Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 8th May Until 20th September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 112 Reviews
                10/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 8ashover 1 review from this member

 We arrived late Saturday, unannounced, but were extremely pleasantly surprised.

This site has all you could need;

Facilities, excellent and clean

Owners, friendly and helpful

Views, outstanding.

One word of advice, take note of the comments about directions on the website!

Our daughter used satnav, it told her to get out and walk!

We will definitely use this site again and have already recommended it to some regular camper friends.

As we are not regular campers or caravan users our rating of site facilities is based on what we saw other users doing and their comments.

The only reason for marking down on location is because of access, but if you follow the website information I am sure you will give it a 10.

Jen and John 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulanddifitzy 5 reviews from this member

 Spent the end of May at Merthyr Farm, and feel that this is our ideal location and campsite. Many thanks to Bryn and Lizzie for their attention and friendliness.

The site is situated above Harlech with amazing views over the Estuary below and out to the mountains of Snowdonia.

This is a family friendly site, with adequate facilities for the amount of units there.

Each pitch has its own view, and is flat and level, as the field is terraced.

Farm animals were much appreciated by children as they were entertained collecting the eggs in the morning and feeding pigs later in the day.

We will be returning as soon as possible and would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hwood 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a short break at Merthyr Farm and we are sad to have had to come home. The views at the campsite are spectacular with amazing sunsets over the mountains. Harlech Beach and castle are a stone's throw from the site and there is plenty to do nearby. The facilities were all very clean, with plenty of hot water for both the showers and for washing-up. The pitch was flat with plenty of space and felt very private even though it was half term week and the site was quite busy. Use the directions from the website - they were very straightforward and the other routes up looked very steep! We hope to visit this site again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sally Dave + Katie 5 reviews from this member

 Brilliant escape again this year. Family run (including the pooch). Opportunities to join in with farm life or a mass game of rounders prompted by the family. Amazing views and lovely walk down to the village. Ice cream and pasties for sale near the castle are amazing. Contrary to rumours that Brits aren't welcome, the locals in the pub were extremely inclusive and welcoming. Beers were excellent. Showers lovely and offered great privacy as do the loos. Freezer and washer available too. Spectacular views that have to be on your bucket list! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobalong 3 reviews from this member

 I found Merthyr Farm after a campsite search of North Wales looking for somewhere quiet, reasonably priced and not too large.

The reviews I read were extremely encouraging so I contacted the farm with just 3 weeks to go before my annual holidays begun, I was informed that there was only one pitch with EHU left and it had been offered to someone else, within 2 hours we were called back by Lizzie offering the pitch to us, I couldn't wait to get there and see it for myself.

We arrived in sunshine and immediately slipped up by setting the satnav in Barmouth, this took us off the main road about 4 mile too early sending us cross country up farm roads and through gates till we eventually found the site.

What a site! It was stunning, views outstanding and that was just looking out through the tent doorway, Moss, the farms pet, came to the tent to make himself known to our dog Max, Moss is lovely.

I could find no fault at all with the amenities, everything very clean and plenty of water pressure for the showers etc. We cannot imagine not coming here again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timpro 3 reviews from this member

 This site is just amazing as said before the views are just breath taking, sunsets to die for, sunrise so welcoming.

This is our second visit and plan to come every year from now on! Ratty asked for a review and we were reluctant purely on the basis that we want to keep it a secret!

Lizzie & Bryn & family who run the site are so welcoming and friendly, we feel like we have known them for years!, most pitches are pretty flat, there is three showers and toilets all very clean and good washing up area, even washing up liquid and tea towels are supplied with hand wash and towels in all sink areas. It can get very windy but some parts are quite sheltered,

There are10, but if you wish to go without there can but a choice of quite a few fields, every time we go we see different fields being used, all with spectacular views, the road in is slightly steep and could be awkward if two cars meet worse if a caravan is attached, I'm quite good at reversing my small trailer so it's not really a problem and most people realise that and oblige to give way.

This site is just a jem. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil Mann 1 review from this member

 A superb campsite on a working hill farm. The facilities are excellent - showers and loos all pristine and modern. And the views are SPECTACULAR! The owners are so friendly and helpful Don't be put off by the entrance (through the farmyard) to the camping area - remember, this is a working farm. The camping area is immaculate with electric hookups if you need them, water stand pipes and fire points. Take the owner's advice and approach the farm from llanfair, the other two routes are not for the faint hearted, and totally unsuitable for caravans or motorhomes - you have been warned ! We were very impressed with the huge, sandy beach at nearby Harlech and Portmeirion is well worth a visit. And the views are SPECTACULAR! Did I mention the views?. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P4rk5 8 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic little farm site, cannot add to the comments from others regarding the views, simply outstanding.

We have just returned from the jubilee week at merthyr farm the weather was appauling as it was in most places, gale force winds to start with followed by days of heavy rain. This did not put us off from this site, the friendliness of the owners Bryn and lizzie was wonderful keeping us in formed with the weather. The toilets and showers were always kept clean even under these difficult conditions. The site was fortunately well drained so there was no problems with water logged muddy fields.

Did I mention how good the views were.

Visiters must pay attention to the instructions on how to get there as the roads around are very narrow but the suggested route was no problem for our touring van.

This is a working farm so there were plent of animals around, sheep and cattle, the site was very relaxed about well behaved dogs on the camping fields but must be on leads when out and about on the farm (as you would expect)

Did I mention how good the views were.

This is a great site for walkers with plenty of signed walks around the area.

Thanks to Bryn and Lizzie for a great if wet holiday - we will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisytent 14 reviews from this member

 Wow, the view!

There are lovely pictures on the website but I thought it might be like others we've visited. That view can only be seen if you stand on the TV aerial or walk 3 miles from the site-you know the kind of thing!

No, the view is right outside the tent. Panoramic in our field from Harlech castle along the hillside, the whole of the Llyen peninsula, Criccieth, Porthmadog, the estuary, Portmerion, Snowdon herself (when she got her head out of the clouds!) and inland to the mountains.

We saw a firework display at Portmerion, we were looking down on even the biggest rockets! And several sunsets that were to die for.

Stunning, glorious, unbeatable view.

If the site had been rubbish, it would've been worth it just for the view. But it wasn't rubbish, it was a lovely site. As others have said the facilities are a little inadequate for the size of the site, especially the dishwashing and freezer, but not a major problem and if they know about it and have plans to expand, all the better. There was some building work going on when we were there actually-might be the start of the plans?

The loos were always lovely and clean and the showers hot.

It felt really spacious, large set pitches with no squeezing in extra units.

We would go back and that is a big compliment-we have never revisited any site before.

Did I mention the view? Go see it! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mary SD 3 reviews from this member

 If you want a quiet site, in the hills, easy access to lots of outdoor stuff like cycling, walking etc, this is the site for you. It is in the most amazing location and the views (when the weather lets you see them!) are amazing - no camera does it justice.

The facilities are ever improving; currently there are 3 showers, 4 loos and just one wash up sink. However, Bryne and Lizzie know that there needs to be more washing up facilities and this is planned.

Bryn and Lizzie add a lot to this site; friendly welcome (help getting van onto pictch!), pointing out good walks etc. There are things to do on the farm such as feeding the pigs, sheep and calves. My 3year old loved this!

The train rides in the area are brilliant, if a little pricey but well worth it.

Bryn and Lizzie are keen to keep this site a quiet retreat and here's hoping it stays that way! It does feel like we stumbled on a hidden gem staying on this site. We will be back! 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1999 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December