Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheathill Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Wheathill Touring Park Reviews

Wheathill Touring Park
Wheathill
Burwarton
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV16 6QT
Tel: 01584 823456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 96 Reviews
                10/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alanterri 59 reviews from this member

 14 days of absolute first class luxury.

We picked this site for our annual Woosie Fest. 10 caravans and 19 people plus dogs. A group of mature friends from all over the UK.

Lee Partridge, his wife Sue and Ken the dad have transformed Wheathill into one of the UKs most desirable sites I have ever experienced over 36 years.

The owners have shown design flare and financial conviction in making this site enjoyable and super comfortable for the caravanner.

The facilities are well thought out. Virtually brand new, spotlessly clean and excellent attention to fine detail. Even the mirrors are electrically heated. Powerful extraction, piped music, and automatic fresh air sprays make the whole experience luxurious. Unlimited hot water.

All pitches are fully serviced 16 amp, high pressure fresh water, both grey and brown waste disposal, plug in TV booster point and free Wi Fi. A real one stop pitch with all the creature comforts of home and more.

The experience starts upon entry to the site. New tarmacked roadways, sensibly landscaped flowerbeds and an array of totally refurbished farm implements.

Each pitch is massive, level hard standing and well separated from the adjacent pitch. They are staggered so you don't stare into your neighbour's unit. The views across the valley towards Radnor, The Long Mynd and other beauty spots are breathtaking.

Next door is the Three Horseshoes pub and restaurant. This is a must for excellent cuisine at decent prices. We had one of the best in a long time roast beef sunday lunches.

Wheathill has a series of fields allocated as dog walks. Plenty of space to wear out our two Springers.

Ludlow is 7 miles away. There is so much to see and do in the area you will have to keep returning.

This site goes into my little black book, in the top three best sites in the UK and one for a return visit early spring. It closes 1st January to 1st March at the moment.

There are currently 25 super pitches with more in the pipeline subject to planning. Let's hope the planners are sensible and appreciate the efforts that have gone into this site by the Owners. Well done Lee. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gladrag 2 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit and it lived up to the last. The facilities are the best I've ever used in the UK. Lee is fantastic very welcoming and nothing is too much bother. It's also good that the pub is right net door and the food is very good. Ludlow Bridgenorth and Shrewsbury are not far neither is Hereford. There are lots of good walks around. If you want to visit Shropshire and Hereford and Worcester then this is the best campsite around. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stephen100 1 review from this member

 Just spent 10 glorious days at this delightful adult-only site where the facilities are the best we've ever seen. On every pitch there is grey AND brown waste disposal; electricity (16AMPS); water and TV hook-up. At the same time, the toilet block is the best equipped we've seen, with really hot water 24 hours a day. The owners are eager and willing to help with any request or query. Pitches are generous and arranged so that no 'van is overlooked by its neighbour. Talking of neighbours, the pub adjacent to the site serves very good food, lunch and evening. Views from the site are spectacular and this part of south Shropshire is one of England's most scenic pleasures. We left there very happy campers. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dandylyon 15 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 week stay at Wheathill. Facilities are brilliant, very clean and modern, it didn't matter what time of day you visited the showers/toilets, they were always spotless. A great bonus to have brown waste disposal on each pitch (according to my husband!) first time we have come across this. Our pitch was a very good size, although would have liked more grass area than hard standing, we ended up sat close to next door caravan if we wanted to sit on grass. Only down side for us was the road noise, at times it was constant during the week and then motorbikes shooting past during the weekend, apart from this we cannot fault the site itself. We understand that the building next door will be for site wardens which will be a great advantage to have someone on site. Above all you cannot fault the the friendliness and enthusiasm of the owners. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hanley1504 1 review from this member

 Excellent

Shower/toilets spotless background music nice touch

Dog field perfect

Views stunning

Do remember hard standing pegs, though!

Pub next door.

Site owners very friendly

Perfect wish we had a site like this closer

Would recommend to anyone, peaceful lovely ideal.

Road near by, but not that busy that it made any impression on the tranquility, loved hearing the donkey!

Ludlow 7miles. Turn left out of site, great tesco or Aldi.

Downside only here for a short time! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ted100 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely site. Beautiful views. We remember it when it was just a rather steep field - what a transformation! Sympathetic improvements to the site have provided level pitches, all fully serviced. The toilet block is immaculate.

25 per night for the pitch, including electric hook-up, WiFi, awning and two adults is pretty good for the high standard of the site. However, our two adult children, both students, joined us so it cost us an extra 10 per night. Ouch!

The pub next door, The Three Horseshoes is great! Fantastic food. Had to check the pub's rules regarding dogs when our friends and their dogs came to visit. Only allowed in the front garden. But it was no problem for them to visit us on site.

Overall, we really enjoyed our week. We went to the Ludlow Arts Festival, Ironbridge and did a rather gruelling walk up Brown Clee. The footpaths weren't signposted quite as well as we expected.

We are still big fans of Wheathill and would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickfisher59 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a stay at Wheathill touring park, this was our first visit. We had a chilled 3 day stay and enjoyed the facilities this park had to offer. The pitch was generous and the view to die for. We were treated to two evenings of the most glorious sunsets.

Brilliant dog exercise area with 3 fenced areas so it could cope with more than one dog, but they are all linked to make one walk.

On our first day we enquired if dogs were allowed in the pub. They are not allowed in, but you can sit in the back garden and have basket meals in one section. After chatting to the owner of the park, we asked if we could leave the dog in our caravan to use the pub and he had no problems with that, so we used the pub on two occasions, good food and real ales worth a visit during your stay and added bonus of no driver needed.

The toilet block was immaculate and one of the most modern we have used.

This park was well placed for Bridgnorth and Ludlow, both have good markets so we visited them both.

We will be visiting this park again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbie 2 8 reviews from this member

 This site is the best site in Shropshire by far. It is immaculate and spacious. It is very much value for money.

We have booked for a week in August, and have stopped at the site for over 10 nights in the last 12 months.

The views from the site are spectacular. It is next to a 'B' road but the noise(WHAT NOISE)motorbikes and HGV'S are no problem.

The pub next next door is not dog friendly. The pub has a stone floor in the bar area, but the landlord won't allow dogs in. He will allow workmen in with paint on their work clothes?

We would use the pub more often for food and drink if our dog was allowed in. We go down the Boyne arms 2 miles down the road(dog friendly with good steaks on Friday's)

Noise is no problem 10 out of 10

Keep the good work Wheathill 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kaz and Neat 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to this site. I would certainly agree with other reviewers who have used the words immaculate, spacious, spotless etc. The views from every pitch were spectacular and the site owner was very friendly and came to visit us on the evening of our departure to check we had enjoyed our stay. The reception isn't manned and you need to press a buzzer to get the owner to attend. He usually arrives within a couple of minutes.

The dog exercise area was a particular plus for us and one of the best we have seen. From a personal point of view we were a bit disappointed that the pub next door was not dog friendly (not even allowed in the rear garden). However we did find a nice dog friendly pub a couple of miles away - The Boyne Arms.

The road directly outside the site is noisy. We live in a town and quite close to some industrial units served by HGVs, so we are used to traffic noise. However, this was bad even by our standards. In the week (from 6am) the lorries are almost constant. At the weekend the lorries take a break, but this is replaced by motorbikes using the road as a substitute for the Isle of Man TT races. The site owners have planted lots of shrubs and these may help reduce the noise once they have grown.

If it wasn't for the road noise I would have given the site 9 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Draycott1959 2 reviews from this member

 Third visit to this exceptional site. Owners very helpful and friendly. Toilet and shower block spotless and well thought out. Whole site is very tidy. Sue and Chris from the Three Horseshoes next door, make your holiday complete by providing excellent food and drink and wonderful atmosphere. With lots of dogs on the site, it is nice to go into a dog free zone in the pub and enjoy superb food in all areas of the pub. Looking foward to our next visit to both the caravan site and Pub! 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wheathill Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheathill Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wheathill Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridgnorth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3236 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement