Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 17/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 117 Reviews
                10/10 from 117 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Shabby 1 review from this member

 I truly fell. Head over heels for Merthyr Farm Campsite! The views were outstanding! The owners are the most friendly, approachable people and they continually strive to make sure we all had what we needed and we were happy during our stay!

Also the shower, toilet facilities are immaculate and very modern wet rooms! Plus a kitchen on site for dish washes and cheap cost for usage of washing machine and dryer! Plenty of fridge and freezer available!

And all that surrounded the site was beautiful! A perfect location and not far from grocery shops, and landmarks to visit!

I am most definitely going to revisit Merthyr again! Its a real find, not many places as good as this! I recommend to anyone 100%

Thank you so much for having us! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve Lori 2 reviews from this member

 The 2+ mile drive from the A496 up to the site is steep and narrow with few passing places, but providing you follow the site owners instructions and not your sat nav it shouldn't be a problem for even the larger outfits.

The site itself, as others have already said, is high on the hillside with magnificent views over Harlech, the coast and distant hills.

The pitches are all grass, well cut and fairly flat but may need a bit of levelling but nothing too bad. EHU is good and the toilet/showers are spotlessly clean.

As you would expect from a rural site, there are no shops withing easy reach, the nearest convenience store is Harlech itself on the A496.

Nearest main supermarkets are in Porthmadoc (20 mins+ drive) and the nearest bus stop in the village of Llanfair (2 miles)or the railway station in Harlech. A great site for walkers with Snowdonia on the doorstep. Plenty of lovely beaches (some restrictions on dogs) and lovely towns to visit in the area.

Due to its location it can be very windy so make sure awnings & tents are well pegged down.

To finish, one of the best views we have ever had from a site in the UK and we will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Quacke 1 review from this member

 We received a warm welcome to a lovely site. We were given the choice of a couple of pitches with absolutely fantastic views right across Harlech, the castle etc. Glorious!

The site itself sits way up a hill in a remote location that was a bit of a mission to access for us in a Motorhome but excellent in-depth directions are given to get there and it is so worth the effort to stay in such a wonderful setting.

The showers/ toilets were spacious and clean and the wash up area had washing/ drying facilities. There are no shops or pubs within easy walking distance but this suited us.

We walked via the field footpath down to Harlech to visit the town and castle which took approx 3/4 hour each way and although our dog had to stay on lead due to sheep he had a fabulous time!

If you want peaceful, fab views, good facilities and want to do some scenic walking, this place is for you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gwennol17 10 reviews from this member

 This site has the best, most far reaching view of anywhere we have ever stayed. Admittedly this disappears into mist on rainy days, but it really is the perfect spot.

Be sure to follow the directions on their website, as the access is up a single track, steep road.

The grass pitches and fields were beautifully kept, with stone walls that really are a work of art. Loos and showers were well maintained and clean.

A good spot for walkers, as the hills behind, towards the Rhinogs were easily accessible with waymarked paths.

We will most definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Big M 1 review from this member

 Fantastic views and such a nice site. We had 3 nights here and loved it.

We were met by Lizzie who showed us all the facilities.

The site is lovely and quiet, beautiful views, great facilities, showers were great, sinks were clean in the washing up area, very impressed.

A couple of things worth pointing out, the site is a couple of miles from Harlech and it's up a hill, quite a steep hill, walking or biking into the village requires a bit of effort on the return journey. If you were towing a caravan you'd need to be a confident driver and don't follow your sat-nav, follow the directions on the website.

Can't wait to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mandy P 1 review from this member

 Stayed 3 nights at this fantastic campsite with the best views of Snowdonia and Llyn. Owners really helpful and friendly.

Rarely go anywhere twice, but we will revisited this site.

Mandy and Will 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 12 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, working farm campsite, with fabulous views, and a relaxed atmosphere.

I must have met 3 different people whilst there, all of whom were really friendly.

I shall definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Georgiegirl104 20 reviews from this member

 The site it excellent, with great toilet/shower block as well as fridge/freezers and washing machine/tumble dryer facilities. There are plenty of activities in the surrounding area.

Unfortunately, it is subject to disruption in very windy conditions, and our tent was just not up to the 45 mph winds we encountered there. This, sadly, halved our holiday duration from 6 nights to only 3.

We don't normally go back to the same site twice, however we would definitely return to this site again, but hopefully with less windy weather!

We also recommend the fish and chip shop in Harlech (opposite the short-stay car park). 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MikeandSam 20 reviews from this member

 Such a lovely site we would recommend it if you are planning a visit to this area.

We had lots of good information before we arrived and clear instructions about payment - and the all important route to the site information. Ignore this at your peril.

This is a large site with generous pitches. One amenities block with 5 individual toilet/wash basin cubicles, two shower rooms and 2 family shower rooms with loos.

A bit of queueing at peak times (!) but nothing unreasonable. Plenty of free hot water and the shower rooms are nice and big with ample hooks and a stool so there is none of that nonsense with your stuff being wet from the shower. Nice strong water pressure too.

The utility area has fridge freezers and laundry facilities and two sinks for washing up. Everything is well maintained and kept nice and clean throughout the day.

Pitches are flat, a bit stony; but given the terrain, that's expected too, so don't expect every peg to go in first time. Even after heavy rain the site drains well so you shouldn't get stuck in the mud.

The views are extensive over Cardigan Bay and across the estuary towards Porthmadog, Port Meirion and up into the Snowdon range as well as out along the Llyn Peninsula. This is where the site is a real winner.

Plenty to see and do from here. The beaches at Harlech are magnificent. Fish and ships and cafes in the village (no late opening). Supermarkets and a bigger selection of shops in Porthmadog.

Bryn and Lizzie run a friendly campsite, are really welcoming and show great consideration for the comfort and welfare of the campers here. A weather forecast warning was posted by them on the utility room notice board because of their worries about the tents in high winds and rain - and with this storm predicted for the weekend at the end of our stay we had to cut short the trip.

No playground here for children but it's a nice safe site for them to explore a bit and no traffic apart form campers coming and going. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Purplecampervan 3 reviews from this member

 We really loved this place - the view alone is worth a million dollars! Farm site, Lizzie and Bryn very friendly and welcoming.

Bryn even gave us a lift down to Harlech one day, and we walked back up. NB do follow their instructions about how to get there - the direct road from the centre of Harlech is indeed very steep, narrow and winding!

Fields slope a bit but not too bad, facilities basic but good (showers excellent) plenty of electric hookups if required. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement