Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite
St Johns In The Vale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RR
Tel: 01768 779112
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shelfyowen 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of days in early May. It's easy to find and the shower block is excellent and was immaculately clean the whole time we were there.

The site is very quiet, though as it's a working farm, this could not always be said for the animals. If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend taking some ear plugs.

The pitches are flat and appeared to have good drainage.

The owner was very welcoming and the prices are very reasonable. The Horse & Farrier Inn in Threlkeld does really good food and is worth a visit.

It is a little outside Keswick and there is not a lot to entertain your kids, but if you are looking for a peaceful easygoing site, thatís a good base for walking, I would highly recommend this site and would be happy to go there again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louise2202 1 review from this member

I used this site as a base for my hill walking activities around Keswick.

The site is signposted well from the main road and is very easy to find, the owners were extremely helpful and welcoming.

Pitches were unmarked but other campers were considerate with their pitching.

The facilities were excellent and sufficient, very clean and well stocked.

Would definitely recommend and would stay here again, ideal for backpackers or those who want to get away from it all.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbo808 7 reviews from this member

A wonderful campsite, it's situated four miles out from Keswick and a mile from Threlkeld (which has two good pubs).

The facilities are excellent - the gents contain three shower cubicles, three toilet cubicles, urinals and washbasins.

It's very easy to find, it being close to the A66.

The site provides electric hook-ups.

There's plenty of sinks for washing up.

There's a laundry room.

There are no children's play area.

Linda was very helpful, showed us to the field straight away and we had the pick of the pitches (it being just before high season).

The site is part of a working farm - you will hear the sheep and lambs baa-ing in the morning, but I agree with the previous reviewer - much better than a standard alarm clock!

We went on a dry week so can't comment on drainage.

All in all, it's a lovely site, worth the money with decent facilities. The views of the hills are spectacular.

We will go again.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rolandpullen 2 reviews from this member

I visited the site in March and the weather was fine and the welcome at the site was warm and friendly. The pitches were flat, protected, dry, supplied with electricity (if needed) and relatively easy to peg into. The scenery was wonderful and it was nice to be near a working farm.

The toilet block was very warm, there was an infinity of hot water at the sinks and the showers were free but the showers were lukewarm, the toilet building was not properly clean and the toilets themselves threatened to block up. It appeared that the site was not quite ready for visitors.

The A66 was rather near and noisy but this is a part of the convenient location of the site to most of the lakes.

With just a little effort the site could be nothing short of excellent. We had a very good time with or without the niggles.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DONVILL 3 reviews from this member

My wife and self stayed for 5 nights sept 09 in a caravan we found site o/k, you expect some mud as this is the lake district. Nice showers & toilets 1st class, as was the owners of farm. The area is lovely all around

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Padster75 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our second long weekend visit to this campsite. I grant you its not the most grand of places, but we found on both occasions no problems with pitching, accessibility or the amenities.

The weather had been awful, lots of rain, which had resulted in very wet ground and therefore lots of mud. Luckily being seasoned campers we were not fazed by this on either occasion and just accepted it as part of being under canvas.

The location of this campsite is ideal, just off the A66, it makes it a breeze to travel to and from, but without the noise that a major road brings. Yes you can hear the road, but you have to really listen for it. We found being woken by sheep baaing, and donkeys braying much nicer than the usual alarm, and didn't even hear the road.

We found Burns Farm an ideal base for any type of Lake District stay (walking, cycling, water sports or just touristy browsing). Its nice having Keswick so close, for those 'we forgot.' moments. The hills surrounding it are quite stunning and there are plenty of walks that can be done virtually from your tent.

Linda is a terrific lady who remembered us on our second visit, which was nice. She will freeze ice packs (20 pence a unit) over night for you. We put ours in a little material bag to keep them together and help her, which she seemed to really appreciate. If you think ahead then she will accept the payment for the icepacks as you write out the check for the pitch fees on arrival.

We always found the washing up area (6 sinks) and both toilet blocks clean & well kempt. On the odd occasion there was a queue for the showers we went across the road to the lesser used, older toilet block. Yes the facilities in the older block are tired, but they function well and are clean. If a high number of people are washing up and showering then the water does tend to get a bit cooler! However given I used the showers every morning and some nights, I only had 1 cool shower (wasn't warm but wasn't freezing).

There isn't a children's play area (yaaaaaaaaaaay), my son, manages to entertain himself quite well (swing ball, top trumps, DS, iPod, books). I think if you need play areas and somewhere to have a drink poured for yourself and be entertained in the evenings, then this really is not the campsite for you. What we love about it is the simplicity, the fact that you really do communicate and enjoy being together as a family when you are staying here. It makes you look around you at the natural beauty and appreciate your surroundings. I have given 6/10 for child friendliness because although my son is more than capable of entertaining himself I do appreciate that some families need playgrounds and other facilities to do so.

It is a quiet site, so if there is a group of you, maybe this isn't the place. If however you want somewhere absolutely stunningly beautiful that offers a good basic service then this will hit the spot. We wont look at any other site, because to our minds you can't beat it on price, location and friendly welcome back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donna122 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at Burns Farm.

When we got there they had previously had loads of rain, the whole site was soaking, churned up, pools of water everywhere. Linda took us around and gave us a choice of pitches, we picked the driest! The pitches are very close together, cars have to be in front of caravans. The surrounding scenery is beautiful.

Toilet blocks were always clean, showers were warmish never hot but not cold either. There was a fair few pitches free but never queues for toilets. Previous reviews mentioned only 2 washing up sinks, I remember seeing at least 6 washing up sinks.

£20 per night in August in the Lakes is great price. The kids were bored with no children's play area, I think it would be useful with the amount of pitches there. The owner told them off for climbing the tree (mentioned in the May 2009 review).

Other than that and that fact it rained the whole week I would go back! ha ha

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eileen P 8 reviews from this member

Have just got back from a 4 nights stay at Burns Farm campsite.

The owner Linda was very helpful,as it was a last minute booking,the site was very nice with fantastic views all around. New toilet block was kept very clean considering the amount of mud!There are 4 toilets and three showers in the new block and there are more just across the lane. It was also cleaned after midnight which I have not seen on other sites. The area for doing your dishes was at the end of the toilet block, completely under cover, with 6 sinks there was always room.

As we were needing elec,we were on a smaller site,which is really sheltered and I must say very good indeed. There is a very large field for tents, with fantastic views, but is open to all the elements.

You can also buy fresh eggs from Linda which were the best I have ever tasted.

There is no playground for children so I would take a bat and ball,and maybe a football with you.

Site was lovely everyone seemed to go quite about 11.30pm which is good as I don't like sites with 10.30pm curfews,would stay at this site again as we love the walks the Lake District has to offer.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kclultimate 1 review from this member

The site was of reasonable quality and price. The main bulk of the tent space was a large field on a slight incline where you were left to pitch wherever you felt like. We went on a rainy weekend and as such the field and the facilities were clean and largely empty. Unfortunately due to the rain we were not allowed to park on the field as advertised, after pushing hard we managed to get some parking space around her farm. We were also told group bookings were not allowed (though on arrival and after multiple separate bookings, we found out this was not the case). Apart from this we had no interaction with the staff and our stay was very pleasant, it was quiet and peaceful and surrounded by mountains with beautiful views.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jawa 4 reviews from this member

Toilets / shower block had lots of flies and moths all the time. Cleanish but could do better!

The pitches not clearly defined so you come back from a day out only to find someone has pitched there tent where you have been parking your car all week at the side of the tent!

3 different cars came back after 12 at night driving past the tents and we could hear a group of people until 1am in the morning.

Reason we went was because of hookup for tents which we used for the fridge.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019