Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 EHU pitches, 20 Non-electric
Open: 17/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 20/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 124 Reviews
                10/10 from 124 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marciemoo 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Merthyr during the time of the last two reviews & are both wondering if we were on the same site & planet as Mr. Berberen! First & foremost you must understand that Merthyr is a working Welsh Hill Farm run by a young couple with young children & it is a total privilege to be allowed to stay in their home which you must respect. Yes there is sheep poo & yes, animals do die in strange places on rare occasions - it's a family farm!. If you want underfloor central heating & manicured pitches go to an Adults Only Caravan Club Site & pay for it Mr. Berberen. The toilet block is one of the best. The power shower in the 'family shower' is better than the one at home! The towels are changed three times a day & we met Mrs. Roberts in there at 11.30pm one night cleaning ready for the next day. We have stayed at Merthyr in the past and it can get very busy at times. The majority of the campers have been coming for years & families with children are always welcomed by the Roberts' whose own two delightful young children enjoy meeting & playing with. There is a 10pm curfew on noise clearly stated on the noticeboard in the toilet block. We don't think Mr. Berberen read this either. Perhaps the lack of sleep he had clouded his judgement! And we didn't complain about him! Nevertheless we had a brilliant time, lovely weather and views to absolutely die for. Walking down to Harlech over the hills was a great experience & we can only say a big 'Thank You' to Merthyr for a holiday we won't forget for all the right reasons.  


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucky Dip 1 review from this member

 An amazing site, really welcoming owners, views are just the best. Sea views, mountains, fields, fresh air. We have visited here for many years. By far our favourite site ever. JJ, RJ and Buddy Dog. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JennyandHuw 1 review from this member

 We have just spent 3 nights at Merthyr Farm at the same time as Ricky Berberan, and simply cannot believe he is talking about the same campsite. We found the owners Lizzie and Bryn to be helpful and always available, and the shower block is one of the best we have found on our travels. Maybe he was hallucinating re the sheep and dog in there? We did find him and his friends to be noisy and inconsiderate, with small dogs that yapped, so if they do not return I doubt anyone will mind.

The views from the campsite are fantastic, and we will visit again as soon as we can. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Debbie Randell 2 reviews from this member

 Looked great when we turned up, fantastic views. The showers could do with up grading and don't much like sharing towels so insisted on using our own.

The road going in is not good and we had trouble getting out as cows were blocking us, so I've given it 3 stars for the location. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woodje 1 review from this member

 This is a stunning campsite with amazing views of the sea and mountains of Snowdonia. The owners are helpful. Facilities are excellent (showers, washing machines, sinks, hot water, electric socket to use hair dryers). Excellent value. Its a long drive to get there down a single track lane, so probably a bit tricky with a caravan, but its worth the visit with a car and tent. Excellent. Loved it! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ricky barberan 2 reviews from this member

 The best way I can put this is it's a great shame, the location is stunning especially in the weather we've had this week as for the Campsite well where can I start? Reading the other reviews I am stunned that the actual site has been rated so highly the shower block is like something from the 1970's and I was amazed when we saw a dog and some sheep in there, towels are hung up in there and I certainly wouldn't use towels that have been shared? The owners are probably trying their best but are clearly struggling to cope. children ride their bikes in the shower block and I had my wash bag taken by them, whilst walking around the site we discovered the carcass of a sheep which was revealing it's bones so obviously had been left there for some time, the owners are so busy they don't make their selves available to you and are difficult to find, gates are left open for sheep to wander and poo attracts flies they need to either concentrate on farming or camping and either get someone in to manage the camp site or the farm so they can focus on one business and run it properly nice location but won't go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ANGELA18 8 reviews from this member

 Another visit to this lovely site, the views are amazing so much to see and the sunsets at the end of the day are amazing.

Goods walks from the site, we got a small book in Harlech, Walks Around Harlech, many of which can be started from the site. Bychan Lake is worth a visit and a walk up the Roman steps, if you have children the lake and river are a nice place to picnic and the first part of the Roman step walk will take you to a Troll bridge.

ONLY Follow the directions on the web site and not a problem for caravans. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bdavidson 1 review from this member

 All the positive comments of previous reviews are absolutely true and this is a campsite that is hard to beat.

The views are spectacular, overlooking the sea and towards the Llyn peninsula and Snowdon. Bryn and Lizzie are welcoming and friendly hosts.

The facilities are kept clean to a high standard. There is a fridge and freezer and washing and drying machine. Extra items, not usually found, such as tea towels make everything easier. The two family shower rooms are useful. Lizzie insisted on clearing up when we created a flood by mis using one of the washing machines. There was no fuss and Bryn and Lizzie are both good at making molehills out of mountains.

We enjoyed the walk across the fields to Harlech. It took us almost an hour, but that was because we stopped to eat blackberries and take photos. Pacing it out would be thirty minutes. Bryn gave clear directions and gave us a lift back when he happened to drive past up the hill. Very welcome, as we were exhausted after an afternoon in the sea.

We stayed during a rough patch of weather, with strong winds, so we'd recommend pitching your tent well. Extra pegs and guy ropes. There are pitches sheltered by trees and stone walls, and despite it being the worst week of a poor August, the tent was fine. In this part of the world the weather moves quickly, so the sun was out much of the time as well.

The site is spacious, so that tents are around the edges of the fields, rather than lined up in rows, like the tent towns of some sites.

The area has a lot to do - visits to Snowdon, Harlech Castle Portmeirion, Caernarvon Castle, local walks and the sea. There's no shortage of good pubs, cafes and restaurants in Harlech and along the coast. Equally, time spent in the campsite can be relaxing, just looking at the views.

Being a small site, with sociable owners, there is friendly atmosphere, so that, as well as it being a good site for families, walkers in small groups or alone would find it an enjoyable place to stay.

All in all a great find, and we will definitely be returning. Ten out of ten for every aspect. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meggy90 1 review from this member

 We stayed for two nights at Merthyr Farm. Friendly owners, well kept facilities and the most amazing views. Nearby Harlech village has newsagents and local shops. Definitely a hidden gem. Will hopefully be back very soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikki am 1 review from this member

 I have been caravanning and camping with my family for the past 25 years and have gone over to the continent as well as North and South of the UK. This site is absolutely amazing. The views simply take your breath away as you approach the site and then even more when you are choosing your pitch.

Both Lizzie and Bryn go out of their way to make you feel settled and happy from the point of arrival to departure.

There is so much to do in the surrounding area.

The sunsets are amazing and on a clear day you can see for miles 360 degrees.

The site is really clean and there are lots of nice touches such as t towels for drying up - soap and clean towels each day in the toilets.

The site is very quiet and has everything you need for a quiet relaxing break. We will definitely be returning again.

A real gem of a camp site - the only disappointing thing is we didn't discover this site years ago ! 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement