Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 EHU pitches, 20 Non-electric
Open: 17/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 20/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 124 Reviews
                10/10 from 124 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lauraflitter 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a weeks camping with my husband and our 3 boys aged 3, 5 and 7. The views from this site are jaw-dropping. Although it is 'out in the sticks' it is well worth the small drive to feel so close to nature and to appreciate the stunning back drop and the peace and quiet. The facilities on this site were great and exceptionally clean. The large family shower rooms were brilliant and the indoor washing up area was clean. We made use of the freezer for our ice packs. We had a huge flat pitch with EHU which was situated close to the toilet block. There is a large picnic area overlooking the sea, mountains and everything in between! The site owners and their children were all really friendly. There's loads to do in the local area. There are a variety of beaches, a great slate mine tour, a huge selection of mountain railways and of course loads of great walking. We look forward to visiting again. Thanks Lizzie and Bryn. Ps DO STICK TO THE RECOMMENDED ROUTE UP THE HILL. THIS IS AN EASY DRIVE. MY INLAWS TOOK A DIFFERENT ROUTE UP AND WERE THOROUGHLY TRAUMATISED ON ARRIVAL! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarkie03 1 review from this member

 Arrived at the campsite in awful weather after walking for a full day with tents on our backs. Bryn was extremely kind and allowed the 6 of us to take shelter in their barn, even bringing us hot drinks to warm us up. We couldn't have asked for more from the family as they allowed us to use all the facilities and extra. If it wasn't for Bryn's kindness our DofE expedition would have been a lot less enjoyable.

Would whole-heartedly recommend this campsite to anyone in the area.

Thanks again,

The DofE Lads 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackiech 1 review from this member

 Had a fabulous time at Merthyr Farm, even though the weather wasn't behaving (as usual). Bryan and Lizzie the owners were so helpful, especially when we ran out of tent pegs. They went out of their way to help find some. The toilets and showers were cleaned constantly with the added bonus of hand wash, towels, washing up liquid. This may not appear much but when you're camping these tiny things make all the difference. It is a working farm and it was fascinating to watch how hard they work. Extra special were the views and the daily visits from the farm cat, dog, sheep and stunning Bulls. Will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Family with teens 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a week in a tent at Merthyr Farm. To put it simply, we will be returning next year, without a doubt! This site is exactly what we were searching for to escape our city lifestyle with our two active teens and Labradors! Brilliant access to a whole range of activities, walks (some straight from the site) and beautiful villages and towns. A working farm with excellent basic facilities. Don't visit expecting mod cons, this is exactly what we were avoiding and all adds to the charm of being on a 'real' farm. Toilet and shower facilities are incredibly clean and we waited no longer than a few minutes to use them. We chose a pitch without electric hook up and had no problem finding a flat site with the most incredible views across the estuary. Nothing is too much trouble for the bright, cheery owners and their young family. A real gem! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Celesse 1 review from this member

 Just back from a week at Merthyr Farm and we have had a lovely time. Camped in a tent with my husband and our 3 young children (6, 4, & 2).

I'm currently 19 weeks pregnant so we asked to be near the toilet on a EHU pitch and we were given a gigantic pitch very close to the loos but separated by a wall so it never got noisy on our pitch. Most pitches looked very big on the field we were on, with a couple of smaller ones.

Lizzie and Bryn are both really friendly and approachable. Both took time to chat with us and advise us on nearby attractions and the best roads to take. The farm puppies came onto the site to play with the children, which my kids absolutely loved. My daughter had an accident on site (as 2 year olds sometimes do) and Lizzie was straight out to help with first aid and direct us to nearest minor injuries unit.

The facilities block is clean. There are family shower rooms with toilet and shower, plus a further separate shower and 2 further separate toilets. All were clean and there was never really any wait, perhaps once or twice at peak time we needed to wait a minute for a toilet.

Showers were warm. The facilities block also has a kitchen area with sink, fridge, freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer. Small but reasonable charge for washer and dryer. We had our own fridge in the tent so left the fridge for those on non EHU pitches, but made use of the freezer for ice packs for picnics. There was a queue a few times for the sink for washing up, so perhaps another sink would be useful.

The road up to Merthyr is quite steep, but manageable. Though we did get sent by our sat nav by one of the not recommended routes and that was a bit scary. So stick to the route they recommend on the website!

We had a big variety of weather. Some lovely sunny and warm days were we all caught the sun. We then had a day were the whole camp site was in a cloud all day, with horrible fine rain. And a day of gale force winds. We did have to take our awning down because of the wind. In fact a lot of tents on the site needed to do the same but Bryn was an absolute star and came out to the camping field and helped secure the tents. The site is definitely better in good weather as its high and exposed, but I guess this is the price you pay for the amazing views you get when its nice.

There is plenty to do in the local area. There are 2 lovely and very different beaches nearby for sunny days as well as lots of walks. We also found plenty to do on the not so nice days and there are plenty of things we didn't get to do.

Over-all a really friendly and absolutely beautiful site. Really enjoyed our stay and hope we can come back again in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RMarlow 1 review from this member

 Definitely the best views from any campsite we've ever seen. We had an amazing stay despite having issues with our campervan on the journey down.

Bryn and Lizzie are exceptionally friendly and helpful, particularly when I ran into trouble trying (very incompetently) to park our breaking down van on the pitch.

The campsite is immaculate but relaxed, with spectacular views over the bay toward Portmeirion, east over the mountains, and west out to sea and the Llyn Peninsula. Good facilities with hot showers included in the price, and a welcoming, relaxing atmosphere.

We walked down to Harlech Castle (and were glad we did walk when we saw how steep some of the roads are in Harlech, given the state of our van!). Well worth a visit and a climb to the top of the towers for the view.

We stopped at the Lion Hotel (good beer garden) for a pint.

Harlech is a very pretty seaside town with a breathtaking beach that is dog friendly (allowed off lead even during summer months). The campsite too was perfect for our dog - although she was a little overwhelmed by the six absolutely adorable sheepdog puppies that passed through excitedly on their evening walk from the farmhouse!

Despite being on the brow of the hill, the site itself is well-sheltered by the stone walls, and we enjoyed a barbecue sitting out until dark on both evenings.

It really is a lovely spot. Would highly recommend it and hope to return.

Thank you so much Bryn and Lizzie! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Id0lsandanchors 2 reviews from this member

 An absolutely fantastic view, but very disappointing as a tent user, but excellent for caravans and campervans. They definitely over booked themselves for the amount of space and facilities they have. We were put in essentially a sheep grazing field which was not very flat for the use of tents. Similarly, there is only 4 toilets and 3 showers, with 2 of these toilets being in showers. This is not enough for the amount of people on site. Similarly there was only one washing up sink which meant there was almost always a queue. But what a spectacular view and such very nice people who run it. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ANGELA18 8 reviews from this member

 If there was a prize for campsites with the best views this one would win, with views of the sea, estuary, mountains, countryside and amazing sunsets. Toilets and showers were always clean even when site was busy,

Lots of good walking from the site or a short drive to some beautiful places, Cwm Bychan is a beautiful lake, valley and mountain to walk, a must to visit.

Although the lane is narrow you have clear vision way ahead so not difficult providing you follow direction you are given to the letter DO NOT USE STAT NAV.

Lovely ice cream shop in Harlech by the castle with great sorbet too, had a nice lunch at Ty Mawr at Llanbedr, my husband had a good Sunday roast at The Ship Porthmadog. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malicat 1 review from this member

 We came to stay at Merthyr for a couple of nights to celebrate our 3yr old's birthday. We had a choice of pitches and chose an electric hook up pitch for our tent. Pitches are flattened and ground was mostly easy to peg tent down. The views are stunning from the site and the shower block was very clean. Our friends made use of the communal fridge, and I saw there was a washer and dryer available to use too. Although there is no playground for children, the wide open spaces more than make up for this and the toddlers were more than happy running around our tents and sheep spotting. We took our children to the farm park locally, ate a quick lunch in the cafe by the slate caverns and visited a local pub with enormous beer garden so children could play safely. We will definitely be visiting again and using as a base to explore more, visit the castle and beaches, and interesting shops in Harlech. Thank you so much Lizzie and Bryn :) 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davecrook1 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weekend away at Merthyr Farm. It was our first trip away in our motorhome so we're new to campsites as we've only ever stayed at Shell Island in a tent.

I'm so glad we made the decision on coming here instead.

When we pulled up we were directed to the top field and were amazed by the view from our pitch.

It was around 7. 30 and the sun was setting and looked stunning across the bay.

Lizzie also tended to our dog ( as she's a vet) who managed to cut herself open on the way to the campsite. So I'm eternally grateful for her advice and help. And also was very kind in lending us a carrier for our baby. So made our walks a lot easier.

The showers always had hot water, so wasn't a rush to beat everyone there. Plus you're not charged for using them, like many other sites.

The field was lovely and neat and also quiet.

I also love the fact you aren't charged for taking a dog like many other sites either. There is nothing that I can find fault with the site.

If you enjoy walking there are some lovely walks too. And a 40 min walk across the fields can take you into Harlech itself.

If you want kids clubs and entertainment, then this isn't for you. If you want spectacular views, peace and quiet and not a crowed campsite, then definitely look at coming here.

Can't recommend this place enough, and I'll be definitely returning in the near future. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2782 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement