Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Merthyr Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 2019 Season- 24th May Until 15th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 108 Reviews
                10/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindsayjj 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay. This site had the most stunning views and is really peaceful and relaxing.

The owners are friendly and helpful. Our 5 year old daughter loved walking through the fields with the sheep, cows, chickens and ducks.

The roads to get to the site are narrow and the sat nav took us the back route on the way there which was interesting! The owners are happy for you to call ahead and will give you the best route avoiding the tricky roads.

The toilets and showers were clean. We had no complaints at all during our stay. We only have positive things to say!

Overall we would highly recommend this site and we look forward to returning soon!

Thankyou!

Lindsay, Steve & Isabelle Johnson

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JanPas 2 reviews from this member

What a gem. This campsite is well out of the way from the crowds, 3 miles out of Harlech, perched on top of the hill overlooking the coast and estuary. The views are stunning and for a complete 360 degree view there's a short climb to the top of the hill nearby. The facilities at the camp site are excellent. The hard-working farmer and his family keep the showers and little kitchen spotless. The showers are mini wash rooms with the best showers, with hot water, hand soap and towels provided. Perfect for getting the kids showered after a full day out. The fridge/freezer was very useful. There was a washer and drier but we didn't need it. There's loads of hookup if required and a separate field for those who don't need electricity. There's loads of space for the kids to let off steam. Over all I really like this camp site and hope to return some time.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neverendinglove 1 review from this member

Just spent the most wonderful few days here with my husband. We originally planned to stay for one night then move on but it was so special we stayed for three.

What struck us initially was the wonderful views over Portmerion and down into the nearby coastal town of Harlech. They really are spectacular.

The site itself is really lovely. It's peaceful and relaxing. The facilities are ample for the size of site and kept clean and we'll looked after. There was plenty of hot water and no charge for showers. It was fantastic to have a fridge in which to keep our perishables.

The owners were friendly but unintrusive.

We had a wonderful walk through fields and woodland to Harlech. Be warned its hard work but we'll worth it if you're relatively fit. The dunes and golden sandy beach at Harlech are well worth a visit.

All in all a memorable visit and we will definitely come again!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bull1270 1 review from this member

Just stayed for 1 week at Merthyr Farm

Clean facilities plenty of hot water and showers, busy site all week but no queues.

Lots of friendly campers and caravanners.

Views are stunning and it's worth the twenty minute walk to the top of the Bridge to get a 360 view of the whole area.

Lizzie and Bryn always on hand for advice and Tescos delivers to site if required.

This is our 4th visit and we will return.

Lots to do in the surrounding area and places to visit, great base to holiday from.

Follow the instructions to access the site if towing and there's no problems.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kenb 2 reviews from this member

This place feels like a real campsite. It is just a campsite with no fairgrounds or Olympic sized swimming pools and 5000 rules.

We stayed for one night on a cycle trip. I wished we had stayed more.

Harlech Castle and shops are a short drive away and the site is close to the beaches and mountains of North Wales, Portmeirion and the Welsh Highland Railway. In my opinion this is one of the finest tourist areas in the country.

The showers and sinks worked well, and the owners were ever so helpful and friendly.

The views from the campsite are tremendous as it is quite high up. I can testify to this having climbed as part of the Lon Las Cymru cycle route.

In short - this place is wonderful.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rach73 5 reviews from this member

Spent 2 weeks at Merthyr Farm. I can only say good things about the site. The owners are very friendly and great hosts. The views are to die for and the site is very quiet with very clean adequate facilities. We ventured out on some fantastic walks with great views in all directions; all around merthyr farm. A choice of good beaches close by and not over crowded. A great base to explore Wales in all directions. Will visit again but we may not put the awning up as the winds and storm did defeat us (broken poles) but what can you expect with the location!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachelmiriam 5 reviews from this member

This site must surely have one of the best views of any campsite anywhere. Every sunset was different, yet equally spectacular. Loved watching the clouds brooding over the mountains, and the fingers of sunshine prodding the estuary sands. We had two days in a cloud, though- no views then!- and the pay-off for wonderful views is of course lots of wind. But, so very worth it.

Bryn and Lizzie who run the campsite and the farm are friendly, helpful, and work very hard.

We were in a field with some electric hook ups, and some pitches without. I think our field definitely had the best views (plus a stone table in one corner which was a magnet for all the children, who had a fabulous time playing there, and just over the stone wall damming a little stream). Although the field was slightly sloping, the pitches were terraced which we really appreciated, given that we camp in an ancient temperamental folding caravan who sulks if the ground isn't level.

Shower rooms are large and clean, with plenty of hot water. There's one sink for washing up, but it's a pleasure to wait with a view like that to look out over. There's a fridge/freezer, and a washing machine and tumble drier.

Lots to do in the local area- amazing beaches, castles, waterfalls. We walked across to an island at low tide which was exciting (though in torrential rain rather wet!).

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SneekyPeeps 15 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site in appalling weather and were very aware that there is only one way into the site if you are towing. We followed the instructions to the letter and arrived without any problems (although it was a little worrying that halfway up to the farm, a man driving the other way wound his window down and asked us where did we think we were going with that on the back ! He said that we would never get round the hairpin bends ! As it turned out the bends were beyond Merthyr thankfully !. You must follow the instructions if you are towing.

The site itself is basic, a proper farm, but the facilities were more than adequate. The washing machine was playing up as we found out when we used it, it went on forever, much longer than it should have, and someone mentioned that the tumble drier was expensive for just 20 minutes. However you have all the facilities that you would need.

The views are absolutely spectacular, I have never experienced views like it, fantastic. Harlech is approx 2 miles away, so if you fancy a drink or need the shops you will need to use the car, you could walk but a round trip would be nearly 5 miles.

This site is very good, views to die for, adequate facilities, pleasant hosts, no play area for children but they seemed quite happy playing with their bikes and balls etc. The field is sloping, but some pitches have been terraced so ok.

I can see why everyone loves this site but we personally found it a little too far out from Harlech (which is a lovely little town). Although I suppose it has to be to accommodate such beautiful high views. We will not be returning to this site. But as I said before I can see why everyone especially with children love it.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil-Lizzie 1 review from this member

Well…. Where to begin! This is a fabulous family run campsite/farm in Harlech with outstanding views from every pitch with plenty of room.

On arrival we were greeted and helped by the owners. This was great help to get some quick advice on the area and the places not to be missed (invaluable advice on a short stay) and on that note the ice cream shop was out of this world!

The facilities were very well maintained and regularly cleaned

As someone else has commented, there are 3 routes to the site and the given instructions are important! I ignorantly went the satnav route and could have easily got myself in trouble if I had, had a bigger camper. I went home the instructed way with no problems at all.

Thanks again guys and we will see you again soon :-)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AdmWlr 7 reviews from this member

We spent one night here, although intended to stay two - unfortunately the gale force wind defeated our tent so we had to pack up and go home. I would echo everyone else's comments, the site is basic but in a beautiful setting and the facilities are clean and well cared for. Owners (and their dog Moss!) make you feel very welcome and it was quite entertaining for my daughter to be camping on a working farm. I would also agree that hard ground pegs might be useful and keep an eye on the wind forecast because it is quite exposed at the site.

In terms of the surrounding area, the beaches are fantastic and unspoilt. It's a ten minute drive to Harlech which has sufficient shops, castle and a swimming pool.

Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3183 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019