Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 8th May Until 20th September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 112 Reviews
                10/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mandy P 1 review from this member

 Stayed 3 nights at this fantastic campsite with the best views of Snowdonia and Llyn. Owners really helpful and friendly.

Rarely go anywhere twice, but we will revisited this site.

Mandy and Will 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 12 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, working farm campsite, with fabulous views, and a relaxed atmosphere.

I must have met 3 different people whilst there, all of whom were really friendly.

I shall definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Georgiegirl104 20 reviews from this member

 The site it excellent, with great toilet/shower block as well as fridge/freezers and washing machine/tumble dryer facilities. There are plenty of activities in the surrounding area.

Unfortunately, it is subject to disruption in very windy conditions, and our tent was just not up to the 45 mph winds we encountered there. This, sadly, halved our holiday duration from 6 nights to only 3.

We don't normally go back to the same site twice, however we would definitely return to this site again, but hopefully with less windy weather!

We also recommend the fish and chip shop in Harlech (opposite the short-stay car park). 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MikeandSam 20 reviews from this member

 Such a lovely site we would recommend it if you are planning a visit to this area.

We had lots of good information before we arrived and clear instructions about payment - and the all important route to the site information. Ignore this at your peril.

This is a large site with generous pitches. One amenities block with 5 individual toilet/wash basin cubicles, two shower rooms and 2 family shower rooms with loos.

A bit of queueing at peak times (!) but nothing unreasonable. Plenty of free hot water and the shower rooms are nice and big with ample hooks and a stool so there is none of that nonsense with your stuff being wet from the shower. Nice strong water pressure too.

The utility area has fridge freezers and laundry facilities and two sinks for washing up. Everything is well maintained and kept nice and clean throughout the day.

Pitches are flat, a bit stony; but given the terrain, that's expected too, so don't expect every peg to go in first time. Even after heavy rain the site drains well so you shouldn't get stuck in the mud.

The views are extensive over Cardigan Bay and across the estuary towards Porthmadog, Port Meirion and up into the Snowdon range as well as out along the Llyn Peninsula. This is where the site is a real winner.

Plenty to see and do from here. The beaches at Harlech are magnificent. Fish and ships and cafes in the village (no late opening). Supermarkets and a bigger selection of shops in Porthmadog.

Bryn and Lizzie run a friendly campsite, are really welcoming and show great consideration for the comfort and welfare of the campers here. A weather forecast warning was posted by them on the utility room notice board because of their worries about the tents in high winds and rain - and with this storm predicted for the weekend at the end of our stay we had to cut short the trip.

No playground here for children but it's a nice safe site for them to explore a bit and no traffic apart form campers coming and going. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Purplecampervan 3 reviews from this member

 We really loved this place - the view alone is worth a million dollars! Farm site, Lizzie and Bryn very friendly and welcoming.

Bryn even gave us a lift down to Harlech one day, and we walked back up. NB do follow their instructions about how to get there - the direct road from the centre of Harlech is indeed very steep, narrow and winding!

Fields slope a bit but not too bad, facilities basic but good (showers excellent) plenty of electric hookups if required. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SamandRose 24 reviews from this member

 Let's get one thing out of the way first of all. If you're the sort of person who likes their sites to be easily accessible (and I'm thinking specifically about the lady who complained that a positive review I wrote just over a year ago about the Dorset Hideaway near Bridport, which failed to mention that access was via about four miles of narrow - though not single-track - lanes), you're not going to like Merthyr Farm much either.

Because to reach it - even if you follow the directions that the site owners give you - involves a drive uphill and along about 2. 5 miles of single-track roads. So you should look instead at one of the many other sites in the area that have easier access.

It's your loss. Because the access route is manageable and used daily by tractors, trailers and milk tankers (though you should absolutely not attempt either of the two other routes in anything larger than a small campervan). And once you have arrived on site, just stop and let that view sink in. It's almost a 180-degree panorama from Harlech Castle towards the south-west, to Porthmadog and the Lleyn Peninsula to the north. It's spectacular.

Don't think though that because the site is on a hillside and within a working farm, it's a bit like wild camping. 12 of the 24 pitches have 16A hook-up. There are toilets and showers with high pressure hot water and the sinks have hand soap and towels. There is a utility room with sinks, a fridge-freezer and a coin-operated washing machine and tumble dryer. Plus some picnic tables so you can sit and admire the view at mealtimes (and you should).

There are, however a couple of improvements that could be made. It's a shame that there's no wifi - I realise that having access from every pitch might be excessive and expensive, but a signal in the utility room would be nice. And it would also be useful to have a list of nearby attractions, shops and places to eat.

Of which there are many. Within about half an hour's drive are the beaches at Harlech and Llanfair (both are beautiful), Harlech Castle (a must-see), Portmeirion, the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways and Barmouth (which has another lovely beach). Snowdon is about an hour's drive. The food at the Castle Bistro in Harlech is only average but the restaurant at the Hafan Artro hotel in Llanbedr (the next village) is just lovely.

Just don't spend so much time away from the site that you miss a sunset. Because that's a heavenly experience that you really will remember for a long time.

Thank you Lizzie and Bryn. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 85 reviews from this member

 Stunning, is the best word to describe the location and views from this site. Most of the time we simply sat looking out over Tremadog Bay.

The drive up was interesting and even more so down the farm track itself. Thankfully they'd had dry weather for a week or so which allowed us to manage on the grass pitches. Although the two fields are very sloping, they've graded the pitches fairly level.

The on site facilities were fine, with two family-friendly shower rooms and we only had to queue once for the loos, which were kept spotlessly clean. It looks like they'll be upgrading the block too over the winter season.

A nice touch is the picnic area they've created beyond the stone walls to take advantage of the terrific views.

We cycled up to Cwm Bychan and walked up to the Roman Steps and it's one of the nicest routes we've ever done.

It's a shame we had to leave! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LucySky 13 reviews from this member

 This is the most beautiful campsite we visited on our bike tour through England and Wales! It was even worth cycling up the hill.

It is a farm campsite with stunning views, the most beautiful surroundings you could imagine and lovely owners.

The showers are hot and free, the toilets very clean.

All in all, we would immediately return! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frozer 5 reviews from this member

 What a find! Such a lovely welcome, even an offer of help to set up (in very inclement conditions).

This is a farm site, with powerful, hot, and free showers, flat well kept pitches for tents, several fields to choose from and explore. The views - oh the views! Even the children were captivated, trying to spot where they'd visited, which beach they'd been to, and where they'd like to explore.

Booking was reassuringly simple and friendly, the facilities really are ideal for families, with large family shower rooms, and clean washing up facilities. These are housed in an old building, and Lizzie and Bryn are planning more showers / loos / sinks. While they aren't state of the art, they are cleaned regularly, and fit well with the warm welcoming ambiance of the farm. We didn't need to queue to use anything.

The beach at the bottom of the hill is ideal for families and is clean and dog friendly. One last thing - take notice of the instructions of how to get to the farm - We had to help a motorhome who was wedged between two drystone walls on the tiny lane down into Harlech - This is one time to follow the rules and not go exploring!

Thank you Merthyr Farm Team for making our few days so relaxed - we will be back 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alisonfbreeze 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location up above Harlech with stunning views towards the Lleyn Peninsula. Incredibly peaceful.

Personable owners who check site and facilities regularly.

Nice flat pitches. Plenty of space.

Good clean facilities. Only negative. 4loos/3 showers for 24 pitches. May be a queue.

Great area for exploring - local walks Portmeirion, Harlech, Barmouth.

Would I come back. YES! 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1778 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement