Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 EHU pitches, 20 Non-electric
Open: 17/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 20/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 124 Reviews
                10/10 from 124 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heynonnynonny 2 reviews from this member

 We booked up for Merthyr for 3 nights on the basis of reviews from this site hence returning the favour, ended up coming back the last night due to the tiny tent, poor weather and being 4. 5 months pregnant my back had give up ha ha.

Access was great - the instructions were helpful so we set the sat nav to Llanfair from Stoke as instructed then popped up the thinnish but very well maintained road to the farm, it was fantastic to get to and coped even in the all day heavy rain! Getting to the fields was easy and simple and the site was lovely and well maintained. We were greeted by the hens and then the 2 lovely farmdogs on the working farm.

The camping fields are spacious with lovely thick green grass, the odd sheep pottering around as well.

Did anyone else mention the panoramic view of Snowdon, Harlech beach and the sea, it really is out of this world and the campsite has a really enviable spot overlooking all of this! Don't take our word for it go and see it for yourself you will be gobsmacked.

The facilities were exactly as advertised, a clean outside building housed great clean very hot showers and loos, fridge, freezer, and a washer and tumbler for small charge, power points, washing up facilities with towels, sponges etc, we've been to sites where this is advertised and there isn't even running water for dishes so this was fantastic.

Really couldn't want for a better site it's got everything and is truly idyllic. Great value for money and will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hall68 9 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 5 nights at this lovely site on a working farm. Lizzie and Bryn who run the farm and site are very friendly and always stop for a chat. You can buy fresh free range eggs from the farm which are really nice. Barbecues and Fire Pits are allowed.

There a 2 camping fields. The first one is all EHU and the other one is both non EHU and EHU. They also have another non EHU field at the back which they open when they are busy. They have 2 family bathrooms which are both very large with shower, sink and toilet in each. There are also 2 additional toilets and a smaller shower room. At the back of the block there is a washing up sink and fridge freezer. A washing machine and tumble dryer are also available for a small cost. Towels, soap, washing up liquid etc are also provided.

The site is up a narrow road from Llanfair (some passing places) and is really in the middle of nowhere. The views from the site are amazing.

If you are looking for a very peaceful site with great views then this site is perfect. We paid 16. 00 per night for 2 adults in a tent with EHU in low season. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 8ashover 1 review from this member

 We arrived late Saturday, unannounced, but were extremely pleasantly surprised.

This site has all you could need;

Facilities, excellent and clean

Owners, friendly and helpful

Views, outstanding.

One word of advice, take note of the comments about directions on the website!

Our daughter used satnav, it told her to get out and walk!

We will definitely use this site again and have already recommended it to some regular camper friends.

As we are not regular campers or caravan users our rating of site facilities is based on what we saw other users doing and their comments.

The only reason for marking down on location is because of access, but if you follow the website information I am sure you will give it a 10.

Jen and John 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulanddifitzy 5 reviews from this member

 Spent the end of May at Merthyr Farm, and feel that this is our ideal location and campsite. Many thanks to Bryn and Lizzie for their attention and friendliness.

The site is situated above Harlech with amazing views over the Estuary below and out to the mountains of Snowdonia.

This is a family friendly site, with adequate facilities for the amount of units there.

Each pitch has its own view, and is flat and level, as the field is terraced.

Farm animals were much appreciated by children as they were entertained collecting the eggs in the morning and feeding pigs later in the day.

We will be returning as soon as possible and would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hwood 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a short break at Merthyr Farm and we are sad to have had to come home. The views at the campsite are spectacular with amazing sunsets over the mountains. Harlech Beach and castle are a stone's throw from the site and there is plenty to do nearby. The facilities were all very clean, with plenty of hot water for both the showers and for washing-up. The pitch was flat with plenty of space and felt very private even though it was half term week and the site was quite busy. Use the directions from the website - they were very straightforward and the other routes up looked very steep! We hope to visit this site again soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sally Dave + Katie 5 reviews from this member

 Brilliant escape again this year. Family run (including the pooch). Opportunities to join in with farm life or a mass game of rounders prompted by the family. Amazing views and lovely walk down to the village. Ice cream and pasties for sale near the castle are amazing. Contrary to rumours that Brits aren't welcome, the locals in the pub were extremely inclusive and welcoming. Beers were excellent. Showers lovely and offered great privacy as do the loos. Freezer and washer available too. Spectacular views that have to be on your bucket list! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobalong 3 reviews from this member

 I found Merthyr Farm after a campsite search of North Wales looking for somewhere quiet, reasonably priced and not too large.

The reviews I read were extremely encouraging so I contacted the farm with just 3 weeks to go before my annual holidays begun, I was informed that there was only one pitch with EHU left and it had been offered to someone else, within 2 hours we were called back by Lizzie offering the pitch to us, I couldn't wait to get there and see it for myself.

We arrived in sunshine and immediately slipped up by setting the satnav in Barmouth, this took us off the main road about 4 mile too early sending us cross country up farm roads and through gates till we eventually found the site.

What a site! It was stunning, views outstanding and that was just looking out through the tent doorway, Moss, the farms pet, came to the tent to make himself known to our dog Max, Moss is lovely.

I could find no fault at all with the amenities, everything very clean and plenty of water pressure for the showers etc. We cannot imagine not coming here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timpro 3 reviews from this member

 This site is just amazing as said before the views are just breath taking, sunsets to die for, sunrise so welcoming.

This is our second visit and plan to come every year from now on! Ratty asked for a review and we were reluctant purely on the basis that we want to keep it a secret!

Lizzie & Bryn & family who run the site are so welcoming and friendly, we feel like we have known them for years!, most pitches are pretty flat, there is three showers and toilets all very clean and good washing up area, even washing up liquid and tea towels are supplied with hand wash and towels in all sink areas. It can get very windy but some parts are quite sheltered,

There are10, but if you wish to go without there can but a choice of quite a few fields, every time we go we see different fields being used, all with spectacular views, the road in is slightly steep and could be awkward if two cars meet worse if a caravan is attached, I'm quite good at reversing my small trailer so it's not really a problem and most people realise that and oblige to give way.

This site is just a jem. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil Mann 1 review from this member

 A superb campsite on a working hill farm. The facilities are excellent - showers and loos all pristine and modern. And the views are SPECTACULAR! The owners are so friendly and helpful Don't be put off by the entrance (through the farmyard) to the camping area - remember, this is a working farm. The camping area is immaculate with electric hookups if you need them, water stand pipes and fire points. Take the owner's advice and approach the farm from llanfair, the other two routes are not for the faint hearted, and totally unsuitable for caravans or motorhomes - you have been warned ! We were very impressed with the huge, sandy beach at nearby Harlech and Portmeirion is well worth a visit. And the views are SPECTACULAR! Did I mention the views?. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P4rk5 8 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic little farm site, cannot add to the comments from others regarding the views, simply outstanding.

We have just returned from the jubilee week at merthyr farm the weather was appauling as it was in most places, gale force winds to start with followed by days of heavy rain. This did not put us off from this site, the friendliness of the owners Bryn and lizzie was wonderful keeping us in formed with the weather. The toilets and showers were always kept clean even under these difficult conditions. The site was fortunately well drained so there was no problems with water logged muddy fields.

Did I mention how good the views were.

Visiters must pay attention to the instructions on how to get there as the roads around are very narrow but the suggested route was no problem for our touring van.

This is a working farm so there were plent of animals around, sheep and cattle, the site was very relaxed about well behaved dogs on the camping fields but must be on leads when out and about on the farm (as you would expect)

Did I mention how good the views were.

This is a great site for walkers with plenty of signed walks around the area.

Thanks to Bryn and Lizzie for a great if wet holiday - we will be back! 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3204 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement