Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 8th May Until 20th September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 112 Reviews
                10/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rachelmiriam 5 reviews from this member

 This site must surely have one of the best views of any campsite anywhere. Every sunset was different, yet equally spectacular. Loved watching the clouds brooding over the mountains, and the fingers of sunshine prodding the estuary sands. We had two days in a cloud, though- no views then!- and the pay-off for wonderful views is of course lots of wind. But, so very worth it.

Bryn and Lizzie who run the campsite and the farm are friendly, helpful, and work very hard.

We were in a field with some electric hook ups, and some pitches without. I think our field definitely had the best views (plus a stone table in one corner which was a magnet for all the children, who had a fabulous time playing there, and just over the stone wall damming a little stream). Although the field was slightly sloping, the pitches were terraced which we really appreciated, given that we camp in an ancient temperamental folding caravan who sulks if the ground isn't level.

Shower rooms are large and clean, with plenty of hot water. There's one sink for washing up, but it's a pleasure to wait with a view like that to look out over. There's a fridge/freezer, and a washing machine and tumble drier.

Lots to do in the local area- amazing beaches, castles, waterfalls. We walked across to an island at low tide which was exciting (though in torrential rain rather wet!). 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SneekyPeeps 15 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site in appalling weather and were very aware that there is only one way into the site if you are towing. We followed the instructions to the letter and arrived without any problems (although it was a little worrying that halfway up to the farm, a man driving the other way wound his window down and asked us where did we think we were going with that on the back ! He said that we would never get round the hairpin bends ! As it turned out the bends were beyond Merthyr thankfully !. You must follow the instructions if you are towing.

The site itself is basic, a proper farm, but the facilities were more than adequate. The washing machine was playing up as we found out when we used it, it went on forever, much longer than it should have, and someone mentioned that the tumble drier was expensive for just 20 minutes. However you have all the facilities that you would need.

The views are absolutely spectacular, I have never experienced views like it, fantastic. Harlech is approx 2 miles away, so if you fancy a drink or need the shops you will need to use the car, you could walk but a round trip would be nearly 5 miles.

This site is very good, views to die for, adequate facilities, pleasant hosts, no play area for children but they seemed quite happy playing with their bikes and balls etc. The field is sloping, but some pitches have been terraced so ok.

I can see why everyone loves this site but we personally found it a little too far out from Harlech (which is a lovely little town). Although I suppose it has to be to accommodate such beautiful high views. We will not be returning to this site. But as I said before I can see why everyone especially with children love it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Phil-Lizzie 1 review from this member

 Well…. Where to begin! This is a fabulous family run campsite/farm in Harlech with outstanding views from every pitch with plenty of room.

On arrival we were greeted and helped by the owners. This was great help to get some quick advice on the area and the places not to be missed (invaluable advice on a short stay) and on that note the ice cream shop was out of this world!

The facilities were very well maintained and regularly cleaned

As someone else has commented, there are 3 routes to the site and the given instructions are important! I ignorantly went the satnav route and could have easily got myself in trouble if I had, had a bigger camper. I went home the instructed way with no problems at all.

Thanks again guys and we will see you again soon :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AdmWlr 7 reviews from this member

 We spent one night here, although intended to stay two - unfortunately the gale force wind defeated our tent so we had to pack up and go home. I would echo everyone else's comments, the site is basic but in a beautiful setting and the facilities are clean and well cared for. Owners (and their dog Moss!) make you feel very welcome and it was quite entertaining for my daughter to be camping on a working farm. I would also agree that hard ground pegs might be useful and keep an eye on the wind forecast because it is quite exposed at the site.

In terms of the surrounding area, the beaches are fantastic and unspoilt. It's a ten minute drive to Harlech which has sufficient shops, castle and a swimming pool. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckaward 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic 5 night stay at this campsite.

We were in the non-electric tent field - amazing views and sunsets.

The facilities were lovely and clean - 2 family shower cubicles with large shower, wc and basin. And then a couple of other toilets and a single shower. We never had to queue and lots of hot water!

Wash up sink and also fridge and freezer which are free for campers to use- great for changing ice packs.

There's no children's play area, but you don't need one - the kids were off making friends and meeting and feeding the chickens and pigs! Had some very fresh poached eggs for breakfast!

Owners very friendly and pretty laid back - they printed off a weather forecast for us midweek.

Amazing quiet farm site with clean facilities and the most beautiful views - what more could you want for £20 a night! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisisboss 2 reviews from this member

 Am writing this as we are on the camping field. This site is great. From the spectacular views of the sea and estuary, to the rolling hill fog and windy gusts. This is a great location. The site is very clean and very well kept. As well as looking after a family, running a working farm and looking after campers and there problems, lizzie was also on the mower cutting the grass yesterday. I don't know where they find the time! We are on the non electric field which has some shelter of walls and a tree line. Yesterday we had glorious sunshine all day then came the rain, strong winds and hill fog. It was spectacular! The field does not get affected.

Would fully recommend you visit.

(Just make sure you bring your hard ground pegs with you) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsE 3 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from 4 days at this site, but really wish we could have stayed longer! The views across the bay were amazing and the pictures on the site really don't do the real thing justice!

The site is well maintained. The showers are lovely and hot, even after a few minibus loads of DofE campers took over! And the shower blocks are always clean and well stocked with loo roll! Just don't make the mistake I did of going to the loo in the middle of the night without shoes and the drive has stones on it! Ouch!

Plenty of electric hook ups and level ground to be able to pitch tents.

My 2 year old daughter loved all the animals roaming around freely and it was quite amusing one morning when we left for a day trip to come face to face with a huge black cow stood in the gateway!

If you are looking at staying here make sure that you ok low the directions from the website as it can be a bit tricky going up two of the three roads.

Normally we tend not to return to a campsite but this is one we will be visiting again. Good blue for money and the perfect spot for a bit of peace and quiet. Loved every moment! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerjemma 4 reviews from this member

 We booked to stay at this site based on the reviews on here, and we weren't disappointed!

Lovely site, easy to find (following the directions on their website), good proximity to Harlech and the lovely beach there, and not far from other popular locations in the area.

We were welcomed by the owner and the dogs, told where to pitch and left alone! Just how we like it! We pitched on the top field and the views are unbelievable! Was fantastic to wake up to in the morning! The pitches have been levelled out by the owners so they are nice and flat which always helps. One thing I will say is the ground is very stony so take a good mallet with you for pegs!

The facilities are basic (toilets, showers, freezer for ice blocks and washer/dryer if required for a charge) The freezer is free to use, which is always a bonus in my eyes, and the toilets and showers were nice and clean!

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return and recommend this site! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heynonnynonny 2 reviews from this member

 We booked up for Merthyr for 3 nights on the basis of reviews from this site hence returning the favour, ended up coming back the last night due to the tiny tent, poor weather and being 4. 5 months pregnant my back had give up ha ha.

Access was great - the instructions were helpful so we set the sat nav to Llanfair from Stoke as instructed then popped up the thinnish but very well maintained road to the farm, it was fantastic to get to and coped even in the all day heavy rain! Getting to the fields was easy and simple and the site was lovely and well maintained. We were greeted by the hens and then the 2 lovely farmdogs on the working farm.

The camping fields are spacious with lovely thick green grass, the odd sheep pottering around as well.

Did anyone else mention the panoramic view of Snowdon, Harlech beach and the sea, it really is out of this world and the campsite has a really enviable spot overlooking all of this! Don't take our word for it go and see it for yourself you will be gobsmacked.

The facilities were exactly as advertised, a clean outside building housed great clean very hot showers and loos, fridge, freezer, and a washer and tumbler for small charge, power points, washing up facilities with towels, sponges etc, we've been to sites where this is advertised and there isn't even running water for dishes so this was fantastic.

Really couldn't want for a better site it's got everything and is truly idyllic. Great value for money and will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hall68 9 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 5 nights at this lovely site on a working farm. Lizzie and Bryn who run the farm and site are very friendly and always stop for a chat. You can buy fresh free range eggs from the farm which are really nice. Barbecues and Fire Pits are allowed.

There a 2 camping fields. The first one is all EHU and the other one is both non EHU and EHU. They also have another non EHU field at the back which they open when they are busy. They have 2 family bathrooms which are both very large with shower, sink and toilet in each. There are also 2 additional toilets and a smaller shower room. At the back of the block there is a washing up sink and fridge freezer. A washing machine and tumble dryer are also available for a small cost. Towels, soap, washing up liquid etc are also provided.

The site is up a narrow road from Llanfair (some passing places) and is really in the middle of nowhere. The views from the site are amazing.

If you are looking for a very peaceful site with great views then this site is perfect. We paid £16. 00 per night for 2 adults in a tent with EHU in low season. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2905 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December