Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheathill Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Wheathill Touring Park Reviews

Wheathill Touring Park
Wheathill
Burwarton
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV16 6QT
Tel: 01584 823456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 96 Reviews
                10/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Legofpork 3 reviews from this member

 A super ultra clean and modern site, great security, and the most amazing toilet and shower block we've seen here or on the continent. The pitches are all of a great size and level. The dog exercise area has three large linked paddocks, our Old English Sheepdog loved them! This site is adjacent to the Three Horseshoes pub, good beer and food but not dog friendly (not even allowed in the beer garden). We had to cut our stay short so we didn't have time to explore the surrounding area.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paula2805 2 reviews from this member

 This has to be the most modern immaculate site we have been to.

Fully serviced pitches surround by countryside lovely views. Benches with scenic views so you can take your cup of tea & chill.

Owner is really helpful. There is available TV point on each pitch, we had no problem using the caravan Ariel.

Free WIFI

Small quiet site well presented. State of the arc shower block entry by keypad. Free showers plenty of hot water.

Lovely pub next door food is excellent.

Highly recommend if sightseeing the area.

There was bit traffic noise during the day but quiet at night 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scott1973uk 1 review from this member

 We have recently purchased a touring caravan again, 3 years after last having one. As we don't have a tow vehicle we needed to find a site with storage facilities and somewhere not too far from home, as we're going to use it on weekends as well as for our main holidays. From the moment we contacted the owner and his wife (the owners) they have been courteous, friendly and very accommodating. We came to have a look at the site and loved it so we've put our caravan on here. The storage costs are very reasonable and security is good.

The site looks outstanding! Beautiful flower beds and immaculate landscaping. There's a barrier (coded) on entry and exit for security and a code is also needed for the toilet and shower block. The toilet and shower block is absolutely fantastic inside, much nicer than I've seen in very good hotels. The layout of the showers and WC's is well thought out with changing areas, shaver points, heated mirrors etc and there's also radio piped through into each of the conveniences to add to the ambience. There's also a washing up area and a washing machine and tumble dryer if you need them for a very reasonable price.

The 25 pitches are very large, all hardstanding and each has it's own bollard providing electric, TV, water, grey waste and brown waste (no carrying your toilet cassette across the site to empty it). The views from the pitches are lovely! Some pitches are pull on/pull off making it extremely easy for people towing their van. There's a dog walk that provides 3 areas (gated and fenced) where you may let your dog off the lead if you wish. Being an adult only site it is extremely quiet and peaceful and so relaxing after a hard week at work. I can't believe we're only 45 minutes from home. Locally, we haven't tried the pub next door yet (reported to serve very good food) but Ludlow and Bridgnorth are fantastic old market towns that we know very well and both are less than 20 minutes away in the car. There are lots of lovely walking places/hills to explore locally and we're also looking forward to exploring places we haven't yet been. There are leaflets available detailing local attractions. Regarding shops, the owner does sell gas and a few caravan accessories on site but you will have to travel by car for any groceries/newspapers, but this isn't a problem for us.

All in all, a beautiful, immaculate site, that is a pleasure to stay on with excellent facilities and an owner who cares about his customers. If you choose to stay at Wheathill you will not be disappointed!

We're looking forward to visiting Wheathill many times over the next year.

Well done to the owner (and your wife) Keep up the good work! 👍 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ioanjones 4 reviews from this member

 This review is for the benefit of all caravanners who really like tranquillity site. I have just returned home after staying 5 days at this site. I can honestly say that it is a true 5star site. The toilet blocks are one of the best I have seen, and would give it 10 out of 10 points in all aspects of it.

The hardstanding pitches are roomy and level. The owner was a gentleman and very helpful.

The TV reception was excellent, but we were a bit unlucky, the Wi-fi system was not the best where we were sited, but the owner took it on board, and dealt with it, but unfortunately he was let down by the engineers who could not attend to the problem whilst we were staying there.

EXCELLENT site and I wish them all the very best for the coming season. Big THANK YOU. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarah Gar 1 review from this member

 Another great week at Wheathill Touring Park. It was the week of the high winds and we couldn't have been better looked after. The owner chained us down, checked we were ok and told us we could contact him at any time - day or night! if we had any worries

We love this site, it's perfect for exploring South Shropshire and has a very good pub beside it (best to book if you want to eat)

The facilities at the site are spotless, our cat is welcome and loves exploring in the field behind the site.

We look forward to our next visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EmmaJJ 1 review from this member

 Wonderful campsite!

The shower block and toilet facilities are spotless, showers are powerful and hot, there is even a heated mirror and hairdryer. Washing up facilities are good, with plentiful hot water and large clean sinks, along with new washing machines for laundry.

The pitches are newly turfed with no stones so tents are easy to put up, and there are drinking water taps and electricity hookups next to every pitch, very convenient. The paths around the site are all so no problems trekking mud inside. The site is secure, with codes to activate the barriers on and off site, so it feels safe and no concerns about leaving the tent unattended. The whole site looks recently developed, with well-kept flowerbeds and a dog-walking area in an adjacent field. Even on bank holiday weekend it was peaceful and no problems getting a good night's sleep. The free wifi is useful and has strong signal.

The owner is very pleasant and helpful, and gave us directions for a few local walks around the countryside, which has lovely scenery.

The pub next door has a nice beer garden and inexpensive drinks, other guests said the lunchtime food was excellent, but unfortunately they don't do meals in the evening.

Ludlow is about 15-20 mins drive away and is definitely worth a visit, especially on market day. Climbing the castle towers gives you a fabulous view over the Shropshire countryside. Bridgnorth is around 20 minutes away - the ruined castle is worth seeing.

We have already recommended Wheathill Touring Park to friends and family who are keen on camping, and we wouldn't hesitate to book again in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ShaznCol 15 reviews from this member

 Returned today after a three day stay at Wheathill and have to say that this would rate as one of the very best sites we have visited.

The pitches were hardstanding and ours was perfectly level, with superb views across the Shropshire hills.

All fully serviced including TV connection (we were lent a coax cable at no charge), made for an easy few days.

The welcome we received was very friendly and we were asked by the owner if everything had been OK at the end of our stay. He seemed genuinely interested in any feedback or suggestions we might have.

The showers and toilet block would have to be rated 11/10!

The Three Horseshoes next door was very welcoming and the food there was of a very high standard.

Ideally placed for visits to Bridgnorth (very pretty) and Ludlow (avoid the Park & Ride!), as well as many other areas, we will definitely be returning to Wheathill and hope that the owners can maintain the high standard. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbie 2 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our third visit to this firstclass site in two months and this time we took our friends. The site is stunning with fantastic views of the countryside. This is a great place to stay, highly recommended. We only had a drink at the pub next door, it was to cold to sit out side with our dog. Dogs are not allowed in the pub. My wife e mailed the landlord to ask if he would change his mind but we never even got a reply. Our party of four and the two small dogs went to The Old Castle in Bridgnorth The food was excellent, the beer was excellent, the price was excellent and the landlord was excellent. So if the Three Horse Shoes can turn down over 100 because of the no dogs rule then they must be doing realy well for a country pub? 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gladrag 2 reviews from this member

 This is a superb site. Adult only. The pitches are all full serviced and very large with fantastic views over the Shropshire countryside. The loo block is spotless and has all mod cons. The dishwashing and laundry facilities are very good and very reasonably priced. We had a dog with us and the dog field was safe and secure.

The owner was very pleasant and very helpful. We will be visiting again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terrypirie 12 reviews from this member

 This our third visit to Wheathills and it was so busy. 8 sites occupied! Having written a review early on about how great this site is I think people are realising how good it is. The pub next door continues to be a great attraction but it is the owner and his wife who make you feel so welcome and who cant do enough for you. Great facilities, pristine site and we look forward to seeing it many more times in the future! 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wheathill Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheathill Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wheathill Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridgnorth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2447 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement