kids club etc.

The wardens are friendly and helpful, security was good.

The showers were usually full. The ladies was anyway. The pitches on the EHU were quite close together.

We used it as a base for touring the lakes for which it is ideal. Shop prices weren't too bad.

All in all you get what you pay for! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vicks21 4 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a great 3 night break. This site has pros and cons but I feel the pros outweigh the cons. The camping area is made up of EHU and non EHU. You have free choice of where you pitch in the Non EHU. This is greast but it can also backfire if someone camps too close. The toilet block is immaculate and checked at hourly intervals through out the day. The showers are free, hot and clean. There are plenty of toilets. We were there during a very sunny school holiday so on some days toilet roll was lacking in the morning before the first spot check.

As this is a Haven site it has all the usual entertainment programmes which are all included within the price (kids clubs, disco, caberet ect. It also includes use of the pools indoor and outdoor, the bouncy castle and outdoor play area. There are additional costs for crazy golf and trampolining and water activities but we didn't feel the need to use these.

It is a 20 minute (ish) drive to Kendal and about 30 mins to Windermere.

Grange over sands is around about 10 mins around the corner but only has small shops, 1 coop and 1 spar so it is advised that you stock up before landing.

Holme Farm Ice cream Farm just outside Grange Over sands is a definate must the ice cream is fab and there is a small play area for kids if you fancy a coffee.

The children had a great time (age 2 and 4)

I had a great time.

The OH found the only con the noise a bit much but I liked the buzz of camp life and the banter that comes with it. This is not the site to choose if you want traditional camping in a field but if you need the kids to be entertained in all weathers this is a great option.

We got a good price which meant it was cheaper than most sites and that was in whit week.

I saw a lot of dogs so assume they are welcome.

The warden is extremly friendly and helpful and this can make a huge difference I have found. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1068DARREN 3 reviews from this member

 The family have visited Lakelands for a number of years now and we find it to be excellent in all respects. On arrival the security attendant is very helpful and always smiling, no matter the weather. We generally try to pitch close to the tree lined edges of the site for that little extra protection from the wind. The toilet block and wash stations are always well maintained and stocked. We have had several stays and on only one occasion did a group get a little unruly, but camp wardens are very efficient and we had no repeat of the rucus.

The arcades are fab for the kids and they do enjoy collecting the tickets for prizes.Down side is the tent gets full of teddies and key rings. The site underwent a large redevelopment about 2 years ago and now boasts excellent sports bar come restaurant, The Mash and Barrel, good food at a fair price, the indoor heated pool is a big hit with the family, as well as bikes for hire and go carts the kids wont be bored at all.

Local points of interest include Duckys Park Farm,(10min walk) good value for the younger generation, Cartmel is beautiful and well worth the visit (10 min drive). If you wanted to stay on camp then you could walk along the estuary and if weather permits take a bottle of wine and a picnic.

If I had to criticize in any way shape or form it would be about the prices in the on site shop, quite a bit more expensive than your local supermarket, but hey, you are on holiday and would expect it I suppose.

Drinks in the bar are as at home so no issue there, all in all a very clean and well cared for site, we will vist around 3-4 times this year. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1428 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement