Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm > Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  07709920182
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 EHU pitches, 20 Non-electric
Open: 24/05/2024 to 15/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 135 Reviews
                10/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mweems 1 review from this member

 Merthyr farm is simply the most wonderful campsite, and I have visited many! The view across Morfa Harlech from its elevated location simply never loses its “wow” factor!

Watching the sun set over the Lleyn Peninsula is a real treat !

The site is a perfect location for setting off on all day treks through the gorgeous countryside. Mountains, ridges, the world’s finest beach and wonderful undulating countryside mean that every day can be different and yet every day you return to the splendid view,

Excellent facilities, friendly welcome and start to plan for the next adventure!

Having just returned I am already looking at my diary to plan the next visit this summer! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 370 reviews from this member

 Wonderful views, frightening road up to it!

Of course it's worth it once you are there, and the road is very quiet. BUT it's nearly 3 miles of single track with barely a passing place. I would suggest that you would only go once with a caravan.

It's also remote, Harlech only has small shops. The easiest one to get to is just off the main road, on the way to the beach, a boring expanse of sand in our opinion.

If you want better beaches, go to Porthmadog, turn left in the town, left again after about a mile to Borth-y-Gest. Park up and walk away from the village to where there are lovely coves, best accessed at high tide.

To sum up, everyone should go there once 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JuliaGreg 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous site. Only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer.

Absolutely beautiful views from our pitch.

Excellent facilities with showers, laundry room, sinks for washing up fridges etc.

We were made to feel very welcome and will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Gremlinsontour 1 review from this member

 Absolute gem of a campsite.

The facilities are always immaculate the showers are amazing and free no having to keep pushing a button every 30 seconds to get water like other sites.

The owners who run the farm are outstanding they are welcoming informative and take pride in there site,

The views are incredible every pitch we could see had the same awesome views,

We don't usually go back to a campsite but this was our 2nd year and I can't wait to go back.

Also Snowdon is very accessible from here and you can see the Snowdonia range and the llyn peninsula from the site,

Beautiful place beautiful people and dog friendly 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: David Bignell 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after visiting this site.

The site has plenty of levelled pitches with electric hook ups and loads of space around each one.

The site was very clean including the toilet block and sinks. It is a short drive into Harlech which needs to be done with care.

The owners Lizzie and and her children were great. They took people to feed the lambs and interact with them which my girls really enjoyed.

The views during our stay were amazing.

I think we will definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Leejay 1 review from this member

 Cracking campsite with Incredibly stunning views over the mountains and estuary.

Good facilities with hot showers. Laid back atmosphere and lovely owners.

A perfect site to stay, sit round a fire and chill out.

Some lovely walks on the doorstep and easy enough to get around the wider area.

Thoroughly recommended.

Would love to visit again.

Thank you Lizzie and Bryn. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eckythump 11 reviews from this member

 Well it didn't take us long to come back - 3 months.

The site was busy but Lizzie and Bryn are great hosts, giving advice and keeping everything clean, tidy and mowed.

The wind can gust and coming straight off the sea they can be very strong. This of course cannot be controlled, and it doesn't put us off coming back. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marcia 1 review from this member

 Great view, friendly campsite and clean facilities. We really enjoyed our stay and the beautiful hot weather was a bonus.

The campsite had a lovely spacious feel and we never had to wait to use the facilities.

We had electric hook up but well thought out facilities if you didn’t.

The drive up to the campsite was no problem and the surrounding area was beautiful, lovely village, amazing beach and surrounded by mountains.

We didn’t do any local mountain walks but Bryn on hand if you need advice about where to walk from the campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nick+charlotte 1 review from this member

 We've been camping for over 20 years and I think this is the best site I've ever been to. The views are amazing (check out the Google maps 360' to get an idea), every time I opened the tent to come out I was stunned by the view, it really makes for a special experience.

The site is on a working farm and is on top of the hill overlooking Harlech, you can see the castle from the site (as well as the sea and the hills and mountains of Snowdonia, including Snowden).

For me I really enjoyed the remote feel of this location but there's still a lot to do in the surrounding area, so your not too far from everything. It's about 12-15 drive to the nearest shop selling food, so we'd advise bringing as much as you can with you. (The nearest Tesco in Porthmadog is the only one in a large area so is very busy and didn't have much stock when we went).

The pitches are large and where we were the pitches were terraced into the sloping field, this means there's quite a bit of space in between pitches and your at a slightly different hight to the pitches next to you.

My wife struggles to sleep if the pitch is not flat and she was fine as the pitches are nice and flat. As the owners say on their website, the ground is rocky and I'm glad I took their advise in using rock pegs as you do need them, you'll be lucky to get standard pegs in without bending them.

Also being an exposed site the rock pegs keep things secure if the wind picks up (which it did for us one night). It didn't get muddy when we had thunder and heavy rain thanks to the well drained rocky ground.

The toilets are good, you have your own sink in the toilet and even though we stayed over the jubilee bank holiday weekend if I ever had to wait it wasn't for long. The showers were fine.

The owners are friendly and even helped me close my overloaded roof box when we were leaving and gave me a rachet pulley to secure it! Very kind of him, I wasn't expecting such generosity.

So if you like a site that's away from it all with some of the best views you can get, large spacious well drained pitches with friendly owners at a reasonable price, then look no further. This sight is just what I was looking for. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 71 reviews from this member

 I've wanted to visit this site for years, and finally managed it on the week of the Jubilee bank holidays. It's everything the previous reviews promised - thanks UKcampsite! - but somehow even more so when you're there in person.

The view is preposterously good, even when the weather is rubbish: there's so much of it that it's never entirely obscured by cloud, and you can watch the downpours over the mountains from the smug comfort of your unit.

There are some things worth mentioning which you may or may not think of as negatives. It's a long schlep to get anywhere and even the A-roads are narrow. The water supply is private and can run short when the site is full - I imagine this is why there aren't many showers. You'll probably have to queue at busy times.

You'll likely experience some strong wind which can be exceptionally gusty. Given the ground is quite soft but very stony, you'll need plenty of good, long rock pegs so you can cross-peg; it's probably worth double-guying too, if you're of a nervous disposition.

Lastly, mobile data is a bit sketchy by teenager standards.

Other than that, everything's brilliant. Lizzie is delightful and helpful; the pitches are terraced and enormous; the grass is like a lawn; the facilities are beautifully kept; there's good walking straight from the site and absolutely tons of things to see and do in the area.

We did the big zip lines at Blaenau and even managed a taster lesson with Fly Snowdonia, along with the more traditional holiday pursuits.

There's bags of room in the middle of the field for frisbee and catch etc.

We'll definitely be back. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3435 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement