Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheathill Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Wheathill Touring Park Reviews

Wheathill Touring Park
Wheathill
Burwarton
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV16 6QT
Tel: 01584 823456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 96 Reviews
                10/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 26 reviews from this member

 We found this site through the tranquil parks app. It quiet little site with largely flat pitches which are huge. All of the pitches are serviced so you get electric, clean water and water waste on every pitch along with TV aerial.

We got very unlucky with the weather, of the 4 nights we were there, 3 of them we were shrouded in cloud.

The toilets are clean and very well appointed. The pressure on the shower is a little low though and I had to run around to get wet. The male shower in the second smaller toilet block was out of service during our stay due to a boiler fault.

There was a bit of road noise which was a bit intruding at times. The campsite is very clean and well maintained.

We approached from the East (Bridgnorth) and wish we hadn't. The B road from that direction is terrible. The pot holes are unbelievable and actually threw the cooker top off during our journey. We took the much longer journey home via Ludlow.

This site is ideal for exploring Bridgnorth, Ludlow, the Ironbridge museums, many National trust properties. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Duckies 41 reviews from this member

 Chose this site as adults only. Arrived on site to a warm welcome and shown to our pitch. Lovely pitch we had with lovely views of the surrounding area.

Toilet block spotlessly clean and tidy. Showers hot and always spotless. Slight bit of road noise but nothing you don't switch off too.

The site has been extended but we were on the original part so can't comment on the new section but it looks again well maintained and spacious.

Fantastic dog field which has been sectioned into about 4 different fields which is a fantastic idea. There is a pub at entrance to site The Three Horseshoes and had just changed ownership that weekend we arrived.

We went for tea on the Wednesday food so nice and plenty of it we choose to go again on the Friday. We did book both nights which I am glad we did as it is quite a small dining room. Some lovely places to visit.

We visited Stokesay castle and a few other English Heritage sites after joining their membership. Will certainly be back in a few years.

We even had a sheep and her 2 lambs come to visit the site which we helped the owner to put them in a spare field till the owner was found 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrissieka 3 reviews from this member

 Positives:

Pleasant initial booking experience with owners.

Easy to find.

Super clean, modern, fresh toilet block and shower.

Beautifully quiet and peaceful.

Lady greeted us on arrival was super pleasant.

Best dog exercise area of any park I have been to.

Well kept grassed area and smart presentation.

Plenty of interest and activities within an hours driving.

Lovely park setting with awesome view from the pitch.

Pub next door although not really our cup of tea.

Planting between the pitches - when matured will be very nice.

Negatives:

Huge stones on hard standing made it difficult to walk on and ruined our brand new flooring.

Shower too warm (to be fair we did holiday during some the hottest days of the year). I suppose they would be lovely in Winter!

No internet service for two days of my hols and very poor for another couple. Sadly, it is imperative I have this facility and why I chose this site. Gratefully rectified though for the last couple of days.

No recycle facilities meant we took our bottles and cans etc with us on our day trips out to deposit in supermarket and other recycle centre facilities we could find.

Disappointed to be asked for a 5 late check out fee when we clearly not had a good wifi service during our hols.

I have already recommended this site on the dog friendly caravanning Facebook site as a great place if you are keen on a large exercise area for your pooch. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dottydart 16 reviews from this member

 WOW! There is very little the owners of this superb site have not thought of! Excellent facilities blocks and always spotlessly clean. Beautiful surroundings, lots of attention paid to attracting wildlife and the view from our pitch (7) was exquisite. Everything you need is on pitch, including elsan disposal, something I've never seen before (though hubby preferred to use the general one so that he didn't need to bend to empty loo).

We ate at the pub at the site's entrance, which was very nice. We went on a Thursday so it wasn't so busy. It is suggested that you book for Fridays, Saturdays and Sunday lunch.

I was surprised there were no recycling facilities, but guess the site, like others we've come across, have a refuse collection that separates the waste at base (Somerswood is one such site).

A very nice touch was that the owners walked around the site one evening while we were sitting out and they stopped to chat and ask our opinion of the site. They were very pleasant and were very receptive to MINOR little things we mentioned (such as water temp variation, sticky soap dispenser, constantly running cistern - I did say minor!) I can honestly say that most of these seemed to be resolved during our stay.

The only small negative for us was the unevenness of the pitches chippings, some quite large stones, which cause me difficulties (we didn't put our awning carpet down because of it). The owner acknowledged this and said that the newly developed part had better chippings, which they did and were perfect - hopefully the existing pitches will be changed in due course.

There is intermittent road noise during the day, but this doesn't bother us.

Wheathill has become our new favourite site and we consider it very good value for money too, given the excellent facilities. We will definitely be returning.

Thank you, and keep up the good work! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alison Couch 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, very peaceful - it is adult only - very nice dog walks. We were in the newer part of the site and used the second shower/toilet block but it was as good as the main one - maybe better as the water was really hot every day with good pressure (I heard it was less so in the main block).

The site was very well maintained and there were lots of wildflowers used to good effect.

I had read some reviews which mentioned road noise. I think you'd have to be super sensitive to noise to have an issue - I certainly never noticed it.

Large pitches, well spaced, lovely views, we even had good weather!

Thoroughly recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: J and C 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site with friendly helpful owners. Superb views from well placed large pitches. Well maintained site and facilities were spotless. However you also self contained on your pitch as they are all

Fully serviced with grey and black waste and TV connection, water and ehu. Your 4 legged friend is totally spoilt with lovely separated fields to run in, and his own shower room, also spotless. There are also

Waymarked walks off site. The pub next to the site is welcoming and the food is excellent and reasonably

Priced. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cruise2110 4 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site, probably the best we have ever stayed on!

POSITIVES

* Helpful staff.

* Large level hard standing and all fully serviced pitches.

* Immaculate modern facilities including washing machine and dog wash.

* Best dog walk we have ever seen.

* Wonderful views.

* Beautiful area (some good walks locally).

* Good pub next door serving excellent local beers and the wonderful Robinsons Ludlow cider!

(MINOR) NEGATIVES

* Right next to road (noise evident but not too intrusive).

* No recycling facilities.

* Annoying push button showers (last 40 seconds only).

We will definitely be returning when in the area again! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terrypirie 12 reviews from this member

 Whenever I come back to this site it is like going home- I just never tire of it. Lee and Sue have worked so hard but now they have Lorna and Jim as the new wardens- and what a great choice! Cannot wait for the extension to be finished. And then the pub will be busy! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Derek and Kate 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, fantastic views with seating areas above the site to admire the views. Friendly helpful staff. Best dog walk we have ever seen on a campsite. Shower and toilet facilities immaculate, even a dog shower/washing area. Good local walks across fields or country lanes. We will definitely come here again. Lovely pub with excellent food next to site but does not admit dogs. Ludlow lovely place to visit with castle etc. And shopping facilities. Ludlow Food Centre offers great choice of top quality mostly local meats, bakery, vegetables and cheeses. (well worth a visit). 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scrabsta49 2 reviews from this member

 This beautiful site has absolutely glorious views of Shropshire and is one of the finest sites we have yet visited. We have just returned from our third visit and it was just as good as the first time even with heavy rain and wind this time. The bad weather could not put a downer on here as the site owners and wardens are so friendly and helpful and just walking round the site brings a smile and a feeling of relaxation, the toilet facilities are exceptional, the washing up area likewise and kept spotlessly clean. The dog walk has been so carefully thought out and maintained and is so dog friendly our Great Dane loves it! Your dog can even share the luxury of having a shower in the separate dog wash room. Also there are so many interesting places to visit within easy reach of the site. This site is one we will never tire of visiting. An absolute credit to all involved. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wheathill Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheathill Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wheathill Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridgnorth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2786 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement