Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 EHU pitches, 20 Non-electric
Open: 17/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 20/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 124 Reviews
                10/10 from 124 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frozer 5 reviews from this member

 What a find! Such a lovely welcome, even an offer of help to set up (in very inclement conditions).

This is a farm site, with powerful, hot, and free showers, flat well kept pitches for tents, several fields to choose from and explore. The views - oh the views! Even the children were captivated, trying to spot where they'd visited, which beach they'd been to, and where they'd like to explore.

Booking was reassuringly simple and friendly, the facilities really are ideal for families, with large family shower rooms, and clean washing up facilities. These are housed in an old building, and Lizzie and Bryn are planning more showers / loos / sinks. While they aren't state of the art, they are cleaned regularly, and fit well with the warm welcoming ambiance of the farm. We didn't need to queue to use anything.

The beach at the bottom of the hill is ideal for families and is clean and dog friendly. One last thing - take notice of the instructions of how to get to the farm - We had to help a motorhome who was wedged between two drystone walls on the tiny lane down into Harlech - This is one time to follow the rules and not go exploring!

Thank you Merthyr Farm Team for making our few days so relaxed - we will be back 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alisonfbreeze 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location up above Harlech with stunning views towards the Lleyn Peninsula. Incredibly peaceful.

Personable owners who check site and facilities regularly.

Nice flat pitches. Plenty of space.

Good clean facilities. Only negative. 4loos/3 showers for 24 pitches. May be a queue.

Great area for exploring - local walks Portmeirion, Harlech, Barmouth.

Would I come back. YES! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 47 reviews from this member

 Loved It Loved It Loved It. Views and Sunsets to die for. You need to have everything with you if in Motorhome as nowhere near to replenish provisions and taking van offsite not easy. Lovely spacious site great facilities. We enjoyed the walk to Harlech but it's not for the infirm. Would stay again and recommend 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nick56 8 reviews from this member

 Blessed with gorgeous weather this has to be one of the nicest sites with the most beautiful views we have ever stayed on. You are high up and it is possible you may have your head in the clouds at some point. The facilities have been described by others and I agree they are just what you need, clean and tidy regardless of tent, caravan or motorhome. It is dog friendly which is more than can be said for a few people on the site! It is a working farm and some sheep may well have access to the pitches along with the owners dogs, on a few occasions our dogs were joined for lunch by the owners old dog 'not a problem'. The route to the site is well described on the Website, use the other routes at your peril. The local beaches are dog friendly and very big, they are also very shallow and rock pools can be found on them so great for the kids young and old. We will most certainly be returning this summer if we get the opportunity. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hilly V 5 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from a week's camping at Merthyr Farm. Normally we'd travel to two or three campsites over the week but it was so lovely here that we decided to stay the whole week!

We pitched our tent in the top field on a great, flat pitch and could park our car right next to the tent.

The views are incredible, right across the peninsula and over to Snowdonia and the sunsets were breathtaking. Just perfect to sit out in the evening and enjoy supper lapping up the vista, whist hearing the sheep and cattle settling down for the night.

A short walk to the toilet block - the best showers on a campsite, that we've found ( power shower and really hot water), all at no extra charge. Spacious family shower rooms with chair and hooks to hang your clothes and towels and even liquid soap and hand towels if you've just popped down to wash your hands.

Two clean washing up areas with detergent and sponges! Fridge and washing machine and drier.

The whole site was relaxed and quiet, although on a working farm, the hosts are so welcoming and accommodating that nothing is an issue. The charge per night was excellent value.

The drive is great up to the farm but use the route they describe from Llanfair as the other two roads are very narrow and steep and we got stuck behind a herd of cows and had to reverse for quite a distance.

There is a small Spar shop in Harlech, open until 8 pm and two take aways (Chinese and Indian)but no pub - the next town has the Victoria Inn pub which has good food. More shops in Porthmadog, with a large Tesco and even a Millets superstore!

Lots to do in the area - castles, Portmeirion, Snowdon, beaches, Ffestiniog, walking, caves - just fabulous, a real variety for all weather conditions!

We highly recommend this site and this area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bernard51 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 2 wonderful weeks on this beautiful site with outstanding views. Lizzie and Brynn could not be more helpful and welcoming. The weather was fortunately hot and sunny as the site is a little exposed. The facilities were excellent for campers and caravanners alike.

The approach is a little daunting for towing a caravan. However Lizzie or Brynn kindly offer an escort as there are limited passing places. But donít be put off as the views are worth it ! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alimaggs 3 reviews from this member

 Wow, what views! Fantastic outlook a panoramic view over the Llyn Peninsula and Snowdonia. The sunsets were amazing.

The road leading to the campsite is mostly single track, 2 miles up hill from the main road, into the mountains. A lovely friendly welcome from the owners, lots of advice for walking routes. A suggestion is to request a flat pitch and ask it be reserved for you. Two fields with electric, one without. Picnic area with benches and stunning view. Clean showers, toilets and washing up area. Fridge & freezer for campers use and laundry facilities.

We walked into Harlech downhill and across fields, the walk back is steep, took us just over the hour.

Unfortunately the nearest pub has closed down. There are a few in the lower part of the village. Harlech is quaint and quiet.

The campsite is isolated in a rural setting. Good 4g signal. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MaryBoullier 1 review from this member

 An absolutely wonderful campsite. I can't imagine a place with a better view - it is breathtaking. Great facilities as well. The showers are really really powerful and it's nice having the family shower rooms with plenty of space, also very clean. The picnic area was a lovely spot to eat dinner. I only wish we could have stayed longer - we were doing a cycle ride for charity and so could only stay one night. If we had the time we could have stayed for weeks! Thank you to Bryn and Lizzie for their generosity towards our charity ride. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobmsmart 5 reviews from this member

 This is an exceptional site. We had the very Best of weather to complement the outstanding views. Even in June not over busy but what a place.

Grass pitches but doubt they get waterlogged.

Great owners both very helpful but they leave you alone. Facilities are rustic from the outside but outstanding on the inside. Clean. Regularly checked and spacious. Showers are unbeatable. Very impressive.

The location is high on the escarpment overlooking Harlech and the estuary. Scenic doesn't do it justice. And the sunsets are to die for. There is a magnificent viewing platform on site.

This is one of our favourite stops on our UK and Ireland tour. And we will definitely be back in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dan.tee 2 reviews from this member

 We've camped in plenty of UK sites over the years and I can happily say this is the best yet - hands down, no argument. So what's so great about it? Well, my criteria are simple - there's gotta be good, free showers. There's gotta be silence in the night. And there's gotta be ground you can actually get a peg into. Merthyr Farm has a tick in every box. The showers are amazing - hot and high pressure and free. There were only other families camping when we did, and the noise at night from about 10. 30pm was zip - nada. The pitches are mostly level (ish - but we have a trailer tent so we don't really care) and soft enough to easily take a peg.

But that's not all Merthyr has. Situated as it is, overlooking the Afon Dwyryd valley, the wonderful owners have actually built a view point, complete with tables and benches so you can have your tea in comfort as the sun dips below the horizon. It's just stunning - you can see Portmeirion and Harlech Castle.

The nearby beaches are fabulous - there really is nothing negative about this site, and if we're not camping there again next spring half-term, I'd be very surprised indeed. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3168 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement