Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Bank Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > High Bank Farm Reviews

High Bank Farm
Hardhorn
Poulton Le Fylde
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8DN
Tel: 01253 890422
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April Or Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Willogs 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site for those who don't want or need the facilities of a larger commercial site. The booking was easy and no deposit required, the entrance to the site is quite sharp and was glad we had prior knowledge of this, we can imagine for some larger caravans (twin axel)it could be quite difficult to make it in without a worry. Large board at entrance with your name and pitch number. Great welcome from the owner and his daughter who took a shine to my eldest, very friendly and she shared her sweets, so a hit with my 2. It was very busy in the may half term holiday and I did feel that the toilets could have done with a more regular check/clean just due to the number of people and children on the site. Plenty of space for the children to play, just swings and grass, but due to the number of great, well behaved children of varying age ranges it was difficult to get them in at night. Weather was great and this gave the site a great feeling, the campers down the far end all made friends and had a lovely evening together. Site is well placed for Blackpool, for us it was close enough to go in for the day and far enough away to not be bothered with the 'nightlife' of the town. Cost 16 for caravan, 2 children, 2 adults and EHU, in my opinion a bargain. I can imagine if the site was not as full or the weather was bad then the site may have had a different atmosphere as this is what really made this review so positive. Will be booking again for Oct to see the lights.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Funkypeg 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site been at Easter, then May and going back this weekend.

Owners could not do enough for you clean & tidy site and the toilets and showers are clean also. They also sell there own jams, eggs & preserves which are well worth getting for you toast of a morning.

The site is situated about 15 mins from Blackpool front and easily accessible from public transport or a taxi is around 8. 00 into Blackpool if you fancy a drink.

Great value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlatan 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from an overnight stay yesterday. Site is lovely and quiet, and ideally placed for Blackpool and surrounding areas.

Turned upto about 15 full pitches from 30. Owner was really friendly, and very helpful on local area. Told us where to go to replace our EHU which had packed in over the winter.

We had planned to get pitched and go into Blackpool, but the weather was so nice and the site so relaxing and peaceful, we decided to stay on the site, with a few bottles of beer and listen to the FA Cup Final on radio instead.

There was 2 male toilets, and 2 female. Both were spotless, and well equipped. There was no playground as such, and the kids were playing on the main camping field. Fresh home laid eggs, and jams etc were available from the on site office.

Never been to a site where the kids were so well behaved, and will definitely be back, nice and handy for us at around a 50 minute drive. Was cheap at 15 for the night (Pitch, 2 Adults and Electric Hook Up)

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bethceg2 6 reviews from this member

Just come back after a night here to try out our new camping equipment and what can I say but it is a fab little site.

The toilet block was lovely and clean as were the showers. It is a very well organised site with lovely friendly owners who couldn't do more for you(it was there daughters birthday and she brought her birthday cake for my boys to share).

it isn't very far from blackpool but is so peaceful you wouldn't think it was so close. I cant think of any bad points about this site. It is one of those sites that is a gem you want to tell everyone about but on the other hand keep it a secret so you can guarantee a pitch next time.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul wilcock 2 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely 2 days camping on this site I would definitely stay here again.

The weather was very nice and it was funny waking up to the chickens each morning. The site was in a great location to visit Blackpool, fleetwood, cleverly, poulton and was very clean. The owners were very helpful as our car wouldn't start and offered help without any fuss. All in all a great little place to relax and would recommend it to anyone thinking of going.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve1961 18 reviews from this member

This is a bit of an update to my first review of this site, since our last visit there have been some major improvements. Mains lighting has been installed in the toilet block along with sinks for dish washing & four beautiful new showers. All of which are kept spotlessly clean. The site is still run by Dave & his wife two lovely, friendly people who make staying here an absolute pleasure. It's ideal for people who like Blackpool in small doses if you know what I mean! Its only a few minutes car ride away but set in peaceful countryside, lovely!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arendea 1 review from this member

We arrived and were immediately greeted by the owner, the friendliest guy we met on our trip! The pitch was plenty big enough and we had the option of an electric hook up, although we are traditional campers and didn't need it

The owner gave us lots of great advice about local transport and where to eat, which we followed and had some great meals in Paulton.

The facilities were clean all the time - we advise not showering at 8am as this is a popular time and we waited 10 minutes for a shower. But lesson learnt, we had no problems at 9pm ;)

There are swings for the kids, but there is so much to do and all so close to the site that we really don't think the lack of play equipment is a problem.

I recommend the eggs and jams on sale, all homemade/laid!

We will definitely be coming back to this campsite it was a fantastic stay - thank you for having us :)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dicksonclan 1 review from this member

Our first visit here & we will definitely go back. Close to Blackpool's main attractions, about a 15 min drive. Harvester pub near by for food & drink, families welcome & local shop near by. Down side, only 3 swings for kids & with a full site not a lot of play area, but the kids including mine didn't seem to mind too much. Only two toilet cubicles in the ladies & same with gents, only 4 showers but all spotlessly clean. Scenery around was gorgeous. Owner was friendly, helpful & approachable. Kids of all ages loved the free roaming chickens. There was buckets for recycling, area for washing dishes & you were allowed to use the washing line for drying clothes. There were noisy, drunk teenagers the first night who kept us awake until the early hours but he dealt with it well & had their parents pick them up the following morning & didn't rise to their rude & aggressive behaviour. No nonsense taken. All was peaceful after that. Looking forward to going back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Herfie01 10 reviews from this member

Chose this site based on excellent reviews and cost for a 5 night stay. Have to say that there were pro's and con's to the site.

On the plus side the site was perfectly placed for getting out and about to explore the local area. Not too far to Blackpool and other places of interest.

Site owners very friendly and made a point of coming to see us soon after our arrival. Site was well kept by the owners and generally clear, although the previous occupant(s) of our pitch had left a fair amount of rubbish in the bushes.

Shower blocks spotlessly clean as was the wash up area. Recycling bins in place with all bins being emptied very regularly.

On the minus side, the toilets were constantly dirty and towards the end of the 5 night stay we were getting fed up of cleaning the loos before use. Also agree with previous posters, could benefit from a de-gunge in the cobweb department. Although can report that there is now a hand dryer, so owners obviously take on board comments/feedback which is very positive.

Our biggest disappointments, however, were down to the closeness of the pitches and the noise levels on the site.

Pitches were far too close together, felt you were living on top of each other. We were lucky in that we had two good neighbours during our stay, others were not so lucky.

Site posters ask you to reduce noise levels from 2100 which was ideal as many of the occupants of the site had young children with them.

The reality was very different. Lots of general noise which regularly went on beyond 2300 but with the highlights being trance music being blasted from one car until late into the night to the group of four tents occupied by a group of 8-10 teenagers who were very drunk, very loud and extremely foul mouthed until well after midnight on our last night.

We assumed, not getting a good look at them from where we were, that they were 18+ but later found out, when a parent of one arrived to collect the little cherubs and was confronted by an irate camper, that they were in fact 15. So I would question the wisdom of accepting the booking/seeing the kids on their arrival and then placing them in the vicinity of families camping with very young children (the language would have made Chubby Brown blush) and the parenting skills of anyone who thinks it is acceptable to leave these kids with a huge amount of alcohol that they had at their disposal (saw the empties strewn around their pitch the next morning) in a field camping overnight?!

A point to note is that this site also appears to accept same sex groups which wasn't a problem on this occasion as the group of lads, dressed as air men for a night out in Blackpool, were no bother at all. But a point to note if you have ever seen these groups on a night out in Blackpool!

All in all we had a good break, but we did spend a lot of time away from the site but we did feel for the families with young children who spent more time there.

Problems could be resolved by thoroughly cleaning the toilets, removing a couple of the pitches to give a little more space and a little look see after 2300 to ensure that the noise is at an acceptable level.

Unfortunately, despite the positioning and the cost we will not be re-visiting.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madwozle 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at high bank for 2 nights to test out camping gear. I was on my own with my dog & my brothers family (4 kids) took there dog. We had 2 days of glorious sun & the day we came home it rained from 6am (but it was still red hot). It's a peaceful campsite, with great showers + clean toilets. It also has pot washing facilities. Everyone was friendly & quiet after 9pm. The site owner was pleasant & helpful. The kids loved the chickens. But and my only but is. The kids got bored with only having swings on the campsite, could do with better play area!. So altogether a great stay.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019