Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of High Bank Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > High Bank Farm Reviews

High Bank Farm
Hardhorn
Poulton Le Fylde
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8DN
Tel: 01253 890422
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April Or Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lovebug 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend. When you arrive you have to check the board at the gate of the campsite which will tell you your pitch number.

Not many people on the site the whole time we were there, very quiet. It would of been totally peaceful if it wasn't for the road, but it wasn't a problem as it wasn't a busy main road!

The site is mainly flat but at one end of the field it a tad exposed to the elements. The toilets are fairly new, very clean and always stocked up on toilet roll, just lacks soap and handtowels. The showers are attached to the main house, 1 mens and 1 womens. The water was always hot and they were always clean when we used them, the only problem being they're quite small with a foldout chair to put your clothes on.

They sell lovely jams and eggs from the farmhouse, would recommend the blackcurrant jam. The area is lovely, Poulton is a half hour walk away with loads of pubs and places to eat, we went to the harvesters which is around 10 mins away and is pretty good value. We walked into Blackpool (3 miles away) but there is a bus stop outside the site for the less energetic. There is a small booths nearby for any essentials.

We will definitely return to this lovely site but next time ask to pitch at the other end of the field, as I wore myself out worrying about where my extension was going to end up!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zakky1234 9 reviews from this member

The site is an all grass site. There are 2 male and 2 female toilets in the toilet block. The showers are attached to the house, plenty of hot water

This site is ideal if you want to visit Blackpool or fleetwood. Whilst I was there no children were on site, but there are 3 swings for children to play on.

It's a brilliant site, I'm returning there on monday. The owners are very helpful and go out of their way to be of any help to you. The owners wife sells eggs and home made jams in the green house which is attached to the house.

There have been comments that you have to park between the numbers but this is not a problem. As you enter the site your name is on the board at the entrance I found this very helpful.

The weather was nice and as you sit outside it's nice to see chickens and rabbit running round. This is the best site that I've stayed on and I hope to return many times in the future

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesrules1 13 reviews from this member

Booked here for 4 nights at over Easter and really enjoyed our stay - would definitely go again. Lovely farm location down a pleasant, but quite busy, road.

Tight turn into the farm gate for large units like ours - as there are a couple of would-be entrances to the farm would suggest that a sign be added to each side of the site entrance 'campsite' so that you don't miss it, or go in the wrong one on your first visit, and have to find somewhere to turn round like we did. Have to say that owner came out straight away to help and advise. In fact he was helpful with regard to anything we asked.

Site is all on grass with shale drive down the middle, our pitch was quite level. We got some real heavy rain all weekend overnight and so the ground got very boggy, which can't be helped, but site owner helped folks who got cars/units stuck etc. (Thanks to Wes for pulling our caravan out!) We had wellies too so it didn't worry us, but I think some of the tent campers had a hard time.

There's a board in the entrance which shows a site diagram and your allocated pitch number. Be aware that you don't pitch in front of the pitch numbers as usual - but between them, which was a bit strange! Owner comes out for each arrival to help and advise, but some folks had started to pitch before he came out and they had to move up!

One shower each for men and women which meant a bit of a wait sometimes, but it was free and hot! Chair provided to stash your stuff. Would suggest provision of a bucket and mop, especially in bad weather, so that you can clean up the mud after yourself (or before if following a mucky pup!)

Toilets clean with paper and sink but no soap or hand drying. Would accompany children after dark as the lights are on a sensor and go out if you are sitting there for a couple of minutes on your own, which is a bit disconcerting ;-). There was a washing up sink but we don't use that so don't feel qualified to comment.

Farm sells eggs, jam and marmalade in conservatory of house. Owners keen that all rubbish is recycled in labelled bins, quite happy with that.

There were three swings for the children. Those that were there this weekend were well behaved and probably the only ones enjoying the mud!

No 75 bus stops and drops off by farm gate if you don't want to use your car - about £3.60 into Blackpool central. Taxi £9.50.

Overall a good site and I'd love to go back in nicer weather to benefit from the rural surroundings.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Navig9466 2 reviews from this member

Booked here after reading the reviews, and was not disappointed at all. When we arrived, the plot reserved for us wasn't level, and having disabled in our party, Nick changed our pitch for one more level.

The weather wasn't great, but we were told that if we had trouble getting off, he had mesh which would help.

10 minutes from Blackpool, and kids (13/5/4/2 & 6 mths),had a great weekend.(Oct 9th - Oct 11th)

A basic site, but that's all you need, and very family friendly. Toilets were adequate and kept clean and well stocked.

When we came to leave, due to the rain, we were helped off by a friend of the owners, who had a 4x4.

The entrance is a bit tight, but its on a fairly quiet road, so you can swing and get the angle right.

If your on a budget, and want to see the Illuminations in Blackpool, I recommend High Bank Farm, we've even considered re-booking for next year, but you need to book early. 5 star in my rating, will be returning often.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goodwin-horne 5 reviews from this member

We have just come back from this site and we stayed for 2 nights. The site is very Clean. The owner was very nice and polite. The only thing is access to the site was a little tight with a larger van and it is dark on the site at night. The Site is in good reach to Blackpool only about 4 miles away. We would recommend this site and it is a good price.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lmp1107 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at High Bank Farm campsite for 1 night, to see what blackpool had to offer (little tip if you want to go up the blackpool tower it is worth buying your tickets in advance on-line through ticketmaster as they only cost just over £8.Oo).
We really enjoyed staying at the campsite. When we arrived the owners were away at work, but we went on to the site and just as you enter their is a board with pitch numbers on, some of which had been reserved by having a name written in them, so we chose a free pitch, put our tent up and left a note, we went into blackpool for the day, and upon our return, paid our fee (it was only £5.00 a tent plus £1.50 per adult, £1.00 per child, they also offer electric £3.00 per night-very reasonable.
The lady who runs it, was lovely and had no problem with us, just parking our tent in a free place and paying later on that day. It is in an ideal location just 10 mins drive to blackpool.
Plenty enough toilets 2 mens, and 2 womens in a block towards one end of the site,with drinking water taps outside and also a toilet and shower(one for men and one for women)in a building at the end of the house, there was also a washing up sink which is located just inside where the ladies toilet / shower is, but don't let this put you off,as they are separated by a full length doors.
A lovely friendly, relaxed site,they also sell eggs(a couple of hens wander round the site, one was even after our breakfast!),home-made jams and sometimes home-made cakes. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlwooduk 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 1 night stay in this lovely little campsite. It was £5 for the tent, £1.50 per person and the dog was free. As you enter there is a map of the campsite with pitch numbers and your name is written on the map as to where you are. Pitches did have electric hook ups but we didn’t need it.

The field is surrounded by trees and fields and is in lovely quiet village. Blackpool is only a 15-20 minute drive away. At the end of the road, there is a pub and some shops – which are about a 10 minute walk.

There are two toilet facilities – one in the middle of the field with solar lights for evening and another set which have a toilet and shower and are part of the main farm building. The toilets in the middle of the field were very clean and looked new. There are also recycling facilities. There is one set of swings for children but as the campsite was so quiet and pitches had reasonable amounts of space – there is plenty of room for them to run around and play.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: COREY 1 review from this member

We booked a week at this site and apart from the weather could not have asked for a better location to camp. We had 3 tents (8man, 6man and 4man, the pitch sizes are excellent.
The new toilet blocks are basic but ok. The shower room and cleaning facilities do need to be updated but for the price you pay you cannot grumble. The only other slight problem we encountered was the swings being next to the bins (the smell was off putting for the kids playing around that area).
Nick the owner is very pleasant and will help you out whenever you needed it. The site itself is located 5mins from Blackpool, but the area as a lot of places to visit nearby. If you camp between July to Sept the Maize maze is a great day out, Stanley Park and Blackpool Zoo are also nearby.
All in all a great campsite (esp if your on a budget), great location and great owners. Will def be visiting again very soon.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ALAN25 1 review from this member

We have recently returned from this campsite. The owners were very welcoming they even made room for our tent by even cutting down trees. They had a park for the kids which was safe and secure. There is a pond at the bottom of the field for fishing.
The toilets and shower blocks were very clean there is hot water in showers. There is a pub just down the road.Its in a good location for visiting blackpool. We are returning back in august and in the near future.
There was 3 adults and 1 child and it only cost 14 per night with electric hook-up even supplied us with a extension hook-up free of charge

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lezferg 1 review from this member

Second time at this site, (first was with the tent) which is ideal for exploring Blackpool and surrounding. Toilet block upgrade since last year. Owners extremely nice and helpful. Showers and toilets clean. Can relax while the kids are running about playing as there are two swings and of course the chickens keep them amused. Cheep and cheerful. Wish my stay had been longer this year.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1585 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019