Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 8th May Until 20th September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 112 Reviews
                10/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eckythump 9 reviews from this member

 An amazing campsite with beautiful views across to Pwillheli, Porthmadog and out to sea. It is a working farm with large vehicles moving around (always carefully). We were on a top field and had views behind of the hills. Plenty of footpaths around.

The site itself does not have set pitches and some of the fields are gently sloping in places.

The facilities were always clean and the water hot.

Bryn and Lizzie are around if there is a problem, they were always chatty when we met them, but other than that left us alone.

We will definitely be back in 2018. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HCMorris 1 review from this member

 I've just returned home after spending three nights at this fantastic site. I will most definitely be returning. The views are absolutely stunning and the site is well cared for. The facilities are kept spotlessly clean by the family who own this campsite and the working farm on which it is situated. This site represents brilliant value for money - there are lots of extras included in the very modest pitch fees. For example, there is handwash and towels in the toilets, and washing up liquid, scourers and tea towels are provided, along with a freezer for ice packs and fridge. The washing machine and tumble dryer are coin operated based on length of cycle, which are both very reasonable to use. And there is plentiful hot water and the showers are free. A little gem of a site owned by a friendly family. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Boxervan 10 reviews from this member

 The perfect site?

Great views. Quiet site. Good, clean facilities (quite new). Friendly, helpful owners.

Road to the site is single track in places. Make sure you follow their direction to get to the site, other routes are a LOT harder!

This is a high level site facing the sea, so weather may have an impact (especially high wind). On one day the site was damp and in cloud, but a trip to Harlech was dry.

Definitely one to return to! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppysock 1 review from this member

 We wanted a week of peace and quiet and we were not disappointed!

Stunning views, good, clean facilities and great hosts.

One of the best holidays we have had!

We will definitely come again. Thank you  


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daphnjim 6 reviews from this member

 This campsite really is heaven yes it's a bit tricky to get to but if you follow directions on the website you'll be fine we managed it with a twin axel caravan and it's more than worth it for the view and for the warm welcome from Bryn Lizzie and their lovely family not forgetting Moss the sheepdog. The ice cream shop /bakers in Harlech sell yummy icecream and great bread and cakes. Lots to do in the area. The west highland rail trip takes in fabulous scenery and is well worth the money. However the trip up Snowdon was a little disappointing make sure you book in advance so you don't have a wasted journey. We were sad to leave Merthyr Farm and would stay here again if we return to North Wales. Thanks Bryn & Lizzie we really enjoyed our stay Lovely lovely lovely we'd give it 20 if we could 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: G Ryall 4 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site the best views we have seen from any site.

After having a warm welcome which included one from Moss we could not wait to take in the scenery The facilities including the recycling are excellent. Enjoyed very much walking up Moel Goedog with its Cairn Circle. Its a steep walk but well worth it. Don't hesitate come and stay at this gem of a site you won't be sorry. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suejod 2 reviews from this member

 We have been coming to this site for years. Twice this year. I have to be forcibly removed by my husband at the end of our stay. The weather never spoils our visit. And although I have been coming to this area for over 60 years it never fails to provide brilliant walks, good food and a thoroughly relaxing time. Introducing my daughter to the site this month, who hasn't been back to Wales since her late teens. She will love it as much as we do. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daiandwill 2 reviews from this member

 Our second visit, but I still managed to follow the sat nav, still it kept Will fit opening and closing the gates as I drove down a farm track for a few miles, Please do pay attention to the instructions on their website.

Wonderful welcome, and we set up in a free space (near a large stone in the corner of the campsite). The views are superb, and to watch the sunset from the tent whilst having a last drink was one of the highlights of the week.

Warning, it's worth keeping an eye on the weather and specifically the wind whilst you are there. We got blown off the hill one night when the wind strength got stronger than our tent could withstand, a mixture of a tent with headroom, fibreglass poles and an exposed position. But it only affected one night, and in my view the vista from the tent made up for it.

I read a review that complained about only one sink, we were their for the week, and only on e had to wait for than a few minutes whilst another group finished off. I think the facilities (shower, toilets, washing machine and dryer and the washing up sink) were excellent and always very clean.

Definitely worth a visit, and we'll be back at some point (going to Scotland next year).

The site is just above Harlech (and the town and castle are worth a visit, oh and so is the fish and chip shop). We also visited a number of other locations in the North West corner of Wales, with a couple of trips that ended on Angelsey. Lots to do, all of which is to too far from this wonderful site 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lauraflitter 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a weeks camping with my husband and our 3 boys aged 3, 5 and 7. The views from this site are jaw-dropping. Although it is 'out in the sticks' it is well worth the small drive to feel so close to nature and to appreciate the stunning back drop and the peace and quiet. The facilities on this site were great and exceptionally clean. The large family shower rooms were brilliant and the indoor washing up area was clean. We made use of the freezer for our ice packs. We had a huge flat pitch with EHU which was situated close to the toilet block. There is a large picnic area overlooking the sea, mountains and everything in between! The site owners and their children were all really friendly. There's loads to do in the local area. There are a variety of beaches, a great slate mine tour, a huge selection of mountain railways and of course loads of great walking. We look forward to visiting again. Thanks Lizzie and Bryn. Ps DO STICK TO THE RECOMMENDED ROUTE UP THE HILL. THIS IS AN EASY DRIVE. MY INLAWS TOOK A DIFFERENT ROUTE UP AND WERE THOROUGHLY TRAUMATISED ON ARRIVAL! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarkie03 1 review from this member

 Arrived at the campsite in awful weather after walking for a full day with tents on our backs. Bryn was extremely kind and allowed the 6 of us to take shelter in their barn, even bringing us hot drinks to warm us up. We couldn't have asked for more from the family as they allowed us to use all the facilities and extra. If it wasn't for Bryn's kindness our DofE expedition would have been a lot less enjoyable.

Would whole-heartedly recommend this campsite to anyone in the area.

Thanks again,

The DofE Lads 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1750 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December