Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Merthyr Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 2019 Season- 24th May Until 15th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 107 Reviews
                10/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplecampervan 3 reviews from this member

We really loved this place - the view alone is worth a million dollars! Farm site, Lizzie and Bryn very friendly and welcoming. Bryn even gave us a lift down to Harlech one day, and we walked back up. NB do follow their instructions about how to get there - the direct road from the centre of Harlech is indeed very steep, narrow and winding!

Fields slope a bit but not too bad, facilities basic but good (showers excellent) plenty of electric hookups if required.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamandRose 17 reviews from this member

Let's get one thing out of the way first of all. If you're the sort of person who likes their sites to be easily accessible (and I'm thinking specifically about the lady who complained that a positive review I wrote just over a year ago about the Dorset Hideaway near Bridport, which failed to mention that access was via about four miles of narrow - though not single-track - lanes), you're not going to like Merthyr Farm much either. Because to reach it - even if you follow the directions that the site owners give you - involves a drive uphill and along about 2. 5 miles of single-track roads. So you should look instead at one of the many other sites in the area that have easier access.

It's your loss. Because the access route is manageable and used daily by tractors, trailers and milk tankers (though you should absolutely not attempt either of the two other routes in anything larger than a small campervan). And once you have arrived on site, just stop and let that view sink in. It's almost a 180-degree panorama from Harlech Castle towards the south-west, to Porthmadog and the Lleyn Peninsula to the north. It's spectacular.

Don't think though that because the site is on a hillside and within a working farm, it's a bit like wild camping. 12 of the 24 pitches have 16A hook-up. There are toilets and showers with high pressure hot water and the sinks have hand soap and towels. There is a utility room with sinks, a fridge-freezer and a coin-operated washing machine and tumble dryer. Plus some picnic tables so you can sit and admire the view at mealtimes (and you should).

There are, however a couple of improvements that could be made. It's a shame that there's no wifi - I realise that having access from every pitch might be excessive and expensive, but a signal in the utility room would be nice. And it would also be useful to have a list of nearby attractions, shops and places to eat.

Of which there are many. Within about half an hour's drive are the beaches at Harlech and Llanfair (both are beautiful), Harlech Castle (a must-see), Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways and Barmouth (which has another lovely beach). Snowdon is about an hour's drive. The food at the Castle Bistro in Harlech is only average but the restaurant at the Hafan Artro hotel in Llanbedr (the next village) is just lovely.

Just don't spend so much time away from the site that you miss a sunset. Because that's a heavenly experience that you really will remember for a long time.

Thank you Lizzie and Bryn. We'll be back.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 69 reviews from this member

Stunning, is the best word to describe the location and views from this site. Most of the time we simply sat looking out over Tremadog Bay.

The drive up was interesting and even more so down the farm track itself. Thankfully they'd had dry weather for a week or so which allowed us to manage on the grass pitches. Although the two fields are very sloping, they've graded the pitches fairly level.

The on site facilities were fine, with two family-friendly shower rooms and we only had to queue once for the loos, which were kept spotlessly clean. It looks like they'll be upgrading the block too over the winter season.

A nice touch is the picnic area they've created beyond the stone walls to take advantage of the terrific views.

We cycled up to Cwm Bychan and walked up to the Roman Steps and it's one of the nicest routes we've ever done.

It's a shame we had to leave!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LucySky 13 reviews from this member

This is the most beautiful campsite we visited on our bike tour through England and Wales! It was even worth cycling up the hill.

It is a farm campsite with stunning views, the most beautiful surroundings you could imagine and lovely owners.

The showers are hot and free, the toilets very clean.

All in all, we would immediately return!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frozer 5 reviews from this member

What a find! Such a lovely welcome, even an offer of help to set up (in very inclement conditions).

This is a farm site, with powerful, hot, and free showers, flat well kept pitches for tents, several fields to choose from and explore. The views - oh the views! Even the children were captivated, trying to spot where they'd visited, which beach they'd been to, and where they'd like to explore.

Booking was reassuringly simple and friendly, the facilities really are ideal for families, with large family shower rooms, and clean washing up facilities. These are housed in an old building, and Lizzie and Bryn are planning more showers / loos / sinks. While they aren't state of the art, they are cleaned regularly, and fit well with the warm welcoming ambiance of the farm. We didn't need to queue to use anything.

The beach at the bottom of the hill is ideal for families and is clean and dog friendly. One last thing - take notice of the instructions of how to get to the farm - We had to help a motorhome who was wedged between two drystone walls on the tiny lane down into Harlech - This is one time to follow the rules and not go exploring!

Thank you Merthyr Farm Team for making our few days so relaxed - we will be back

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alisonfbreeze 1 review from this member

Beautiful location up above Harlech with stunning views towards the Lleyn Peninsula. Incredibly peaceful.

Personable owners who check site and facilities regularly.

Nice flat pitches. Plenty of space.

Good clean facilities. Only negative. 4loos/3 showers for 24 pitches. May be a queue.

Great area for exploring - local walks Portmeirion, Harlech, Barmouth.

Would I come back. YES!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 9 reviews from this member

Loved It Loved It Loved It. Views and Sunsets to die for. You need to have everything with you if in Motorhome as nowhere near to replenish provisions and taking van offsite not easy. Lovely spacious site great facilities. We enjoyed the walk to Harlech but it's not for the infirm. Would stay again and recommend

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nick56 8 reviews from this member

Blessed with gorgeous weather this has to be one of the nicest sites with the most beautiful views we have ever stayed on. You are high up and it is possible you may have your head in the clouds at some point. The facilities have been described by others and I agree they are just what you need, clean and tidy regardless of tent, caravan or motorhome. It is dog friendly which is more than can be said for a few people on the site! It is a working farm and some sheep may well have access to the pitches along with the owners dogs, on a few occasions our dogs were joined for lunch by the owners old dog 'not a problem'. The route to the site is well described on the Website, use the other routes at your peril. The local beaches are dog friendly and very big, they are also very shallow and rock pools can be found on them so great for the kids young and old. We will most certainly be returning this summer if we get the opportunity.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hilly V 4 reviews from this member

We've just come back from a week's camping at Merthyr Farm. Normally we'd travel to two or three campsites over the week but it was so lovely here that we decided to stay the whole week!

We pitched our tent in the top field on a great, flat pitch and could park our car right next to the tent.

The views are incredible, right across the peninsula and over to Snowdonia and the sunsets were breathtaking. Just perfect to sit out in the evening and enjoy supper lapping up the vista, whist hearing the sheep and cattle settling down for the night.

A short walk to the toilet block - the best showers on a campsite, that we've found ( power shower and really hot water), all at no extra charge. Spacious family shower rooms with chair and hooks to hang your clothes and towels and even liquid soap and hand towels if you've just popped down to wash your hands.

Two clean washing up areas with detergent and sponges! Fridge and washing machine and drier.

The whole site was relaxed and quiet, although on a working farm, the hosts are so welcoming and accommodating that nothing is an issue. The charge per night was excellent value.

The drive is great up to the farm but use the route they describe from Llanfair as the other two roads are very narrow and steep and we got stuck behind a herd of cows and had to reverse for quite a distance.

There is a small Spar shop in Harlech, open until 8 pm and two take aways (Chinese and Indian)but no pub - the next town has the Victoria Inn pub which has good food. More shops in Porthmadog, with a large Tesco and even a Millets superstore!

Lots to do in the area - castles, Portmeirion, Snowdon, beaches, Ffestiniog, walking, caves - just fabulous, a real variety for all weather conditions!

We highly recommend this site and this area.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bernard51 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent 2 wonderful weeks on this beautiful site with outstanding views. Lizzie and Brynn could not be more helpful and welcoming. The weather was fortunately hot and sunny as the site is a little exposed. The facilities were excellent for campers and caravanners alike.

The approach is a little daunting for towing a caravan. However Lizzie or Brynn kindly offer an escort as there are limited passing places. But donít be put off as the views are worth it !

Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019