Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Burns Farm Caravan And Campsite
St Johns In The Vale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RR
Tel: 01768 779112
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ljelondon 2 reviews from this member

This campsite has an enviable location a few miles outside Keswick, and truly spectacular views (from the non-EHU tent field, anyway -- from the caravan and EHU fields the views are still lovely but not QUITE as impressive).

It will get busy in peak periods but the facilities remained beautifully clean (and with no, or very short, queues) throughout our week's stay, even through torrential rain and mud. There are laundry facilities but you have to get the key to the room (which involves hoping that the person before you has returned it).

Friendly welcome on arrival and lots of places to visit and things to do in the local area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathasle 8 reviews from this member

Lovely site with very friendly helpful staff, Linda showed up to the camping field on arrival and gave us a choice of two pitches to choose from one on each side of the electric hook up field. The facilities were heated which was really nice. Facilities lovely and clean and never too busy. Pot washing facilities were under cover which was good as for the first few day's of our visit it rained constantly. The kids loved the fact that a chicken came to visit us at our pitch and my daughter who loves sheep was able to see the sheep in the fields and on the farm. The only downside is that there is no children's play area which I knew before booking and not many sites in the area seem to have a play area. No room on the electric pitch to play ball as a path runs through the middle. We visited a lovely play area for children of all ages at Fitz Park in Keswick which was open all the time we were there at 8. 30pm one night. Quiet site no noise on a night time. Beautiful part of the country with lots of things to do in both good and bad weather. I would stay at this lovely site again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: T6NYY 9 reviews from this member

Just got back from a great weekend at this site. Had a warm welcome from Linda and was taken to a decent sized pitch near the toilet block. The shower block was nice and clean with lots of hot water, no queues, despite there being quite a few visitors over the weekend. Had a nice walk along the old railway line that runs close to the campsite. Great pub nearby in Threlkeld, the Horse & Farrier, excellent food, might be advisable to pre book though, it was extremely busy when we went and they just managed to squeeze us in.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola richardson 3 reviews from this member

In a nutshell. A great holiday was had. Lovely countryside. Friendly owners. The site can be a bit boggy after the rain, which it did a lot of. Great showers, warm toilet block and very clean. Wifi at 10 a week. No kids play area or dedicated dog walking spot but neither seemed to mind. Very quiet on a night time, although it states no noise after 11pm it was quiet after 10pm. Lots to do in Keswick and the surrounding area's.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annapi 3 reviews from this member

This is, generally, a lovely site in a beautiful location. The family who run the farm and site were friendly and helpful, but totally unobtrusive, and there is a delightful lack of the usual signs and posters telling campers what to do or not to do.

The camping field doesn't have electric hook-ups, although these are available elsewhere. It's fairly open but with trees round the perimeter which would provide a little shelter or shade, depending on the time of year. It's on quite a slope, but it's perfectly possible to find a comfortable spot and it doesn't matter which way you face - the views are just amazing in every direction. The slope probably means it would drain reasonably well, although it wasn't as issue when I was there. There is one drinking water tap at the top of the field, near the gate which leads to the rest of the site, including the facilities blocks.

The main block is heated (overheated, even in early April! But mostly comfortable) and has, in the ladies, 4 loos, 3 showers, basins, hand dryer and power points. These were kept as spotless as it's possible to keep anything on a farm by committed and friendly staff, everything was kept well-stocked and were very well maintained. The older, original block was open in addition during my visit and, although it was kept very clean, was definitely the second choice. The showers are push-button types and are not temperature adjustable. In the main block, they stay on for a decent length of time but in the older block, it's two or three seconds - very annoying. The temperature of the showers was far too hot, except for one evening when they were not heated at all. As soon as the issue of cold showers was raised, Linda was immediately on hand to try to resolve the problem, checking with customers and explaining what had happened. Exemplary customer service. However, when hot water was restored, the showers returned to just short of boiling! Even at a quiet time, mid-week in early April, it was necessary to wait for a shower at times.

There are plenty of walks directly from the site, which is great, given how difficult, rare and expensive parking spaces can be in this part of the world. The choice is wide and varied, from a gentle stroll to straight up some of the biggest hills in the area. Lovely to then return to a barbecue (which are permitted, with care), a glass of something and a great view of where you've just been. Keswick is close by for shopping and supplies.

The site could do with having just a bit more information available - a map, weather forecast (no phone signal on O2), emergency phone numbers etc. There really isn't anything.

The price was very reasonable, the location is excellent, staff great and facilities clean and reliable (if hot!). I would return at a quiet time and would recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gumstabber 7 reviews from this member

Easter weekend which is busy as you'd expect it to be but the field with the campervans and tents certainly wasn't as full as the caravan side. On the tent and campervan side there are no pitches marked out so it was a case of finding the least boggy bit of ground to park on as there were no hardstandings. We'd paid for electric hookup as we're staying a few days. When we came to plug in we noticed the point had a splitter attached to it, presumably to increase the number of hookups over the Easter weekend. The electric worked fine for the first night which was quite quiet however as more people arrived it failed to work and kept coming and going, on the last night we had no power at all.

The facilities were clean and despite the large numbers of people I didn't see queuing. The shower facilities failed on the first night though and the toilets blocked on the the morning of us leaving.

I think this place should be considered a farm with a place to put your home for a few days and not a place to camp for any length of time.

If we staying in this area again then we'll be camping elsewhere.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CK4545 1 review from this member

We usually camp around the South Lakes, but we find it has got so commercialised and far too busy for us, so we decided to go further north and explore a new part of the Lakes. We weren't disappointed. We saw a sigh for Burns Farm campsite on the A66 and after a very easy find we arrived at the farm.

We were greeted by a very helpful young lady called Linda who walked us to the camp field and showed us several pitches with the most amazing view. She gave us so much advice about walks and places to explore

We noticed there were several tent pitches with electric hook-ups, but we always camp without. The pitches were all lovely lawned grass pitches. Not the gravel carpark looking pitches which are a nightmare to knock the pegs into. We pitched our tent in no time. There were several other couples on the site in tents and a couple in a VW camper van, they all seemed very friendly and there was no noise at night either. It was truly magical waking up to glorious views and tranqual settings.

We came for a couple of night, but ended up staying 5, my husband had an appointment to go back to otherwise we would have stayed longer!

The site is set on a working farm and we got to see some baby lambs been born, one of the sheep had 4! You can buy free range eggs 6 for 1

The grass is well maintained and the facilities were spotless. The block has central heating and was warm everytime we used it. Lovely after an evening shower and the free showers were always hot.

The mobile phone signal was great and you can get 4G! My husband bought wi-fi from Linda for work emails on his laptop, the speed was good.

The village is only a 20 minutes stroll for a meal, we had a BBQ most nights and sat with a beer and planned which of the hills we would walk next day. We hardly ever used our car, so much to do, so little time, we will differently be back to this little gem what a great find and only 14 a night

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yappieannie 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights in October, never having been to the Lake District before we were really looking forward to our stay.

The site was easy to find from the main road and in a very nice setting.

1st impressions of the site were that the whole place could do with a clean up, the grass was long, the barn looks like it's going to fall down and there is general feeling of ill repair.

The owner was helpful and we could choose our own pitch. The grass was very long and with the rain from the previous week none of the pitches were particularly impressive.

The shower block is dated and in the time we were there the toilets were only cleaned once, the overall impression was run down, dirty and really not very nice. The water was warm but the 20 second bursts were not sufficient. I would advise anybody planning to make use of the facilities is to make sure they have shower shoes with them as I would not have used the showers with bare feet. There was enough space but no where to put your clothes, no shelf or chair, not a pleasant experience.

Overall the site was run down and in need of a good clean and tidy, the showers would not have passed any kind of hygiene test, really not nice.

Never having been to the Lake District before I'm not sure if this is normal for the area but from previous camping experience this site falls way short of any sites I've visited before.

Would return to the area but not to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Winky9557 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week and really enjoyed it. Was on number 1 pitch which was right at toilets, but caused no hassle. Toilets are warm and showers are really warm, so if had to wait it didn't bother me or my good lady wife. Will return again as there was no hassle at site and owners just let you chill out.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TJSimo 2 reviews from this member

Good site, perfect for exploring Keswick, would return. The toilets and showers were clean despite it being the busy bank holiday weekend in August. Only minor issue is that because the camp site was so busy we did not have much choice where to pitch our tent and as a result we were pitched on a slight slope.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019