Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheathill Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Wheathill Touring Park Reviews

Wheathill Touring Park
Wheathill
Burwarton
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV16 6QT
Tel: 01584 823456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 96 Reviews
                10/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ainer 1 review from this member

 Just spent a very happy 10 nights at Wheathills, our first visit to the site, and indeed Shropshire ! From the outset we were impressed, it was easy to find from directions given, and the welcome from our host Lee was exceptional. Our pitch was excellent, very large, level and with spectacular views. Pitches are fully serviced, including brown waste and TV point. If we thought this was good, better was to come ! The 'facilities' block is outstanding, spotlessly clean at all times, warm, and plentiful hot water. Showering to radio 2 !

The dog exercise area too was first class, a large area split into 4/5 separate gated sections, all with mown paths. Pub next door supplied excellent beers and local cider to go with the excellent food. Ok, its not 'dog friendly' inside but there is ample space/tables etc outside where the dog can join you. The 'B' road outside the site can be quite busy at times, and traffic noise might be considered a problem to some, but not me ! Ludlow is 7 miles away, and is a lovely small town where Tesco/Aldi plus many small traders, and a very bust market can be found.

All in all the site is a credit to Lee and his family - he goes the extra mile to ensure folk are happy, and we will definitely return ! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twolees 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely site spotless and well maintained by the owners. Pitches are set out really well and plenty of space for caravan. Awning. And car and even a little grassed area to sit out on. All pitches are fully serviced with tv hook ups. Free wifi, met some nice friendly people, will definitely be returning to this site in the near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ianyvonne 5 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, very, very, clean 10 out of 10, fabulous toilet block, some drive through pitches, we had one number 15 makes life easy, all ultilitys on the pitch EG: fresh water, waste grey, waste brown, TV Point and 16 amp electric hookup.

Great for Ludlow and Bridgenorth really lovely towns to walk around, also fishing just a mile away at Bromdon Fishing Pools, just 5 a day.

Great pub by the entrance the three horse shoes, good beer and great food, try the mixed grill.

Just a word of warning if you put your heater on in the awning you will be charge 5 per night, doesn't tell you this on the web site, on on the back of your receipt when you pay, expensive that would make it 30 a night if you used your heater. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lottie11 2 reviews from this member

 We are just at the end of a ten day stay at Wheathill. As usual, we've had a wonderful holiday. We first came here when Lee and Sue started here, when the site was a mere skeleton of what it now is and have been here at least a couple of times a year. Lee and Sue's plans are coming to fruition. The site is pristine, the grass, hedges and trees and plants are all growing well. The toilet block is pristine, warm and has those little extras that make a site exceptional. We have used the fantastic dog walk as we have two dogs, who get excited when we arrive. The dog run is made up of three or four fenced and gated areas so you can let your dog off lead to have a good run!

There is no shop but that's not a hardship, you can get to Ludlow very easily where there is a Tesco (and an Aldi).

The Three Horseshoes PH is next door and although they don't let dogs into the pub, they have a fence patio with picnic tables and parasols, where you can drink and eat. There is always a water bowl outside for the dogs.

It's so lovely we don't really like to leave, but we've already booked our next stay.

If you're looking for a peaceful, holiday amongst the hills of Shropshire. Then come. Everybody is friendly and you'll have a great time. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elforleather 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fabulous site in tip top condition. The toilet and shower block is the best we have ever seen and something the Caravan and Camping Club people should come and see, then set as a standard for their own sites.

The site was was very peaceful. The dog walking areas are second to none, if you have a dog, believe me you won't find better. The pub next door were friendly, served excellent beer and great food. We were in a motorhome so took a taxi into Ludlow with a local firm called 'Teaky Taxis' and it cost 14 each way, if you don't have a car it's a bargain.

On the one evening we thought the site had put on some entertainment as we could hear an acoustic guitar and singing in the distance, but it turned out to be someone camped on site. It just added to the atmosphere and experience, we loved it. We will definitely be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sanken66 7 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! I can't say anything negative about the site. Not far to drive to Ludlow and Bridgnorth, both charming places to visit. Beautiful views and very helpful owners.

The showers and toilets are excellent, as I said, nothing negative to say.

All of this in a beautiful area. We didn't eat in the local pub so I can't say anything about it. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kaybear 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Wheathill for a week at the end of June and early July we arrived on the hottest day of the year view from site was amazing.

Unfortunately the weather went down hill from then.

The site is spotless in every way the sites Toilet and Shower block is the best I have ever come across its like being in your own bathroom always warm loads of hot water.

Pitches are staggered for privacy. We would definitely return to this site without a second thought thanks Lee & Sue for the lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cumbrianexile 3 reviews from this member

 A very well kept site. Fantastic views and handy for Ludlow, bridge north etc. Good pub next door, only drawback no food served Sunday evenings but the food and beer is first class. All the pitches are fully serviced and large and level too. Good dog walk off the site. A little road noise but not too intrusive. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nuthatch 6 reviews from this member

 A gem of a site with plenty of evidence of a huge amount of thought and effort applied to it. The imaginative planting of shrubs and borders around the site deserves a special mention.

We stayed for only 5 days at the end of a 6 week tour. The pitches are well equipped and fully serviced (including TV connection and brown waste disposal) with a substrate that was relatively easy to hammer steel pegs into for the awning. They are a little too close together for our taste but this was offset by the lack of any vans in view to the front or back of the pitch. The WiFi was reliable but very slow.

We had a lovely view across the valley and easy access to the excellent 3 field system for dog walking. The only minor problem was the coarse and rough-edged gravel on the pitch and on the path leading to the dog walk; our elderly dogs did not find the surface paw-friendly. I had a friendly chat with the owner about this and he is aware and may be able to do something about it (softer rounded stones, tarmac or paving stones would do for the dog access).

The toilet and shower-block was of a demonstration standard and always clean. We didn't need to use the dog shower with hot/cold water mixer and drier but it could have been invaluable in poorer weather. There is only one washing machine and tumble drier which may mean having to wait to use them.

As mentioned, the 3 Horseshoes pub is not dog-friendly so it did not get our custom which is a shame since it was so close. Instead we found fantastic dog-friendly pubs/hotels in Ludlow. The Unicorn pub and Charlton Arms Hotel deserve special mention for making dogs welcome and providing biscuits and water plus excellent food for the humans. The Rose & Crown at Tenbury Wells also proved to be well worth a lunchtime visit for us all.

We only used the local shop once and needed to go to the Ludlow Tesco/Co-Op for a more comprehensive supply of rations.

In summary, thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kargus 36 reviews from this member

 Our second visit and looking to book a long weekend in oct or nov, this place is great, immaculate in all aspects as the last time. Only slight criticism is that its near a quite busy road but once you get used to it on the lower pitches you don't notice it. Also the 3 horseshoes pub right next door is not dog friendly inside, which is a bit of a blow when you have an elderly dog that needs to be with us all the time in case of any health issue. The pub is lovely though and good food and ale. The site is dog friendly and has 3 great walks for short, medium or large runs, all go into all 3 via the gates. The weather was up and down but as you don't have to go out of your unit if you don't want to the weather doesn't really bother us. Heres to vist 3. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wheathill Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheathill Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wheathill Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridgnorth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement