Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite
St Johns In The Vale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RR
Tel: 01768 779112
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beejay_ben 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site at the start of September, just out of the school holidays.

When we arrived on the Saturday the site did admittedly look quite busy, which wasn't overly surprising to be honest. We were greeted by Linda after eventually finding the reception (A bit of a nightmare when you don't drive down far enough!) and where shown to out pitch. Linda couldn't have been more helpful.

On the Saturday and Sunday we did find the toilet block a little busy due to the number on site, but this was only at peak times. As this was the case me and the OH ventured across to the old block, this was spotless and I feel the showers where warmer, although the lack of lighting was a bugger (A number of bulbs had gone!). Once the majority of people had left on the Sunday we never had a problem with queues and the shower block was always spotless.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay and somewhere we will definitely be returning to, hopefully next year!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rogermooreseyebrow 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend at Burns Farm and really enjoyed it. The location is stunning, especially on sunny days and clear starry nights. It's a straight forward campsite that does pretty much what it says on the tin.

The plus points:

-Very scenic location

-good base for exploring/walking

-Spacious

-Spotless toilet/shower facilities

-Plenty of sinks to do washing up

-Good price

The not so good points:

-Late night silence rule is neither observed nor enforced

-Toilet/shower block quite a distance from the bottom field (bring a bucket and some disinfectant!)

-During/after heavy rain, field can become a quagmire due to cars. Tent pegs also get loose.

All in all a decent site with ok facilities and easy on the wallet.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sammylou30 3 reviews from this member

My friend and I and 5 kids have just returned from a 3 day stay here. What a great place. Fantastic location, near to A66, Keswick, Castlerigg, Climbing wall and easy access to all areas of Lakes. The site itself is situated in a fantastic and beautiful location, and it is great to hear and smell the animals on the working farm. 2 lovely pubs in Threlkeld, Salutation Inn, basic but good food and the Horse and Farrier, a little bit more upmarket and food looked lush.

We arrived on the Thursday, staying til Sunday. On arrival we were warmly greeted and told where everything was, directed to the overflow field(late booking on my part!)and told to pick somewhere to pitch. We were warned that it would be getting very busy on the Friday for the rest of the weekend. We didn't realise quite how busy though, as we arrived back to our tent on Fri aft to find 2 other tents pitched either side of us right up to our guy ropes!(Would be good to check people are pitching a decent space away from others)

Despite it being extremely busy on all 3 fields and the fact that there are only 3 showers and 4 toilets in the main block it didn't ever seem to be too busy when needing the toilet or a shower(to all of those that have moaned about state of showers etc a mop and bucket are available for you to wipe the floor, which we did, not exactly any hardship!) Wash up area was more than adequate, we never had to wait. Noise was not bad at all, with the exception of our kids, apologies to you all! (lol)

All in all a great camping trip and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toni786 9 reviews from this member

We visited this site for a weekend at the beginning of August. It wasn't the site we normally use whilst in Keswick but our usual site wouldn't let us put up our son's tent before they arrived (rather petty we thought!) so we had to look elsewhere.

We were able to pitch both tents in the overflow field, which we thought was the best field anyway, although further away from the toilet block. There were lovely views in every direction.

The site was very busy by the Friday evening and the tents were quite close together making it feel a little bit cramped. By Saturday night more people had arrived. I think there were too many tents on there to be honest, particularly in the centre section of the field. They seemed to be on top of each other. Some people didn't seem very happy to have such close neighbours.

Consequently, due to the high number of campers it stayed quite noisy until after the 11pm deadline for quiet. One camper, after trying to ask nicely for some campers to keep the noise down, got quite irate. I didn't blame him though. They were being very loud until well after midnight. Other campers thought it would be a good idea to get up at 5:30 and have a normal to high volume conversation! Why do some people think that their tent is soundproof!?

The site doesn't seem to have a problem with people grouping together as on other sites, which is a positive thing for some, as long as they respect other campers.

The field seemed reasonably level, at least not too slopey.

The toilet/shower block looks relatively new. Although very nice, there are not enough toilets and handbasins. Three handbasins are not enough for a full site in high season at busy periods of the morning/evening. The block is closed for cleaning once a day, but because there are so few toilets they did tend to be a bit smelly by morning when the site was full, (as where the urinals in the gents, I am told). Across the road in the old farm buildings there are a couple of other toilets, which are very old and past their use by date. The site fees include showers.

There is a large covered dishwashing area adjacent to the toilets, with interestingly SIX sinks and drainers in there.

Keswick is about a 5-10 minute drive into town from the site. It is close to the Castlerigg Stone circle and the climbing wall and is right next to the A66 so is convenient for travel in either direction. There are other sites more convenient for walking into Keswick if you prefer to park up the car and leave it on the camp site for the duration of your stay.

Due to its close proximity to the A66, some people may find that the traffic noise could cause sleep depravation, but we didn't find that to be the case. Noisy campers where more of a problem.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Muzzyed 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from Burns Farm, I've stayed here numerous times over the years and I've got to say that the sites standards have dropped. The facilities have remained the same for a few years now, yet they are allowing more and more campers on site. I realise there is not much one can do if the weathers bad etc but smelly, dirty toilets and showers throughout the day is unacceptable particularly for the money you are paying. I used the old shower block across the road because the 'new' ones were dirty. I used the toilet, when I flushed it the whole area flooded, there is nowhere to hang your clothing or towel and really it needs refurbishing. The main field was packed and groups were allowed on with the usual noise after 11pm. Actually past 3am.

The location is brilliant but I feel that the owners are missing the trick here.There is no shop for miles to buy provisions or newspapers even in Threlkeld, so there's an opportunity here. The village pubs are 1.1 mile away with a steep hike on the way back in pitch dark. You need a torch. The Salutation is good but the Horse and Farrier is a bit pretentious and expensive although I am convinced they are joint owned. Keswick is about 10 mins drive away but you can walk down the old rail track which takes about 1 hour at a fast pace. Good walks from the site particularly along the river past the golf course. Blencathra is also accessible from Threlkeld. The road noise at the side of the site is a nuisance, when we stayed the farmer put about 100 sheep into the field by the far wall. They kept everyone awake all night. However country ways !

Good points : Helpful staff, great location, good pub, nice walks.

Bad points : Noisy, dirty facilities, overflowing bins, no control over anti social campers.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monthesheep 2 reviews from this member

Ok just got back from this campsite. I initially picked this campsite thanks to the reviews on this site, got a booking and was off. Me, wife, son and dog (which was free for a nice change).

Got there and unfortunately I have to admit that I was disappointed.

There are three fields in total and as I had a tent with no Electric hook up(there were none available or I would have had one) I was told to pitch in the low field. The field itself is very large so can handle lots of tents without it feeling crowded, the field has good drainage so the inevitable rain did not cause any standing water or mud.

But I did feel like a poor cousin being placed so far from the on site facilities and the low field is very exposed as it is not afforded the same shelter that the tourers and caravans enjoy as their area is surrounded by large hedging and has the 'new' toilet block. Low field has a dry stone wall and lots of wind! The site is a working farm and it is lovely to hear the sheep in early morning, but the noise of the traffic from the A66 and the nearby railway line during the still of the night is rather loud so ear plugs or headphones are advisable. A66 can be seen from the Low Field

There are two toilet blocks, the new one and the old one. Both are cleaned once a day, which simply is not enough due to the size of the campsite and the potential number of patrons. By early evening they are beginning to be a wee bit whiffy and covered in mud. The new block has three urinals, three wash hand basins and three showers in the gents and I believe that the ladies has a similar set up but only has one double power point and a chair, so hairdrying for ladies may be an issue.

Perhaps I was there for a busy period or I chose my times to use the facilities unwisely as there generally was a line for the toilet (but not huge). I did not use the old block which is across the road from the new block as it was further away and quite dilapidated looking, did not see too many other people use it either.

There are two pubs nearby, just over a mile away in Threkeld which are very nice but if you are on a budget stick to the ales as the food is priced to take advantage of tourists. Also you have to cross over the A66 which must be done with care.

There is no kids play area, this did not really bother us. Kids on the site had plenty of fun. Saw everything from cricket to football being played

It is about 3 miles outside Keswick so a wee shop would be a great idea. It is however close to the A66 as I have mentioned so it is easy to get around Lake District.

There are the usual camp rules and there is a no noise policy from 10pm which was adhered to without the need for any wardens (which was refreshing)

Good points: 19 a night for tent, car, 2 adults, 1 child and 1 dog is cheap. Easy to find and good base to explore from.

Bad points: A66 is too close and too noisy. Facilities get grubbier as the day gooes on.

Low field is very exposed and if weather is poor the walk to the toilets seems very long

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Puncturedairbed 6 reviews from this member

Visited the site in early July. Good site with a friendly welcome. Some of the state of the caravans and their awnings that have been left there on a somewhat permanent basis leave a little bit to be desired and give an initial thought of it being an untidy site contrary to this however the site proved to be well kept.

The shower and toilet block was well lit and clean and well stocked, showers could have done with a little more heat. The washing up facilities were excellent with hot water. Flies were a nuisance, but it is a working farm.

Pitches were of a good size but choose location wisely for one with a view. It rained heavily the second night we were there, but there was no issues with standing water the next morning. The A66 proved to be a little too close but the campsite is easy find off it and it is a good base for walking. The free range eggs were excellent too.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rozrocks 4 reviews from this member

This is a great site - easy to find (signposted off the A66); clean and well-kept toilet/shower unit; plenty of even ground to pitch on and lovely scenery.

It's about a half hour walk to the nearest pubs in Threlkeld, both of which do good beer but take advantage of the tourists and over-price their food accordingly!

Despite being so busy that an extra field was opened up when we were there, queueing for toilets and showers wasn't much of an issue and it still felt quiet and relaxed throughout. No children's play area but the kids who were there seemed happy enough playing ball / frisbee etc on the field - there's enough space for them to do so without landing on other people's tents.

Very short drive into Keswick from here, close to Castlerigg Stone Circle and plenty of walks from your doorstep (or flap-step if you're in a tent!) Rates are reasonable for the quality of the amenities.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trez176 1 review from this member

Caravan with two people, we booked in for four nights. Nice flat pitches and enough spaces between each unit, the area is beautiful and the walks amazing.

Close links to A66 and yes you can here traffic a touch but only when the site is silent which happened at a reasonable time while we were there.

Washing up facilities were very good and the showers clean and well stocked excellent stay for a very reasonable cost will we return YES

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gunjur team 1 review from this member

Whilst we initially only wanted to stay for 2 nights whilst we commuted to Workington for meetings we decided to stay an additional couple of nights as the place is so peaceful. We found the site to be well organised, clean and quiet.

The owner Linda was very obliging and we would recommend this site to others. We stayed with our 1 year old son. There are many beautiful low level and high level walks from the site - with our son in toe we opted for the low level walks!

There is great access to Keswick and also to other parts of the Lake District - easy access off the M6.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


688 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019