Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheathill Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Wheathill Touring Park Reviews

Wheathill Touring Park
Wheathill
Burwarton
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV16 6QT
Tel: 01584 823456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 96 Reviews
                10/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KAZBA 1 review from this member

 We visited Wheathill for a bank holiday weekend. At 25 per night we were very impressed. The park itself is immaculate. The owners obviously take pride in the care of the park. The views are lovely looking right across the valley. The showers are also perfect, very clean and looked after. The manager is very friendly and very eager to help. Note, they stipulate that you use the green toilet fluid. They sell it at the reception so that was no bother. If you have a dog this place is fantastic. The dog area is broken up into sections up the hill at the back of the park. This means if you have an arsey Boxer like ours you can move to another area and no drama will occur. To sum up, we had a great time, there is EHU, drainage and TV aerial socket. We will be going back. If you're wondering where to go give Wheathill a try 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suemason 6 reviews from this member

 We've just spent 3 nights at this lovely site and can highly recommend it. It's well located between the fabulous towns of Ludlow and Shrewsbury and makes a great base for visiting those and other nearby sights. It's an adult only site and is very quiet. Excellent facilities for dogs, with paddocks set aside to walk them.

The toilet and shower block is brand new - code access controlled with piping hot water and spotlessly clean - with separate dishwashing and clothes washing and drying area.

There's a pub literally on the doorstep selling great beers and a wide range of food (note it is closed weekday afternoons between 3 and 6) and contrary to one or two other comments we found the staff to be really friendly. That's all that's nearby though - the nearest shop is three miles away, but is open seven days a week and provides all you could need as well as post office facilities.

Every pitch has its own water and drainage - allowing for brown and grey water to be emptied which is a real bonus, as well as a TV ariel point - which you need as we couldn't get a signal without it (the owner happily lends you long leads at no cost). One point to note is the pitches have a broken slate base and so if you only have a standard groundsheet for your awning you'll need footwear as it's painful to walk on without.

The site is alongside the road, but we didn't notice noise from passing traffic at all unless we purposely listened for it. There are lovely views across the surrounding countryside - though ours was somewhat blocked by a neighbour (I'd book earlier and ask for a pitch with an unrestricted view next time).

The site does feel very new and is a tad stark - though I daresay when the planting is more established it will soften up.

The owners are really focused on providing great customer experience and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful throughout. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandra McCarthy 2 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site with big super pitches, wonderful views and immaculate facilities. The pub at the gate is the icing on the cake serving good food in pleasant surroundings only a stones throw from your van. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we look forward to returning. We are very particular about the sites we choose and this is one of the best. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbie 2 8 reviews from this member

 What a great site, shower block is the best we have visited. Owners can't do enough for you. The super pitches are all hard standing. Tarmac roads on site. Large dog walk, views to die for, Ludlow town very nice, Price at 25. 00 value for money, free wifi. What a little gem.

The pub next door is not good, food poor and landlord is very rude, not dog friendly won't be going in again.

My family and our friendly dog went down to the Pheasant at Neeton which is about 4 miles away?The food and real ales are very good and value for money. Locals friendly, bar staff friendly. These people know how to run a pub

We won't be going back to the Three Horse Shoes unless the landlord changes or the landlord is changed? 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kargus 36 reviews from this member

 Well this was a lovely weekend, bit blowy but that is the weather for you when we arrived, however got sorted, awning went up whilst there was a lull on Good Friday. I think this is very reasonably priced for the facilities you have.

Good points;

Shower block is lovely, immaculately clean, and in the womens side there is a privacy WC, which has toilet, basin, and shower. In the main part of the ladies is 3 showers, 3 toilets and 3 basins, which is ample for the 25 pitches, and its adults only so the likelihood of a queue is remote, Love kids but sometimes just want to chill.

Dog walk is brill, 3 sections in a massive field, and you can get into each one from the other by a gate, but if you do have a feisty pooch that doesn't get on with others then you can let him/her off for a run without getting into trouble.

The pitches are great, and they have all waste water, and loo waste, and incoming water from the pitch, so its a super pitch really.

Free wifi too

Not so good points;

Only one and this is still not something that would really bother me, but it is near a road, so some traffic noise is there, however going back in July so cant bother me that much.

The owner has taken a lot of time in thinking about peoples requirements, there is no shop on site, but there is a pub right next door, the 3 horseshoes, which is very nice, dogs cant go in, but there is ample space outside to sit. Also a shop and post office and tea room 2 miles down the road. The pitches have fences each side, and new trees/bushes are planted but still yet to mature, but you still have privacy to a point. It will be even more lovely when they have matured and grown. Its one way round the site, brilliant, and we were on a pitch were you drive round the back and drive through so no faffing about reversing, or using the motormover, you just pull it through, unhitch and then just move the car, loads of room, and we had the awning up, full length one and still had space.

Owner is very pleasant, and helpful, the only thing different you will need is the green tablets/detergent for your toilet casket, they don't have blue here, and you can buy them in the office if you don't have any. Pink is fine for the top cistern part of toilet.

The views are lovely, and you can go one way to Ludlow or the other way to Bridgenorth, so you can get out and about no problem.

Definitely one of our top 5 even with the low traffic noise. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alanterri 59 reviews from this member

 Second stay in six months. Wow! This place just gets better and better and better. The current 25 super luxury fully serviced pitches including brown waste are a delight. A lot of the new planting has been carefully screened to protect from the hungry rabbits. Dog walk as usual excellent.

A fully serviced hot water and dryer dog shower is currently being installed. Brilliant.

Adult only this is a very special tranquil site. The toilet bathing facilities are probably better than most people's homes.

16 amp electric, mains water and grey waste hook up plus brown waste on pitch disposal.

The views across Shropshire looking towards The Long Mynd are breathtaking. We were lucky tosee some fantastic sunsets from the comfort of our lounge.

Wheathill is situate in an area of recognised outstanding beauty.

Ludlow, Shrewsbury, Much Wenlock, Clun and many other interesting places close by.

Right next door is the Three Horseshoes pub which serves fine ales and excellent quality cuisine are sense prices.

This is a real gemstone site. Enjoy. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Oldsoldier 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed overnight before the holiday season. This was our first site to stay on in our motorhome, however we were very pleased. The site is very tranquil, the washroom facilities were clean and the staff were friendly. The pub next door is run by the same family I believe. Again, service was good, as was the ale. I would recommend this site for the peace and quiet and the lack of children. We would definitely stop there again, this has been our benchmark site which we compare all others against. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pm0001 4 reviews from this member

 We really loved this site. No children, quiet and dog friendly.

All the people we dealt with were friendly, helpful and professional.

The pitch we were allocated was very large and had all facilities, even including toilet waste and the view was really good.

The toilet block was spotless. The water was always piping hot, there was a hair dryer that actually dried your hair (and not as so often found something that just puffs out a bit of luke warm air), there was a heated mirror, music, a privacy shower / toilet - all excellent. Entry was via a code - much better than messing about with a key!

The location suited us being within 1/2 hour drive of Ludlow, Bridgenorth and Bewdley with lots of choice of eating houses and shops, but also close to some really good walking.

Although it is on a B road but access is fine - the road is fine for large motorhomes or towing.

It is quite an 'immature' site and so will be even better when some of the hedges that have been planted have grown. Not a cheap site but no extras - even Wifi is included and signal / speed was good.

There is a pub within a few yards which apparently does good food but we didn't go there.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynm 86 reviews from this member

 We had help from Lee pitching the caravan as was a bit tight to the pitch and we are still novices. That was the last we saw of him as he went away on holiday. The site is generally unmanned but they have a great smart call system on the outside of the main office if you need help. It is, as others have said, a beautifully placed site for wonderful views. However, because of the time of the year I guess, the wind was very strong for 3 of the days we were there. It actually rocked the caravan! The others staying at the site kept the site came across as being very to themselves with some not even acknowledging a hello. Our porch awning front blew up in the wind which we weren't aware of and only when we heard a bang and looked outside to see all our stuff laying in the open did we realise. However clearly other caravanners were around but didn't bother telling us. I found this very unusual practice. Not the fault of the site of course. The facilities are lovely and so very clean. The super pitch is a great facility to have. We ate at the pub next door once. The food was good but the service poor. We had a booked table at 1:30 on the Sunday and wasn't asked for our order for over 40 mins!The food took another 30 after that. Consequently we didn't go back. Ludlow is a lovely place to go especially if you are a foodie, like we are. Great shops and restaurants & cafes. Try Koo the Japanese restaurant if you want to try something different. We enjoyed ourselves and would like to visit again at a warmer & hopefully less windy time of the year. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Admiral 35 reviews from this member

 Spent last week at this excellent site between Bridgenorth and Ludlow a fairly local one for us as we were only able to stay for a couple of nights on what will be our last trip out for this year. We couldn't have picked a better site to finish on - Wheathill is a proper little gem. Good size super pitches with grey and brown waste disposal and perfectly level with plenty of room for our van, car and our awning if we had decided to use it. Facilities block was excellent one of the best we have seen - showers hot and powerful (push button unfortunately but that's must a personal preference) and the whole block was kept very clean. In the block there were also 2 washing up sinks and a washing machine.

No shop on the site, but there was directions to a little village store about 2. 5 miles away which seemed to sell all the essentials - bread, milk, newspapers etc, Also very handy was the 3 Horseshoes pub right next door to the site where we had a very pleasant meal on the Saturday night. All in all a very nice little site and one to which we will undoubtedly return. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wheathill Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheathill Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wheathill Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridgnorth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2488 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement