Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 8th May Until 20th September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 111 Reviews
                10/10 from 111 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mid Life Crisis 19 reviews from this member

 A great site - this really is our kind of place.

We travelled across Wales from the Severn Bridge. The A470 is a good road but it takes 3. 5+ hours. The Dinas Mawddy Pass is the only difficult part but any competent towcar driver will have no problems.

When we left we went east to Shropshire on the A458 which was no problem.

If you are used to English roads you will be surprised how good the Welsh road surfaces are.

There is loads to do around the area. The obvious attraction is mountain walking but there are plenty of other attractions. Portmeirion is an unusual place to visit (visible as part of the view from the site). Also, the Llyn Peninsular is nice. There are some good National Trust places. Harlech is a nice little town.

--------------------------

Site Good points:

The view (awesome!). It looks over the sea, the estuary, Harlech Castle and the mountains of Snowdonia. It really is spectacular. It's so good that you sit looking at it when you should be off exploring.

The only downside for us is that it's unlikely we'll ever find a better view so it's all downhill from here!

Away from civilisation, it's a good long and steep walk into Harlech.

This is a proper working farm with sheep and chickens wandering around so be prepared to make allowances for that. We didn't have children with us but it would be a great experience for them especially if they are from a city.

No light pollution, great for stargazing.

The toilets and showers are sensibly designed so that they are easy to keep clean and the owners make sure they are kept clean.

Laundry facilities.

Helpful, friendly owners.

Suprisingly, there was a decent 3G signal (not always a good point).

--------------------------

Site Bad points (none really but a couple of things to watch for):

It could be difficult to get to if you aren't confident towing - the road approaching is single track although it has quite a few passing places and you can generally see far enough ahead to spot a problem early.

MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS OF HOW TO GET THERE IF YOU ARE TOWING!

The great view makes for an exposed site - we had one very windy night but the tents on site survived unscathed.

You are a long way from big city facilities ( which may be a good point).

--------------------------

In summary - we had a long drive to get to this site (7 hours) but it was well worth it. It definitely ranks as an all time favourite and one I hope we can return to.

Did I mention the great view??? 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daiandwill 2 reviews from this member

 What a superb site.

Please take note of their guide to driving up, the alternative routes are narrow (with passing places) and steep.

Superb views; sea, fields and mountains in one.

Bryn and Lizzie run a nice tidy site, for both tents and caravans.

The shower and toilet block are clean, and it was a very pleasant surprise to find a washing up bowl, washing up liquid and dishcloths all provided.

Just a word of warning, this is a working farm, and you'll find sheep and chickens wandering around. Having a chicken watch us put up a tent, was a new experience for us. The sheep make good watching, and very acrobatic wandering along the top of the walls.

Harlech is a nice town, with plenty to do, including the castle, sandy beach, shows and golf course.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karen bell 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from (a very windy) 4 nights at this fabulous site.

Take all the good comments in all the other reviews and add the gorgeous free-range eggs to buy, and that when my car couldn't pull my caravan up the slope due to wet grass and tyre-spin, as Bryn had taken lambs to market, Lizzie enlisted the help of a friendly neighbour (a car journey away) to get me onto the level, then Lizzie escorted us down the narrow lane to Llanfair to ensure we didn't meet any traffic coming up. My mom and I felt like royalty!

Wonderful hosts and a brilliant neighbour. Thank you all. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karen bell 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from (a very windy) 4 nights at this fabulous site.

Take all the good comments in all the other reviews and add the gorgeous free-range eggs to buy, and that when my car couldn't pull my caravan up the slope due to wet grass and tyre-spin, as Bryn had taken lambs to market, Lizzie enlisted the help of a friendly neighbour (a car journey away) to get me onto the level, then Lizzie escorted us down the narrow lane to Llanfair to ensure we didn't meet any traffic coming up. My mom and I felt like royalty!

Wonderful hosts and a brilliant neighbour. Thank you all. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Primeherefordrump 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a wonderful couple of days at Merthyr Farm. It took us three trips around the mountain to find it as some numpty didn't print off the owners directions, so lesson learnt - follow the owners directions! The site itself is peaceful and the facilities, although basic, are far superior than some we've seen and, most importantly for me, were scrupulously clean. The owners are very friendly and we were able to pitch our tent where we wanted to with the most spectacular views and sunsets. Lots of room for the children to play ball games without annoying the neighbours and our pitch was flat although a bit stony (bent tent pegs)! Harlech is a pretty little place with useful shops for stocking up on basics and we had some really tasty fish and chips one night from the local chippy.

To conclude - steep narrow roads to get to it but well worth the trouble for the location and views. One thing to bear in mind is that it can get quite windy; we were incredibly lucky with the weather except for one very blowy night when I had to go and check all the guy ropes at 3 a. M. , but that's another story. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robo710 18 reviews from this member

 Just spent 4 nights here loved the location if you want spectacular views and even more amazing sunsets then this is the site for you as the site is very open it can get a little windy, so we picked a pitch with a bit of shelter as the weather was a mix of sunshine rain and one night very misty facilities are a little basic but always clean and adequate but it was very quiet when we were there so no queues at 16 a night including EHU very good value we found the owners very friendly and children will love the array of farm animals

The site is about 2 miles up country lanes from Harlech suggest you stay to the owners directions tried alternative routes theirs was the safest

Having stayed in the area before can suggest a drive to Barmouth plenty of shops and a nice beach Port Meirion is also worth a visit makes a nice day out not to expensive would I visit again the answer would be yes 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon Karen 1 review from this member

 Wonderful campsite. Most amazing views, the landscape covers mountains, sea, beaches and more and changes with the weather and light.

Peaceful, private and quiet with friendly hosts.

Just what we wanted, small, informal with lots of hot water and good showers, bike storage and excellent walks from the site

Need dry non- windy weather (which we had)

Harlech hosts excellent coffee and food shops, beautiful long beach, and numerous walks and places to visit easy access to the Llyn Penninsula and great cycle ride in Barmouth

Definitely come here again, we loved ot 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue faulder 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 2 weeks at this wonderful campsite and cannot wait to go back. The owners are very friendly and accomadating. The facilities are clean and work brilliantly. The views from this site are amazing. We were joined on many occasions by some sheep and they keep the grass nicely manicured. The very free range chickens run to meet you so take some bread. The peace and quiet is amazing and it was all together a wonderful site. Real camping with excellent facitities. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thie keoie 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site last year. We enjoyed it so much we decided to come back again this year.

The site is well off the beaten track, which is why we picked it. Saying that, it is fairly straight forward to find if you follow the owners' directions, and there are some amazing views along the way. Harlech is only a few minutes drive away.

There are four camping fields, two of which have EHU available. The EHU pitches are terraced and are good sizes. They are reasonably level, though quite stony in places. We were there when Hurricane Bertha visited. Being high up and quite exposed, I was a little worried. It got quite windy, but there were no problems.

Being so high up means there are fantastic views across the bay towards Porthmadog and Criccieth, and some amazing sunsets!

The facilities are perfectly adequate for the site, and better than some I have been to. There are two family sized shower rooms (shower/sink/toilet), two other toilets and a separate shower. There was always plenty of hot water, and they were always clean and well provisioned. The kitchen area consists of a sink, double drainer, fridge/freezer, washer and dryer. Again, this area was kept clean and tidy, and there was always a bottle of washing up liquid available in case you didn't have your own.

The site is well placed for all the attractions in that part of North Wales. We regularly visited Porthmadog, and even went as far as Llangollen and Llandudno.

Lizzie and Bryn are extremely friendly and helpful, and the family do a fantastic job running the site. We really enjoyed our stay, and would have no hesitation in recommending Merthyr Farm. We look forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulfielding 3 reviews from this member

 A fine, quiet and well located site. Although this is on the side of a HUGE hill, the field which I was in was tiered. The plot was level enough, but could have done with being a smidge wider to allow my tent to be pitched on one level. As it was, one edge of the tent landed on the slope up to the next pitch. Saying that, it was really a problem, it just meant that I could get everything symmetrical.

The Good bits.

The views are spectacular. The owners are very friendly and I found it amusing to wake up to find sheep nibbling on the grass outside the tent. The toilets/shower block are basic (as most campsites are), but clean and spacious. No problems there.

Not so good bits.

The only thing I can think of is the road to the campsite, which is very tight at places. FOLLOW THE ROUTE ON THEIR WEBSITE!

So, in a nutshell, it was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this site. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1558 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020