Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Merthyr Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 2019 Season- 24th May Until 15th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 107 Reviews
                10/10 from 107 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Copta 15 reviews from this member

From the moment we drove in, and I looked up and saw the breathtaking sight of the sea which looks really bluey-green, and the mountains came into view, I fell in love with this site. From there it just got better and better.

If you are looking for entertainment, or a clubhouse, or manicured flowerbeds, or a gift shop, then this site won’t be for you. However if you are one of those people, like me, who needs to get away from urban living at the weekend, and wake up to nothing more noisy than a few birds tweeting, or some lambs bleating, then this site is paradise. It is the perfect place to unwind.

The pitches are a very generous size for caravans, and all pitches seemed to have a good view.

The facilities are pretty basic, although the newly refurbished shower block is great – big family sized rooms, with a shower, toilet and basin. Plenty of hot water, and good water pressure too. We had looked at the website before we booked, and have found the pictures to be very representative of the place….

The owners of this site are lovely too – helpful and kind natured. Best of all is their dog Moss who greets you like you are a long lost friend. He also helps by picking up litter on the site!

Harlech itself is fairly small but has a number of shops and there is the castle to visit. I definitely recommend visiting the homemade ice cream shop at the bottom of the castle. Their award winning Elderflower Ice Cream is just not to be missed!

The site is within driving distance of lots of nice places, and at night, you can see across the water towards Criccieth, Porthmadog, and Portmeirion.

We loved this site so much we booked a seasonal pitch. 10/10 from me.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan hurst 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site - fantastic views. Lovely people, kind generous & couldn't do enough for you.

Terrible weather when we visited - but it is Wales.

Will go again for sure - cant be beaten on price & for peace, quiet & isolation.

Specifics:

Positives: New toilet / bathing block, very comfortable, specially the little bathrooms. Always soap & towel at sinks. Washing up liquid provided, tea towels, all you could want. Plenty of hot water at all times. Never had to queue.

Good recycling facilities for us greens.

Negatives: Is a long walk to the shops, so stock up. One thing I would change, fierce light above toilet block at night, really dazzling & attracts flying insect in huge quantities. Something gentler would do job better & probably cost less to run.

Wish owners good luck with this venture, they worked really hard all the time we were there.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Princess Pinky 2 reviews from this member

Just had a fabulous weekend at Merthyr Farm and we were there for the opening of the new shower block - they are fantastic.

Such a good idea to have lovely big family showers, with oodles of lovely hot water and really good water pressure - they were an absolute treat after a good walk and some rock pooling on the beach.

The views are stunning, even when shrouded in the early morning mist, which slowly lifts to show all the treasures of the area.

This is such a chilled, relaxed place - quiet, spacious and real. A proper farm campsite that is an absolute gem. Lizzie, Bryn, Élan and Cadi are all so lovely, helpful and cannot do enough for you.

We will definitely be back

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOWDENJ 1 review from this member

The view from the campsite is breathtaking. We planned to stay 2 nights but stayed 5 and did not want to leave. The owners were very helpful and offered to place or caravan for us with their pickup and were always on hand to help.

The facilities were basic with a small toilet and shower block but clean (and hot showers) and for the price we paid it was extremely good value for money. Will definitely go back again. Make sure you follow the directions as it is high up and others roads are not suitable for caravans.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona+keith 1 review from this member

This was the perfect site for relaxing - stunning views from all the pitches, you won't want to watch TV with views like this! Lizzie and Bryn are really lovely - friendly and welcoming and would do anything to help. Toilet and shower facilities are basic but clean and there are enough for the size of the site.

It is great if you want to walk - you can start from the site and a short drive to many more. It is a short drive to Harlech or the beach and there is so many other things to do as well. We will definitely return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 5uz1e 3 reviews from this member

This is a phenomenal campsite with really friendly owners. The use of a fridge-freezer is an excellent bonus. The views and sunsets are the finest; they really are. Our three children (7,5 and 1) loved it and really appreciated the environment.

I hate to have to report that we were driven out by a storm; when the weather turns it really does. I have camped all my life and have seen some bad weather, but this was something else. The wind literally obliterated our tent around us; it was quite horrifying.

It is such a shame to have to be negative because this site is amazing, but in order to see those sunsets you must accept that you really are at the mercy of nature's fury up there.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juanban 1 review from this member

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of August. Site owners are lovely and very helpful. We stayed in a tent in the non hook up field and it was extremely windy. So much so that I slept in the car one night as I was convinced that the tent was going to take a trip in the Irish sea - which is just down the hill from the site.

Will definitely go back next year with my caravan because the site itself is just beautiful and is in a good location. Can only reiterate what other campers have said about the views - astonishing. Very reasonably priced and just a short drive to Harlech castle, Portmeirion, Porthmadog.

Toilet block is basic but very clean and the showers were not powerful at all.

The local shop is open until 10o'clock - this is in Harlech and it sells a good range of those camping essentials you are likely to forget.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davilla 8 reviews from this member

Just stayed for 4 nights, and we loved the place, the views from our tent were breathtaking and the owner was very helpful. The facilities were basic but ok for a farm site. We stayed in the non hook up field and had a fairly good pitch. Good walks from the farm and had a fridge for keeping things cool which was good. The cost was very reasonable as well, we paid £40 for the 4night. We enjoyed our stay so much we will return soon.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulieccc 1 review from this member

I stopped here on a solo bicycle tour at the start of July.

After cycling 100km that day I was not at all pleased at the size of the hill getting up to the farm, I thought it would never end.

I must say when I got to the top the views were absolutely breathtaking! Well worth it.

Owners were very friendly and I even got a spin to the town for a beer after my long day.

At 5 pounds a night it was a bargain too.

I will return one day, but hopefully with a wife and kids and not a damn bicycle! :)

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louisecroome 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site up in the hills away from the busy coast. But not too far to drive down, about 10-15 minutes down to Harlech.

Amazing beaches all along coast and short drive to Portmeirion and Portmadoc. Great views of the coast from up high and very safe for children to run around and play.

The showers and toilets were very basic, but I think they were goingto update them this year. Cows all around in the fields which was lovely to look at.

There were a few hook ups. Would definitely go back again. There is two ways in so if towing a caravan just check which way in would be best as it is a narrow lane with no passing places.

Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2182 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938