Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite
St Johns In The Vale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RR
Tel: 017687 79112
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 105 Reviews
                8/10 from 105 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GSHaigh 2 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site, an hour walk out of Keswick or a 5 minute or so drive. Threlkeld is about a 20 minute walk away. There is a large field for tents and campervans who can manage off grid and then a flat area with electrics for touring caravans, tents and motorhomes.

A fantastic site, that is amazingly well run by Linda and her family. There are other sites closer to Keswick, but if you don't mind the walk or drive in then this is a perfect place to stay to explore the North Western Lakes. The walks from the site are great, Skiddaw & Blencathra are on the door step with the C2C cycle way passing right by.

The site is part of a working farm, so there's always sheep, cattle and hens around to nosy at. 2

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hp1701 6 reviews from this member

Facts first: main shower block has covered washing up area with six sinks. But is open at front so smokers use it when it's raining. Ladies has 3 showers, tray with a curtain across, then same size dry space between curtain and lockable door. Two hooks, but no trays to put your bottles onto, so they go on the floor of the shower. Four toilets, three sinks, and a hand dryer. Also a shaver socket, and a standard double mains socket. Plus a chair so you can sit down in the loos (!) and wait for your phone to charge up. Assume same in the mens. Across the road (10 feet away) is the older shower block. Think it had 3 showers and 3 loos, but it also had and main socket and a chair plus an old table. Older and tattier building so not used much. I used it to charge my phone for an hour as it would be quiet enough to read a book too, without people staring at me, or me listening to them going to the loo. Electric hookup pitches for caravans/tents closest to shower block as usual, and surrounded by bushes. Tents/non-electric campers further away on a big grassy field on a gentle slope. Pitch at the furthest end and you have a long walk to the loos. Whole of field is very open, so when the wind gets up, as it does, you get the full force of it, plus any Lakeland rain too. No shelter, unless you pitch right up against the hedge along the little lane, which is very quiet. Also, most protection at furthest end, but poorest view, and longest walk. Several people ended up with broken poles and awnings, and left early. I had two sleepless nights due to wind - as did most other tenters too. Cheap camping though, only 10pn for me, my tent and my car. Easy 3 mile drive into town to buy sandwich from Coop (free parking 1 hr) for days walk - no nearby shop at all. Petrol station with a Spar slightly closer, but sarnies dearer. Would stay here again, except for openness of sight - no protection from rather savage elements. Also, would want showers/loos cleaned more often - the same leaf was in the shower for 3 days! Plus want 'no smoking' signs in washing up area. And extra lights - only light over 2 sinks, other 4 dark in the evening! Good value, if you have a strong tent, lots of guy ropes, and can sleep through anything. Oh, also, when it was warm and sunny enough to sit outside, which was only 2 days from 10, I got eaten alive by midges. I spent every other meal sat in the car due to the wind or rain, or mostly both. Location itself is quiet, but in the evening and morning you really notice the busy A66, which is only a field away. But you do get used to the constant roar though as white noise. On the plus side - beautiful views of Skiddaw and Blencathra, plus other smaller peaks too.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jerry 42 2 reviews from this member

A great location close to Keswick and Castlerigg stone circle. The electric hookup pitches were flat and close to the facilities, but for the rest of us a sloping field too far to pick up the wifi. The facilities although dated were clean but one of the three showers in the gents was out of order. The showers are free and the water always hot and the push button stayed in for more than 5 seconds so it was possible to enjoy a relaxing shower without spending all your time pressing the knob. I always avoid the school holidays to avoid noisy kids running around so it was disappointing to find a school party had taken over half the field. The cost of 21 per night for two people and one tent seemed a little pricey even for the Lakes, so I don't think we will return as looking around we found other sites nearby with better facilities and pitches and cheaper.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stealthrider 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a pleasant spot. A good walk from Keswick past the stone circle or old railway track when the bridges go back, but still passable.

Facilities are in a block in the centre of the site and kept clean and tidy. Pitches are fairly level and have hook ups available. Nice views of the surrounding fells.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keran30 14 reviews from this member

A lovely simple little site with stunning views. The ground was quite wet when we arrived, but we were able to pick the best of the pitches available. Toilet/shower block was fine, although a little muddy and slippery coming along the path from the field. Nice spacious washing up area. Helpful and friendly owners. Nicely situated for walking and driving into Keswick town. We had some very heavy rain towards the end of the week so the ground got very boggy underneath the tent - not surprising!

Quite a basic camp site, but would definitely return. It was enjoyable to be on a working farm, seeing the chickens walking around the tents and hearing the sheep bleating every morning.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janjohn 4 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a 10 night stay at this site. Arrived Thursday tea time with the wind and rain lashing down, met by Linda who was very welcoming and showed us to our pitch (even apologized for the weather!). We soon pitched up and immediately felt at home.

Despite the shocking weather and the busy-ness of the site the facilities held up, yes the showers weren't very powerful but they were always hot and clean. The rain passed over the next couple of days and we had a wonderful spell of sunshine where we could really take in the beautiful surroundings. The site is perfectly placed to explore and we spent many days canoeing on Derwentwater, Bassenthwaite and Thirlmere which is absolutely stunning.

We don't go for sites with club houses and entertainment so for us this site was perfect, few do's and don't's, adequate warm and clean facilities, stunning location, and best of all a lovely 'feel' to the place. We will be back for sure.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ScoobySnaps 10 reviews from this member

Location location location. This is a small site that's all about the views. Smallish L shape camping field with great countryside views. Arrived mid Friday afternoon and had choice of a couple electric pitches. Expected it to get much busier over weekend but nicely surprised was still not full with plenty of room around tent. Toilets dated, could have been cleaner but for a fussy camper, wouldn't stop us returning. Quite a long walk into village, and up steep winding country lane on way back, but all with awesome views. Worth the walk though, lovely village across the main road, (via crossing point) quaint houses and welcoming pub serving food. Close enough for short drive into Keswick, 3 miles, glad we drove to castlerigg stone circle up long steep lane. Nice site would return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nettyjam1 6 reviews from this member

I booked for 2 nights from Sunday 30th August-Tuesday 1st September (bank holiday weekend).

On arrival, I went to the office to speak to the owner. She came over to the site with me & explained that they had had a lot of rain the previous week & the ground was soaking wet. She said that we could just pick the best place that was not sodden. We found a spot with a lovely view of Blencathra (we had been before so wanted this view)! It was the first time that we had used EHU. It was forecast rain, thunder & lightening on the Sunday night. There was a slight drizzle through the night & that was it! Misty in the morning but then the sun came through & burned the mist off. As previously, the shower/toilet block was clean & warm. The showers were hot. I'll probably regret this review when we can't get booked up but it is a wonderful site & very reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Broic 16 reviews from this member

Great location, near Kesick. Not far off the M6.

Busy when we were there so they opened the 'overflow' field. Plenty of space. That field was a little bit on a slope but if you stay in the normal camping field it is ideal.

Facilities clean, warm water. Unfortunately very low pressure so it was a bit of a trickle of water.

Excellent views!

Good pricing.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ljelondon 2 reviews from this member

This campsite has an enviable location a few miles outside Keswick, and truly spectacular views (from the non-EHU tent field, anyway -- from the caravan and EHU fields the views are still lovely but not QUITE as impressive).

It will get busy in peak periods but the facilities remained beautifully clean (and with no, or very short, queues) throughout our week's stay, even through torrential rain and mud. There are laundry facilities but you have to get the key to the room (which involves hoping that the person before you has returned it).

Friendly welcome on arrival and lots of places to visit and things to do in the local area.

Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


844 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!