Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite
St Johns In The Vale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RR
Tel: 01768 779112
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roger A 1 review from this member

We stayed here during the floods affecting that part of the country and the club sites weren't coping very well with all the water. This site was relatively dry had no problem coping with the weather, probably because being a working farm life has to go on.

The site was great, the toilets were very clean and modern and we did not have to queue to use the facilities - any more than we would at any other site, where you tend to avoid peak times like first thing in the morning.

Linda and her family were very friendly and helpful, we had a problem with noisy neighbours and as soon as Linda was made aware the problem was resolved.

The scenery was beautiful when the black clouds permitted a view and local amenities were close by.

We will certainly use this site again the next time we are in Cumbria and when we visit Woolfest.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crumblecustard 1 review from this member

This site is surrounded by spectacular scenery.  Lynda and her husband are very friendly but the lack of facilities spoilt our visit.
There are 2 washing up sinks, 3 toilets (per sex), 3 showers and 2 wash basins to accommodate 2 fields of campers and another 2 fields of caravans.
The grey waste had to be disposed of at the chemical unit which was a hole in the ground, it did have a cover but nobody replaced the cover (probably because the cover had splashes of other peoples chemical waste and was a bit rusty).  we had noisy neighbours at the other side of the hedge (loud tv until after midnight).
If you used any of the facilities between about 8am and 10am or after tea you could more or less guarantee having to queue.
We will not be visiting the site again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandydodgson 16 reviews from this member

We have just came back from this site staying for a long weekend break. All in all its a very nice site, a bit crowed and the toilets where to small for the amount of people on the site, but where very clean.
 
There is great view from the site. A lovely walk into Keswick centre (3 miles, 1 and bit hours walk, 5 mins drive.) 
 
There is no bar or shop on site.
 
The lady owner is very nice and very helpful.
 
We would stay at this site again, only down side is toilets to small.
 

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dieseldog 1 review from this member

The site is located a short distance from the main road into Keswick (A66) and is easily accessible. Beautiful location with fantastic views down the valley. Fairly compact site however the pitches are a good size and are mostly flat with a handful on a gentle slope. Impressive new toilet block which was always clean however some queuing at peak times as the facilities serve both caravan and tent areas. Good pubs in nearby Threlkeld (20 minute walk) and also only a 5 minute drive from Keswick. No shop on site. Reasonable rates and hospitable site owner. Great base for a holiday or just a weekend break.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wiop 1 review from this member

Fantastic site. A pound or so per night more expensive than surrounding sites but worth every penny. Easy to get to, nestled in between fantastic hills just off the A66, 4 miles east of Kewsick.
 
Great base to explore from.
 
Brand new shower blocks with constant hot water, great washing facilities.
 
Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FaithWolf 9 reviews from this member

A family of four, we spent 4 nights at Burns Farm. Views are breathtaking, and the owner was lovely to us. She was really helpful about local facilities etc. The toilet & shower block are clean and well laid out, but as previous reviewers have said, the site is very overcrowded for the facilities it has even in the early season. There were 2 sinks for washing up. In the rain there is no shelter for cooking on a stove. The showers were hot, but button activated, press, press, press – quite annoying. There are 3 toilets, 3 basins & 3 showers. There is another block across a road behind the farmhouse which didn't have electricity and was a bit spooky and cobwebby.

The crowded conditions weren’t ideal, pitches were so close together. We did have a noisy neighbour, but the campsite owners can’t be held responsible for that really. On the whole it was pretty quiet though, especially after they left! Local attractions - well.the Lake District! And stone circle. The wlaks, local villages etc - these need to be driven to really. Including the pub so make sure you take a designated driver! 

I might not use the site again because of the crowded facilities, and the big smelly cow shed and rubbish crate in the middle, I prefer a smaller campsite really with adequate facilities for the number of people it houses, and some room for the kids to play. But, had I a time machine, I would still have tried this site at least once. It’s placed in a totally beautiful location and the owner was great -  But clearly needs to invest in another shower block, and to leave more space between pitches.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tom boyd 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site views around site breathtaking. Site very busy over easter but showers were always available and comfortable temperature. Toilets were clean and readily available. Linda lamb site owner was on site regularly to ensure site ran smoothly. I will return.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo90 5 reviews from this member

Burns Farm is a family run site.  It is very clean in the shower and washing up areas.  The family who run the site are friendly and do regular checks around the site 2-3 times a day to make sure everyone is happy and that things are ok.  If there is any complaints about noise or whatever it is dealt with straight away with no messing about. 
As Keswick is only a 5 minute drive away its not a problem that there is no play area and bearing this in mind the site is very quiet and peaceful.  There could be a sink or two more as there was always a queue when I got there to wash the pots. 
The one good thing is that there is an extra shower / toilet block just across the lane in the farm yard which was extremely useful as at times the shower block was full.  The water was just right at all times and the showers were free which is an added bonus.  We will be going back as we couldn't have asked for such helpful people and such nice fellow campers as our neighbours.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Like2camp 1 review from this member

With such a dramatic back drop and fairly isolated location (although you can clearly hear the nearby road which is quite busy) thought this was going to be the perfect site for us.
However, we were not expecting there to be quite so many tents and caravans.  It was quite claustrophobic at times, especially in the tent fields.
The facilities were fairly modern - although there was not enough showers or toilets for the amount of people there.  The showers are those that you have to press a button to make them work, and then they switch themselves off in order to save water.  Found that I had to keep on pressing the button at the most inappropriate time (usually whilst I had shampoo all over my hair!).  They were not really hot enough either.  However, the facilities were reasonably clean and tidy bearing in mind the amount of users.  The water at the washing facilities was nice and hot though, and we didn't have to queue there that often.
The bins were not emptied often enough, meaning piles of rubbish were left next to them in the hot weather - not very nice!
The electric hookup only had 6v and we found that it tripped off quite often for us.
However, all said and done our stay there was pleasant enough and the owners really are very very friendly.

Date of Visit: May 2006
Reviewer: Jennyhurst 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site with plenty of room. Disabled facilities good - large shower and toilet accessed by key which is given to you at beginning of stay. Paths ok for manual and electric wheelchairs. Scenery spectacular and prices reasonable. Owners vey helpful - including keeping someone at reception late when we got caught in traffic! Would recommend the site to anyone holidaying the the lake district.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1403 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019