Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Bank Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > High Bank Farm Reviews

High Bank Farm
Hardhorn
Poulton Le Fylde
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8DN
Tel: 01253 890422
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April Or Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony_brown 9 reviews from this member

We have just spent two nights at this site as a last minute get away before the start of the new school term.

We were originally planning to stay in the Lakes or North Yorkshire but the majority of sites, emailed asking about availability, took 2/3 days to reply - which is shocking service.

The owner of this site (Nick) personally rang me a few hours after emailing our interest in staying and was both very courteous and chatty.

We booked and were given instructions on how to find our pitch (set out on a notice board at the entrance gate). The owner kindly said we could arrive in the morning of our stay rather than in the afternoon if we wanted to which was kind and we were told we could stay until lunchtime on the day of departure.

We found the site easily but took the wrong turn into the first yard and not the campsite entrance - entirely my fault. We were given a friendly welcome by Nick on arrival who was chatting to other campers at the entrance. He seemed to be hands-on site owner who was keen to make sure everyone was enjoying their stay.

The site is located in a rural area (but affluent) on the road from Singleton to Hardhorn, approx 3. 5 miles out of Blackpool and approx 1. 5 miles from the lovely village of Poulton Le Fylde. A small Booths can be found opposite the Newton Arms (on the way into Blackpool 1. 25 mile away) or you can find a TESCO Express on the main road past Poulton about 1. 75 mile away.

Adjacent to the site is a stables and open fields stretching as far as the eye can see. There are several pubs located within a short walking distance, the nearest being a lovely Harvester about 3/4 mile away.

Our pitch was approx 6 metres wide by 12 deep, many are larger dependant upon where you are located. There are about 30 pitches in total. The pitches closer to the stables are in the shade from late afternoon to sunset set below tall trees.

Services are limited but adequate comprising a recently built toilet block housing two x male/two female loos and washbowls, one male and one female shower cubicle set within the corner of the farmhouse building which also houses a male and female WCs and also one single washing up sink.

These inside facilities were showing signs of wear and were a little dated and needed a little TLC. They were however functional, well used and with the hottest water we have ever had on a camp site ! On a positive note they were however free and clean.

The majority of pitches appear to have access to electricity connections and the site actively promotes recycling of waste with separate receptacles which are emptied daily and sorted.

The site has a couple of swings and you can go and see the chickens at the end of the site. The owners offer WI-FI for a fee (3. 50 for one hour - cheaper for longer periods), From the conservatory attached to the back of the farmhouse you can buy home made produce and odds and sods. There is an honesty box for payment when the owners are not around - a nice trusting touch.

The grass was cut yesterday (Thursday) and it was a joy to see the owner driving a small tractor with his young daughter fast asleep on a papoose behind him !

The site was very clean and despite a late night incident, involving a camper who sadly wasn't well, we had a good stay and everyone was friendly and chatty.

Advantages:

The owners are mega-friendly and helpful,

Price - very cheap fees,

Quiet, rural setting,

Good sized pitches,

Well kept grounds.

Disadvantages:

Tight entrance (only a problem if you have a large caravan/campervan),

Improvements that I would carry out:

Extend the toilet block to create new shower facilities,

Create a covered wash area (four sinks should do the job),

Plant shrubs/hedging to separate and add some sound barrier between pitches,

Add electric hand dyers to the toilet bock,

Offer cheaper WI-FI or increase site fees and offer WI-FI free,

Better signage at the entrance.

Other than this the site, to proper campers, is wonderful and we will be returning hopefully very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Waggy + kids 1 review from this member

Spent four nights wonderful nights in our new tent. On arrival we met the the Bee keeper, had a small worry about bees swarming around.

The owner offered us a different pitch if we wanted one, but as the Bee keeper left the bees calmed down and we did not see any again. Thanks to the Bees we had no bother with any bugs or midges a god send.

Toilets and showers may be basic but we managed with three kids under 7.

Can't wait to go back again next year, same pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marvin23 2 reviews from this member

This is a great little campsite tucked away nicely just outside Poulton Le Fylde. This was our 2nd stay at High Bank.

The owners are very welcoming and friendly and you can always rely on the ducks waddling by to keep you company. Its nice and quiet too. The toilets and showers were simple but clean.

There are a selection of fresh home made jams available to buy from the farmhouse along with the very fresh eggs! Just down the road is the town of Poulton with all your usual shops along with a few unique ones too!

We found this an ideal site as a base for taking trips into Blackpool, Fleetwood and other places. Its very easy to find after you get off the motorway. If you don't fancy cooking there is a Harvester just down the road.

All in all a very nice place to stay. No frills but ideal if you want a quiet stay. Its the first place we look to when taking a trip up that way.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wirral Jim 1 review from this member

Just had a 9 nighter on this little pearl of a site.

Owners are very friendly. The site was well maintained with the bins being emptied every morning and the showers and toilets also cleaned twice a day. It's within easy reach of Blackpool itself and only 1. 7 miles away from the local carvery (3. 69 Monday-Saturday)

Nice and peaceful and very reasonable rates. Two points that I would mention though and the first is that you should try to avoid pitch number 10. It has 12 bee hives situated just 6 feet from it and is only separated from the pitch by a chainlink fence. On the Saturday morning the bee keepers arrived to check on the hives and annoyed the bees. I was stung 3 times within an hour and two other members of our party were also stung (Guess which pitch number I had). The bees settled down by the afternoon and posed no further problems.

The second thing I would mention is that if you are approaching the site from the right of the entrance, it is a very tight turn with a caravan. Luckily, we approached from the left.

That said, I fully intend to book this site again next season as it was so enjoyable.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shellles 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from a short break at this site. It was our first trip out of the season and as it was only 30miles away from us it was ideal. Site was quiet we were informed there was some rally people coming on the Saturday and that they would be leaving early Sunday, we never heard them leave. Very basic site but ideal as it was only 3 miles into Blackpool which we walked with the dog and it was lovely.

Will be using this site again but only for the quiet weekends overall we liked this site

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Owned by lurchers 1 review from this member

Just got back from a 3 night stay, what a lovely, friendly little site. We went in our new tent instead of our caravan and I was glad we did as to me, a woman driver, the entrance to the site was a little narrow for me to get the caravan in.

The owner was a lovely man who came over for a chat on arrival. The site is so child friendly with all the children playing together on the swings in the middle of the site.

We had gone to this area to visit our Son, who lives in Fleetwood and this site was only 8 miles from his house.

Our Grandchildren are age 3 and 8 and we could sit by the tent and easily watch them playing. As it happened the weather was perfect on day one so we got the paddling pool out and all the children played in it.

At night all the children and adults mixed and it was a lovely, relaxed, friendly feel. The toilets and show block are basic and ok. We had a really enjoyable stay and will return as soon as possible.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindacl 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here with my son and his family Bank holiday weekend.Lovely site and the owners are very friendly

Beware of the bee hives in the corner,when we first arrived and were setting up we were attacked by several of the bees as the beekeeper was collecting the honey. I was stung twice and my husband was stung 3 times but once he had gone we didn't see any more bees.

The only downside to this site is the lack of decent showers, though there is a nice toilet block in middle of the field it only holds 2 ladies toilets and 2 mens. I would go back to this site if they updated the facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kim81 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely weekend at high bank farm. Nice small site, around 30 pitches with a toilet block in the middle of site, only 2 toilets peach for males/females but never had to queue to use them.

Our pitch was a good size and our big 9 man tent fit easily onto to the pitch.

Nice little play area for the kiddies with some swings and plenty of room for them to play on bikes, games etc.

The only thing I would say is that the showers need a little updating, other then that a perfect site, we will use this site again. Only 10 minutes in the car from blackppol, fleetwood, st annes etc fantastic location, great owners, cant ask for more!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quebec-camper 2 reviews from this member

Small but well set out, stayed here for 3 nights and greeted on arrival very helpful and polite. Small farmshop selling eggs straight from the hens on site and some nice homemade jams. This site is located close to Blackpool and st annes . A set of swings for kids but that was about it, could do with a bit more for children but my son did not complain. Toilet block could do with being cleaned a bit more regularly as the floor had not been swept or mopped for my stay even though the toilet had been cleaned. All in all a good pleasant three night stay.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ryanevans3118 1 review from this member

Lovely site, welcoming, friendly, helpful and kind owners, Clean, so glad we found High bank farm on the internet, great surroundings, Ten minutes away from Blackpool town centre, nice little play area for children, great and kind campers.

Would refer it to any one who is looking for a nice and warm welcoming Holiday. Couldn't of asked for a better time. Was all chilled and relaxed even though it was bad weather. Enjoyed it so much will definitely be visiting again very soon.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


268 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019