Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite
St Johns In The Vale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RR
Tel: 01768 779112
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nreb 5 reviews from this member

This site is in stunning surroundings and is ideally located for touring the north lakes.

The owner was helpful, if not a little over-enthusiastic (she asked us every day if we had paid). The site is by a farm, so you can expect to be woken most days by sheep.

The toilet blocks were generally clean, although often ran out of loo paper (we started taking our own).

The one thing missing from this site would be a little shop, or even somewhere just to get milk/bread as there is nothing in the immediate local area either.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: HarryandSue 1 review from this member

Owing to the month long rain the site is a trifle muddy but not too bad. The toilet block is updated and kept clean and tidy. Showers are good with nearly hot water. The views are terrific, this has been our second visit and we are going again next week. Access to walks and for shopping are excellent. You can walk from the site either to Keswick or out into the countryside. I found the owners of the farm pleasant and helpful. It is now our number one campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samdan7576 5 reviews from this member

Well its true what they say that it never rains in cumbria.It pours! just returned from a wet week but still enjoyed it all the same in our waterproofs!

Linda Lamb the owner is a lovely lady who is very keen to help. We picked our own pitch on the top field where the electric hook ups were (altho we didnt use it) with some breath taking views of Belcathra from our tent. Stones throw away from the shower block and washing up area. Modern shower block, 3 free showers, 3 sinks and 4 toilets in each. The block did get very busy at times and very muddy too but this is only due to lazy campers not giving the floor a quick mop over when they've finished. If need be the old toilet block in the farm yard is still in use and my husband chose it every night! its very old fashioned, not even a door but a curtain instead, however he loved it as it was always quiet!

We found the camp fairly noisy and the no noise rule was not in force at all, but to be fair it was bursting at the seams and when we did complain about a noisy family that were up at the crack of dawn throwing balls at our tent Linda did sort it for us.

The Salutation Inn just up the road is the best pub, lots and lots of food on your plate. Nice welcoming pub. Lovely walks close by including the old railway and Belcathra. Keswick is the closest town, nice little place but every other shop was a camping shop, once you'd been in one you'd been in them all, lol!

Lovely little site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisandron 1 review from this member

A really nice site. Setting is wonderful, with stunning views and lots of space even though we have a large 6 man tent. The owners and friendly and helpful.
The facilities are good - recently built, clean etc. OK the hot water isn't scalding hot, but if you want Ritz style facilities, stay in a hotel, not on a campsite! Will definitely be revisiting.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coolsox 2 reviews from this member

My partner and I stayed at this site for 4 nights, arriving on the Thursday afternoon, and departing the following Monday.

On arrival, the site looked stunning. There were only a handful of tents there and the owner, Linda was very helpful in allocating us a suitable pitch. We were charged 12 per night and just told to pitch and pay later.

Unfortunately, the peace and quiet only lasted for the one day. On Friday, the site rapidly filled up to almost bursting, with one party playing music and making a noise until 4 in the morning. Linda promptly moved the group on the following day, but to be honest their replacements were just as bad.

The site is extremely clean, but there are not enough facilities to cater for a full field. There was rarely any toilet paper or hand soap in the dispensers, and the laundry room was locked for our entire stay. The field is also located very close to a busy main road, so you do hear a constant flow of traffic at night.

All that being said, the pitch is in a very favourable location, and I would probably return again someday, but would stay away from busier periods.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcgee family outing 2 reviews from this member

There are plenty of good reviews about this site, and our decision to stay here was based partly on those. Unfortunately we didn't have the same experience.

The views from the site are second to none and it is lovely and quiet with no rowdy groups or late night loud music. However the toilet block was not exceptionally clean, the showers luke warm and the main gripe I have is that we found it very expensive.

We had a smallish tent with no hook up in a field away from the amenities and yet it cost us 24 a night for two adults and two kids. We stayed three nights and were told that if we wanted to stay we would have to pay for the three nights up front, in total 72!

It was half term, but I still felt that the experience didn't justify the cost. It is also very exposed in the camping field.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brommo 12 reviews from this member

This was my first time here & it will definitely not be my last.

A couple of mates went up on Monday & stopped 4 nights. I drove up on Tuesday & stopped 2 nights.

The views are STUNNING. Just sitting outside the tent having a brew each morning is truly breathtaking. We managed to get some cracking weather as well.

There is a large 2 sink wash area & the water is always steaming hot. Next to it is a large toilet/shower block. Very clean & more than adequate. It has hand driers & shaver points. Showers are free.

Its a working farm so has sheep & fowl so you can get fresh eggs at good prices.

The owner was friendly.

An excellent base for walking the various countryside which has to be seen to be believed (can you guess this was my first time in the Lake District ?)

The local town (Keswick) is only about 3 miles away so is easily walkable in under an hour. The taxi back is on average 10. Keswick has an abundance of what I call `proper`pubs :) Most serve Jennings Real Ale. Very palatable.

Will I go again ? YES is the answer to that question

HIGHLY recommended

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 17 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site and no doubt, it won't be our last. The owner is very friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. Very professional, yet a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The facilities are excellent, if not a little over-stretched at peak times, but are always clean with plenty of hot water. We were lucky with the weather when we visited at the May bank holiday, except one day was very wet and windy. But the site coped extremely well and the fields have good drainage.

A good base for exploring the surrounding lakes and mountains and about a ten minute drive to Keswick town centre for shopping. Or if you aren't very adventurous, the views from the site are spectatular if you just want to sit outside your tent and relax with a drink or two. Being a working farm, there are always animals to keep you amused as well.

Highly recommended. We look forward to visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pat1 4 reviews from this member

Have stayed at this site more times than I can remember. First came when the toilet and shower were across the road in the farm buildings, that was basic!

Fantastic views all around, walking from the door.

Shops and pubs not far away.

Linda always makes us welcome.

Bank holidays are always busy, as with any campsite. Stay when the crowds are gone, you may have the site to yourselves. Enjoy and relax.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Spent one night at this excellent site and will certainly return. Despite previous reviews, we found that the facilities were plentiful, although we were staying at a quiter time of the year. The scenery is outstanding and there are several great walks from the site, such as Blencathra, Keswick and Castlerigg Stone Circle. Showers were hot, clean and well maintained and the site owners were great: nice relaxed 'pay as you leave' ethos.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019