Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 8th May Until 20th September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 111 Reviews
                10/10 from 111 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Macey-lilly 1 review from this member

 We were looking for somewhere close to Harlech to camp for a week during the summer (my father's family having come from Llanbedr, Llanfair and Harlech and myself having been born in Barmouth and lived in Harlech in my former years) we wanted to visit the area and relive some memories. Found Merthyr Farm by accident and how glad we were we did. The views are stunning, the campsite is away from the run of the mill caravan type park, basic but very very friendly.

Bryn Roberts saved our holiday when we got absolutely soaked on our first Sunday when the weather turned positively horrendous, torrential rain and gale force winds, the winds damaged our tent and everything we had was sodden. We were about to give up and go home when he offered us the use of the family static caravan. We cant express how grateful we were and how much we appreciated this offer.

The farm is a working farm which adds to its appeal, sheep grazing the pitches, farm dogs welcoming you in and out, and a little ginger cat who welcomed everyone. Oh and we saw red kites woohoo that ticked Mr Macey-Lillies box indeed. We would recommend this farm, family and site for even the shortest of breaks. It most definitely re-charged the batteries. The facilities were basic but very very clean and well kept, also being upgraded. The showers are fabulous, plenty of room and good water pressure, toilets always fresh and clean, there is also a fridge, freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer situated in the block. You will need transport to get to various locations, but on the other hand hikers will have a field day, loads of walks and mountain paths to follow.

It only gives you the option to grade this farm site out of 10 for customer service I would award 20 :-) xx

We will be back.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiters 59 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from this wonderfull site,

Very nice family run site with good facilities for a small site & views to die for. Bryn & Lizzie seemed to be always on the go doing bits around the site, well kept & clean. Good walks straight from the farm (as long as you want to make them) or not too far from beaches but need to drive. There are three touristy trains near by, one runs along the coast, one is the ffestiniog rail way from porth madog, & the other from Porthmadog to the north coast which looks like a nice run though the country side, a must if you like train trips

We will be going back to Merthyr Farm again as there is still lots more to see in the area,  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiters 59 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from this wonderful site,

Very nice family run site with good facilities for a small site & views to die for, Bryn & Lizzie seemed to be always on the go doing bits around the site, well kept & clean, good walks straight from the farm (as long as you want to make them)or not to far from beaches but need to drive, there are three touristy trains near by, one runs along the coast, one is the ffestiniog rail way from porth madog, & the other from Porthmadog to the north coast which looks like a nice run though the country side, a must if you like train trips

we will be going back to Merthyr Farm again as there is still lots more to see in the area,  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Strato 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived very late on a very rainy Friday night around 8. 45 pm to find the owners having their tea. After being shown what pitches we could have we set off and promptly got stuck on the muddy grass. Bryn came to our rescue with his pickup and parked the caravan like an expert.

The following morning we woke to a fantastic sunny day and an equally fantastic view. You can see for miles! We bumped into Lizzie who gave us some feed so we could take our 18 month old son to feed the lambs and calves. I think this had to be the highlight (for me).

We then headed to Harlech Castle and spent a wonderful time touring the old ruins and eating some fantastic ice-cream.

The beach close by at Llandanwg is wonderful and not busy at all. The sea and beach are very clean and we had no worries letting our son loose for a run around.

The shower block was busy and I showered about 11am and the water was running a bit cold by then.

Bryn and Lizzie were very busy but had plenty of time to help you out if needed. A very warm and nice couple.

We will definitely be back so watch out Moss! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Copta 15 reviews from this member

 From the moment we drove in, and I looked up and saw the breathtaking sight of the sea which looks really bluey-green, and the mountains came into view, I fell in love with this site. From there it just got better and better.

If you are looking for entertainment, or a clubhouse, or manicured flowerbeds, or a gift shop, then this site won’t be for you. However if you are one of those people, like me, who needs to get away from urban living at the weekend, and wake up to nothing more noisy than a few birds tweeting, or some lambs bleating, then this site is paradise. It is the perfect place to unwind.

The pitches are a very generous size for caravans, and all pitches seemed to have a good view.

The facilities are pretty basic, although the newly refurbished shower block is great – big family sized rooms, with a shower, toilet and basin. Plenty of hot water, and good water pressure too. We had looked at the website before we booked, and have found the pictures to be very representative of the place….

The owners of this site are lovely too – helpful and kind natured. Best of all is their dog Moss who greets you like you are a long lost friend. He also helps by picking up litter on the site!

Harlech itself is fairly small but has a number of shops and there is the castle to visit. I definitely recommend visiting the homemade ice cream shop at the bottom of the castle. Their award winning Elderflower Ice Cream is just not to be missed!

The site is within driving distance of lots of nice places, and at night, you can see across the water towards Criccieth, Porthmadog, and Portmeirion.

We loved this site so much we booked a seasonal pitch. 10/10 from me. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan hurst 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site - fantastic views. Lovely people, kind generous & couldn't do enough for you.

Terrible weather when we visited - but it is Wales.

Will go again for sure - cant be beaten on price & for peace, quiet & isolation.

Specifics:

Positives: New toilet / bathing block, very comfortable, specially the little bathrooms. Always soap & towel at sinks. Washing up liquid provided, tea towels, all you could want. Plenty of hot water at all times. Never had to queue.

Good recycling facilities for us greens.

Negatives: Is a long walk to the shops, so stock up. One thing I would change, fierce light above toilet block at night, really dazzling & attracts flying insect in huge quantities. Something gentler would do job better & probably cost less to run.

Wish owners good luck with this venture, they worked really hard all the time we were there. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Princess Pinky 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a fabulous weekend at Merthyr Farm and we were there for the opening of the new shower block - they are fantastic.

Such a good idea to have lovely big family showers, with oodles of lovely hot water and really good water pressure - they were an absolute treat after a good walk and some rock pooling on the beach.

The views are stunning, even when shrouded in the early morning mist, which slowly lifts to show all the treasures of the area.

This is such a chilled, relaxed place - quiet, spacious and real. A proper farm campsite that is an absolute gem. Lizzie, Bryn, Élan and Cadi are all so lovely, helpful and cannot do enough for you.

We will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOWDENJ 1 review from this member

 The view from the campsite is breathtaking. We planned to stay 2 nights but stayed 5 and did not want to leave. The owners were very helpful and offered to place or caravan for us with their pickup and were always on hand to help.

The facilities were basic with a small toilet and shower block but clean (and hot showers) and for the price we paid it was extremely good value for money. Will definitely go back again. Make sure you follow the directions as it is high up and others roads are not suitable for caravans. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona+keith 2 reviews from this member

 This was the perfect site for relaxing - stunning views from all the pitches, you won't want to watch TV with views like this! Lizzie and Bryn are really lovely - friendly and welcoming and would do anything to help. Toilet and shower facilities are basic but clean and there are enough for the size of the site.

It is great if you want to walk - you can start from the site and a short drive to many more. It is a short drive to Harlech or the beach and there is so many other things to do as well. We will definitely return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 5uz1e 3 reviews from this member

 This is a phenomenal campsite with really friendly owners. The use of a fridge-freezer is an excellent bonus. The views and sunsets are the finest; they really are. Our three children (7,5 and 1) loved it and really appreciated the environment.

I hate to have to report that we were driven out by a storm; when the weather turns it really does. I have camped all my life and have seen some bad weather, but this was something else. The wind literally obliterated our tent around us; it was quite horrifying.

It is such a shame to have to be negative because this site is amazing, but in order to see those sunsets you must accept that you really are at the mercy of nature's fury up there.  


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1551 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020