Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite
St Johns In The Vale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RR
Tel: 01768 779112
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The LB 15 reviews from this member

Very good basic site good size pitches showers are clean and tidy. Owners very helpful the views are excellent with blencathra and skiddaw in full view.

No shop on site but threlkeld village about a mile away or keswick 3 miles away.

Excellent walking area done catbells and howtown to glenridding also walk to stone circle from site.

Good pubs in village and in keswick. Overall site and area spot on. Also no playground on site but kids always find things to do.

Site not big but big enough for me.

Went to grasmere for day very nice village with shops and bistros.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GarethLooker 2 reviews from this member

This was my third time here which probably speaks volumes in itself! First two times in a tent, last time in a caravan (having seen the forecast for heavy rain!).

Good points:

1) Brilliant location - easy access to mountains and Keswick

2) Really nice landlady

3) Much more than adequate showers, toilets, bins, water and waste.

4) Wi-Fi available (10 for a week)

Not so good points:

1) Some pitches can get very wet after heavy rain. We suggested that our neighbours add some Koi carp and an ornamental fountain to the large pond that appeared overnight!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wenmac 2 reviews from this member

Me and my husband have just stayed at this campsite. We really enjoyed it. The lady who greeted us was really friendly. The showers and toilets were really clean.

We took our little dog and we had no problems at all. The site is near keswick which we went to and we couldn't believe how friendly the shop keepers were you can even take your dog in most shops and quite a few shop had water for the dog outside.

We will be back to this site at some point in the future. There are cottages which you can rent and from the outside they look lovely

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sara Jayne 1 review from this member

This was my first visit to this site, I chose this site as I was wanting electric hook up in the Keswick area.

After reading other reviews I felt quite positive about this site.

Driving to Burns farm was a breeze and very well signed posted, I parked myself up on site and crossed the road to the reception, knocking on the correct door for reception was a bit of a mission as the sign for reception wasn't very clear and I walked up some steps and disturbed a family relaxing. When I finally found who I needed to speak to they were very polite.

Once I had pitched my tent in very heavy rain, I had a wonder around the site, found the facilities to be very clean, I only ever went in the newer block where there are 3 showers and 3 toilets in the girls don't know about the mens. The dish washing area was undercover with plenty of hot water. I particularly liked the size of the camp site, being in my opinion quite small, was even better this weekend as it was quiet.

Loved the fact it was a working farm chickens wondering the campsite and the cows mooing in the sheds.

The location of the campsite was the ideal place to explore, with stone circle, Keswick climbing wall and the old Keswick train track all within walking distance not to mention access to the fells.

It was easy to pop into Keswick for any supplies needed.

The minor negatives about this campsite was the nettles were very overgrown around the electric hookups I got myself a few stings, also you are pulling out onto the road blind as you can not see down the road either side.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here and I plan to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soggies 1 review from this member

Just had a 2 night stay in our small tent - we had booked for 3, Wednesday-Friday night. On arrival we were met by Linda who was very friendly and the site was clean and welcoming.

We decided to pitch in the large camping field rather than the smaller pitches, as there was only 1 other tent in it at the time although another small group did pitch that day. We had a lovely 1st night - the facilities were clean with lovely free warm showers. There was a little noise from the A66 although nothing that really bothered us and we really enjoyed watching 2 buzzards that flew overhead all through our stay. The views were wonderful and the site was only a short drive to Keswick

On the 2nd night a large group pitched in the field and sadly were very disruptive and loud until 3am, with campfires and singing. We spoke with Linda the next morning who agreed that it was unacceptable and even said she would have come out had we rung her during the night! She went to speak with the group who actually were packing up that morning anyway. Linda did say that they were a regular group and she had had no complaints before although usually they had the field to themselves.

Having had little sleep and gone for a long walk that day, upon our return, we were dismayed to find 3 separate large school groups arriving to pitch in the big field and sadly we decided that it was not for us and packed up.

Overall this is a lovely and very reasonably priced site however before going you need to know that they do accept large groups, also I am not sure how well the facilities would have fared with all of those school kids as we didn't stay.

We would go back, but only mid week and we would not pitch in the large field again. If you are a group or you don't mind large groups then this is a lovely place to stay.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Finkle 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here last weekend and had a great night. The kids loved every minute with a lot of space in which to play.

Facilities were spotless at all times and no queuing. Loads of hot water. Excellent pot wash area.

Only gripe was that the ground was somewhat rocky for my tent pegs but this could just simply be the location I chose to site the tent to afford the best possible views, which were stunning in all directions.

Close to Keswick, No road noise at all.

Don't hesitate to stay here.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stanmoor 6 reviews from this member

Had a great weekend at this site. Found the facilities to be clean and spacious. Not having to pay for hot water and showers is a lot easier than using money or tokens. I found there to be plenty of hot water but there were other comments that showers were just aired at times. The fields are liable to flooding in heavy rain so it may be advisable to choose your pitch with care if a deluge is forecast.

The site is very easy to find and fairly well located. A walk to the nearest village pub is 1.3 miles along the lane with a choice of 3 inns. The old railway track is half a mile down the lane and takes you on a beautiful level 3 mile walk in to Keswick criss crossing the spectacular Greta river. The staff at the site are very welcoming and not at all over officious letting you choose pitches and pleasing yourself mostly. Panoramic views make this site a great location for a value for money lakes holiday.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rach73 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic few days in the Lakes. We found Burns Farm to be a great base for exploring Cumbria. Linda was very welcoming and helpful; all facilities were clean and adequate. Views were to die for and the site was so quiet. Level grounds made pitching up very quick. Numerous well positioned water taps. Road noise was minimal in contrast to other reviews! Will definitely be returning, hopefully next month xx can't think of any negatives :-)

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisamae 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our Easter break. The site has a great location close to the Keswick railway line path, about an hour and a bit into Keswick. It is a very relaxed site with the sights, sounds and smells of a working farm.

The dish washing area is undercover with lots of hot water. There are two shower/loo blocks one on the site the other across the lane near the farmhouse. They aren't 5* but are clean and heated with hand dryers and 3 pin plug sockets for hairdryers etc.

The nearest pubs are in Threkeld 1 mile down the 1 in 7 hill.The salutation has food all day,free wi-fi and a pool table. The Horse and Farrier is more formal with a restaurant and B&b.

Overall a pleasant dog friendly site which managed to fit us in with 48 hrs notice in a 7x4m tent with ehu and great views.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ninja59 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for our first camping weekend at the end of march to try our new tent out, only place open.

It was great, very clean toilets, showers were great, the heating was even on in the toilet/showers, which was nice as it still a bit chilly outside.

Ground was flat, lovely views.

The people that have the site were very helpful.

We would definitely come back again.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3001 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019