Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite
St Johns In The Vale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RR
Tel: 01768 779112
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne18 4 reviews from this member

Not much to add to previous reviews. The site is pleasant and staff helpful and the views are breathtaking. It was very crowded though with little space between the tents even outside of bank and school holidays. Facilities could do with improvement. No matter what time we used the showers/toilets there was a queue. Given the number of people on the site they do need to add another toilet/shower block.

Its easy to get into Keswick by walking along the disused railway line just down the road - takes @ an hour.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Texas 2 reviews from this member

Just had a very pleasant stay here. The site looks a bit 'tired'.

A couple of things could be improved: The pitches are not clearly defined and some not particularly level, with a couple of them a bit torn up / rutted and with poor land drainage. During our stay it rained resulting in large pools collecting on a couple of pitches - usually next to the caravan doors.

All in all this is a pleasant enough site and it must have had spectacular views over the hills before the surrounding site trees / hedging were allowed to grow too tall, thus cutting off any panoramic views from any of the caravan pitches. On a positive note, the adjoining tent field had excellent views.If a little open to the elements.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site. Used it as a base for visiting the Keswick Beer Festival. Facilities on site are good with plenty showers etc in a modern block.
All pitches are grass, but they seemed to hold out ok even in the rain. Staff on site friendly enough and have a relaxed approach to running the place. Ideal location, surrounded by high fells, close to A66 and only three miles from Keswick.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BORG55 3 reviews from this member

Really nice campsite toilets nice and clean. Linda very friendly and also surrounding neighbours friendly. Beautiful views, great walks leading from the site. Showers good, nice hot water.
Didn't a need shop as I took my own groceries, took toilet rolls as suggested by one review didn't need them. Campsite peaceful only had one problem couldn't figure out what type of bird was singing on a night.
Lovely ,we'll be going back to this site for definite

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saz1964 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Burns Farm and will definitely be going back next year! The site is in a lovely spot with wonderful views and great walking (which is what we go for). A very pleasant walk into Keswick along the railway line takes just over an hour. A god tip is to stop at the BP garage just off this track as it has a very well-stocked Londis shop - much easier than trying to park in Keswick if you don't need a lot.

The showers are nice and hot but I agree with previous review that the site was very busy and there were queues for the showers and for washing up. Also the showers only seem to be cleaned once a day - when the site is this busy I think they need to be cleaned more often as they did get pretty grotty but I know it's not easy.

There are no play areas for children - but with the beautiful Lake District on the doorstep do they need it? Most children did, however, climb the tree - which didn't do the dry-stone wall a lot of good!

There is a lot of noise from the A66 which we hadn't expected but you do get used to it. Apart from that we went to sleep to the sound of lambs and woke up to the sound of cows! Loved it!

Very pleasant owner. Lovely site. Recommend it!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glen1987 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 3 night stay from Burns Farm.

Good points - The owner is very helpful as well as everyone who works there, we needed to borrow a puncture repair kit and there was no problems getting one from them. The site itself is situated in a great place, the views are beautiful and it is not too far from keswick, about a 4 mile walk if you take the old railway footpath, on only 10 mins in the car.

Bad Points - Although the campsite is large the site seemed to over book and it ended up being very cramped, probably due to the bank holiday weekend, if you go when it is off peak I'm sure it will be quieter.

There are 2 sets of toilets, one one the campsite and one just over the road. The blocks on the campsite are more modern, with 3 shower blocks and 3 toilet cubicles. They are clean which is good, however can get crowded so they could do with a few more. There is another set just across the road which are older and only have 2 showers and 2 cubicles, very basic but still ok.

There is a place to wash your plates etc. But it is small and only has 2 sinks, which can lead to waiting a long time

Overall a very nice campsite, even if it was a little crowded, great views and not far from keswick town, would go back again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ra65 1 review from this member

I have stayed at this site on many occasions and had a most enjoyable stay.

My only criticism is about the state of the site after heavy rain (which happens often!) a little money spent on some land drainage would help a great deal to make the stay more enjoyable.

Also due to the amount of people in the campsite field at peak times the toilet block just isn't adequate.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: H1TM4N32 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from here after a 2 day stay, the toilets were very clean and tidy, we did not have to queue for these as there was not many on the site, did run out of toilet roll 1st night (good job we took some ourselves).

There was a sink area where you could clean your dishes and also a laundry room which is handy if you are staying for a week (which cost a mere 3.50 for the wash and 3.00 for the dryer.

We got there when it was dark so could not see anything, when we got up in the morning the views was breath taking, it was a very relaxing stay.

One down fall, unfortunately the site is backing on to the A66 which was very busy all night, the other thing is, you will see the site marked up, what you need to do is park on the site out the way, as you come up to the site you will notice a farm house on the road set back, as you walk into the farm you will see the sign reception, that is were you need to go and not the 1 down the little lane on your left.

There was plenty to do and plenty to see, really nice camp site for all ages,and will be definitely going back.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RLucyG 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night break at Burns Farm. The showers were adequate and free, and the toilets were clean.

The site was very muddy and waterlogged which was an issue, but I think most sites in Britain will be that way after the summer we had.

It is well located for walking to Keswick and surrounding areas. Also the Horse and Farrier pub in nearby Threlkeld village does lovely food.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Biggasyoulike 2 reviews from this member

Site felt really cramped over late bank holiday weekend and despite booking, no firm pitch reserved/lovely choice of 2 (mud-bathed) pitches available, depending on which way you look at it. Would have helped if pitches were marked-out too.

Facilities OK. Could do with a couple more showers & loos in both blocks as we both had to wait at times. Wash up point cosy with just 2 sinks (that we found) for 50+ campers - good to get to know other whilst waiting though.

General drainage on the site didn't seem too clever even though Linda said thay hadn't had 6-weeks of heavy rain like this before so it was unusual. It seemed to unite those campers of us who remained though! Respect to you guys (you know who)!

If you get the sun this could be a cracking site, the welcome was great & the location is spot-on for the north Lakes area. Can't recommend in peak periods however as just too cramped for us.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019