Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Merthyr Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 2019 Season- 24th May Until 15th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 107 Reviews
                10/10 from 107 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bdavidson 1 review from this member

All the positive comments of previous reviews are absolutely true and this is a campsite that is hard to beat.

The views are spectacular, overlooking the sea and towards the Llyn peninsula and Snowdon. Bryn and Lizzie are welcoming and friendly hosts.

The facilities are kept clean to a high standard. There is a fridge and freezer and washing and drying machine. Extra items, not usually found, such as tea towels make everything easier. The two family shower rooms are useful. Lizzie insisted on clearing up when we created a flood by mis using one of the washing machines. There was no fuss and Bryn and Lizzie are both good at making molehills out of mountains.

We enjoyed the walk across the fields to Harlech. It took us almost an hour, but that was because we stopped to eat blackberries and take photos. Pacing it out would be thirty minutes. Bryn gave clear directions and gave us a lift back when he happened to drive past up the hill. Very welcome, as we were exhausted after an afternoon in the sea.

We stayed during a rough patch of weather, with strong winds, so we'd recommend pitching your tent well. Extra pegs and guy ropes. There are pitches sheltered by trees and stone walls, and despite it being the worst week of a poor August, the tent was fine. In this part of the world the weather moves quickly, so the sun was out much of the time as well.

The site is spacious, so that tents are around the edges of the fields, rather than lined up in rows, like the tent towns of some sites.

The area has a lot to do - visits to Snowdon, Harlech Castle Portmeirion, Caernarvon Castle, local walks and the sea. There's no shortage of good pubs, cafes and restaurants in Harlech and along the coast. Equally, time spent in the campsite can be relaxing, just looking at the views.

Being a small site, with sociable owners, there is friendly atmosphere, so that, as well as it being a good site for families, walkers in small groups or alone would find it an enjoyable place to stay.

All in all a great find, and we will definitely be returning. Ten out of ten for every aspect.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Meggy90 1 review from this member

We stayed for two nights at Merthyr Farm. Friendly owners, well kept facilities and the most amazing views. Nearby Harlech village has newsagents and local shops. Definitely a hidden gem. Will hopefully be back very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nikki am 1 review from this member

I have been caravanning and camping with my family for the past 25 years and have gone over to the continent as well as North and South of the UK. This site is absolutely amazing. The views simply take your breath away as you approach the site and then even more when you are choosing your pitch.

Both Lizzie and Bryn go out of their way to make you feel settled and happy from the point of arrival to departure.

There is so much to do in the surrounding area.

The sunsets are amazing and on a clear day you can see for miles 360 degrees.

The site is really clean and there are lots of nice touches such as t towels for drying up - soap and clean towels each day in the toilets.

The site is very quiet and has everything you need for a quiet relaxing break. We will definitely be returning again.

A real gem of a camp site - the only disappointing thing is we didn't discover this site years ago !

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ayersby 1 review from this member

Family run, family friendly campsite. Quiet, clean, space to run around and views are amazing. This is 'probably' the best campsite to view the best of Snowdonia. The coastline, 2 castles and mountains galore. The sunsets and the stars. We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickpin 1 review from this member

This site enjoys a fantastic hilltop location with stunning panoramic views. Facilities are good, very well kept and the owners are really helpful and very welcoming. Fees are per person and very good value. Access with a caravan is challenging but fine as long as directions on the website are followed. It is well worth a visit!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eckythump 9 reviews from this member

An amazing campsite with beautiful views across to Pwillheli, Porthmadog and out to sea. It is a working farm with large vehicles moving around (always carefully). We were on a top field and had views behind of the hills. Plenty of footpaths around.

The site itself does not have set pitches and some of the fields are gently sloping in places.

The facilities were always clean and the water hot.

Bryn and Lizzie are around if there is a problem, they were always chatty when we met them, but other than that left us alone.

We will definitely be back in 2018.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HCMorris 1 review from this member

I've just returned home after spending three nights at this fantastic site. I will most definitely be returning. The views are absolutely stunning and the site is well cared for. The facilities are kept spotlessly clean by the family who own this campsite and the working farm on which it is situated. This site represents brilliant value for money - there are lots of extras included in the very modest pitch fees. For example, there is handwash and towels in the toilets, and washing up liquid, scourers and tea towels are provided, along with a freezer for ice packs and fridge. The washing machine and tumble dryer are coin operated based on length of cycle, which are both very reasonable to use. And there is plentiful hot water and the showers are free. A little gem of a site owned by a friendly family.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Boxervan 10 reviews from this member

The perfect site?

Great views. Quiet site. Good, clean facilities (quite new). Friendly, helpful owners.

Road to the site is single track in places. Make sure you follow their direction to get to the site, other routes are a LOT harder!

This is a high level site facing the sea, so weather may have an impact (especially high wind). On one day the site was damp and in cloud, but a trip to Harlech was dry.

Definitely one to return to!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poppysock 1 review from this member

We wanted a week of peace and quiet and we were not disappointed!

Stunning views, good, clean facilities and great hosts.

One of the best holidays we have had!

We will definitely come again. Thank you

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daphnjim 6 reviews from this member

This campsite really is heaven yes it's a bit tricky to get to but if you follow directions on the website you'll be fine we managed it with a twin axel caravan and it's more than worth it for the view and for the warm welcome from Bryn Lizzie and their lovely family not forgetting Moss the sheepdog. The ice cream shop /bakers in Harlech sell yummy icecream and great bread and cakes. Lots to do in the area. The west highland rail trip takes in fabulous scenery and is well worth the money. However the trip up Snowdon was a little disappointing make sure you book in advance so you don't have a wasted journey. We were sad to leave Merthyr Farm and would stay here again if we return to North Wales. Thanks Bryn & Lizzie we really enjoyed our stay Lovely lovely lovely we'd give it 20 if we could

Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2655 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016